Health Depression

• Thread starter Thread starter smasha

I ask people what they do for a living as a conversation starter but I really couldn't give a shit unless it's something that I'm really interested in or another teacher. That, or "Which AFL/NRL team?"

There is literally **** all points to a weekend now. Anything and everything is planned around it and I and am assuming many others are simply too stuffed getting through a week and all other things that need doing that you simply are cactus then repeat for work. No real point. You literally need the fitness of an Olympic athlete to work full time without something else going down the gurglar.

Yes, I would actually agree that you do need good fitness levels to survive full time and a lifestyle around it, just to keep your energy levels up..

Mental strength just comes from experience I guess.

I get chronic headaches from work stress and the only that gets me through the week is that I ride an exercise bike and lift weights...lifting weights definitely helps with stamina...

Having lots of interests like music, films, studying, drawing is what gets me through down time during the week...

The 4-day working week would be so much better for someone like me who has lots of interests..

Depression and anxiety here.

One thing I have noticed and tried to learn to deal with, is that even though we all suffer from the same 'diagnosis'. We are all very different, and handle things very differently.

This is not a one size fits all situation.

I'm going to read through this thread and get to learn a bit about all of you. But I'll tell you a bit about myself as well.

Tried to commit suicide twice. Haven't succeeded yet, in case you couldn't guess! Haha.
Scares all over from self harm and drunken incidents.

Used to drink a lot. 2.5L of vodka over the weekend. Friday after work, Saturday, finish Sunday and start to recover. Back to work on Monday.

Lost my license for drink driving. Stopped drinking about a month after that. Over 200 days without a drop.

Main issue is social anxiety. I live my life vicariously through internet forums. Or get drunk before anything social.
I just cannot handle making a mistake in front of people...
Over think every possible consequence.

If I am walking down the street, I think everyone driving past is watching me a judging me.

As I said, I'm going to read through this thread. But does anyone have any success stories?

One thing I have noticed and tried to learn to deal with, is that even though we all suffer from the same 'diagnosis'. We are all very different, and handle things very differently.

I'm going to read through this thread and get to learn a bit about all of you. But I'll tell you a bit about myself as well.

Tried to commit suicide twice. Haven't succeeded yet, in case you couldn't guess! Haha.

Used to drink a lot. 2.5L of vodka over the weekend. Friday after work, Saturday, finish Sunday and start to recover. Back to work on Monday.

Lost my license for drink driving. Stopped drinking about a month after that. Over 200 days without a drop.

Main issue is social anxiety. I live my life vicariously through internet forums. Or get drunk before anything social.

If I am walking down the street, I think everyone driving past is watching me a judging me.

As I said, I'm going to read through this thread. But does anyone have any success stories?

Good to hear you've got the drinking under control, for some people it's not the alcohol buzz that is the issue it's the come down that can be the killer or if you're super lucky both the "high" and come down cause major angst.

Is it all social events that cause you anxiety or if you're going to the footy alone/with a good friend do you still get the same feelings? Whilst bigfooty can be a harsh and dumboundingly ignorant place at times this thread is always full of good people with good advice :thumbsu:

By the way a lot of the people that you think are looking at you and judging you are having the same thoughts as you which is crazy because very few people are actually judging you yet still, as a society in general, we're all worried what other people are thinking of us. And we're the superior race on Earth, sometimes being a dog would seem to be a better option.

A good psychologist that specialises in Cognitive behavioral therapy could really help you with this. Usually people are too knee deep in their own shit to be worried about judging you.

Good to hear you've got the drinking under control, for some people it's not the alcohol buzz that is the issue it's the come down that can be the killer or if you're super lucky both the "high" and come down cause major angst.

Is it all social events that cause you anxiety or if you're going to the footy alone/with a good friend do you still get the same feelings? Whilst bigfooty can be a harsh and dumboundingly ignorant place at times this thread is always full of good people with good advice :thumbsu:

By the way a lot of the people that you think are looking at you and judging you are having the same thoughts as you which is crazy because very few people are actually judging you yet still, as a society in general, we're all worried what other people are thinking of us. And we're the superior race on Earth, sometimes being a dog would seem to be a better option.
Thank you.
Yeah the drinking was just a downward spiral.
Drink to escape... alcohol is a depressant... makes me more depressed, so I drink.... alcohol is a depressant, makes me more depressed, so I drink...

And on the anxiety level. I drink because I can't handle things.
Of course, getting drunk doesn't fix the issue, it just means you have even less time when you sober up, to get it done, so you're more anxious, and drink more.

And drinking after finishing something big, because you're so wiped out you just want to pass out.

One crazy thing, is just how dependent on alcohol I have become, for a lot of social interactions.

And again, yep, how egotistical must I be, to think that I'm that important to everyone, that they would pay attention to me? Haha.
To assume that if I hear some people laughing, that they must be laughing at me.
That I occupy people's thoughts that much?

