pinkus maximus

Stephen Hill
9 possessions last week,bugger all tonight. I am loathe to be too critical but at 25 he has no excuses for his last 2 finals

pinkus maximus said:
9 possessions last week,bugger all tonight. I am loathe to be too critical but at 25 he has no excuses for his last 2 finals

Exactly.
But we knew what we were getting with him
Soft front runner , great finishing and penetration.
But a front runner none the less

Ripper said:
Had 11 possies and 6 tackles and kept Kennally to 9 possies.

He was given a job and did it well.

Me thinks you are being a tad hard on him.

He let you down tonight c'mon. Schammer, Farmer, McManus, Parker should shoulder blame too.

Headland is weak when he is under any kind of pressure.

He is a different player since he left Brissy....because he isn't around all superstars.

He should take a leaf out of the Carr brothers or Cooks game.

Do we all expect too much from Des? He's largely a receiver and finisher of the ball. The fact he's not playing well generally means the balls not coming out to him and the team as a whole isn't playing well.

Headland was push off the ball too easier and the ball just kept rebounding and resulted in goals up the other end. He is 25 and i have lost confidence in him and we cant afford to carry him any longer. He must stand up under pressure or go back to the WAFL. U dont always have a great day but u always make a contest and do the one% to help your team. Headland just is too soft and too childish.

sabre_ac said:
Exactly.
But we knew what we were getting with him
Soft front runner , great finishing and penetration.
But a front runner none the less
At Brisbane he never HAD to hit in hard and consequently never did. No one saw his in tight work and willingness to put his head over the ball. Everyone assumed that he would be second to none at all those basic things. Not sure that you knew he was going to be like this.
If you knew he wasn't going to put his head over the ball in a prelim final then you wouldn't of picked him.

You guys gave away a number 1 draft pick for this guy didn't you? I will credit myself and say that i wasn't sure when you made that decision. I can now give myself a sly tap on the back.

We know the quality of skills this guy has but for your list his a real role model. Always has been since coming across and is probably more of one now considering the bigness in games you've played this season, obviously and inparticularly, the finals.
If your senior players don't put their head over the ball then how do you expect your young guys to follow up? Well, you saw tonight, not well at all. Your young guys got a bit over-shadowed tonight by some classy and disciplined football players, who form A TEAM. Maybe Headland should take a leaf out of the Swans book, or Brett Kirk's for that matter. A perfect example of a true warrior on the feild that would do anything for his club to just get over that line.

Nevertheless, congratulations on your efforts. Don't think i've come in here to stir something up. I'm just giving my thoughts and most of you probably agree with me. Well maybe not tonight but tomorrow once your over the loss.

You still have a very young list despite the likes of McManus and Bell.
Pavlich, your next captain reaffirmed tonight that he'll be your next captain and could go down by the end of his career as your best ever player and clubman.
Not going to forget to give your other warrior a wrap. Peter Bell, simply sensational in so many ways. Himself and Pavlich were both your best by some margin. Sandilands wasn't bad early himself either. Couldn't direct those hit outs those, i reckon he would've been better served "tapping" it to a player rather than just slapping it forward. You can get away with that against lesser teams of discipline but against the Swans they're going to be so good in close that you need to hit targets with your tap outs.

Pavlich and Bell were true warriors tonight. The only problem was, you may of only had 2-5 of them (including a couple of others) when the Swans had 22.

Again, congratulations on your efforts and good luck for next season. :)

Just because walls said he didn't put his head over the ball,am I the only one that saw kirk kick it through his hands just as he grabbed at it. if kirk missed the kick and he dropped to the ground on the ball he would of said you got to keep your feet.I'm dissappointed with his contribution but he is one of many who didn't or couldn't contribute.

Not just because Robert Walls made a comment about it at all. I've thought this for some time and don't let so called "football experts" get in the way of my opinion.

True, there were others that were bad. However, most were young players, not senior guys who should've been leading from the front.

Its annoying when one player is scapegoated on a thread.no one has mentioned the head over the ball before and he made six tackles so he cant be that bad.Parker ,macca,cook,farmer,longy also senior players who had little or no impact on the game yet dessie is singled out.

sdb4884 said:
He let you down tonight c'mon. Schammer, Farmer, McManus, Parker should shoulder blame too.

Dude you seem to know Freo inside and out, so far\you've given us your ideas on coaches, trades, etc. typical west coast wan%$er, when will you realise no one cares about your opinion on Freo?

If I was you i'd concentrate on your own lot, there will be plenty of soul searching to be done there, either tomorrow or next week.

As for the freo folk, tonight is not the time for a witch hunt, the boys got where they did as a result of unity, cast your mind back to that scorching run of 9, we always had a hard time picking out best players because of even team performances. So do not go picking out individuals who had 1 - or even 2 - bad games tonight/finals, they've all learned plenty.

michael Johnson is an uberstar, the 2nd tier players have improved 60%, and 2007 looks juicy from here. And 2006 finished a hell of a lot better than any of us could have dreamed after the geebung debacle.

hope you all have a good summer(get away from these chatrooms and play some cricket!)
PS sdb4884, i'll be in Sheldrake Park(high road end) at 10:00 Am tomorrow morning, if you want to tell me more of your Freo theories then you're welcome to join me

I dunno about a witch hunt, but dessie was pretty poor tonight. I thought we gave a pretty good effort throughout, and there wasn't too many players that were disappointing. Maybe because we expect more, maybe because he's high profile, but DURING the game (not just in hindisight) me and my mate were often questioning wtf is dessy doing tonight. Personally I think he's vital to our side, he's the player we need and we dont have alot of, perhaps tonight wasn't the night for finishers. who knows.

voodoo_86 said:
I dunno about a witch hunt, but dessie was pretty poor tonight. I thought we gave a pretty good effort throughout, and there wasn't too many players that were disappointing. Maybe because we expect more, maybe because he's high profile, but DURING the game (not just in hindisight) me and my mate were often questioning wtf is dessy doing tonight. Personally I think he's vital to our side, he's the player we need and we dont have alot of, perhaps tonight wasn't the night for finishers. who knows.

