Do you know anyone inside the CFC?

• Thread starter Thread starter Bluebear

Hi guys,

As you may or may not be aware I have started a Carlton Board Bushfire appeal. This has been stickied on the main page.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=540992

What I am after is someone who has a direct line to someone at the CFC to get them on board to match us dollar for dollar.

As a blues forum with many on here members I think the fundraising could gain a lot of momentum with the official backing of the club.

If anyone knows or has direct contact with, in particular a board member or other official (i.e. Swann or the like) then please, let me know so we can co-ordinate the pitch.

Cheers,
Bluebear.

P.S. sorry about the new thread, just thought it needed to be done this way to get the ball rolling sooner rather than later.

Is there anybody out there?
Hi!!! Sorry don't know any of the players. The best link I have is that Parkin is related to my family through my old mans mum but from what I know it sounds like a bit of a stretch although the resemblance (no idea how to spell that one?) is very very close...olive skin as well as the grey hair in fact it even the same hair/style.

Sorry all of that was useless but it fill the page out a bit :D

I work with Carrots brother Nick - I can ask him and see what he says!
Cheers.

I will probably end up contacting the club on Monday with my plan.

My grandfather used to be quite involved with people in the AFL and Carlton so he knows the likes of Pratt and Fitzpatrick and a whole lot of people that used to be involved in the club.

Due to personal reasons however I will not be asking him to contact any of these guys as it would be the last thing on his mind right now :(

Sorry I can't help more - if he had a clean bill of health I would not hesitate in getting him involved but I don't think it is the right thing to do, as selfish as that may sound.

My grandfather used to be quite involved with people in the AFL and Carlton so he knows the likes of Pratt and Fitzpatrick and a whole lot of people that used to be involved in the club.

Due to personal reasons however I will not be asking him to contact any of these guys as it would be the last thing on his mind right now :(

Sorry I can't help more - if he had a clean bill of health I would not hesitate in getting him involved but I don't think it is the right thing to do, as selfish as that may sound.
No worries mate.

Was thinking more of eripascoe, Blue Thunder etc who seem to have some good connections in the club, but just thought I'd put the feelers out.

I'll probably do a "cold call" on Monday and see how I go.

BTW, have you pledged your donation yet J?

I think the response you will get is that the club is contributing via the AFL avenue in the Red Cross Appeal
Worth a shot as you will never know

Dick Pratt has donated $250,000 however, he will also match all donations made at today's family day at Princes Park :thumbsu:

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,25054635-5012974,00.html

HUNTERS and Collectors stalwart Jack Howard has released a rock anthem for Carlton as a fundraiser for the Victorian Bushfire Appeal.
He will perform the song, They Know We're Coming, at tomorrow's Carlton Family Day at Visy Park.

Downloads of the song are available at Carlton's website, with proceeds going to the bushfire appeal.

There were also be collection points at the Family Day.

Former club president Richard Pratt, whose Visy company has already donated $250,000, will match every dollar donated at tomorrow's Family Day.

Like all clubs, the Blues have rallied behind the people most affected by the disaster, and they promise more is to come.

"There is a personal element for the players with Caleb Tiller's family home being one of the hundreds destroyed by these devastating fires,'' Carlton chief executive Greg Swann said.

"The players have rallied around in support and are making significant contributions and are continuing to discuss other ideas on how they can add to this initial support.''

i dont personally know anyone however my father did. He used to own a restaurant in doncaster called chrysanthemum house and in the 80's his regular customers were sticks, bradles, and wayne jonston. Im 22 now, and my parents went out regularly with wayne jonston and his ex-wife. They have heaps of photos in our family albums. My mum said jono was a lot of fun and very flirty!

my late father who was host at silks at crown casino last year was close with kane jonston. if you attend the restaurant, keep an eye out for the wall of photos of my dad with the carlton and richmond boys. he was a chinaman who migrated from hong kong and was a carlton member for 34 years.

*note: when my father told kane jonson about his condition, kane and the richmond football club provided my father/resturant with 2 free full membership tickets. it was a gesture our family greatly appreciated.

I used to have excellent contacts with the club, several, however that was a long time ago.

I still know one person, who used to be as central to the action as you can get, however while we are on good terms we're not close in the way I can just pick up the phone and call him. However, if I saw him down the road we'd stop and chat and no doubt he'd give me some inside information.

Interestingly enough, I think this thread would have been more useful a few years back. Now we are on our way with a decent list, I don't think inside goss is as sought after as it once was, when all Carlton was about was scandal, politics, trading gossip :o

I am good friends with the head of player development...

Don't know if they could help.
We are working on some leads. Will let you know.:thumbsu: