Health Depression

• Thread starter Thread starter smasha

I've been in a post year 12 phase where I'm starting to realise that I don't really have a lot in common with a lot of my friends and we were probably just friends out of convenience over the last couple of years. On top of that, my best mate of the last 6 years pulled an absolute campaigner of a move on me and we're no longer friends. This may just sound like some kid whining, and to some extent I'm sure I am, but it's really got me down.

Do more of what you love, what makes you happy. You'll find real friends at some point living that out.

Been quite depressed lately, even to the point of planning to get rid of my personal belongings in case I kill myself. I have a car so I'm basically thinking of locking all my personal stuff in my car so that my parents will take it after I die and not my landlord or the police or whatever. Then there's deleting my internet history or just deleting my entire computer and usb drives. Then i have to do my laundry as well because I don't want ppl to find my dirty laundry. i never liked other ppl doing my laundry.

I've been in a post year 12 phase where I'm starting to realise that I don't really have a lot in common with a lot of my friends and we were probably just friends out of convenience over the last couple of years. On top of that, my best mate of the last 6 years pulled an absolute campaigner of a move on me and we're no longer friends. This may just sound like some kid whining, and to some extent I'm sure I am, but it's really got me down.
You and me both here Engimal..

Same thing I said to Enigmal.

What is it you love doing? Do more of that. No matter whether it's music, painting, playing sport, hiking, photography, kickboxing, dancing, just do more of it.

A good place to look for people who love doing the same things as you is meetup.com, search the place and see if you can find something that piques your interest, and you might be able to make a few mates that are into the same things that you are.

Not just you.

I don't get it. Every New Year everybody thinks it's going to be the best time ever, and every year it's always a disappointment. Maybe I'm not going to the right places, and it probably doesn't help that my idea of fun doesn't involve getting so drunk that I can't remember what I did the night before.

And then for those of us that are a bit more sensitive to relationships, the whole tradition of getting someone to kiss at New Year's, well that's just so much fun too.
Was gona ask if maybe its because your a bullies supporter,but then realised you were respondin to a pies supporter.Thinkin about it abit more,considerin we also missed finals this yr,maybe its just our kindred spirit of missin finals that makes us miserable this time of the year.Or maybe your just a grinch???? Id take that as a compliment coz the grinch was funny as shit(favourite xmas movie behind SANTA CLAUS-THE MOVIE,staring dudley moore and john cleese-grew up watchin that),either way,chin up:D

Christmas is awesome :D

It's New Year's that I, and I assumed RaS, was talking about. It's always a disappointment, and never really fun. Probably has something to do with the fact that the whole point is to get drunk, and I don't drink. Or because I'm not a partier.

And seriously, if the fact that I was a Dogs supporter was why I was depressed, I'm pretty sure they would have killed me by now :oops:

It's New Year's that I, and I assumed RaS, was talking about. It's aIways a disappointment, and never really fun. Probably has something to do withI he fact that the whole point is to get drunk, and I don't drink. Or because I'm not a partier.

And seriously, if the fact that I was a Dogs supporter was why I was depressed, I'm pretty sure they would have killed me by now :oops:
My bad bro-misread your post as you dislike the whole xmas/new yrs break.I usually look at them as the same but after carefull consideration i agree with you.I love xmas,but totally over new yrs these days.Im just lucky i still hav the ability to get drunk and not give a -wot?

This world is phuked up, don't let anyone ever tell you different, that you have the illness, that the worlds okay. Being down, because of the bullshit in this world is normal, is healthy, is being alive. You are the people that change the bullshit, because you feel. Change is now. Everyone needs to vent. Every experience you have, you take on board an energy. Sometimes good energy, sometimes bad energy, sometimes neutral energy. Experiences are food to your soul. You can't keep feeding it crap. It needs nutrition. It needs to rid waste from the system.

Some of you have an inner calling that senses stuff, more than others. This is where depression begins. Your sensitives souls. Inside of you can't deny an injustice, can't shut the pain off. So your body does. Your body is a self regulating system.

Some of you its your liver, digestive system, from the quality of food and beverages today. You're the ones medications are going to heck right up.The first thing those meds kill, is the liver.

I would recommend to a lot of you, if you're feeling down, introduce a probiotic to your diet and vent. Stress effects stomach health. With poor stomach health, the goodies your brain and its system needs are not produced in sufficient quantities. Your brains ability to process and run off glucose is effected. Probiotics are your friend.

Its hard these days to find an outlet. But its bloody worth it when you do. I would recommend acknowledging someone elses shit, as their shit, its not personal, but its also not acceptable. I would also recommend that you back yourself in at all times. Go with your instinct. Alot more regrets, questioning your instinct than when your instinct is wrong.

You're not wrong.

This world is phuked up, don't let anyone ever tell you different, that you have the illness, that the worlds okay. Being down, because of the bullshit in this world is normal, is healthy, is being alive. You are the people that change the bullshit, because you feel. Change is now. Everyone needs to vent. Every experience you have, you take on board an energy. Sometimes good energy, sometimes bad energy, sometimes neutral energy. Experiences are food to your soul. You can't keep feeding it crap. It needs nutrition. It needs to rid waste from the system.

Some of you have an inner calling that senses stuff, more than others. This is where depression begins. Your sensitives souls. Inside of you can't deny an injustice, can't shut the pain off. So your body does. Your body is a self regulating system.

Some of you its your liver, digestive system, from the quality of food and beverages today. You're the ones medications are going to heck right up.The first thing those meds kill, is the liver.

I would recommend to a lot of you, if you're feeling down, introduce a probiotic to your diet and vent. Stress effects stomach health. With poor stomach health, the goodies your brain and its system needs are not produced in sufficient quantities. Your brains ability to process and run off glucose is effected. Probiotics are your friend.

Its hard these days to find an outlet. But its bloody worth it when you do. I would recommend acknowledging someone elses shit, as their shit, its not personal, but its also not acceptable. I would also recommend that you back yourself in at all times. Go with your instinct. Alot more regrets, questioning your instinct than when your instinct is wrong.

You're not wrong.

you're a good man Grazdog.

Been quite depressed lately, even to the point of planning to get rid of my personal belongings in case I kill myself. I have a car so I'm basically thinking of locking all my personal stuff in my car so that my parents will take it after I die and not my landlord or the police or whatever. Then there's deleting my internet history or just deleting my entire computer and usb drives. Then i have to do my laundry as well because I don't want ppl to find my dirty laundry. i never liked other ppl doing my laundry.

mate... if PM me if u want...no shit

http://getselfhelp.co.uk/

I
found this site a helpful tool for any Cognitive Behaviour self help, particularly mindfulness. Its not for everyone, but i'm finding its helping me a bit.

My best wishes to everyone fighting this bastard

http://getselfhelp.co.uk/

I
found this site a helpful tool for any Cognitive Behaviour self help, particularly mindfulness. Its not for everyone, but i'm finding its helping me a bit.

My best wishes to everyone fighting this bastard

I found CBT really helpful for me too. I am bad for getting into negative thought patterns and stewing. My Doctor sent me to a CBT specialist on the Medicare scheme. It really did help me and gave me some practical ideas of how to stop the negative thought cycles.

It's New Year's that I, and I assumed RaS, was talking about. It's always a disappointment, and never really fun. Probably has something to do with the fact that the whole point is to get drunk, and I don't drink. Or because I'm not a partier.

If by RaS you mean me no hate Christmas. If I want to get together with family I can do it anytime and what should be a chilled relaxed time of year is always hectic. Also not a fan of all the bulls&^ that goes with it. Plus I'm not in the mood to celebrate so fronting up to all the dos is wearing.

Part of the problem is I've used up or my energy just getting through this period, getting through the weeks that when time off comes/a chance to bed something down I'm too exhausted to even think straight let alone plan a future/make important decisions. Let alone do anything productive. Sometimes all you can do is just survive thou it gets old after a while. Kind of at a loss, maybe certain things you should just do but I'm hard pressed just typing on Big Footy now let alone sorting my shit out.

New Years btw > Christmas. Not really fussed with it

of those who have suffered from depression, who many have found out later it was triggered by food or the "gut"?

