Direct from Dimma

I didn't see the junk, left 15 minutes into the last after the disappointment of not seeing us start a fight through the whole of the last quarter. The midfielders do deserve to be singled out, as a group they were crap.

I don't think there was much point singing out any group at all. You get beaten by 103 points (and save for a few junk times goals, it was a 20 goal hiding) because all the groups have let the structure down.

You know, I have thought this same thing heaps of times since the game. If my dog pisses on the kitchen floor at 5am which she does from time to time, and I get up at 7am and seeing the puddle of pee, do I rub her nose in it and yell at her? Of course not. I reinforce positive aspects by making her pee outside and then giving her a reward.
I know dog obedience has little to do with teaching footballers, but I do believe the concept is the same. People learn little from puinishment alone. Incarceration does not rehabilitate a criminal. Yes, punishment is fitting at certain times. But in the long term, when you are dealing with young people who genuinely do want to do well, that it is pointless.
I'm not saying Dimma should give them an ice cream each for training well this week. The human brain (even a footballer's) is a little more advanced than a canine.
People suggesting that the players should donate their match fees or get flogged on the track are a little misguided. It won't achieve anything.
Nobody can do anything about the Carlton loss now. Nobody.
Refocussing on Essendon this week and reinforcing that the plan will stay the same is the best thing he could have done in the public eye.

Unfortunately the drafting blunders of the past are now really kicking in. No decent ruckmen, no decent KPP's (apart from jack) and a fleet of wallace inspired short people who simply can't play at this level.

I don't think there was much point singing out any group at all. You get beaten by 103 points (and save for a few junk times goals, it was a 20 goal hiding) because all the groups have let the structure down.

You know, I have thought this same thing heaps of times since the game. If my dog pisses on the kitchen floor at 5am which she does from time to time, and I get up at 7am and seeing the puddle of pee, do I rub her nose in it and yell at her? Of course not. I reinforce positive aspects by making her pee outside and then giving her a reward.
I know dog obedience has little to do with teaching footballers, but I do believe the concept is the same. People learn little from puinishment alone. Incarceration does not rehabilitate a criminal. Yes, punishment is fitting at certain times. But in the long term, when you are dealing with young people who genuinely do want to do well, that it is pointless.
I'm not saying Dimma should give them an ice cream each for training well this week. The human brain (even a footballer's) is a little more advanced than a canine.
People suggesting that the players should donate their match fees or get flogged on the track are a little misguided. It won't achieve anything.
Nobody can do anything about the Carlton loss now. Nobody.
Refocussing on Essendon this week and reinforcing that the plan will stay the same is the best thing he could have done in the public eye.
Not sure this applies to AFL football at the elite level .

... and im not sure when they line up the incoming new blood at Puckapunyal the majors are altering their training methods just yet.

We are getting onto the whole "Gen Y" thing now ;)

I wonder how Malthouse goes about it ???

Dont really care what you have to say Dimma...

Just go and kick some arses and make sure they all pick up the 24 guersey's that they dropped and trashed on saturday arvo...

again just a media response not what actually happens behind closed doors. simple fact is you cant polish a ****, we need many years to ween out the spuds!!!!

I really really look forward to looking back on Saturday as the nadir and the key pivot point.

Similar to how I have hoped in the past.

Still, I do believe that this time it's different and as much as we sucked the best thread I have read of late has been the Hardwick v Clarkson in first 3 years or some such

Gotta hope/ believe they will look beyond the results and focus on what lies ahead. Would want some seriously tanned hides to come out this week though

I just got home and read the Direct from Dimma, I must admit to mixed reactions. I agree with Tugga that it cant be expected that Dimma air our dirty linen to the great unwashed and get to what and who he thought let us all down. I also agree with Iddy that I felt I did want more also, as contradicatory as that may seem. I dunno why but I just replayed Hardwick's press conference and listened to him, particularly at the start and drew some comfort from that. It is very very obvious that he is as pissed off and annoyed as any one of us and I am sure there will be consequences just we wont know about it. He also hit the nail on the head very quickly about letting the Club and the supporters and especially the FTF names down, it wasn't lost on him at all, even 5 mins after the game. Somehow I am happy he was disgusted cos I actually think Dimma is on the money for the most part and very committed to rebuilding the RFC. I'm old fashioned I know but I like his attitude. I'd just be that little bit happier if I knew that every one of the 22 that played Sat have been flogged physically and mentally today and are at home preparing to watch what the media tonight will roll out about them. I'm sure a lot of that has happpened , just not publically which is probably how it should be. Shuddup TT ...you're dribblin...lol

he said what needed to be said, need to be careful going too overboard with the emotional side of it etc , starts to get lame in the end...we should all be more interested in how they intend to go about the road ahead
Yep and the old adage 'actions speak louder than words' has never rung more true.

