Does anybody think the new recruits will help with the clearances.

• Thread starter Thread starter Nuggo

Nuggo

Brisbane Lions
Was a big problem for us last year. Some of the players we have traded for have the mature harden bodies but do you think they will increase our clearance output this year.

Buchanan might be the only one but I don't think that he is that clean at clearing the ball from a congested jam of cranky footballers.

Staker reminds me of a poor mans Brennan and we know that Brennan is a good extractor. Can Staker do the same?

Raines I feel was played out of position on the half back flank and should be tested for the midfield....will he make the cut and even get a game?

Any others?

The hard mature bodies around the ball will help but still leaves a bit of pressure for Redden and Rich to take their games to another level.

Was a big problem for us last year. Some of the players we have traded for have the mature harden bodies but do you think they will increase our clearance output this year.

Buchanan might be the only one but I don't think that he is that clean at clearing the ball from a congested jam of cranky footballers.

Staker reminds me of a poor mans Brennan and we know that Brennan is a good extractor. Can Staker do the same?

Raines I feel was played out of position on the half back flank and should be tested for the midfield....will he make the cut and even get a game?

Any others?

The hard mature bodies around the ball will help but still leaves a bit of pressure for Redden and Rich to take their games to another level.

Personally, I believe they won't, but what would I know? I hope We can sort that out

Brennan, Polkinghorne and Redden will add to the extracting requirements this year. All three will be better this year, all have shown they can win the ball and assist Black, Power and Rich.

Also Leuey will be a welcome addition, hopefully he can string 12 to 15 in a row this year.

I think another important factor this year will be to kick to a lead up forward who can hand off to our runners such as Rich, Redden, Adcock, Sherman, Drummond and Mcgrath. Having a lead up forward dragging defenders up the ground will open the forward line and allow Brown and Fevola to take marks inside 30. Can't see too many teams holding them.

I still think pace is a bit of a concern. Both in terms of foot-speed as well as in terms of quick hands. I'm not so sure that we're going to be able to beat the best in the business in the areas of getting to the ball first as well as getting the quick handball or kick out to advantage. I'd also put a question mark over whether or not we have enough one-touch players as well.

This amounts to us not being able to get the clean breakaways and efficient disposal that would make the likes of Brown and Fevola unstoppable targets up forward.

I'm yet to be convinced that any of the new recruits will help out in this area, although, I think that Buchanan may be able to offer something. I also think that M.Austin is another player who might have something to offer in this area, based on some things I've seen of him in some of his senior games.

If we're to beat the teams who are very strong and fast at the ruck clearances, then I think we'll just have to rely on hard work and discipline, as opposed to pure skill or physical superiority, to beat them.

I think we will be better with clearances and winning the ball this year for a few reasons. Black didn't have a lot of support last year, this is due to a few injuries that robbed us of a few players that would really help in this area. We lost our 2 top rucks (even though Clark was great) and having 2 decent rucks would have really helped with clearances from ruck work, as well as Brennan not being able to be used as a mid after he showed so much potentional as a ball winner from the middle. That right there is 2 maybe 3 players who can add something to our ball winning and clearance ability.

Another area which we suffered is playing a lot of young bodies against more mature bodies. While the young guys did a great job, the smaller bodies did restrict some ball winning around the ground, just having 1 or 2 mature bodies around the ground here will at least give us some more break evens in the contested ball, perhaps Staker and Amon.

So right there, we have 4 - 5 players that will contribute to our clearance and ball winning ability this year, and that isn't including any increased output from the likes of Polka or Redden. Also having our Rucks in place, our team structure should be a bit sharper and make life a little easier on the park, and the likes of Black should be a little more free hopefully increasing his output a little as well. All these little things aren't massive, and only provide a small increase with our ball winning, but added up across the field it will be a decent margin, and could very well be the difference in a top 4 spot.

Weather or not we are good enough to go all the way and take on the top teams im not sure, but we should be around the mark. Make top 4 and anything can happen.

I don't think any of our recruits will have a great impact in the clearance department.

I have been pushing for McGrath to move into the midfield. I feel he can have the biggest impact of anyone on our list.

The ruck division should be a lot better this year which should help with the clearances. Clark improved a massive amount over the course of last year as a ruck technician and hopefully he continues to do so. Leuenberger is probably our best in this regard and Charman being fit might improve his ruck work as well.

By the sound of it Rich has been working a lot on his inside game and he should get more clearances this year. Brennan won't have to ruck this year and can focus on his midfield work. I don't think he will be a huge clearance winner but will get his share. Polkinghorne definately has potential in this area and if Proud gets a game and time in the middle I think he could also help. Redden I think will improve his clearance work with another preseason behind him. Also expect the likes of Sherman to be expected to improve their work at stoppages.

The acquisition who could potentially have the most direct impact on clearances is Harwood. He is a pure inside mid but as a first year player I am not expecting much from him this year.

