itwdandy

Anyone else think it will be just the 3 that we have to do?
Do you think anyone will be traded at seasons end?

My thoughts are:

Delistings

Corrie
Cook
?????

Retirees

Obree
Presti (Does anyone think he can go on one more year? I think he can, wheather he does or not is another question)
Lockyer - Really like him hope goes on i think therer is a spot in our 22 for him.

Possible Trade

Josh Fraser - Does he have any currency? For like a Port or a Hawthorn or even GC?

Jack Anthony - Sad to see him go but think he will, he single handedly got us to a prelim last year and was by far our best forward... Surely he would have currency (at least a 2nd rounder)

Medhurst - Again sad to see him go but there again he should have some currency.

Jaxson Barham - Just cant see his disposal getting any better, would he have any interest? possibly GC

Your thoughts?

Re: Delisings

Agree Cook and Corrie are Gone and I reckon there could be 1 or 2 more De-Listings. Rusling could be DeListed or Retire.

Lockyer and O'bree will Retire and Presti it would depend if we win the Flag or Not

If we win the flag, Presti will retire on top. If we don't he'll try one more year I think.

Cook and Corrie are gone.

Medhurst I'm afraid might be too. Rusling will be kept mainly because he's still so young, and the draft is compromised for a few years.

Agree Cook and Corrie are Gone and I reckon there could be 1 or 2 more De-Listings. Rusling could be DeListed or Retire.

Lockyer and O'bree will Retire and Presti it would depend if we win the Flag or Not

Yep Cook and Corrie gawn!

Rusling - is he still on contract? if so probably part of a trade deal?

Tarks and Cheesy - will retire.

Presti - hoping for 1 more year even if it means he plays part time I think having him their for passing on experience can't hurt.

Josh - trade bait you would think.

Jack - Actually I'm keen to hold onto him. If he gets his cardio right he most certainly can step up for either down or back key utility (if you will)

Jaxson - I'd hold onto him for sure. Still young.

Medders - I'd keep if he is keen.

Leon - might a surprise for us all. If he has a shocking finals series then who knows? ... might return home to play a few years at Freo or Wet Toast? I know he's meant to be playing a roll but he got AA playing on the ball and now it's a matter of each game hoping he'll turn on it.

Yep Cook and Corrie gawn!

Rusling - is he still on contract? if so probably part of a trade deal?

Tarks and Cheesy - will retire.

Presti - hoping for 1 more year even if it means he plays part time I think having him their for passing on experience can't hurt.

Josh - trade bait you would think.

Jack - Actually I'm keen to hold onto him. If he gets his cardio right he most certainly can step up for either down or back key utility (if you will)

Jaxson - I'd hold onto him for sure. Still young.

Medders - I'd keep if he is keen.

Leon - might a surprise for us all. If he has a shocking finals series then who knows? ... might return home to play a few years at Freo or Wet Toast? I know he's meant to be playing a roll but he got AA playing on the ball and now it's a matter of each game hoping he'll turn on it.

Absolutely no way the club will trade Sean. We wouldn't get anywhere near his value and he would be just as likely to get his body right and become the gun we know he's capable of becoming.

With the amount of duds deserving of delisting like Cook, Corrie, Barham, Rus should get another chance.

Lol so hard at people saying to keep Rusling but to delist Anthony. Jack has had a shite season, let's not mince words, but he has proven potential and I think it's worth persisting with it. Cook and Corrie are gone, as are Tarks and Obie, Fraser would have some currency as a backup ruckman, he's worth bandying about I'd say. Gold Coast would need a mature ruckman right? Take Josh!

Probably not referring to my post but I don't we should get rid of Anthony... :thumbsu::)

Needs to pull his head in though!!!
Same with Wood.... :o

Presti strikes me as the person who will do what's right by the club and the bloke he's holding back from getting a regular gig in the 1's.

I doubt whether it will come down to whether he gets premiership glory or not.

Absolutely no way the club will trade Sean. We wouldn't get anywhere near his value and he would be just as likely to get his body right and become the gun we know he's capable of becoming.

With the amount of duds deserving of delisting like Cook, Corrie, Barham, Rus should get another chance.

