Strategy Dermott Brereton joins St.Kilda as specialist coach

I don't have to be mature about anything.. He's not Al Clarkson.
He went on record after Watter was sacked for saying that we make stupid decisions as a football club and that's why we never win premierships.
Now he may have been right at the time lol but its beside the point. He had no right attacking us publicly like that.
I don't think he's the sharpest tool in commentary. Which lets face it that's what he is now. So what's the point.
Let's go get Eddy Maguire to be our media relations coach.
Like the other bloke said. He's a hawthorn spy.

giphy-2.gif

He's always gone out of his way to bag us as a club so it's going to be hard to take him in as one of our own. I remember him saying that he thanks god he went to the Hawks instead of the Saints, said we have a loser mindset that stops us being able to win and several other disparaging things like his post Watters slaying of us.

I remember Blight being openly hostile about us and we went and employed him and can't help thinking it's some kind of inferiority complex that makes us pay our critics.
FWIW I really couldn't care what he's said previously about the club.

All I want is for him to impart some knowledge to our young key fwds and by defauldlt all fwds so they get.....
1. Don't take s**t from anyone.. ANYONE!
2. Develop a killer instinct for the contest
3. Play for and stand up for eachother
4. Hold eachother accountable to standards and gameplan
5. Kick goals rather than points
6. Remember the fans are the reason the club still exists.

Welcome Dermie!

He's not the head coach, or even a line coach. That WOULD be concerning - I'd suggest it was a superiority complex over the club that contributed to his mate Scotty's demise. Those kinds of positions come with influence over culture, and thus assessment and potential derision of culture.

Derm is just a specialist position coach. In many ways, he's similar to a dietitian or physiotherapist or other specialist role at the club. He teaches forwards how to be better forwards, because he knows how to be a great forward. That's it. He doesn't need to check or speak on culture. That is irrelevant.

But the added bonus, which we already saw on the weekend, is an old enemy in the media, just became an ally. That's handy for a club wanting to gain 10,000 very wary, worn out former members to return.

FWIW I really couldn't care what he's said previously about the club.

All I want is for him to impart some knowledge to our young key fwds and by defauldlt all fwds so they get.....
1. Don't take s**t from anyone.. ANYONE!
2. Develop a killer instinct for the contest
3. Play for and stand up for eachother
4. Hold eachother accountable to standards and gameplan
5. Kick goals rather than points
6. Remember the fans are the reason the club still exists.

Welcome Dermie!

7. Punch Purples lights out next time he sees him...

Got a good mate who knows him quite well. Says he is a top fella. My mate is a Sainter.

I must admit I think he is a bit of a flog in the media. He rambles away. He sometimes gets to the point, but it hard work getting there.

If he can help Max King use his obvious talents, and transition from junior to senior football, great. I think he can do that. He spent quite a bit of time with the young GWS team, including Josh Bruce who he nearly always praises. As a one on one coach he could well be ideal. Worth a shot.

Got a good mate who knows him quite well. Says he is a top fella. My mate is a Sainter.

I must admit I think he is a bit of a flog in the media. He rambles away. He sometimes gets to the point, but it hard work getting there.

If he can help Max King use his obvious talents, and transition from junior to senior football, great. I think he can do that. He spent quite a bit of time with the young GWS team, including Josh Bruce who he nearly always praises. As a one on one coach he could well be ideal. Worth a shot.

I wish he came on board last year and helped paddy.

A common complaint by fans over the years has been our failure to develop our young talent.

We now bring in one of the best and most highly decorated forwards the game has ever seen to help develop our forwards.

Can't believe some have a problem with it.

Yes he may be a flog.

But in our situation I think Janis Joplin best summed it up:

"Flog is just another word, for nothing left to lose"

A common complaint by fans over the years has been our failure to develop our young talent.

We now bring in one of the best and most highly decorated forwards the game has ever seen to help develop our forwards.

Can't believe some have a problem with it.

Yes he may be a flog.

But in our situation I think Janis Joplin best summed it up:

"Flog is just another word, for nothing left to lose"
Oh Doc , you just made me throw up in my own mouth reading that garbage you posted , your getting soft in your old age

No worries Risky.

Maybe we should say "no thanks" to the flog and just rely on the development blokes we used on Spencer White, Tom Lee, Paul Cahill etc

I'm sure those individuals weren't floggy

Probably weren't Flaggy either

No worries Risky.

Maybe we should say "no thanks" to the flog and just rely on the development blokes we used on Spencer White, Tom Lee, Paul Cahill etc

I'm sure those individuals weren't floggy

Probably weren't Flaggy either
You need to have talent in order to develop , the ones you mentioned had bugger all talent , Chris Waller would struggle to win a maiden with those three,
Wink will be fine without the Derminator

You need to have talent in order to develop , the ones you mentioned had bugger all talent , Chris Waller would struggle to win a maiden with those three,
Wink will be fine without the Derminator
Sorry, but no. I heard Roo speak about Spencer White, and he had no doubt he had talent. I trust Riewoldt's eye. Talent wasn't White's problem - work ethic was his problem. In Roo's autobiography he mentioned a similar frustration with Stanley. Rhys has found that application elsewhere, White just went nowhere. Both had talent, both poorly trained to utilise their talent by St Kilda forward coaches. Doc is 100% right.

You must be his brother to say that , The Doc has never been 100% correct ;)

Nailed it mate , the dick still thinks is a 20 year old surfer , I cant believe how so many on here think its great he has come to the club , i would bet my left one 99% of you were calling him a flog last week

He was a flog last week and will be next week week. BUT, he is one of the all time great forwards, he is ferociously competitive, hates losing and has a proven track record of coaching on an individual level (Jeremy Cameron amongst others).

If he makes us even 1% better then I'm all for it.

I wish he came on board last year and helped paddy.
Unless he bought a helmet like this with him i doubt it wouldve helped
sfan.gif

The Hawks used to come train at the school oval when Glenferrie was a mud pit and Derm used to rock up in the testarossa, fluoro orange running shorts 3 sizes to big and singlet 3 sizes too small