Angus1

Ok i'm sitting here typing away at 1.50 am. I have to get up tomorrow at 4.30 am for a solid day of fishing. I'm actually a pretty good fisherman so I am expected to catch the majority of the fish. Problem is i have been drinking and well i could sit up and drink a few more.
I still have to go fishing though. I mean it's fishing (no explanation should be necessary) and I have to do my thing.

So it's getting close to 2am and I have to rise at 4.30 so it looks like I will have a sleep problem. I've done it before though. I'm a Blackjack player and have been up all night at casinos to return back to my motel at 7am sleep 2 hours then check out at 10am. Problem is how do you function the next day?:o

Ok so tell me your sleeping probs and how did you cope with it?

Angus1 said:
Ok i'm sitting here typing away at 1.50 am. I have to get up tomorrow at 4.30 am for a solid day of fishing. I'm actually a pretty good fisherman so I am expected to catch the majority of the fish. Problem is i have been drinking and well i could sit up and drink a few more.
I still have to go fishing though. I mean it's fishing (no explanation should be necessary) and I have to do my thing.

So it's getting close to 2am and I have to rise at 4.30 so it looks like I will have a sleep problem. I've done it before though. I'm a Blackjack player and have been up all night at casinos to return back to my motel at 7am sleep 2 hours then check out at 10am. Problem is how do you function the next day?:o

Ok so tell me your sleeping probs and how did you cope with it?
Worked at a Bakery for like 1-3 days and it started at 3.30am, so I stayed up once until 3.30am and worked til 10. I could barely open my eyes.

I suggest a good night sleep Angus.

F/D said:
Worked at a Bakery for like 1-3 days and it started at 3.30am, so I stayed up once until 3.30am and worked til 10. I could barely open my eyes.

I suggest a good night sleep Angus.
:eek: I didnt know you were a baker! How could you fit those hats over you afro?

Ok a little update.
i decided to have a few more beers and now it's 3.15am

i really have to go to bed now because I can hardly stay awake as it is but my dilema is i will be getting up in 1 hour and 15 minutes.
Better off just staying up and having another beer.:D

Ok I know . I know I have a little problem.
It's Friday FFS and i need a little time out. Yeah.

Ok I'm off to bed will report later on how the fishing went.

Raskolnikov said:
I reckon if I went fishing that would cure my sleeping problem.

Just reading about it and it's curing any lack of
smilie_bett.gif

Brittany said:
:eek: I didnt know you were a baker! How could you fit those hats over you afro?
Just sat it at the top of me hat :D

After a couple of hours sleep I actually feel pretty good. If I have a long sleep, say 8-12 hours I feel like crap and want to get back to sleep.

it's all about routine, routine , routine. get me outta whack and i'm gone.

One night with not much sleep doesn't affect me at all really. One or two hours is better than none at all though. After a few days it catches up and then I need a really good sleep like 10 hours and an afternoon nap.

You need to pay back that 'sleep debt' at some stage.

I typically get 6 hours a night. Hardly ever more than 7, and sometimes only 4-5. I will wake up (briefly) maybe 6-10 times a night.

Your body can become accustomed to lack of sleep, but you pay for it with decreased efficiency and poor decision-making and alertness.

I'm good with 5-6 hours a night. Normally I don't go sleep till 2am and get up at 9 but am fine with less than that. My pet hate is people bitching and moaning when I'm out because they're tired. :thumbsd:

milnedog44 said:
I'm good with 5-6 hours a night. Normally I don't go sleep till 2am and get up at 9 but am fine with less than that. My pet hate is people bitching and moaning when I'm out because they're tired. :thumbsd:

You've obviously never worked a day in your life. BTW 2 - 9 is 7 hours.

Raskolnikov said:
You've obviously never worked a day in your life. BTW 2 - 9 is 7 hours.
Thanks captain Obvious. :rolleyes:

I said I normally sleep from 2-9 but still I said I'm fine with 5-6. :rolleyes:

Obviously I have worked a 'day' in my life or why else would I be getting up at 9am? :confused:

i need about 9 hours sleep for some friggin reason.

i go to bed at about 10:30 and wake up at 7:30 to get ready for school, if i don't get 9 hours sleep i feel so tired in the mornings.

I try to get to sleep at 12:30-1:00 and wake up at about 8 (even though school starts at 8:45 ;)) I feel better when I have a good 7 hour sleep but getting 3-4 hours is better than none at all.