A good psychologist that specialises in Cognitive behavioral therapy could really help you with this. Usually people are too knee deep in their own shit to be worried about judging you.
Thank you. And I've tried a lot of therapists.
I definitely benefit from having someone listen to me talk for an hour. But I've still never felt like it's helped long term.
So many things they tell me, I already know or have read. And I often find myself trying to make them feel better about themselves... and some of them I even end up talking to me about their problems, and I offer advice and help...

I think that's OK though. Because it's important to have a connection and a trust with them.

Reading through, I definitely feel I can relate to raskolnikov.
Very similar thoughts and feelings to himself all those years ago.

Any update Ras? How are you going now?

For me, the most frustrating thing with it all, is the separation of logic and emotion...

I'm not sure I can explain it. But I wonder if anyone else has similar problems.

Ok, like, I know that logically there isn't anything I should be scared of, by just going to the shops... but there will be a deep total fear in my gut, that sometimes I just cannot overcome.

I know logically that I must seem like a good person, because everyone always says I'm a great person, and they want to spend time with me.
I'm nearly always in a relationship, because women just seem to fall in love with me.

But... I still feel like a complete loser, that everyone hates.

Part of my fear of social situations is making a mistake, and having people realise what a loser I am. Or how stupid I am.

No matter how many times a girl has told me she loves me, I don't believe her, and put it down to her just being happy and comfortable, or just happy because it's a better relationship than her last one, or she just doesn't realise it isn't love, because it's her first relationship, etc etc.

Sorry... a lot of rambling here.
So hard getting thoughts into words sometimes.

TL: DR, does anyone else KNOW things... but at the same time, not believe those things?

Reading through, I definitely feel I can relate to raskolnikov.
Very similar thoughts and feelings to himself all those years ago.

Any update Ras? How are you going now?

Yeah. Definitely in a much better place now . I left that job and moved to Central Queensland. I have a great job now. One I actually look forward to going back to on Sundays. The staff you work with make so much difference to your enjoyment of the job . I miss living in Victoria a lot socially but being a teacher at least I get lots of opportunities to get back. I know Crossfitters get a bad rap for constantly talking about it but honestly it has been a lifesaver. I am not necessarily advocating Crossfit but anything that gives you a chance to mix socially is important.

I was in a dark tunnel back then and couldn't see a light. There is always one there though. Often we just have to change our direction to see it. Hope things work out ok for you.

I have a great job now. One I actually look forward to going back to on Sundays. The staff you work with make so much difference to your enjoyment of the job .
God is this true.

I actually want some advice off the back of this. Because of where I work, I can't really go into specifics, but I can't really find any other job in the same sort of industry because there are no spots available. But at the moment, there are a couple of people I work with that are making me depressed all over again, and I hate even the idea of going to work. But I have no fallback.

Is it worth just quitting the job without a backup and trying to find any other job, even retail or something similar, because these people are making me feel the worst I've felt in a very long time?

I don't think anyone can really make that decision for you. You need to consider the consequences of just quitting but even then if the job has become so bad that you just can't handle it you may have to take a leap in the dark and hope you land on your feet like I did. You may find yourself doing something totally unexpected but that's what life is about. Good luck with your decision.

God is this true.

I actually want some advice off the back of this. Because of where I work, I can't really go into specifics, but I can't really find any other job in the same sort of industry because there are no spots available. But at the moment, there are a couple of people I work with that are making me depressed all over again, and I hate even the idea of going to work. But I have no fallback.

Is it worth just quitting the job without a backup and trying to find any other job, even retail or something similar, because these people are making me feel the worst I've felt in a very long time?

dont rush the decsion, don't make it when u r emotional

I'm interested in Anti-Depressants. I hear two schools of thought about them all the time and we tend to hear more of the negative stories...a bit like ecstasy, we only hear about it when someone dies-the news never shows the 100,000 people that had the night of their lives.

Can anyone share any experiences on anti-d's...have they helped you?

I'm interested in Anti-Depressants. I hear two schools of thought about them all the time and we tend to hear more of the negative stories...a bit like ecstasy, we only hear about it when someone dies-the news never shows the 100,000 people that had the night of their lives.

I can't share from personal experience because i've not taken them but I know alot of people on them who say that they help. However that could be attributed to the placebo effect.

SSRIs are based on the assumption that people are depressed due to low serratonin, however there isn't a shred of evidence or research that validates that. When you look into how trials are conducted to validate anti-ds it's obvious how the placebo effect comes into play. Eg. Participants are told at the start of the trial that if they get the med they may experience side effects like dry mouth, etc, so when they receive these side effects they realise they have the real med and the placebo effect kicks in.

The most compelling research into depression now, which actually has been validated is depression and anxiety are due to inflammation; immune response, thyroid issues.

Anti depressants are incredibly difficult to come off and often cause a relapse which further gives the delusion that they were doing there job.