Where I think the new recruits could potentially have the biggest impact is if Voss decided that the likes of Raines allows him to release Adcock to the midfield. I know Jed hasn't gone particularly well generally in the last couple of years when he played in the middle but he remains imo our second best clearance guy. He reads it very well and has pretty quick hands.

Yeah, I'd like to see Adcock in the middle also, reckon his role in the backline can be filled by others, but a role for a hard midfileder is begging to be filled....can play a Voss like role IMHO....

The Adock idea is an interesting one. We do have a bit of depth in the back half, so we could spare him to push into the middle. He hasn't been fantastic playing in the midfield, however, if he is there for clearances he doesn't need a high possession game. If he averaged 17 or so touches a game playing in the mid field but added 5 clearances, then its probably worth doing. He is also very good defensively and his tackling is very good, which would be good to have in the congested areas.

Adcock through the middle of the ground has to be tried again this year, Jed at his best in the middle wins the clearance but also very importantly he kicks goals. We need to have goal kicking mids.

Proud, Polkinghorne, Rich, Rischitelli are all candidates to lift our clearance rate. The key to clearances is to not hesitate and know when it is your turn to go and get the pill. Hunt the footy in close, i am sure that is what Vossy has been drilling into the players all around the field.

Good spray of ideas. Will certainly be watching with interest throughout the season. Adcock now knows what it takes to have a run in the midfield.

If Adcock and Buchanan can be protectors and space makers for Rich and really bring him into the game there could be a lot forward fifty entries.

If my eyes didnt deceive me Adcock has been knackered by injury the last couple of seasons.He will be the key to a top 4 slot IMO and is a natural hard nut to play in the middle and give the silky blokes a chop out.

apart from fevalicious do you actually see many of the new recruits playing much game time? i guess with staker and raines they have had time to develop and if it will ever happen it is a now? i see some weagles fans think staker is set for a breakout year? maguire im not so sure but was obviously drafted for a reason? i think adcock moving into the middle would work well seems to have had some injury concerns? has he had a good preseason?

You can find the answers to these questions and more if you just read some of the relevant threads, instead of hijacking this one. Our forum is pretty well organised and you won't find it very hard to navigate.

My prediction:

Buchanan - barring injuries will play every game

Staker - will play in round 1. Will probably end up being a player to cover for injuries which should see him most likely play most of the year.

Clarke - will play 5 to 10 games towards the back end of the year

Raines - start in the reserves, and play 10 or so games mostly towards the back end of the year.

Maguire - hit or miss. Wouldn't be surprised to see him play 0 games or 22 games.

I also predict that my predictions will be far from perfect, and that there will be a few surprises, for better or worse.

My turn

Buchanon will play 4-5 games and will not show that he was worth the trade

Staker will play 10 games

Clarke will play 8 games

Raines will be lucky to get 5 games

Maguire will play 15 games

Maguire will be tried but if he cant shut his man down he has no other role.

My mail is that his mobility has been permanantly curtailed.I think what we paid for him is about right-a 10-15 percent chance of being useful.

You can find the answers to these questions and more if you just read some of the relevant threads, instead of hijacking this one. Our forum is pretty well organised and you won't find it very hard to navigate.

luckyluke, i wasn't trying to hijack your thread at all? was interested in talking about the new recruits. If they are not going to play games they will not help with clearances, re the relevance to the thread imo?:confused:
not dt or supercoach related just a healthy discussion

If we get the same amount of Clearances this year and we remain injury free a top 4 spot is open for us. I think Ash McGrath was in All Australian form last year and we really need rebounding backs to give Brown and Fev the ball they require. Maguire will be our best mature recruit this year and will play 15 games at least.

Just a question where will Mitch Clarke play is Leuenberger and Charman are fit? 3 talls would be very hard to stop or as a centre half back.

After seeing training, Clark will be #1 ruck rotating with Charmo. Dead set, Charmo looks like he is a million bucks. Bergs is looking good, but that infection last year really set him back 6 months. He seems to have got some weight back on, but is still a little small up top. Weather Bergs plays seniors or QAFL, i think the important thing for him is to play out a full season of footy.

Just a question where will Mitch Clarke play is Leuenberger and Charman are fit? 3 talls would be very hard to stop or as a centre half back.

Would reckon he'd have to be our first choice ruck.

Would be against playing all three rucks as we'd lose too much run around the ground. We were basically forced to play with an extra midfielder last year with the loss of Leuenberger and Charman and I believe it helped us to run out games better than we had under Leigh.

luckyluke, i wasn't trying to hijack your thread at all? was interested in talking about the new recruits. If they are not going to play games they will not help with clearances, re the relevance to the thread imo?:confused:
not dt or supercoach related just a healthy discussion
I dunno, the more i read it, the more it sounds like you're just fishing for DT/SC info. Sorry if you're not.

nah i know where the dt & sc boards are, not my type of players anyhoo! just bored s#@tless in the off season & trying to pass the time with some constructive convo, no worries
cheers