Docker's 2004 squad preview

• Thread starter Thread starter Asgardian

Time to see if I am able to cause as much consternation again as I did last year, 2004 Docker squad preview. You guys know the drill, lets see if we can generate some healthy disagreement and discussion.

Peter F. Bell:- Gathers the ball like it's his own, finds acres easily, only criticism is a tad slow
Andrew Browne:- A small pacy midfielder, again, you have enough of them
Adam Campbell:- New kid, yet to see him play
Matthew Carr:- Love it when I'm wrong, he shares the ball with Bell, fine player anywhere
Troy Cook:- Could become like Geelong's Sanderston in defence, skills & pace ????
Ryan Crowley:- Yet to get an AFL game
Ben Cunningham:- I saw him as a goer, but he isn't producing, a surprise 2004 Docker
Brett Doswell:- Yet to get an AFL game
Ryley Dunn:- New kid, yet to see him play
Greg Edgcumbe:- Yet to get an AFL game
Jeff Farmer:- Big $ player with average $ player output, 55 goals in 2 years aint enough
Daniel Gilmore:- New kid, yet to see him play
Antoni Grover:- A few good games doesn't make him a quality AFL player
Robert Haddrill:- One of the better k/p defenders in 2003, rebounding well from knee
Daniel Haines:- Hasn't happened for him coz of various reasons, he has guts but last chance
Paul Hasleby:- Freo pin-up boy, quality ball getter, but could be better with delivery
Roger Hayden:- Does anyone else see a young Gilbert McAdam here? smooooooth mover
Des Headland:- A lot better than he showed in 2003, good players like him bounce back
Michael Johnson:- New kid, yet to see him play
Justin Longmuir:- He played 2003 injured, he's a lot better than what he could show
Troy Longmuir:- Late season revival saved him, can play, gets the ball, sloppy disposal
Shaun McManus:- Turn over king, as brave as anyone playing, a skills dud
Luke McPharlin:- A real good player, versatility will improve with experience
Paul Medhurst:- Cheeky SOB. His focus has improved. Debatable but best goal-sneak?
David Mundy:- New kid, yet to see him play
Ryan Murphy:- New kid, yet to see him play
Shane Parker:- Single minded defender, does what the coach says makes him valuable
Matthew Pavlich:- 10 years time what will we be saying, a genuine star
Brett Peake:- New kid, yet to see him play
Graham Polak:- Quality tall who'll end up a forward I reckon, no obvious faults
Aaron Sandilands:- Skyscraper, surprising with skill, interesting to see how he develops
Byron Schammer:- Quality & class always shows, no matter age & size
Andrew Siegert:- Dud, lucky to be on list, look at his Freo pic, he looks like the Devil
Troy Simmonds:- Came back from 2002 season, but has more support now, will go okay
Scott Thornton:- Not AFL quality, wont stay on list long term
James Walker:- Surprised me becoming an important Docker
Clive Waterhouse:- Yesterday's player, should have been traded for anything possible
Luke Webster:- The kid has spunk, a r/h after 2 l/h knee recos, must be good to stay on list
Dion Woods:- Very difficult for anyone to tackle him, good ball instincts

Rookies:

Ben Colreavy}
Steven Dodd} 3 new kids, yet to see them play
Paul Duffield}
Dylan Smith:- I like him as a player, has a go, I expect him to get a main list opportunity
Michael Warren} Another new kid, yet to see him play

The Dockers strike me as a team on the improve, with some players of special ability taking further steps.

All involved would be desperately disappointed if they did not markedly improve on 2003's ladder position.

Originally posted by Asgardian

Jeff Farmer:- Big $ player with average $ player output, 55 goals in 2 years aint enough

Needs to pull finger out.

Solid and unobtrusive, a bit like Shane Parker.

Robert Haddrill:- One of the better k/p defenders in 2003, rebounding well from knee

Unobtrusive, made small errors, but will improve more.

Paul Hasleby:- Freo pin-up boy, quality ball getter, but could be better with delivery

Didn't think his delivery was too bad, but then he is being judged up against some slick midfielders.

Roger Hayden:- Does anyone else see a young Gilbert McAdam here? smooooooth mover

He'll be around alot longer than GM, the dodger has amazed me.

Des Headland:- A lot better than he showed in 2003, good players like him bounce back

Fingers crossed .....

Justin Longmuir:- He played 2003 injured, he's a lot better than what he could show

I agree, let's hope your right.

His lack of skills is a furphy, but then why try to change peoples opinions when they're set like a Scilian in concrete.

Luke McPharlin:- A real good player, versatility will improve with experience

Praying for 22 straght games.

Graham Polak:- Quality tall who'll end up a forward I reckon, no obvious faults

Yes, will go forward.

Aaron Sandilands:- Skyscraper, surprising with skill, interesting to see how he develops

Still developing, I don't expect the world from him, may be a plateau year for him. Will take another 2 or 3 years before we see his best. Has done miles better than I ever thought, so prove me wrong again.

Troy Simmonds:- Came back from 2002 season, but has more support now, will go okay

Injury held him back in 2003, will rebound and may play a long kicking flanking forward role when not rucking.

Jury still out, needs more game time.

Luke Webster:- The kid has spunk, a r/h after 2 l/h knee recos, must be good to stay on list

Is good, must get him away from that formerly east of Perth mob.

