Dear Chris Scott...

Sitting in the Brewongle stand last nite it was supprising to see so many geelong fans...the general thoughts of most is, that this year they do look Too old Too slow and that Tom Hawkins is useless

Hawkins marked pretty much everything that came near him. The conversion is a problem - a big one - but it's the only flaw in his game now. There isn't a defender in the competition he can't outpoint in a marking duel.

Not quite useless.

Posted by Mickey--
@#$% You ...
Lead [-]

(23/06/12 00:22:56)
Tags : None
... Geelong. I hate you this year cos you only seem to try when you think you are gonna lose. I only hate you cos I love you, but if the first two goals sting me so much, why not you? You no longer have the talent to win with less effort. You have to to try harder.

I @#$%en love you Chris Scott. But @#$% you, Chris Scott. Bundy is in your top 10 players even when he has no match fitness. He is not your @#$%ing sub. This was as obvious before the game as it is now.

@#$% you again, Chris Scott. Coach the stoppages better.

@#$% you Jimmy. You are my favourite player ever. I didn't think anyone could displace Buddha but you did. But where were you in the first 15 minutes? And not just tonight. Why don't you impose your will before the whips are cracking?

@#$% you, Andrew Mackie. I doubt there has ever been a Geelong player worth mentioning with more concrete hands under perceived pressure. I doubt there has ever been a Geelong player worth mentioning who puts in more short steps when even average ones will do. You read the play exponentially better than Josh Hunt and yet he is the one who seems to keep finding himself in that awkward position where courage is tested. You are just a bit too clever aren't you. I keep hearing you are one of the best sledgers going around. @#$% I would laugh in your face if you ever said a word to me on the field. It's not like you don't shank enough kicks (and let's not even get started on the most basic skill in the game... the handpass!) to excuse your blatant lack of intestinal fortitude.

@#$% you Smithy. You are Geelong. And you have enough credits in the bank with me to withdraw for a bit longer. But you are charging up the debits with undisciplined free kicks. I am frustrated too but you are mentally tougher than I could eve hope to be, so accept your new reality and play within it. You are Geelong. You know the hoops are bigger than you. You know!

I'm skipping you Westy. But enough with the tease.

@#$% you, Domsy. You're not young and you're not inexperienced and you're not excused anymore. Stop dropping marks.

@#$% you, Joel. I know you couldn't try any harder. But nearly every one of your teammates could, Captain. So @#$% you.

I am not saying @#$% you, Taylor Hunt. I know you have a red hot crack and you have been pretty good this year. If they all tried as hard as you do as long as you do we would be an average team sitting pretty instead of an average team sitting average. But you keep running under marks and into smothers.

@#$% you, Johno. No particular issues tonight but you have earnt this one over 10 years. Why you still feel like you have to prove you are special is beyond me. You still haven't managed to create a goal worth more than 6 points, so give up.

@#$% you T-Hawk and @#$% your coaches too. How have you not yet learnt that you should veer to the right, so as to effectively play on and relax your sh*tty kicking motion, when you have a set shot from anywhere on the field other than when you are squeezed up against the right boundary line? I don't even know that this would work, because I have never seen it happen, but I do know the colloquial definition of insanity.

#$% you, Stokesy. I am sick of these intangible excuses for your lack of direct impact on the game. Traffic cop? @#$% off. If we ever needed one of those it was tonight. What we really need is forwards who can win the ball and use it effectively. What we need is forwards who can pressure their opponents into using the ball ineffecitvely. You have probably never been more loved on the field than when you stumbled across the line exhausted in your seventh career game, and you would do well to remember that. In the words of a @#$% from another @#$% of a club... "DO SOMETHING! DO! DON'T THINK! DON'T HOPE! DO!" And I am really @#$%en sick of the bullsh*t way you keep sliding into low marks. Joel hit you up early in the first quarter tonight, maybe not on the chest but good enough, and you @#$%ed it up, and we went on to lose tonight thanks to the 20 minutes of momentum that followed. So @#$% you and $%$* your coaches for not coaching this sh*t out of you!

@#$% you, Pods. Not especially. But you are nearly always better than your opponent one-on-one, so please work hearder for a decent crack at the contest. I know that is easier said than done, but you need to try harder.