Ok something that I never even thought of happened. Like i said on Friday night that i was drinking. Well if you go to bed drunk at 3.30am and wake up at 4.30 am well you are still very drunk.:) I never even thought of this possibility for a second (drinking will do that to you).
Anyway so I woke up drunk and thought to myself what the hell is my alarm going off for until my misses reminded me that I had a fishing day planned.
The first few hours were hard because well basically i was pi$$ed. I wasn't fishing well and lost 3 good fish. This would normally make me mad but I was still trying to pry my eye lids open so i wasn't overly bothered. Then i got onto a big Reddy. This woke me up and got me back on planet earth again. Bang my first fish in the esky. It took me 3 hours but i was finally on the board. The lack of sleep definitely affected me early but after 3 hours i felt fine. I fished the rest of the day until 8.00 pm that night.
The plan was to chuck it in at around 2.00pm however i stayed a little longer trolling around some snags until i anchored to a tree for a rest. It was rough as guts and i needed to stop for a drink (water this time;) ) i dropped a line over the side then bang straight away the rod goes down. Pulled up another good one. Put on another prawn then bang another fish. I had been lucky enough to be sitting on a school of Redfin. I pulled up 110 redfin and only left because i didn't want to be stuck out in the dark.
Overall i caught 140 fish and had a fantastic days fishing and my 1 hour sleep didn't really effect me much at all. I sat up that night until around 12.00 before falling asleep in the chair.
Slept for 12 straight hours though but felt fine all day.
DoubleA said:
Im more interested in Angus' gambling, your a blackjack player?
Yes i like to visit casinos and Blackjack is the game i play the most. I also like roulette but realise you can't win at roulette. With blackjack there is a chance if you play with a strategy. I've done ok so far anyway.:cool:
I only mentioned that because often at a casino you can get caught up in your game only to leave when the sun comes up. If you are staying at a motel then check out time is 10.00 so a couple of hours sleep is all i will get. The silly thing is i will go back there next day to pick up my car and end up playing a few more games of blackjack.:D
I'm an addict. What the hell.

Angus1 said:
Ok something that I never even thought of happened. Like i said on Friday night that i was drinking. Well if you go to bed drunk at 3.30am and wake up at 4.30 am well you are still very drunk.:) I never even thought of this possibility for a second (drinking will do that to you).
Anyway so I woke up drunk and thought to myself what the hell is my alarm going off for until my misses reminded me that I had a fishing day planned.
The first few hours were hard because well basically i was pi$$ed. I wasn't fishing well and lost 3 good fish. This would normally make me mad but I was still trying to pry my eye lids open so i wasn't overly bothered. Then i got onto a big Reddy. This woke me up and got me back on planet earth again. Bang my first fish in the esky. It took me 3 hours but i was finally on the board. The lack of sleep definitely affected me early but after 3 hours i felt fine. I fished the rest of the day until 8.00 pm that night.
The plan was to chuck it in at around 2.00pm however i stayed a little longer trolling around some snags until i anchored to a tree for a rest. It was rough as guts and i needed to stop for a drink (water this time;) ) i dropped a line over the side then bang straight away the rod goes down. Pulled up another good one. Put on another prawn then bang another fish. I had been lucky enough to be sitting on a school of Redfin. I pulled up 110 redfin and only left because i didn't want to be stuck out in the dark.
Overall i caught 140 fish and had a fantastic days fishing and my 1 hour sleep didn't really effect me much at all. I sat up that night until around 12.00 before falling asleep in the chair.
Slept for 12 straight hours though but felt fine all day.

Yes i like to visit casinos and Blackjack is the game i play the most. I also like roulette but realise you can't win at roulette. With blackjack there is a chance if you play with a strategy. I've done ok so far anyway.:cool:
I only mentioned that because often at a casino you can get caught up in your game only to leave when the sun comes up. If you are staying at a motel then check out time is 10.00 so a couple of hours sleep is all i will get. The silly thing is i will go back there next day to pick up my car and end up playing a few more games of blackjack.:D
I'm an addict. What the hell.
Gamble then give it to the Roos :thumbsu:, we need your money.

If it's not a silly question...

WTF do you do with 140 fish?

Are you that bloke on the news just off the coast of Darwin moaning because they're gonna burn your boat?

Leper said:
If it's not a silly question...

WTF do you do with 140 fish?

Are you that bloke on the news just off the coast of Darwin moaning because they're gonna burn your boat?
:D :D :D
No, no one is going to burn my boat and no i didn't kill 140 fish. I kept 20 fish for my family to eat and returned the rest to the water.
I go fishing quiet a lot in the warmer months so I don't need to have a freezer full of fish. I keep what I need for food then return the rest.
Hell if i was cod fishing then i am only allowed to keep 2. Yep 2 is the bag limit for Murray Cod. Different fish have different bag limits so most fishermen will abide by the rules.
F/D said:
Gamble then give it to the Roos :thumbsu:, we need your money.
Yep i already give a good chunk of cash to North Melbourne. The Captains Bar at the Dome goes to North right?;) :cool:

Leper said:
So the 140 you caught were probably the same 20 7 times over.

Good onya Rex!
:)
No they go into a keeper net. The idea is to keep pulling fish up as quick as you can. If you throw them back then yes you could catch the same ones again or what is worse is they get spooked and swim off hence the school may move with them.
The idea is to catch all the small fish that move in first in order to get to the bigger fish that are slower to get to your bait. Once the smaller fish are caught then the real action begins. Big ones go into an esky on ice.
So when your done fishing you release all the fish out of the net so they will grow up big and strong and i will be back to get them next year.;)