Do we need to draft another KPP?

it would depend on nabs if the club draft another key forward and l would be looking for another one any way if there;s a injury or 2 that brings s simpson in the team leaving the VFL side short the more depth you have in key talls the better you don't know who will be a keeper and also need key backs and a small back and mids

I must admit I am in the "draft a KPP" camp. A KP defender to be specific. I do think there is a hole there that needs to be plugged in a few years and with some of the KPP available in this year's draft I think now is a good time to strike.

I'm not calling for two, I think one is all that is required and I reckon a couple of 'goodies' will be available around Geelong's 1st pick.

I have read with interest some people calling for small midfielders but I don't think they are required since Geelong will add Ediriwickrama with a bargin basement pick this year and he fits the bill on that front.

Forwards - Chapman (who can also play midfield), Stokes (see Chapman but also played in defence in the SANFL), Varcoe, Byrnes and Djerrkura (can play back) all sit on the list currently so I don't think any are required there. Add Gamble and S. Johnson to the forward half and it looks good.

Rucks - there are 5 on the list - Ottens, Blake, West, D. Simpson and the rookie Mumford. I really don't see the need to add more ruckmen unless one was traded or told to learn a new position.

Key Forwards - Mooney, Lonergan, Hawkins, Scott Simpson and possibly N. Ablett with maybe McKenna spending time there as well. I'm comfortable with those guys (as long as N. Ablett decides to stay)

Backs - Hunt, Enright (can play midfield), Wojcinski, Hogan (can also play forward), Donahue, Rooke (who can play midfield), D. Johnson...I think that's about it. Seems sound but another probably wouldn't go astray.

Midfielders - G. Ablett, Bartel, Selwood, Corey, Ling, Kelly, Prismall, Tenace (can play back), Davenport. Add Ediriwickrama to that list and it looks strong in there.

Which brings me to the Key Backmen - Scarlett, Harley, Egan, Taylor, with some pinch-hitting from Milburn and Mackie.

Looks thin to me - yes McKenna might come through and go back there as could Lonergan (but he is looking more comfortable as a forward now). Kangars is a project player and a rookie and still a way off for mine.

Sadly, I think Egan is an 'uncertain' now that he has missed 12 months + of AFL (I hope he comes back better than ever though). So there needs to be some thought around him.

Scarlett, Harley and Milburn all probably have 2-3 years left, Egan has missed 12 months of footy, Taylor looks more like a Milburn or Mackie type to me so the back up is Rooke (short, better as a medium defender or midfielder), McKenna and Kangars.

Doesn't make me breathe that easy looking forward. I'd like to see either one more genuine key defender added or Trent West pushed to CHB in the VFL to learn how to play the position.

I think Geelong should look to grab a Key Defender and a small-medium running half backman (who can rotate through the midfield) to go with Ediriwickrama. Of course, who gets cut from the list may also determine the type of players drafted at year's end. However, as the list currently stands, I think GFC does need to draft another KPP (KP Defender).

Of course...

:thumbsu: He does know best

CHB / FB definitely required

Also, smaller defenders with speed required.

I'm of the opinion that the game is going to get to a point where you only have 2-3 KPP or 'talls' at each end and the other 12-14 guys are pretty much the same size and can interchange. So in that regard, I think we drafted talls last year cause they take longer to develop, so this year will be small guys (mid, forward, back).

One things for certain, lets just hope it's pick 16 again :)

I sometimes question the importance of small defenders in the current day game. Most small 'defenders' are actually just rebounding HBF'ers with not much of a defensive side to their game, but they play a vital role in ball movement and scoring. Interestingly, small forwards are more dangerous than ever (Medhurst, Chappy, Campbell & Thomas (of the Roos variety)), which is probably a reflection of the lack of defensive minded smalls in the game. I agree with your sentiment that getting a good one would be very very handy, but I don't think the club will head in that direction.

Agree here, plus some of our HBF'ers were onballers originally, who've since moved on.

We need a tall defender and a small + quick defender like stiffy johncock. Its common knowledge that KPP players are hard to find and we cant assume Egan will ever play as well as he did last year. I'm only taking a pessimistic view because relying on Taylor and Egan is not enough. If all goes well, the transition period of Scarlett, Harley and Milburn retiring will be smooth because they'll both have 100 games under their belts. Question is what happens when they go down because I doubt Mackie will ever become a KPP.

I think we are safe with the midlfielders with so many players who can play in the middle but someone who is an outside type with some pace would add a bit more excitement to the machine. Varcoe has very clean hands and I wouldn't mind seeing him spend more time in the middle but at this stage he is more of a forward pocket player. I liked Djerrkura the first time I saw him but dont see enough of him to comment. If he turns out like Byron Pickett as some suggested then we've got nothing to worry about.

We definitely need another talented ruckman.

need a ruck as a priority
west should be traded as has currency and is too short as a key ruck

need to recruit a quality small forward and a mid (assuming pris goes)

end of story

by the way they cant trade prissa, byrnes, johnson, tenace in the same year

I read that and reckon I would go the complete opposite.

Chapman, Stokes, Varcoe, Byrnes, Moles, Ranga with Gamble and S.Johnson as medium forwards.All look like players as well to me. Rooke, Kelly, Ablett, Bartel and Ling can play forward as well. I reckon we have the small forwards well and truelly covered for the next 5-6 years.

Rucks we have Ottens, Blake, West, Mumford and D.Simpson. Mumford & West both looked alright while Simpson is a long term project. That is plenty in my book, we could probably afford to trade one off even.