I am hearing more and more that people have experienced depression relating directly to things like sugar and grains or indirectly as the sugar or grains trigger an auto immune issue that effects hormone production.

if you have found it was food related, how did you discover the issue?

I have been dealing with depression and anxiety on and off since I was 17, I'm now 33. Last year was possibly the hardest year of my life. It was hard because I was ok for about 2 years. No real depression and I was able to put myself in situations or places where in the past my anxiety/panic attacks would've flared up.
Then 15 months ago out of the blue I had a full on panic attack. After that I pretty much fell apart, it was worse then ever. I couldn't even catch a train or go to the supermarket without having issues. I have a small business so running that became almost impossible. We nearly went broke. Almost destroyed my marriage in the process.

It was at this point that I told my wife what was going on with me. After all these years of keeping it to myself, scared of what people will think of me I finally trusted someone enough to let my gaurd down and talk about how I felt.
Best thing I ever did, talking to my wife rather then shutting her out probably saved my marriage.
My wife convinced me to see a psychiatrist.
That was about 8 months ago. While I still have dark days and the odd flare up of anxiety I feel much better about myself. I genuinely feel as though developing an understanding of my condition and excepting it is just a part of me has helped heaps. I don't get so down on myself anymore and I'm no longer embarrassed by it.

Not sure why I put that out there. Maybe just as a **** you to depression and anxiety

It's a very personal and isolating battle. Some people try to understand, others judge, others turn away and so on. You really find out who your true friends are when you suffer from depression and other mental health issues, I tell you. Despite how much they may study it, those who are there to help you have no idea themselves what it is truly like either. The only ones who have any idea are the fellow sufferers and even then it is only in overall terms and not what it is like to be YOU.

I've had it for years. My problems now are caused by the fact that I never really addressed it properly when I should have. So that now, in my 50s, it is deeply ingrained. To a large extent I feel beaten, but I do my best to seek help and get through each day as best I can. I do believe that I am with it until my death and that my death will be the only thing that brings me any sort of peace.

Having said that, I am the victim of a suicide (my father) so I do what I can to fight off those thoughts. They may win one day but not for now.

Unchecked depression just manifests itself in so many ways. Addiction, sadness at events and the state of the world (in my case in particular animal welfare triggers it off repeatedly), diet, weight, isolation, behaviour changes, problems keeping yourself/environment clean and presentable, lack of motivation, wanting to sleep all the time, struggling to get out of bed in the morning, avoiding people/conversations and so much more. You get buried in those sort of things and you lose perspective and hope that it can be overcome - because you are overwhelmed.

And because you can't see anyone who truly understands, it just makes things worse. There are kind people, don't get me wrong, who offer to "talk" and "listen" which is wonderful and being so helpful. In my case it doesn't help, because talking doesn't alter the reality that I am living in. Everything is still a mess and a shambles, both internally and in a practical sense also.

So you end up just battling, day in day out. Some days are better than others. Some days you get spurts of motivation and get things done. And put the symptoms at bay for a period of time. But they always return. And on bad days you go to bed hoping that maybe the next day will be better, unfortunately though invariably it isn't.

I'm to the stage where I truly believe that the only way I can ever hope to get better is to get myself locked away in a psych facility for 6 months. But under our current system that just isn't going to happen. And there lies another problem, the level of support just isn't there for mental health sufferers. Awareness is growing, which is great, but trying to get quality, ongoing and affordable care is next to impossible.

Anyway, that may give an insight to what it is like for me. And probably others. The ignorant will post their usual responses (I wouldn't mind a dollar for every time I've heard "get over it") but I was posting more for those who are genuinely interested. It's not a post looking for sympathy by the way (depression isn't about feeling sorry for yourself), I just wanted people to know what it is like.

I'll put my hand up. I'm currently battling anxiety and depression. A couple of things recently that haven't helped my cause but truth be known, I'd been trying to suck it up and not seek treatment for far too long (school is a very long time ago!).

I've cut right back on drinking, eating healthily and trying to take up more exercise. My drinking wasn't ridiculous but certainly not conducive to losing weight and helping me become a better me.

