Do we have enough $$$ to keep Danger and Tippett?

I'm with CaptainDangerfield. Jacobs is massive for us.

We haven't had a competent ruckman since Rehn, apart from Hudson who we were too stupid to hang on to.

Makes a big difference to our team.

If quality ruckmen were so easy to come across, we would have.

Club don't release details of contract lengths. At least you can be comforted by it not being a one year contract because all clubs would have their knickers in a knot trying to get Taylor this year.

t was said on the radio in the car on the way home that It was only a one year contract. I guess he wanted to see who was made coach and how he went.

Him signing is only a matter of time.

One sounds right to me. I vaguely recall some discussion last year about how he hadn't really put himself out of GWS's hands, only delayed the decision by a season (perhaps to see how Sando worked out?)

I can't imagine there would be any reason Walker would want to go at the end of this year that didn't exist at the end of last year. He's playing great, will likely be on more money, and his team seems to be on an uphill trend. Meanwhile GWS will have less money to spend and an established structure.

I just think good ruckman are a tad easier to get than a player like Sloane. Not taking anything away from Sauce... He has been amazing and we both rate him infront of Tippett, whom I rate enormously. But I honestly believe Sloane could long term be the best of all five. His enthusiasm is infectious

I would always have a gun midfielder as number 1, gun tall forward number 2 and gun ruckman number 3. If we didn't have Walker and Danger on our list, Sloane and Tippett would be in 1 and 2 respectively of must keeps.

If davis was still on our list, he would probably sneak in at number 4 ahead of Sloane and Tippett -----*slaps face** - for god sacks Captain get over it.

I just think good ruckman are a tad easier to get than a player like Sloane. Not taking anything away from Sauce... He has been amazing and we both rate him infront of Tippett, whom I rate enormously. But I honestly believe Sloane could long term be the best of all five. His enthusiasm is infectious

I'm not so sure about that. Jacobs aside, in our 22 year history we have only every had one gun ruckman capable of having both a major impact in the ruck contest and around the ground.

t was said on the radio in the car on the way home that It was only a one year contract. I guess he wanted to see who was made coach and how he went.

Him signing is only a matter of time.

That came from Rowey, enough said. If it was only one year then Rucci would be writing about it daily.

As for Tippett, the best weapon we have to keep him is success and Brisbane's and Gold Coast shitness. He, like Danger, want to play in a successful side. I can not imagine Tip would enjoy his football playing for either Qld teams.

One sounds right to me. I vaguely recall some discussion last year about how he hadn't really put himself out of GWS's hands, only delayed the decision by a season (perhaps to see how Sando worked out?)

I can't imagine there would be any reason Walker would want to go at the end of this year that didn't exist at the end of last year. He's playing great, will likely be on more money, and his team seems to be on an uphill trend. Meanwhile GWS will have less money to spend and an established structure.

As much as it sucked losing a player to GWS, you would prefer to lose 2 Phil Davis' as opposed to 1 Taylor Walker.

Who is Phil Davis ? :)

As Sando has said he is creating an environment which is going to make it hard for players to want to leave.

It looks like the players are loving their footy at the minute and hope the lure of coin is easier to reject.

Perhaps, wishful thinking.

Who is Phil Davis ? :)

As Sando has said he is creating an environment which is going to make it hard for players to want to leave.

It looks like the players are loving their footy at the minute and hope the lure of coin is easier to reject.

Perhaps, wishful thinking.

If we keep playing the way we are consistently for the whole year, it will be hard for anyone to leave.

I love the way Sando goes about it. He's sticking up for players in the media (Tippett) praising those whose stats may not be up there with the best, but they do a massive job for the team (Petrenko) in press conferences

He's got them playing with fire and hunger. How many times did Geelong fumble it because they saw one of our players charging in after them? When did that happen in the previous few years?

I just feel that this is Dangerfield type of football and it will help him make his decision to stay. His relationship with Sando seems very good. I just can't see him leaving at this stage. He seems a person of very good character who will repay the club for taking him as a 17 yo

I just hope little things like what Sando said to the media last week about Tippo will help sway him too. Keep the 5 together that CD mentioned a few posts back and you start forming a very nice nucleus of a side that is capable of threatening

Add in a more developed Talia, Shaw and Crouch and it starts getting juicy

I reckon Jacobs is just about number one mate.

He's quality no doubt. After years of having no-one to kick to up forward I'm just loving Walker, even more now that he is bullying defenders with his size/strength. Danger is just a new version of Roo, what's not to love. Agree that Jacobs is a gun, backs into packs, tap work and great skills. If we can sign them all up it's good times ahead.

If it really is a one year contract (which I doubt it is) the intention behind the decision could be quite different depending on when the decision was made. Had it been made after Sando's appointment then you could be correct in your assumption, otherwise it could very well be an indication that he was not happy with his situation and simply chose a one year deal just to see whether Craig would stay or not.

That came from Rowey, enough said. If it was only one year then Rucci would be writing about it daily.

As for Tippett, the best weapon we have to keep him is success and Brisbane's and Gold Coast shitness. He, like Danger, want to play in a successful side. I can not imagine Tip would enjoy his football playing for either Qld teams.

Two good points, if it was a one year deal Rucci what be fueling speculation at every opportunity, it sells newspapers after all. Regarding Tippet we all know the kind of competitiveness that he harbours within himself, with us playing so well in such contrast to Brisbane and the GC I expect we are a good chance of keeping him. Infact I would dare say that our form this year has put us in a position to not lose anyone, hopefully this will prove true.

Gerard Whately on Fox Footy just now re: Dangerfield

"The trick with Dangerfield is he is going to be so good by the end of this year that he will be ungettable. He'll have re-signed by then anyway, but he has grown into his career so much in the first seven weeks and that will continue on, you just won't be able to get him, even if you thought you could."

I like this a lot.

Gerard Whately on Fox Footy just now re: Dangerfield

"The trick with Dangerfield is he is going to be so good by the end of this year that he will be ungettable. He'll have re-signed by then anyway, but he has grown into his career so much in the first seven weeks and that will continue on, you just won't be able to get him, even if you thought you could."

I like this a lot.

Yes, liked Whately's take on this. Although the Bombers have expressed strong interest, they will need to use their first pick to secure FS. Won't have anything to get a deal done.

A few years ago I would have agreed with you. But now I
think you need a gun ruckman to go all the way in sep. If we had one in 2005 and 2006, who knows.......

Sam Jacobs has had a massive impact on the AFC - one of my favourites.

The great thing with Jacobs is that he's actually a local boy whose come home from Victoria to be with us, I very much doubt there'll ever be much talk about him leaving, which will make life a little easier on us die hard fans. It'll be like when we had Macca, Roo, Edwards, Goodwin, Hart, Smart, Thommo etc. it will just be a formality each year that he signs, assuming we treat him right. Walker, Danger, Sloane and Tippett will always have someone in the media speculating about moving elsewhere.

LOL from the Draft and Trading board quoted by a Hawks fan "wouldnt mind hawks to have a crack at at dangerfield perhaps a first rounder and young for him"

Keep dreaming.

LOL from the Draft and Trading board quoted by a Hawks fan "wouldnt mind hawks to have a crack at at dangerfield perhaps a first rounder and young for him"

Keep dreaming.

Dont laugh....

If Danger goes back to Vic it would not surprise me one bit. Remember, they have no salary cap

Do we have enough $$$ to keep Danger and Tippett?