You are right on the verge of @#$% you, Steven Motlop.

@#$% you, Boris. You were the guy I know and love tonight. But you had to spoil that mark. How your @#$%en teammates couldn't just lock the ball up in the middle of the ground I have no idea, but once they didn't you just had to find a way to spoil. I don't really mean @#$% you, Boris. Just @#$%.

@#$% me.

Posted by DB Cat--
Numbers to the ball or to defensive areas is very important today and I often mention whether we are quick enough to repond to peeling off our direct opponent to pick up amore dangerously positioned opposition player.'

An extract from one of my posts under umpiring topic. But again it stood out against the Swans.

Selwood is a man in motion and continually runs to follow up the ball. Bundy when he came on how hard did he work to get to contests and to run on, fantastic. In regards the rest raffle them.

The hard running McGlynn killed us in the first quarter because he worked hard. Sydney's man coverage was far better than us because they worked for each other. Defensively they covered the dangerous positioned Cats players first and then others back filled. They worked as hard at their defensive positioning as well as their offensive run.

Look at how many players we had in our forward half without a manned Swan's player when the ball had left the area. The Swans had work to do and our players thought their work had finished and failed to position themselves to be involved in the game after the ball had left their immediate area. Work hard and get up and cover an opposition team mate as soon as you see the opposition win the ball. It's too late if you let the play transition and you give the rest 50 metres start. To me that is a major coaching defiency we have in our game plan.

I will give you another couple of examples in the last quarter and there were plenty others. If you need any more have a look at the walkers in the quarter.

We were making a break forward from around the half back flank and had a loose player around the half forwad flank. A Swans defensive player who was on his man in their back pocket left his man ran and picked up that loose Geelong player because he was the next go to player and in a more dangerous position to be used at that point in the game. That Swans player than become involved in the contest while another ran hard to cover his man who was free for seconds but he did not pose an immediate danger.

In the last two minutes the Swans won possession around our half forward line or closer to the back pocket they had 3 players position themselves to that side of the ground in a line seperated by 30 or 40 metres. Two Geelong players manned two of those 3 players the first and the third in the line leaving the middle one free. Guess what, the ball was directed to the middle Swan and the ball progressed up and they scored a point. But why didn't the second Geelong player move up and cover the second Swan, the play had momentarily stopped, he had time but hung back because the Geelong players are not drilled to leave their direct opponents to support a team mate. The initial player with the ball had it at a stoppage and none of our players reacted defensively. The player on the mark could have ran back if another had run across to cover the mark but our work rate off then ball defensively was as slack as the day long.

It is so fundamental in today's footy and we are supposed to be one of the premier sides and we are not drilled well enough on to work on covering for a team mate.

The difference that Bundy made when he come on the ground in his work rate should be put up in lights and the point made work rate, work rate, work rate - Offence/Defence, Offence/Defence, Offence/Defence, get off your Arse and get involved - it's a team game. If you let an opponent get off you who is prepared to work to dangerous areas of the ground trouble looms. If you are too slow in legs and mind then you shouldn't be an AFL footballer today.

Chris Scott needs to sit down, and analyse our smalls as reason why somebody like Bundy can get 8 possessions in 5 minutes, link up and create and make sound dec sions under pressure while our other smalls and run with players struggle. He didn't just have that effort in those 5 minutes but worked hard while on the ground. You don't see him sitting back when the ball has moved down field yet he is seen as a better bench warmer. Somebody has rocks in their head.

He has sensational talent, work rate, evasiveness and decision making in the tightest of confined space that puts our next ranking small to shame and we ponder why our clearance work is crappy, but above all who put him on the bench or are we working on that aspect?

Dear Chris,
I would like to offer these constructive comments-

Sydney Game - 6 Point loss we will NOT make the top 4 for this season, get ready for next year.

The year is gone. We will not make the top 4 and will be booted out against the power sides which we are to play in our tuff run home..
Brave game but at the end of the day not good enough.
I am sure they will all say a great come back which it will give me the shits. Just heard your press conference and yep that was your reaction. I hope your rection is not like that behind the scenes.
The fact is we get spanked and play ourselves out of the game for long periods of time. This is now a pattern and must be addressed.

