Dear Gazza...

catswhiskers2007

I, like many, have been in awe of your skills as a Cat. I have watched footy over many years, totally spellbound by your old man and his uncanny ability on the footy field. I thank you and the team to giving me the most incredible couple of years as a Cat fan with two amazing premierships and a package of highlights to keep me going for many years.

But...today you ripped my heart out. I was dumb enough to think you would stay loyal to the hoops and shun the bucks, dumb enough to think that all the reports and rumours would be wrong and that somehow you would come out and announce your loyalty forever to the club that I love. My 9 year old son is on his bed with his Ablett jumper sobbing his eyes out. He doesn't understand how you can't stay a Cat and that he can no longer watch you with his jumper on.

Well, as the Suns announce today that you are signing on with them, I will not be wishing you good luck, just good fortune, as no doubt the lure of cash is what speaks your language. Do I blame you for doing it, hell no, but I now know that I have to think of Cats footy without you as my son's number one!

I, like many, have been in awe of your skills as a Cat. I have watched footy over many years, totally spellbound by your old man and his uncanny ability on the footy field. I thank you and the team to giving me the most incredible couple of years as a Cat fan with two amazing premierships and a package of highlights to keep me going for many years.

But...today you ripped my heart out. I was dumb enough to think you would stay loyal to the hoops and shun the bucks, dumb enough to think that all the reports and rumours would be wrong and that somehow you would come out and announce your loyalty forever to the club that I love. My 9 year old son is on his bed with his Ablett jumper sobbing his eyes out. He doesn't understand how you can't stay a Cat and that he can no longer watch you with his jumper on.

Well, as the Suns announce today that you are signing on with them, I will not be wishing you good luck, just good fortune, as no doubt the lure of cash is what speaks your language. Do I blame you for doing it, hell no, but I now know that I have to think of Cats footy without you as my son's number one!

I wouldn't want to be Gaz if he's got the ball and Chappy and Maxey Rooke are are in the area:)

Passionate, heart-felt.

I doubt that Gary can piece together those same feelings as he felt after the game vs the Pies and realise that pain will be on everyone else once he leaves.

Likewise, he hopes that time away will heal such wounds. Though, not in my lifetime.

I'm just not going to tell my 6 year old - I am just going to tell him that Ablett has changed his number to 35 and got a bit angrier...

The little fella needs a new cats jumper too (old one had 29 on it)...

Gary i to am a shattered supporter, i don't really know what to say. You have been brilliant to watch and given me so much pleasure having you play for this great club. But to me you will always be remembered as someone who turned his back on the club that has done everything it possibly could for him. We are the ones who wrapped you in cotton wool and looked after you when you first came and we helped develop you into the best player in the league. You have left your club, teammates, town and fans for money. I will not ever forget that. Not one of your teammates has done that ever before but you have. I have always found it hard to decide who was better out of you and your dad but you dad will always be well above you because he never left us for money, there are more important things in life than money Gary.

well said mate, add to that the fact that we have been lied to all year, especially since the season has finished, just giving us a false hope that was never going to happen...Gary has been a great player for us but I will find it hard to wish him any luck on the Gold Coast

Got my L plates on.

My point was that the club is bigger than the player, and in some cases the club duds the player too. There is no loyalty in the AFL, and the romantic notion of the fairy tale is non existant at that level. That is the cost of making a traditional state league the national league.

and football isn't one of them

he's set up himself and his family for the rest of his life, you really can't hold it against him imo....

Sorry Geelong supporters, I really feel for you. An agonizing year waiting for a decision which was inevitable. Garry is but another champion player taken by the lure of cash (which is understandable - you cant blame Garry for going). The AFL is to blame. All clubs did agree to the systems implemented but that does not mean it is fair to the supporters. Its the supporters who end up suffering - many are kids who do not understand the lure of money.