Was I sitting with you ?

Headland was poor in all 3 finals. He looks good when we win but struggles badly when we don't, and his disposal skills are over rated. He always has plenty of tackles because he doesn't like to put his head over the ball and waits for his opponent to do so. His name should definately be floated at trade time and if a good deal is offered it should be seriously considered.

Jasiano said:
At Brisbane he never HAD to hit in hard and consequently never did. No one saw his in tight work and willingness to put his head over the ball. Everyone assumed that he would be second to none at all those basic things. Not sure that you knew he was going to be like this.
If you knew he wasn't going to put his head over the ball in a prelim final then you wouldn't of picked him.

You guys gave away a number 1 draft pick for this guy didn't you? I will credit myself and say that i wasn't sure when you made that decision. I can now give myself a sly tap on the back.

We know the quality of skills this guy has but for your list his a real role model. Always has been since coming across and is probably more of one now considering the bigness in games you've played this season, obviously and inparticularly, the finals.
If your senior players don't put their head over the ball then how do you expect your young guys to follow up? Well, you saw tonight, not well at all. Your young guys got a bit over-shadowed tonight by some classy and disciplined football players, who form A TEAM. Maybe Headland should take a leaf out of the Swans book, or Brett Kirk's for that matter. A perfect example of a true warrior on the feild that would do anything for his club to just get over that line.

Nevertheless, congratulations on your efforts. Don't think i've come in here to stir something up. I'm just giving my thoughts and most of you probably agree with me. Well maybe not tonight but tomorrow once your over the loss.

You still have a very young list despite the likes of McManus and Bell.
Pavlich, your next captain reaffirmed tonight that he'll be your next captain and could go down by the end of his career as your best ever player and clubman.
Not going to forget to give your other warrior a wrap. Peter Bell, simply sensational in so many ways. Himself and Pavlich were both your best by some margin. Sandilands wasn't bad early himself either. Couldn't direct those hit outs those, i reckon he would've been better served "tapping" it to a player rather than just slapping it forward. You can get away with that against lesser teams of discipline but against the Swans they're going to be so good in close that you need to hit targets with your tap outs.

Pavlich and Bell were true warriors tonight. The only problem was, you may of only had 2-5 of them (including a couple of others) when the Swans had 22.

Again, congratulations on your efforts and good luck for next season. :)

Appreciate your thoughts, and nice to have an opposition supporter give an honest opinion without resorting to a troll. Some will agree with you, others won't that's just the nature of these forums.

But just to clarify - we gave away the #5 pick to Brisbane, which ended up the #3 pick when Carlton got stripped of its first two picks for salary cap cheating. The Lions picked up Jared Brennan with that pick. The whole deal also involved us giving McPhee to Essendon, for which we got pick 55 - which we used to pick up Ryan Crowley. Caracella and Cupido were also part of that convoluted deal.

i am a brissie supporter.I remember many year at a preseason practice match at Coorparoo.Sat up theblanket with the kids and got chatting to a nice couple next to me.Turns out their were Des's parent.

You know, he is a confidence player.Anything can be happening at home, or he could be so darned happy to finally be at home and doing what he has always wanted to do he is contented and not hungry.

Also wasn't he a junior FF.Maybe if he wa sput back in that possie he may feel at home,and play the house down.Having boys who play footy, I know. they play their best in their prefered junior playing days positions.No idea why.Like my Kapow, loves to ruck, is a natural.But coaches play him anywhere from CHF,FF to FB.Put him in the ruck you have a winner, a natural postion for him, knows what to do inside out, yet is a fish out of water in game awareability in some of the other postions.Does them well, but not as wello as ruck. Am I making sense.

I am not a huge fan but i think there are to many commenting on Des's performance based on the what they saw on the crap channel 10 tv coverage (and commentry).

I was led to believe he played on Tadgh Kennelly in this game. Check his stats and you will see 2 kicks 7 handballs for the game.

Des got 8 kicks 3 handballs 1 mark 1 free kick 6 tackles

I'm no genius but if they did play on each other all game then Des definitley did his job and beat his man as Kennelly was unsighted the entire game.

Some players are sometimes judged to harshly (particular by the crap reporters who only worry about those kicking the goals) by how little they come into TV replays. Sometimes the people behind the play contribute most to a teams sucess!

cheersandbeers 332docker:thumbsu::)

kidstyler said:
stop making scapegoats ...
Des had a crap game, but so did the bulk of our team. Its a credit to Bell, Sandilands and Pavlich that we got to within 8 or so points in the 3rd term. Without those three dragging the team kicking and screaming, we wouldn't have stood any chance. [hon. mention to J. Carr].