Psychartrist Kelly Brogan - educated at MIT; NYU, Cornell

Thank you. And I've tried a lot of therapists.
I definitely benefit from having someone listen to me talk for an hour. But I've still never felt like it's helped long term.
So many things they tell me, I already know or have read. And I often find myself trying to make them feel better about themselves... and some of them I even end up talking to me about their problems, and I offer advice and help...

I think that's OK though. Because it's important to have a connection and a trust with them.

They shouldn't be talking to you about their problems and if they are then i put them in the "bad psychologist basket."

Rather than having broad interactions tell them you need strategies on specific things, like, "when i walk down the street i feel like people are judging me". A decent psychologist can give you a helpful perspective as well as constructive tools which will counter these thoughts. I think being specific about the help you need keeps the focus on you (rather than them meandering off and talking about themselves) and you can learn bite sized strategies to help you with life.

Depression paid me a visit on Friday afternoon and as usual he brought his best mate anxiety along with him. I'm hoping it'll be gone when I wake up tomorrow morning because I want to go cycling. Right now I am struggling a bit with feeling like everything is meaningless and that I should end my life. I have therapy in a couple of days so I'm just holding out for that too.

I truly don't know if I'm experiencing depression or just in a funk. For some background I was in the US Navy from 2001-2005. Served with 4 guys who became brothers. One met a girl when we were in Perth in 2003, they kept in contact and he moved down there after serving, they get married and have three kids who all call me uncle. We kept in contact all throughout the years at least talking twice a week over the phone. In May of 2014 we meet up for 10 days in Seattle (close to where we were stationed) and he talks me into visiting Australia again, this time no restrictions like we had in the Navy. Over this time I start talking to a girl who works with him and his wife.

I arrive in Perth in May of 2015 for a 6 week vacation. Me and the girl are really hitting it off and Perth/Fremantle seemed like paradise to me. Two weeks into my stay they decide to do a separation. Me and my girl become official while I'm there (told you we hit it off) and she comes here to Nebraska for Christmas time for 6 weeks to meet my family and such. We decide I should move to Australia. Life is great! I'm still talking to my best friend, I have a great girlfriend that I absolutely love (yes I browsed at rings), and moving to Australia.

She moves in with my friends ex so she could save money for a place for us. She sends me addresses and I look them up. Exciting stuff. I wake up on a day in mid March with her sisters texting and my friends ex leaving voice mails that something bad happened. Not a good way to wake up. Turns out my best friend, my ****ing brother broke into the house grabbed a knife and stabbed her three times claiming she ruined his life. I quit my job immediately waiting for the call to come be with her. About two weeks later she tells me she can't be with me anymore. Every time she thinks of me she can't get over that he was my friend. Two months later she still requires surgery and they are unsure if she will have mobility in her arm.

What once really seemed like the perfect life just imploded and there was nothing I could do. I lost the love of my life, my brother, my dream. I don't know if I'm experiencing depression or not but May 25th was when I was originally supposed to leave here and with each day getting closer I just feel worse and worse. I've lost trust in friends that have never done me wrong but he didn't either until that day. I'm ****ing tired of people telling me it will get better because I'm not so sure. I've had suicidal thoughts but no inclination whatsoever to act on them.

Sorry for the long write up but any opinions are welcome. Thanks.

I have the exact same symptoms of social anxiety too.. relate to the forums thing but i still have good friends i see or tlk too daily.

Last friday i saw a doc for the first time in over a year. He prescribed me Paxil (paroxetine), feeling like shit, nauseas, hand tremors. But apparently it goes away and starts working on your mental in 4-6 weeks..

I like talking to people with social anxiety... give us an update on whatever happens in yo life.

Just started last friday.. ill update with my findings.

Former benzo user but decided they cant be good for the long term

Just started last friday.. ill update with my findings.

Former benzo user but decided they cant be good for the long term

yeah lets us know mate. On here or PM whatever u feel comfortable with.

Benzos can be life savers for those people at a height of depression or anxiety (especially those who have panic attacks n the middle of the night) but you are correct they need to be used wisely, very addictive and I'm pretty sure no good for things like memory etc.

:( My wife is back in hospital. I reckon we've almost averaged twice a year for the past 5 years. It's harrowing seeing someone you love not feeling like they can live or enjoy anything. Might be a lengthier month+ stay this time, too.

Living with a person suffering depression is no picnic.

:( My wife is back in hospital. I reckon we've almost averaged twice a year for the past 5 years. It's harrowing seeing someone you love not feeling like they can live or enjoy anything. Might be a lengthier month+ stay this time, too.

Living with a person suffering depression is no picnic.

I'm very sorry. Honestly.

However. I don't meant to be insensitive but in all seriousness public or private? Genuine question as I don't know many public hospitals that would out right admit someone. Do public hospitals do that? Or is it worth for those who need or may need help in the future getting private cover?