How do we improve in the future?
This was the strongest team that Geelong has put on the park this year and it was not good enough and shows signs of further declining.

Geelong sadly are missing outside run when it is a free flowing game. No spread or gut running and a reduced work rate, (the signs of a tired team).

Sure we won in all of the stats except the scoreboard. Slow start killed us. A champion side who feel they are better than they really are. Waiting for that killer punch and getting knocked out in the meantime.

Sadly time for the club to make some tuff calls. We were a beaten side by the end of the first quarter.

Scott keeps talking about the character of the side. I can see it coming, but in truth this is what they lacked. The older players have to stay involved for the whole game.

P.S. Tactical error - Two tall forwards and two ruckman was not the way to play Sydney on their small ground. Bundy would have offered much more if he started on the ground. Even if he did run out of puff at least we may have extinguished their challenge early. A come from behind mentality. Lets keep trying the same thing for the same result.

GEELONG KEY PROBLEMS
Lack of leg speed, (missed Varcoe)
Kicking accuracy for goal and under pressure is our biggest problem.
Relying on aging stars.
Geelong is a team in transition who is now paying the price for past success.
For long periods we have been dominated by the better sides which is a worry

FORWARDS
I would rather play Brown than Pods or Hawkins long term.
Even if Brown gets half the kicks at goal we would score more. He can kick straight. When our gun forwards miss it deflates the team. Must make room in the forward line for new blood (Pods to go, been a great servant). We must fix this now, however the coaches keep saying there is no problem. Hawkins has never kicked accurately since he hurt his leg and changed his kicking style. 5 Contested marks for 1 resulting goal. It is not a good look when your key forward does not want to have a shot. Are we all blind???. No future if we keep kicking for goal the way we do. The irritating thing is that the coaches say there is no issue

Johnson must be consitant, he is great one week pathetic the next. He has been playing away from the goals as the club tries to get more drive. When he tries the mercurial and it does not work, which is becoming more often, he is a liability.
Trade-bate for a first round pick. Do it this year if possible but it will be too late.

Stokes must go at the end of the year. Played a few good games this year but we have a host of players coming through with potential who can play his position.

No movement in the forward line and lack of marking power outside Hawkins.
Forward line too static

RUCKS
Dawson is a keeper. Big man with grunt and upside. We do not want another Mumford situation. He needs experience if fit play him.
We will not see Oren again in the Geelong colours

HEART AND SOUL
Get Selwood to retire before he gets killed. AAA rating
The umpires will certainly not look after him on the field.
Bartel is our Mr Fix It. AAA. Able to control the tempo of the game. Back or forward.
These are our best two players by far.

X FACTOR
Motlop has pace, is efficient and has heaps of upside.
He just needs to learn to get more of the ball, which he will.
He also has to develop the defensive side of his game.
Cristo is a STAR, pace, grunt and can rack up the posies.
Not sure we have other AAA players coming through. Needed the run, missed a couple of games, knocked out in the seconds etc etc. Fitness was not right but offers too much to leave on the pine.
Menzel is the other player with X factor but who knows if he can stand up. Must be given plenty of time to recover from injury properly. The supporters will go crazy if they bring him back and he gets reinjured, irrespective of what the medical staff say. Put him on ice for the rest of the season now.

BACKS
Scarlett is no longer a full back and is now a back pocket player.
When one on one he gets monstered by the tall forwards.
Mackie shits himself when under the pump but must be kept. Keep Enright as long as possible. Composed and tidy.
Love Kellys grunt. Tuff at the ball. Had a poor season so far but will improve.
Josh Hunt has been and is irritating. We keep making excuses. Maybe play him on a wing
Taylor is great in the backline but has shown he can play forward. I am sure they will give him more opportunity to do so.

Defence is too loose.

UTILITIES
T Hunt has a future. Has pace and plays hard
Duncan shows promise. Not sure of the amount of upside.
Wojo must be kept on the list.

Time to restructure the side and move on some of our AAA past heroes. Salary cap room required to draft new players and rebuild. Stokes, Pods, Josh Hunt, Joel Corey and Chapman (I know he played well today but my gut feeling) gone at the end of the year. Must make calls for our long term future.

Culture is important however the players should accept the tap on the shoulder when it comes.
The transition must continue.

WHAT WE NEED
A kicking expert
Pace
Key Back
Travis Boak (Johnson and round two pick?)
Continue to develop our younger players

I have been posting for ages and have never received a like.

FFS does anybody agree with anything I say or is it the rant of a mad man.

I agree with a lot of what youve said but cannot fathom all this rubbish calling for Johnson's head.

SJ has been in our top 3 or 4 players this season, he IS our most creative player and MAIN avenue to goal.

Also, while many other champions have had some sort of a decline, SJ has been the only one that seems to be uneffected. Trading SJ would be a massive step backwards IMO.

Moving on, I believe the following:

- Many seem to say we are losing coz of lack of outside run, while this is a problem, I believe it has more to do with our lack of winning the inside stoppage/clearence contests. We seem to keep losing this and it has a negative impact on our outside run. the runners are there, we just cant get it to them enough.
SOLUTION: the club has mainly drafted flanker versitile types. we need to change focus to pure inside elite mid talent starting from this draft. we have promising youngsters, but no core inside group coming through bar selwood and bundy. Boak will help this issue as well if we can get him.

- Scarlett n wojo will probably retire at yrs end but out of the others I hate to say it but Corey and Jhunt are done. It seems that these 2 have had the biggest decline this year out of everyone and as much as I hate to say it, unless we can change their roles, they are starting to become liabilities. Chappy, Pod enright are NOT done yet and we still need them in the team teaching the young guys.

- some of the young guys are not being played to their strenghts. IMO swap Thunt and Gurthries roles. Thunt while been solid as a tagger, needs to play BP so he can shut down dangerous small fwds and use his run and carry to break lines out of defence (we are too stagnant coming out of defence). Guthrie is a MID, he has a good overhead mark and was a tagger/defencive mid in his u18 days. much better using him in the middle of the ground. Smedts I would like to see be developed into a wingman/mid where he can use his evasiveness and nous fwd of centre. he is too light to play the enright role hes been marked down for.

- Hawkins kicking: It is all mental. Bring in Mooney to help speak and mentor him if we can, it seems he has always looked up to the moondog and rather than call for his head, he needs the support of the playing group so his confidence can lift.

- Boak: I think he will help a lot but is not worth 2 first rounders. If Port wont let him go for our comp (and some sweetner - 3rd rounder or something) then I believe we shift our focus to Silvagni. We need to draft our next group of core inside mids and another tall FB IMO.

Lastly, I think we will make the 8 but we may fall a bit over the next couple yrs and be very Sydney like (as we wont drop off) but we WILL be back in 2 or 3 yrs pushing for a flag. Last night was one of the most frustrating games ive ever watched, we need to start playing as 1 unit again.

go cats

Stokes is pretty shit. Ive been saying it for years, and I dont tend to jump on a player. People can claim that he had a decent 2011, but if that is there definition of decent then I have no idea what good actually is.

sorry man, he's not shit and he's better than average. He's just looking lost at the moment and one has to wonder if his best mate in Mooney may have played a bigger part in his footy than even he has admitted.
Looks like he's not enjoying his football but when the team are up and about, he always in the thick of it and he is always one of those players that bobs up when we have given everything and need something special.

I'm confident he finds his form but he needs to focus quickly because some of the younger players are wanting a game and he may become a likely exclusion like we have seen with Byrnes.

Dear Chris

I get this odd rash after I run what do you recommend?

Ps don't turn into Brad.

Hugs Beth.

+1 :thumbsu:

Dear Chris

I too suffer this rash after I go for a run, is it the type of underwear I am using or am I simply soft?

P.S Brad wants to have Christmas at your house this year.

Handshakes Bobby.

Game has changed.
Stokes is out of sync.
So are a number of others.
But if you havent noticed the game has also changed a lot.
Continous mauls trying to get the ball out, the last few years would have been holding the ball or incorrect disposal, BUT "not anymore".

So, Chris just chuckin this out there.................. maybe we go retro 07/09 play on at all cost, play on, play on?????

Otherwise what i see is mauls / quick breaks / pagans paddocks or outside breakers that are realy quick scoring without pressure.
OR
We Slooooooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww it down big time, and reverse our old srategy & do a Sydney on the comp???
Not bad for September when it really counts and we are a vaiable?

My sanity depends on it.

I concur
Peace_5.gif

Hawkins just does not kick the ball properly and it's just absolutely staggering in such a professional game with all this extra time spent by players at the club. Rebuild his action getting him kicking with a longer run up and TEACH HIM TO KICK WITH A NATURAL SLIGHT HOOK! Not this ridiculous slice/fade we will rarely be able to control.

Sitting in the Brewongle stand last nite it was supprising to see so many geelong fans...the general thoughts of most is, that this year they do look Too old Too slow and that Tom Hawkins is useless

That is hardly surprising. The loonies come out in their droves after a loss.

Remember when Geelong lost to Sydney last year at Kardinia Park. We had posts like the following:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bring back Moloney
The bloke is softer than marshmallow!

Really sick of his efforts. ONLY reason he's been playing is he can back-up Ottens in the ruck.

Hopefully they can stick with Vardy and just PISS HIM OFF!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamtimeteam
Hawkins has had enough time. Trade or delist. Time for Hawkins to think about life outside football. TAFE course would be a good start.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kicksome
kent kingsly > tom hawkins
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cats33
We wont win another game this year if hawkins plays in any of them . Worst tall foward in the league .

Alkanphel your call with SJ 50/50 is spot on mate .

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Sim Dog
Stupid, shameful, pathetic effort. Won't win again all year.

Dear Chris,
Please ignore all of us and we trust you to guide our team as well as possible in this difficult transition era-if it gets too tough there appear to be plenty of coaches here ready to step up.

Dear Chris, I am pleased that you don't read Bigfooty messages. They are full of bullshit from keyboard warriors who think that they know more about football than a bloke who played tough football all his career, has two premierships as a player to his name, in the best competition in the land. And I have not forgotten the one in your first year as coach. You coached the Cats to a flag when all the "experts" said that we were too old and too slow and that our days of dominance were over.

The keyboard warriors can contribute nothing to you.

I am aware that we have some serious injuries to young up and coming players in Menzel, Vardy, Cowan and we lack the run of Trav.
But on the positive side, I think that Steve Motlop is looking the goods. He gives a bit of run and carry and is a lovely user of the ball. I am encouraged that Travis will be back fighting fit next year and I look forward to seeing Jordan Murdoch step up next year and add lightening pace to the backline or wing.

I actually think that the future looks bright Chris. Young Walker looks big and strong, and he is only a 19 year old kid. Joel Hamling is light for his height but he has very good skills and is athletic. I know that you also have plans for generation next and do not want the Cats to go down the same path as Brizzy after their success, so you will give young players like Joel time to mature instead of recruiting hacks from other clubs to top up our list like St.Kilda has done.

Billie Smedts will be better with another summer in the gym to add some strength to the talent that is obvious. And I am encouraged by the recent news on Nathan Vardy's surgery. Dawson Simpson is finally fit, but I don't expect too much from him at this stage with little or no preseason behind him.

I like the look of Shroder, McCarthy and Kersten as future forward pocket/flankers. I have seen Kersten bang goals from outside 50 without much effort. McCarthy looks like he could develop into a very clever small forward. Also, if Mitch Brown can get through the year unscathed by injury and have a good season in the gym, then I can see further improvement in him too.

Chris, you have been true to your promise that you will look toward the future and that you will be prepared to play young players. You have played *Bundy Christensen and Mitch Duncan (now a premiership players) as well as *Jerry (sic) Stringer, *Mitch Brown, *Josh Cowan, *Cameron Guthrie, *George Horlin-Smith, *Lincoln McCarthy, Steve Motlop, *Jonathan Simpkin, *Jordan Shroder, *Billy Smedts and *Nathan Vardy. (*indicates debut under C.Scott). And who knows, maybe Shane Kersten could play AFL games in 2012.