I'm currently seeing a psychologist (had my second session) and she has recommended I see my doctor about starting a mild form of antidepressants to try and take the edge off it whilst setting me some strategies to try and deal with it. I'll have another session with her in a week or two.

I'm looking at a career change as I don't deal with stress well and I prefer to help people through problems rather than fog them off (as from what I've experienced in the cutthroat corporate world). If I can overcome the depression, anxiety, panic attacks and stress, it will open more options but I think I'd rather look at a new career path perhaps in welfare.

When I come out of the long dark tunnel, I want to be there to help others get through theirs.

Don't go it alone. If you need help, get it. Don't just sit about and "fake it, until you make it". Too many people sitting on it for too long and letting 10-20 years go by whilst struggling to work it out and then realising they need professional help and support.

I've been off medication since mid September. I have an attitude where I don't want any type of dependency on medication, even bloody parasol for a headache. I've been on depression medication for 2 years and had pretty low self esteem for the last 6 years, essentially after I was made redundant from my previous job.
I'm not sure whether the medication has made a huge difference, I've noticed I now have a very thin skin regarding personal criticism etc. Small problems turn into all consuming issues due to my thought process, eventually it goes away and I realise it's not that big or as bad as originally thought.
Really not sure whether I'll go back on them, I'm in a job where psychological weakness is not looked upon fondly as its a very high pressure/stress industry. I'm worried that if mentioned, I will be managed out of the business, regardless of how good my results are. Then again, performance management involves 3 warnings at an absolute minimum of 18 weeks.
Right there, that's an example of how I can think the worst and then reflect and realise it's not immediately as bad as first thought.
And to think around 10 years ago I used to think of people with depression as weak

I've been off medication since mid September. I have an attitude where I don't want any type of dependency on medication, even bloody parasol for a headache. I've been on depression medication for 2 years and had pretty low self esteem for the last 6 years, essentially after I was made redundant from my previous job.
I'm not sure whether the medication has made a huge difference, I've noticed I now have a very thin skin regarding personal criticism etc. Small problems turn into all consuming issues due to my thought process, eventually it goes away and I realise it's not that big or as bad as originally thought.
Really not sure whether I'll go back on them, I'm in a job where psychological weakness is not looked upon fondly as its a very high pressure/stress industry. I'm worried that if mentioned, I will be managed out of the business, regardless of how good my results are. Then again, performance management involves 3 warnings at an absolute minimum of 18 weeks.
Right there, that's an example of how I can think the worst and then reflect and realise it's not immediately as bad as first thought.
And to think around 10 years ago I used to think of people with depression as weak

I think the perception of depression and the people who have it is changing. Thanks to people like Nathan Thompson and other high profile people opening up about it, slowly but surely opinions are changing. After hiding it for so long, afraid of what people may think, now I think if people want to judge me for admitting I have it, then **** them, they are poison anyway.

There is the problem you will be judged every which way regardless of what you do. When it comes to issues of money, status, people trying to position in whatever crappy hierarchy then any weakness/crap is frowned upon. Normally I'd agree that people like these and constant judgements are poison but they can't always be avoided.

Work wise naturally a common sense approach is get in get the business done and do your best to scratch out a living. If someone has depression/mental illness/is fat/skinny/ a hypochondriac/a smoker etc etc who gives a sh*& let them sort out their own lives and if they want to talk hopefully good people are around. Unfortunately we live in a very judgemental society where weakness is frowned upon.

Best bet is to disengage where possible and just find a way to work for yourself if possible. (Hard with the economy in its current state but who knows?)

The medication issue- not sure. Not at all convinced it is the greatest or even helpful and there are some very alarming side effects potentially. But then again if people are going to drink/drug up to excess and need something short term to step back from a cliff's edge so to speak than maybe a short term dose under a very diligent trusted doctor could be considered. Really up to the individual. (Political Rant-Maybe if certain drugs weren't illegal they could be very beneficial if developed properly by a qualified chemist rather than rely on the risks of anti depressants. <Bear in mind here I'm talking about certain derivatives and supplements not necessarily say the drug taking high as a kite section of the substance.>