Does anyone here rate us against he crows?

• Thread starter Thread starter kerrazy

I honestly think we have a chance.. we have matched up EXTREMELY well in the recent past against the Crows, still remember Rowan Jones missing from the square in an elimination final in the last quarter and still winning....

However does anyone HATE how the fixtures are planned, with us playing Adelaide for the first time in Round 21 away? The fixture list IMO needs to be seriously looked at.

Especially after Richmond Collingwood played for the first time since Rd3 2008 last week... doesnt make sense...

Heart says yes but I think we will lose. Lets hope we kick more than 1 goal and don't get thrashed like Fremantle did.

i'd say if we play like we did against the roos we'll get smashed.

i liked how we played average footy and still won by 6 goals, shows we're becoming more efficient.

but we're going to need our real A-game for this game. one good thing is that their forward line is fairly average, so i expect glass to dominate and hurn to be accumulating many disposals, setting up our attacks.

Are you serious?
You are calling Tippett, Porplyzia, Hentchel, Knights, Dangerfield average :confused:.
And yes people we got belted at Subi last year but remember the score on our home deck in round 2 :D.

Are you serious?
You are calling Tippett, Porplyzia, Hentchel, Knights, Dangerfield average :confused:.
And yes people we got belted at Subi last year but remember the score on our home deck in round 2 :D.

Well they're no Perrie and Birdman.

RE Round 2... i remember it well... up until then, some of our fans thought we still had a good team without Judd/Cousins.

Well they're no Perrie and Birdman.

No one will ever match Ian "Safe-Hands" Perrie.

Burton is still around don't forget. Might play this week hopefully.

I really can't see the Eagles beating us. I reckon this is the game we really need to boost our percentage to have any chance at fourth spot.

but we're going to need our real A-game for this game. one good thing is that their forward line is fairly average, so i expect glass to dominate and hurn to be accumulating many disposals, setting up our attacks.

hahahahahaha, What a joke!

Sorry, obviously Adelaide's forward line is the best in the AFL.

Come now dear, even I can see your team is better than ours at this current time and our forward line is better than yours.

Adelaide's form has been pretty good of late, whereas we have beaten three teams with shaky form (even the Dockers had a decent patch against the Bulldogs before we beat them).

Considering they also have more to play for I cannot see us winning this game. I would be happy with a good showing.

The West Coast bogey thing was due to a pace advantage across the ground imo. You guys would go handball crazy and we just couldn't get at the ball carrier enough to force turnovers with the likes of Judd and Kerr powering away. It didn't help that we could never match up Embley or Hunter which made a supposedly weak Eagles forward line pretty much unstoppable when they played us. Both sides are vastly different these days though of course.

As far as the "crows have an average forward line" perception goes, that is becoming outdated information. Burton, Porplyzia, Tippett, Knights, Hentschel, Walker, Dangerfield etc etc, it's the most potent selection we've had for years although it lacks a genuine crumber.

Have to admit too (despite loathing your mob since the 05/06 finals) that the foundation building for the next generation at West Coast looks pretty strong - LeCras is a freaking star, rated him since a couple of years back when he produced a few special pieces of play against us at AAMI; surprised he has had to put a 50+ goal season together for the wider football public to acknowledge him as a quality up-and-comer. Masten, Nat, Houlihan have been impressive from what I've seen and if not for the tragic hardships faced by young Luke Shuey this year you would probably have had yourselves another RS nomination.

Anyway I'm tipping the Crowies by 43, with the Eagles being right in touch for a half or so. We really cannot afford to lose this game so hopefully it isn't a let down.

I don't think we will, but I wouldn't be all that surprised if we somehow won.

Are you serious?

If hes not, then I am. Hardly top line is it!

I think the Crows will bend us over to the tune of 30 odd points. Having said that, we are a bogey side of sorts for that lot, but they will be too good IMO.

Sorry, obviously Adelaide's forward line is the best in the AFL.

Come now dear, even I can see your team is better than ours at this current time and our forward line is better than yours.

I can't see that. Tippett in his current form trumps Kennedy, Porplyzia and LeCras are pretty similar with LeCras probably in better form, but Porps is so valuable to us, and then after that the Eagles forward line drops off with Hentchell coming back he is better than Hansen, while Knights is in career best form this year.

The forward lines are pretty even with Adelaide just trumping the Eagles at the moment.

I can't see that. Tippett in his current form trumps Kennedy, Porplyzia and LeCras are pretty similar with LeCras probably in better form, but Porps is so valuable to us, and then after that the Eagles forward line drops off with Hentchell coming back he is better than Hansen, while Knights is in career best form this year.

The forward lines are pretty even with Adelaide just trumping the Eagles at the moment.

LOL Hansen won't even play :o

Hansen hasn't played since the Freo game and that was his first game for a while I think. WC forward line is LeCras, McKinley, Kennedy and Wilson pretty much with the other 2 spots filled by midfielders and players like Brown and Lynch who get moved all over the ground.

Kennedy and Lecras ~= Tippet and Porplyzia
Burton and Knights >>> Mckinley and Wilson

Wirra could be the X-factor which they lack I think, although I do rate Dangerfield highly.

Adelaides forward line trumps ours though for sure. Throw in Hentschel as well.

i think adelaide will win but i wouldnt be surprised if we can snatch this one. we have a good record against adelaide at home but or aami stadium form isnt very good. it will be a good test though to see where we are really at. we are missing 2 key players from the past 3 weeks not too mention kerr/cox. i would expect craig to drill his players this week on the handballing and how to stop it. and hurn will probly be tagged. if we can pressure and use our zone well we will always have a chance against any team but adelaide are playing for finals and % whilst we are playing for pride.

crows by 19.

LOL Hansen won't even play :o

Forgot he got dropped. Why you guys keep playing him is beyond me.

Kennedy and Lecras ~= Tippet and Porplyzia
Burton and Knights >>> Mckinley and Wilson

Wirra could be the X-factor which they lack I think, although I do rate Dangerfield highly.

Adelaides forward line trumps ours though for sure. Throw in Hentschel as well.

Wirrpunda needs to play forward for you guys as he is wasted in the backline now with Hurn taking his role. Johncock vs Wirrpunda would result and would make Stiffy play him tight as Pr. Craig would not let Wirrpunda get too much space.

Forgot he got dropped. Why you guys keep playing him is beyond me.
What the?

I'm guessing a lot of things are beyond you if you can acknowledge that a guy has been dropped since early in the season and then criticise the selection committee for continually playing him.

What the?

I'm guessing a lot of things are beyond you if you can acknowledge that a guy has been dropped since early in the season and then criticise the selection committee for continually playing him.

The guy is a spud. Every time he gets picked he offers nothing for your team so he gets dropped. Then he plays well in the WAFL and all of a sudden he must have improved so they pick him again. Then he plays more poor games in the AFL and gets dropped.

Has been happening for the last few seasons. He is clearly only a WAFL standard player. The same thing goes for Ryan Murphy at Freo. Both are not AFL players yet for the last few years the coaches keep picking them and they keep failing to deliver.

Even in our shit year in 2008, we still managed to belt the crows by 50 points. This year is a bit different, with Adelaide playing for a top four spot, plus we are playing away. We also have browny and Masten out with injury. Does any one think we have a chance to win 4 in a row?

We have beat them at Subi last year but they absolutely smashed us at AAMI stadium. It was fun, I was there copping grief from sme Crows ferals.

Not having Masten and Brown this week to go with not having guys like Cox and Kerr will really hurt. I am hopefully that we can get a good result, but in reality know that it is unlikely we will beat the Crows at AAMI.

Either way I will be there again cheering the boys on.

I was very happy with the style of play we used against the Bulldogs. We ran hard through the corridor and took chances with the handball. It was precisely this type of play that undid the Crows back in '05. Obviously, a lot has changed since then, but if we come out and play with that level of run and daring, we are a slim chance.

The thing about this strategy is if we do turn the ball over, our opponents are immediately under pressure when they take possession, because the ball hasn't moved far and we have the run going in our direction. It will take an extraordinary performance from our guys, especially without the running power of Masten and Brown, but I reckon we are an outside chance.

Yeah, we said all those things when we played against St. Kilda & they showed us how far WE are behind them..... mate you won 1 game out of 20 away games.

True, but the time we lost away to you guys was also our first H&A loss in that run of 19 losses, things change;)