Chris, I am aware that we may possibly lose one or two players to free agency, not to mention retirement, but I am also aware that we may gain a valuable player at the same time. I am sure that we won't miss the Boak,..... I mean boat, on that one. I trust that Stephen Wells has been doing his home work and will draft some gun kids who have slipped under the radar.

And what was that Chris? Oh, we still have a Gary Ablett compensation pick up our sleeves! I almost forgot about that.

Chris, like others on this portal, I wish that we were currently sitting in the top 2 or 4 places on the ladder with a healthy percentage. But that is not the reality. But I believe that you are the best man to take the club forward into the next generation of young Cats stars. The Geelong Cats football club has a stable front office with the best CEO in the land, and they will support you.

Chris, I cannot speak for others on this portal, but even if the Cats do not live up to the on field expectations that I hope for in the coming years, I will be in the stands cheering on the Cats as a paid up proud Cats supporter/Member. And I know that you and your staff will be doing your utmost to make sure that your plans for the future of the team are realized.

Yours, The Rabbi

Cats fan till the day I die. And probably for a long time after that.

Yes we are presently in some serious bother. I think however longer term we will be fine.

We need to play as well, if not better than last year, if we are to defend the premiership. Just cannot see that happening. If we win it we will strike some form late, scrap inti the 8 and just keep playing better from there. A bit of a pipe dream really but it is possible so some of us dream on.

I think we have lost too many excellent players to be the team we were. People forget just how important Mooney was for our structure - how good Ablett, Egan, Milburn, Ottens, Harley, Rooke and Ling were. How easy is it to replace these quality players in 4-5 years and keep winning, week in and week out ?

Losing Varcoe, Menzel, Wojo, Cowan and Simpson for nearly all the first half of the season - certainly has made it harder.

Our VFL side looks like it has some real talent - however nearly all of these players probably need another season - some two. It just wont come quick enough this season to help us get over the line in 2012.

Our side when it had all of the above stars playing in it could carry good B grader AFL players. You cannot have side of all A + and A grade players. Since we have lost so many stars the B graders are more noticeable and more is required of them.

They have all been good servants of the club - but having them in the side next season will mean our side has lees chance of getting better thru better personal on the field.

So for the remainder of the season - pick 2-4 players from the VFL side and say we reckon your closest to being VFL ready and so we are going to give you some game time - by resting Corey (slowing A grader), JHunt, Wojo and Stokes (both B graders).

That allows you to see a few more new faces (like Kersten) and more time perhaps to a few that have got a handful of games or AFL exposure (Gillies, Guthrie, Brown, Horlin-Smith and Smedts).

Bundy will play better and better the further the season goes - And Duncan will be a good player for us.

So we should always aim to win a game. But I would rest Corey this week and bring in Horlin-Smith. Then a week after bring Corey back and rest Stokes and bring in Kersten. The following week rest JHunt and play Gillies, and a week later rest Wojo and play Guthrie.

We get a gimpse of what might be - with some players, while rotating our oldest players - like we did last year.

I reckon we will still make the 8 doing this (but it might be a close thing) and - who knows from there ?

By 2013 -

We will get back Varcoe and Menzel next season - two excellent inclusions.

Surely Simpson will get more than 2 possies a game with half a seasons senior games under his belt (and some fitness). And West will enjoy and play better as a second ruckman.

If you add Boak to the midfield for next season and keep Scarlett - we would have a pretty good side on paper.

THunt to the backline, Kersten to FP, Varcoe to a wing and Menzel to a HFF.

Brown should be pressing Pods for a game by next season, Smedts and Guthrie look likely players and may yet be good AFL players next season. Good depth players at least.

Looks pretty for 2013 season as I see it.

But I cannot see us winning a flag this year - so play some of the younger guys that deserve a chance to show the MC what they can do at senior level.

We do not kill off the possibility that some of the older players will pick up form late in the season, as they have only been rotated in and out of the team and therefore still getting game time. This approach may even freshen them up a little as well.

Go for it Cats.

Dear Chris, I am pleased that you don't read Bigfooty messages. They are full of bullshit from keyboard warriors who think that they know more about football than a bloke who played tough football all his career, has two premierships as a player to his name, in the best competition in the land. And I have not forgotten the one in your first year as coach. You coached the Cats to a flag when all the "experts" said that we were too old and too slow and that our days of dominance were over.