Rusling has played 17 games since his debut 6 seasons back in '05 - I think it's fair to say the club has given him plenty of chances to get himself right, but you can't carry a bloke on your list forever.

Rusling, Cook and Corrie look certain delstings for mine and Barham borderline - O'Bree and Lockyer headed for retirement..... the future of the likes of Fraser, Medhurst, Anthony and Presti probably largely depend on what happens over the next month.

Delisted
Cook
Corrie.

Retired
O'Bree
Tarks
Presti(if we win flag)

Moving on
Fraser

That's at least 5 players and possible 6 (or 7 if someone like Anthony wants to be traded.) Even with rookie elevations that is a lot of list spots to fill in a week draft.

Cook and Corrie should be a monty ditto O'Bree. You can bet Fraser won't want to spend another season in the 2's so I am assuming he will ask to be moved on, he holds little to no trade value so the club will probably try to find a club to move him too for a late draft pick which we don't use (or use as our last pick to pick up Young.)

I think Tarks wants to play on. If we win the flag I think Presti will go out on top. If we don't he maybe convinced into going around one more time. If Presti stays I don't think list wise we will end up keeping Tarks although if Presti goes it maybe Tarks lifeline.

I think given all the above guys like Barham and Rusling will be spared on the basis that they are better options then what we are likely to find in the draft.

Presti strikes me as the person who will do what's right by the club and the bloke he's holding back from getting a regular gig in the 1's.

I doubt whether it will come down to whether he gets premiership glory or not.

I don't think it's a matter of that being a selfish decision to hang on. I think we will be trying to get him to go around one more time regardless. N Brown will get plenty of senior experince and if he is a better option then Presti he will keep his spot. It is however in the clubs best interest to have a guy like Presti there for insurance. If we don't get a premiership this year he maybe swayed whereas if we win it I don't think there is a chance.

It's nice to see a couple of people recognise the importance of asking the player what he wants. Does Josh Fraser want to stay at Collingwood? Does Rusling want to go around again? Does Medders really want to go home?

I think a premiership is going to have a significant effect too - obviously on Presti.

As for Jack, he has been playing really well down back in the VFL. If he wanted to stay, I would keep him.

If Presti does retire at seasons end, surely Jack is worth keeping with that extra spot opening up down back.

Either way, it would be foolish to move Jack on IMO.

Rusling has played 17 games since his debut 6 seasons back in '05 - I think it's fair to say the club has given him plenty of chances to get himself right, but you can't carry a bloke on your list forever.

Rusling, Cook and Corrie look certain delstings for mine and Barham borderline - O'Bree and Lockyer headed for retirement..... the future of the likes of Fraser, Medhurst, Anthony and Presti probably largely depend on what happens over the next month.

I'd rather keep someone of Ruslings talent, regardless of how his body might hold up, than someone who butchers the ball like Barham!
Just my opinion though mate :thumbsu::)

• Cook certain to go - been around long enough, not good enough.
  • Corrie I'd say also - however he might get one more year prove himself, purely on the grounds that the draft will be shallow and a depth player like Corrie has just as much chance of succeeding as pick 90. But did himself no favours turning up overweight this year
  • Rusling also - although they could possibly rookie list him, but I suspect he is cooked.
  • Fraser - simply cant see why he'd want to stay at Collingwood. Needs to seek greener pastures this year because he'll have zero trade value in 12 months time
  • Presti - might retire especially if we win a flag - late season injuries will make him contemplate the value of going round again, plus with Brown and Reid ready to step up, he might think he's in the way.
  • O'Bree - good time to bring an excellent career to an end
Thats six gone wthout really trying, and without considering Lockyer (does he have another year left in him), Barham (do we persevere - the answer is yes as per my Corrie comment above), and Anthony (will he seek more opportunities at other clubs, eg GC).

Wood and Medhurst have to stay. Its crazy to speculate on getting rid of them.

Brown said Rusling needed to prove himself in the final matches in the VFL if he was to retain a spot on its list next season.

''It's his fourth game back now for us and he's showed some signs,'' Brown said. ''He's a little bit up and down and he's just trying to get a bit of consistency. With a month of footy under his belt now, we're looking to see some consistency in his performance.''

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/magpies-on-recruiting-wishlists-20100807-11pir.html