Yeah I really feel for the kids. My 3 year old daughters favorite player is "Gazza" and always keeps a close eye on him at games. Luckily she is young and want understand but the older kids with number 29 on there back will be shattered.

I dont blame Gaz, I blame the AFL. They created this monster.

Yeah I really feel for the kids. My 3 year old daughters favorite player is "Gazza" and always keeps a close eye on him at games. Luckily she is young and want understand but the older kids with number 29 on there back will be shattered.

I dont blame Gaz, I blame the AFL. They created this monster.

My son is 6 and has 29 on his back. He has been with me to Kardinia Park twice the day after we won each premiership and all he wanted was to see 'Little Gary'. He even took a pee at CHF while we were waiting to get a pic with the cup in 2007 (he was only 3 so lets let it slide shall we?...:D ).

Not looking forward to telling him tonight. He always asks a million questions and when he asks why his Little Gary left it wont be easy to tell him the truth ($$$$) when I have been telling him all this time money isn't everything.

Got my L plates on.

My point was that the club is bigger than the player, and in some cases the club duds the player too. There is no loyalty in the AFL, and the romantic notion of the fairy tale is non existant at that level. That is the cost of making a traditional state league the national league.

Except in the supporters.

I didn't think I'd be too upset, we've had a long time to prepare and any of us who thought he hadn't signed in the pre-season were deluding ourselves. But it does suck, knowing that the player we idolised doesn't hold the club in the same light we do. That probably goes for all of the players bar a very, very slim minority. Who'd have thought that Brown would leave the Hawks either?

I think this is what hurts the most, and Gary's decision highlights it. For the players, it's just a job. And for the AFL, it's just a market.

Got my L plates on.

Just made the switch from League buddy?

There WAS a lot of loyalty at OUR CLUB, before your plastic fantastic shit heap was forced upon us LOYAL fans.

There is no problem with a state league becoming a national league, except when teams are constructed in shit hole foreign owned dumps like you city, where the majority couldn't give a **** about AFL, to the detriment of the LOYAL and traditional clubs.

If you really think your club will ever be taken seriously, or even accepted by existing AFL fans, you are quite clearly deluded.

**** off, and enjoy watching Ablett sitting in the crowd when his body breaks down from being targeted too much.

Just curious.

I know the situation is a bit different, but what was the reaction from some of you when Judd left WCE. Does this compare in any way or do you see it as being too different.

Just curious.

I know the situation is a bit different, but what was the reaction from some of you when Judd left WCE. Does this compare in any way or do you see it as being too different.

Completely different.

Judd wanted to go home.

Ablett was home.

He grew up down at KP.

Great post, we all feel the same pain. Like someone else said, Gazza wouldn't have thought about this, about what he was leaving behind when going to the GC, because from my understanding, Ablett agreed to join the GC in November 2009, he's decision would have been immediate. He is all about $$$$. I NEVER thought i would see Gary Ablett playing for another team, i always thought he loves Geelong and no matter what would stay loyal, he just looks like that kind of guy. But he is not a James Hird or Nathan Buckley, Gazza just wants a tan and more money, I DON'T wish him good luck.

I wonder if by the middle of the 2011 season, when Ablett's body is covered by ice packs to soothe his aching body after he's battered from pillar to post in each and every game without having hardened bodies blocking for him at every stoppage, and he walks with a limp to his computer to log on and look at his bank balance, whether he'd think the extra $$ is really all worth it.

Am i correct when i say that some years ago Jimmy Bartel was wanted by Collingwood?? was he offered more money ? (not as much as Gazza) but in the end Bartel stayed loyal.

If I remember rightly Richmond were into him as well.

But then a few of our players could have shot through for more money, and haven't.

Know how you're all feeling, but I can't stop thinking what commission Liam Pickering will earn over the next 5 years.
I reckon he has been most infleuntial player is this whole debarcle.

Footy lost it's soul today and the Jerry McGuire's of this world dictate the market and fate of their clients.