Dion Woods:- Very difficult for anyone to tackle him, good ball instincts

Can do even better, one day he will unleash all of his skills at once.

Don't expect much from the 2004 recruits this season, although Dunn is being talked up. Improvement must come from the established players. Forwards need to produce regularly, backs tighten up more and we need to take advantage of our winning ruck.

Troy Cook:- Could become like Geelong's Sanderston in defence, skills & pace ????
Andrew Siegert:- Dud, lucky to be on list, look at his Freo pic, he looks like the Devil
Cook will stay around the middle, he's much shorter than Sanderson and our defence is fairly settled. If anyone will go into it, it's likely to be Seigert (not a dud) or Mundy/Murphy.
Grover is the perfect backman... underrated by all other fans.
Hayden is a young Wanganeen, not a young McAdam... weren't all the McAdams flashy small forwards?
McManus has improved his skills immensely in the past few years, thanks the the work of the Stroker. This year 50 clangers from 270 kicks and 127 HBs, about the team avg, same as Headland, similar ratios to Tredrea, Leoncelli, Aussie Jones, Brad Johnson, Josh Carr etc.
Thornton is very highly rated by Connolly...and I'd trust his judgement over yours! Has done OK in the opportunites he's had, was about the only Freo player who beat their opponent in the last game vs Port (He kept one of the Burgoynes very quiet).

Peter F. Bell:- Gathers the ball like it's his own, finds acres easily, only criticism is a tad slow
Andrew Browne:- A small pacy midfielder, again, you have enough of them
Clive Waterhouse:- Yesterday's player, should have been traded for anything possible

Peter Bell - constantly working on his speed, his legs aren't just a blur when he runs nowadays, they're a blur that get him places fast

Andrew Browne - one to look out for this year

Wiz - will play in his more accustomed role close to goal and will blitz

Clive - You leave Clive alone, he'll put egg on a lot of faces.

Re: Re: Re: Docker's 2004 squad preview

Originally posted by Sera
Hahahahhahahahhahaha!

Box of tissues is being couriered to you right about now Sera...

(FWIW I'm not actually a big Clive fan - but I have a duty to respond to Weevils such as yourself in the above manner)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Docker's 2004 squad preview

Originally posted by ImperialPurple
Box of tissues is being couriered to you right about now Sera...

At least us Eagle fans acknowledge a champion like Jako is no longer a good player. It's time some of you freo fans wake up and smell the coffee...

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Docker's 2004 squad preview

At least us Eagle fans acknowledge a champion like Jako is no longer a good player. It's time some of you freo fans wake up and smell the coffee...

OK, Slappo is no longer a good player.

I think any comment about Clive is made with the tongue firmly in the cheek and the tootsies crossed. Clive is not in our best 22, we all know that, just play along with the fun.

Commandment 11 :- only Docker fans may ridicule Clive. (we've got it down to an artform)

Commandment 12 :- there are 15 other AFL teams, not 1.

Sera, settle down have a Bex and a cuppa and maybe you could have bets with Ripper, using those used coffee jars.

Point 1: At least us Eagle fans acknowledge a champion like Jako is no longer a good player.

Point 2: It's time some of you freo fans wake up and smell the coffee...

Point 1: correct

Point 2: masai's point is correct - he's not in our best 22, but we (and only we) reserve the right to take pot shots at will. For everyone else, we may fire back.

Other points, not directly noted by Sera:

Point 3: we can generally take the p1ss out of ourselves (sepecially with all things clive), your lot - for the most part - can't.

Point 4: If clive could ignore the little voices for a few weeks, he might just make it back for game 100. Then I would think it's pretty close to game over.

Point 5: Clive's coffee went cold long ago. I've heard he's now drinking herbal tea.

was slappo ever any good?

ok, i'll go over this again;

freo fans dont care how good clive is, he's our favourite player, he's the fans player...i still regret missing his comeback match, besides, anyone who whacks 7 goals past the eagles is a champ in my mind.

say, when clive nailed those many a goals past the girls up the road..... wasnt that around the time when sl appo was wenjoying life in the backline?

If you want to make Clive jokes, please direct your membership fee to:

The Fremantle Football Club
PO BOX 381
Fremantle 6959

Hurry though, the Speedwagon is swelling.

And, Sera, to pat yourself on the back because you've finally realised Slappo's best days are behind him overlooks the good work of Freo supporters in recgnising that fact years ago. Credit where credit is due.

Whenever these two players are mentioned, I always like to think of the Demo Derby, when Mr Slappovich lay on his tum-tum, having fallen over while chasing the unstoppable Crazyhorse.

Old Slappo was forlornly munching on some Clive dust as the Crazy One whipped his white empty head around, sniffing the air like an albino red setter puppy, looking for goal number 7.

Re: Clive

Originally posted by dockertor
Oh how quickly people forget

Oh I haven't forgot, Clive has kept me entertained and produced some very good footy. eg. demo derby. I'm just being realistic, he is a shadow of himself (voices ask which shadow ...), and we can't expect much more from him.

Just let him have at least 1 more game.

Cook will stay around the middle, he's much shorter than Sanderson and our defence is fairly settled. If anyone will go into it, it's likely to be Seigert (not a dud) or Mundy/Murphy.

according to the gospel of CC, cookie will be playing a defensive midfeild role