The keyboard warriors can contribute nothing to you.

I am aware that we have some serious injuries to young up and coming players in Menzel, Vardy, Cowan and we lack the run of Trav.
But on the positive side, I think that Steve Motlop is looking the goods. He gives a bit of run and carry and is a lovely user of the ball. I am encouraged that Travis will be back fighting fit next year and I look forward to seeing Jordan Murdoch step up next year and add lightening pace to the backline or wing.

I actually think that the future looks bright Chris. Young Walker looks big and strong, and he is only a 19 year old kid. Joel Hamling is light for his height but he has very good skills and is athletic. I know that you also have plans for generation next and do not want the Cats to go down the same path as Brizzy after their success, so you will give young players like Joel time to mature instead of recruiting hacks from other clubs to top up our list like St.Kilda has done.

Billie Smedts will be better with another summer in the gym to add some strength to the talent that is obvious. And I am encouraged by the recent news on Nathan Vardy's surgery. Dawson Simpson is finally fit, but I don't expect too much from him at this stage with little or no preseason behind him.

I like the look of Shroder, McCarthy and Kersten as future forward pocket/flankers. I have seen Kersten bang goals from outside 50 without much effort. McCarthy looks like he could develop into a very clever small forward. Also, if Mitch Brown can get through the year unscathed by injury and have a good season in the gym, then I can see further improvement in him too.

Chris, you have been true to your promise that you will look toward the future and that you will be prepared to play young players. You have played *Bundy Christensen and Mitch Duncan (now a premiership players) as well as *Jerry (sic) Stringer, *Mitch Brown, *Josh Cowan, *Cameron Guthrie, *George Horlin-Smith, *Lincoln McCarthy, Steve Motlop, *Jonathan Simpkin, *Jordan Shroder, *Billy Smedts and *Nathan Vardy. (*indicates debut under C.Scott). And who knows, maybe Shane Kersten could play AFL games in 2012.

Chris, I am aware that we may possibly lose one or two players to free agency, not to mention retirement, but I am also aware that we may gain a valuable player at the same time. I am sure that we won't miss the Boak,..... I mean boat, on that one. I trust that Stephen Wells has been doing his home work and will draft some gun kids who have slipped under the radar.

And what was that Chris? Oh, we still have a Gary Ablett compensation pick up our sleeves! I almost forgot about that.

Chris, like others on this portal, I wish that we were currently sitting in the top 2 or 4 places on the ladder with a healthy percentage. But that is not the reality. But I believe that you are the best man to take the club forward into the next generation of young Cats stars. The Geelong Cats football club has a stable front office with the best CEO in the land, and they will support you.

Chris, I cannot speak for others on this portal, but even if the Cats do not live up to the on field expectations that I hope for in the coming years, I will be in the stands cheering on the Cats as a paid up proud Cats supporter/Member. And I know that you and your staff will be doing your utmost to make sure that your plans for the future of the team are realized.

Yours, The Rabbi

Cats fan till the day I die. And probably for a long time after that.

Probably the best post I've seen in this thread.

Very sad thread. Goes to show how spoilt we have been over the last 5 years. As somebody posted previously, you would think people would have learnt after that Sydney loss last year. But alas, out they come again.

That is hardly surprising. The loonies come out in their droves after a loss.

Remember when Geelong lost to Sydney last year at Kardinia Park. We had posts like the following:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bring back Moloney
The bloke is softer than marshmallow!

Really sick of his efforts. ONLY reason he's been playing is he can back-up Ottens in the ruck.

Hopefully they can stick with Vardy and just PISS HIM OFF!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamtimeteam
Hawkins has had enough time. Trade or delist. Time for Hawkins to think about life outside football. TAFE course would be a good start.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kicksome
kent kingsly > tom hawkins
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cats33
We wont win another game this year if hawkins plays in any of them . Worst tall foward in the league .

Alkanphel your call with SJ 50/50 is spot on mate .
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Sim Dog
Stupid, shameful, pathetic effort. Won't win again all year.

Dear Chris Scott...