We have Mckenna & Kanga as KP backmen and the jury is still out on both of them. Not only that but Harley, Milburn and Scarlett are the three oldest players in the team and Egan is no certainty to return.

Personally I'd like to see a quality FB added to the list. One that is a near certainty to make it that we can groom for 2 seasons in the reserves and then slowly introduce as the older guys slow down.

Very early days but I think a draft order like this would be able to fulfill our requirements nicely:

Delist: Tenace, DJ, Hogan (?)
Trade: Prismall to Essendon for Pick #24

Pick #16: Jordan Lisle. 196cm KPP who plays forward for his school but was named AA CHB in the carnival (Vic Metro). Not only the right build for a backmen but showed plenty of dash off half back as well - perfect for Geelong.

Pick #24: Matthew Broadbent. 189cm utility from WWT, has played 1sts in the SANFL and was used off a HBF in the carnival where his clean hands and footskills came to the fore. Could serve well as both a potential midfielder and the small defender people are saying we need.

Pick #35: Taylor Hunt. 183cm with a booming kick and an athletics background. Really this could be anyone of a group of midfield types whose worth will probably emerge only with draft camp results; club might also take a chance as no-one (well, no-one on BF except Pivot) rates Broadbent in their top 30, take him here and then use #24 on someone more highly rated like Heyne, Robinson or Zaharakis who (hopefully) slips through the cracks.

Pick #51: Ranga. Ours for practically nothing, is going to be a very good player at AFL level and should compensate for the loss of Prismall.

Very early days but I think a draft order like this would be able to fulfill our requirements nicely:

Delist: Tenace, DJ, Hogan (?)
Trade: Prismall to Essendon for Pick #24

Pick #16: Jordan Lisle. 196cm KPP who plays forward for his school but was named AA CHB in the carnival (Vic Metro). Not only the right build for a backmen but showed plenty of dash off half back as well - perfect for Geelong.

Pick #24: Matthew Broadbent. 189cm utility from WWT, has played 1sts in the SANFL and was used off a HBF in the carnival where his clean hands and footskills came to the fore. Could serve well as both a potential midfielder and the small defender people are saying we need.

Pick #35: Taylor Hunt. 183cm with a booming kick and an athletics background. Really this could be anyone of a group of midfield types whose worth will probably emerge only with draft camp results; club might also take a chance as no-one (well, no-one on BF except Pivot) rates Broadbent in their top 30, take him here and then use #24 on someone more highly rated like Heyne, Robinson or Zaharakis who (hopefully) slips through the cracks.

Pick #51: Ranga. Ours for practically nothing, is going to be a very good player at AFL level and should compensate for the loss of Prismall.

There is no way in hell Hogan will be delisted. Really stood up this year in the reserves and would benefit from the open spaces of the AFL. Johnson and Tenace would get picked up by someone so they could be traded. List space will be a problem. I don't know what will happen.

When you look at the list, you can't really see anyone who deserves to be delisted that couldn't be traded.

There is no way in hell Hogan will be delisted. Really stood up this year in the reserves and would benefit from the open spaces of the AFL. Johnson and Tenace would get picked up by someone so they could be traded. List space will be a problem. I don't know what will happen.

When you look at the list, you can't really see anyone who deserves to be delisted that couldn't be traded.

Tend to agree on the Hogan call. Tenace, Byrnes, Prismall (has the most value and will be taken by some other club) and D. Johnson all likely to be shopped around and seem the ones most in the gun at year's end. Bedford's rookie run ends this year and I can't see him being elevated.

Ediriwickrama with the last pick, KPD with the first, small-medium defender and another midfielder (say an Ash Smith) with the other two picks would be the way I'd look.

But I suspect only the bare minimum of 3 will be delisted/traded off the senior list so Ediriwickrama may very well be rookied with a view to elevate the following year.

List space will be tight but I think we should be alright. Putting Scarlett on the Veterans list next year opens up one spot on the list. DJ and Tenace will probably be moved on. I think we will also need to trade one of West, Prismall and Byrnes for an upgraded pick. That gives us 3 picks plus Ranga.

Next year will be tougher I reckon. I think Mumford, Moles and Kangar will all be looking for a promotion and there is nobody that I can see that stands out as a delist candidate.

:eek: I wouldn't say I was the only one to rate him inside the top 30

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=468376
I stand corrected, though the way I phrased it made it sound like he wasn't Top 30 material, when everything I've heard suggests he is.

That Top 50 list that is floating around the Dons board rated him somewhere between 12-30, so I guess was doubly wrong :p

Would be brilliant but just can't see it happening. Still, the cards might fall that way.
Indeed. As I said above, though, draft camp will probably have a huge impact on that .

ripitup27 said:

Hence the question mark. I don't think he deserves to be delisted either but as you said, who else are they going to get rid of? I'd forgotten about Byrnes but that looks somewhat unlikely...Nablett as the only other one.

I stand corrected, though the way I phrased it made it sound like he wasn't Top 30 material, when everything I've heard suggests he is.

That Top 50 list that is floating around the Dons board rated him somewhere between 12-30, so I guess was doubly wrong :p

Just stirring ya mate - I knew what you meant. Actually that thread is probably not a great one to read as I think the op had Geelong taking Cornelius and Kade Carey with their first two picks :eek:

Now that I really can't see happening (translation - I hope it doesn't happen!!)

the answer is basically defensive players the club build a very good team from defence and 3 of the best defensive player will hang there boots up with in 3 years the answer is to try to replace these players with the best young defensive players the club can get there mits on

Whoever Wellsy picks will be what we need I think he has earned the right for us all to agree with whom ever that is be a it a small or a tall