.I just got home and read teh Direct from Dimma, I must admit to mixed reactions. I agree with Tugga that it cant be expected that Dimma air our dirty linen to the great unwashed and get to what and who he thought let us all down. I aslo agree with Iddy that I felt I did want more also , as contradicatory as that may seem. I dunno why but I just replayed Hardwick's press conference and listend to him, particularly at the start and drew some comfort from that. It is very very obvious that he is as pissed off and annoyed as any one of us and I am sure there will be consequences just we wont know about it. He also hit the nail on the head very quickly about letting the Club and the supporters and especially the FTF names down, it wasn't lost on him at all, even 5 mins after the game. Somehow I am happy he was disgusted cos I actually think Dimma is on the money for the most part and very committed to rebuilding the RFC. I'm old fashioned I know but I like his attitude. I'd just be that little bit happier if I knew that every one of the 22 that played Sat have been flogged physically and mentally today and are at home preparing to watch what the media tonight will roll out about them. I'm sure a lot of that has happpened , just not publically which is probably how it should be. Shuddup TT ...you're dribblin...lol

Nah you're spot on mate.

Despite all the anger, I don't think too many of us have lost faith in Dimma just yet. I think a compromise somewhere between a flogging and what Tugga is suggesting would be an ideal reaction.

I tell ya though, being a footy member is tough when so much is expected money wise, yet there is so very little transparency. To be honest, I would like to know a little about how this week was being handled. I'd be interested to know what those with their names on the jumper would think.

Should've at least said "I'm sorry".

It's embarrassing for a coach or club to say sorry. It's not like they did it on purpose :cool:
Our supporters need to harden up. They've lost their marbles over 1 game. Our midfield will be a major strength and 1 lazy peformance can't possibly make it things any difference and if I get another reply from Cogga with his lala land FFS dude fool no idea I'll personally go to his house and chop his head off ;)

It's embarrassing for a coach or club to say sorry. It's not like they did it on purpose :cool:
Our supporters need to harden up. They've lost their marbles over 1 game. Our midfield will be a major strength and 1 lazy peformance can't possibly make it things any difference and if I get another reply from Cogga with his lala land FFS dude fool no idea I'll personally go to his house and chop his head off ;)

That's why you apologise. Why would someone say sorry for something they meant to do.

Just a little disappointed about the "no short cuts" message, which to my mind runs counter to a few of our match day selections. Don't want to name names, but his name rhymes with Hom Tislop. To not name one.

I like this not naming names. Its discreet and subtle.

Can I not add a few names?

Gaun Shrigg
Till Wurstafield
Brandrew Ow-ne.

There. I feel better having not named any names.

I think Dimma ensured that WE are aware that he knows how we feel about the loss. This was no ordinary loss, this was a kick in the nuts, and he feels our pain. I also think that he will not accept this output from the group again, but it is all part of the "big picture". Benny Gale was also painting a similar picture on SEN this morning. Benny went through some "hard times" as a player and he bleeds "yellow and black". Behind closed doors, I think they were seething and the players know that they have to respond against Essendon.

I can see the club's united point of view (Big Picture), but a message has to be sent to the players at the selection table. At the very least, two midfield passengers (Grigg and Edwards) should be sent to the VFL. I hope the club don't just "talk the talk" and just let these guys coast along. The midfield has some serious talent, but they are on notice..

That is almost word to word the exact email I was expecting. Almost like it was a template prepared pre-season for the game we end up getting flogged in.

When we brought Hardwick in he was the hard man. Won't let the jumper hit the floor, won't accept poor performances... ever since he was been loving every player, looking for positives after every flogging and "nurturing" the players (ie: "Our response will remain measured"). Give me a break...

I also would have hoped he was questioned on the team selection? Not sure if this has happened.

As for actions speak louder than words... we lost to Melbourne the week before so we should have been pumped for this game and this is what we put in? What about those actions?

Unfortunately the drafting blunders of the past are now really kicking in. No decent ruckmen, no decent KPP's (apart from jack) and a fleet of wallace inspired short people who simply can't play at this level.

They went alright last time we played them... There was simplya lack of effort on the w/e, the players playing can beat any side on their day, however they sure as hell can't beat any team with no effort.

I didn't like it.

It implied that the loss was just part of the process when you have a young team. Well that's true.

But the weekend's game was not due to having a young team (and we had plenty of them last year). What we had on the weekend was a loss by a team that just turned up and thought it would be easy and didn't give a shit.

Big difference.

I would have like him to have called it a disgrace and say that the players let him down and let the supporters down, which they did.

Just brushing it off as 'part of the process' is a cop out for me. I'm not of the old school punishment brigade, but what we saw on the weekend deserves some level of anger and retribution of the playing group, not some touchy feely 'it wasn't really their fault' crap.

Not all thrashings are simply due to having a young playing group.

I didn't like it.

It implied that the loss was just part of the process when you have a young team. Well that's true.

But the weekend's game was not due to having a young team (and we had plenty of them last year). What we had on the weekend was a loss by a team that just turned up and thought it would be easy and didn't give a shit.

Big difference.

I would have like him to have called it a disgrace and say that the players let him down and let the supporters down, which they did.

Just brushing it off as 'part of the process' is a cop out for me. I'm not of the old school punishment brigade, but what we saw on the weekend deserves some level of anger and retribution of the playing group, not some touchy feely 'it wasn't really their fault' crap.

Not all thrashings are simply due to having a young playing group.

Pretty sure he already has.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...s-still-on-track/story-e6frf9jf-1226088020779

"In the immediate aftermath of the game, my mood was fairly reflective of the frustration, anger and bitter disappointment that all Tiger members, who watched the game, would have been feeling,'' he said.

In the aftermath, quite a few supporters have asked for less words and more action.

Well, it's pretty clear Dimma has adhered to the first part, lets just hope the second follows :thumbsu: