Does Lance have the players backing for the captaincy?

I took this excerpt from the thread about Lappin backing Fevola but it definitely deserves it's own thread.

Lappin said he was confident his teammate would put the controversy behind him, though he guessed the 25-year-old was no longer a candidate for the Carlton captaincy.

"That's probably our biggest problem at the moment — that there's nobody who's ready to take it over," Lappin said.

"But I wouldn't mind seeing the club take a bit of a risk and backing one of the younger guys in … make them take the club by the scruff of the neck and lead us somewhere, but that's their choice. Having said that, if Kouta (Anthony Koutoufides) gets it, I've got no problems with that."

http://www.theage.com.au/realfooty/...nce-says-lappin/2006/11/07/1162661681554.html

Nobody ready to take it over? Wouldn't mind backing a younger player in? No mention of Lance at all. Is this a Lappin issue or this symbolic of the playing group. I don't want a captain that the others don't respond to. I don't want to get Lance's nose out of joint either but he is not our future and neither is Stevo. Sounds like Fev is everyone's mate and that is why his chances were being bandied around.

If Murphy was two years older, he would be captain. Walks is close ... Simmo a chance, but really they are not ready either. Maybe Kouta should get it again?

Intresting one that .... makes you wonder what Lance's relationship with the rest of the squad is like ?

I'd have thought he'd had all the right credentials: Age, Experience, Carlton Heritage, Brains.

I as well was surprised Lappin never mentioned Lance as captain. You would think Lance would be a shoe in, won our BF, appears to give the best leadership on the ground etc.

However I would much prefer us to bite the bullant and make Murphy a captain :D Let's grow some balls and take a risk hey.

Good question, I wondered the same thing myself after reading Lappin's comments.

There was a time when I felt for sure Lance should and would be our next captain, however, I'm no longer as adament. I think Lance has shown great leadership qualities for a long time now, and I'm sure he'd be a great captain on the field, but I'm not sure if his profile suits the role off the field. Lance is always going to be a great on field leader regardless of whether or not he has the captainancy. Considering the negative press he often receives for his fitness, maybe it would be better to let him concentrate on footy alone.

Having said that, currently I'm not sure who does suit the role in an off field capacity. IMO it's almost as critical to have a captain who is comfortable with the media, portraying an image which allows the club to leverage marketing efforts, as it is to have an on field leader.

Fevola could have (and probably would have) been this person. Do people think it is too risky now? Or is it an opportunity for him to redeem himself in a big way?

Maybe the solution is to have Kouta go one more year, then bestow Murph with the opportunity. He has shown many Judd like leadership qualities in a short time (I'm not comparing him as a player), and I think he could actually handle the added pressure...like Sticks did.

I think the fact that the club were keen for Murph to talk to Gibbs about the team, speaks volumes for his character, and if he can have a solid season in 07, this might be a could move.

How do people feel about a Sydney & St.Kilda style rotation? Could be a good way to develop a new leadership group.

Look, Lance is back slimmer than ever and hanging out with Pagan and the powers that be. I have no doubt he is the annointed one or he wouldn't be leading by example in that regard. My problem now isn't whether Lance gets the job or not, but more that it looks like he will get the job and whether the guys want to play for him. Worrying.

I can't see why he wouldn't have the support of the team, as he's always been a solid competitor on the field, and kept a relatively low profile off field.

Having said that, I'm hardly part of the inner sactum!

Maybe if Lappin was specifically being interviewed about the captaincy rather than speaking out in defence of Fev, he would have had a more thought out response with regard to the actual players he'd get behind.

I can't help but feel this may be one of those times we're reading a little too much into an off the cuff comment...ahh the dangers of the off season!!

Go back and rewatch the games from last year and then tell me Lance doesn't have the support of the playing group and is not captain material, he stood up in so many games and showed the way it wasn't funny, rebuilt the defence and its confidence single handedly last year, and is back this year looking fitter than he ever has and is primed for a bigger year than last year, there is no question in my mind about the Captaincy and i think that time will show that Lance will be a great Captain for a long time to come, and by the end of next year there will be no questions over his leadership of Carlton, mark my words.:thumbsu: :D

Maybe if Lappin was specifically being interviewed about the captaincy rather than speaking out in defence of Fev, he would have had a more thought out response with regard to the actual players he'd get behind.
I doubt that the interview was printed verbatim and Lappin only had seconds to respond therefore forgetting about Lance. He took the time to consider we had no options, think about giving it to a young player and backing Kouta for another year. Make no mistake about it, unless he comes out and says he was misquoted, at the very least Lappin doesn't want Lance to get the job. However Lappin is now a fringe player in my mind so if the damage is restricted to Lappin, then there is no problem.

I'm just hoping that this is only reflective of Lappin's thoughts and nobody elses.

I took this excerpt from the thread about Lappin backing Fevola but it definitely deserves it's own thread.

http://www.theage.com.au/realfooty/...nce-says-lappin/2006/11/07/1162661681554.html

Nobody ready to take it over? Wouldn't mind backing a younger player in? No mention of Lance at all. Is this a Lappin issue or this symbolic of the playing group. I don't want a captain that the others don't respond to. I don't want to get Lance's nose out of joint either but he is not our future and neither is Stevo. Sounds like Fev is everyone's mate and that is why his chances were being bandied around.

If Murphy was two years older, he would be captain. Walks is close ... Simmo a chance, but really they are not ready either. Maybe Kouta should get it again?

How can you say that ODN the man is 27 years old and is playing the best footy of his career and is fitter than ever, to say that Lance is not part of our future is ridiculous, he will play for another 4-5 years and Captain until he is 30 at least and when he does retire he will go straight onto the coaching panel anyway, Lance Whitnall is a vital part of our future and if his work with the defensive group last year did not show that i don't know what will, if anything he is one of the most important people at the club as far as our future success is concerned especially with all the young kids on our list now and in the years ahead.
I can't believe that people will back Fev to the Hilt after 1 year of getting his act together, yet Lance under the same cicumstances, except of course that Lance actually won the B&F and hasn't managed to stuff up again, still gets hardly any support, go figure.:eek:

How can you say that ODN the man is 27 years old and is playing the best footy of his career and is fitter than ever, to say that Lance is not part of our future is ridiculous, he will play for another 4-5 years and Captain until he is 30 at least and when he does retire he will go straight onto the coaching panel anyway, Lance Whitnall is a vital part of our future and if his work with the defensive group last year did not show that i don't know what will, if anything he is one of the most important people at the club as far as our future success is concerned especially with all the young kids on our list now and in the years ahead.
I can't believe that people will back Fev to the Hilt after 1 year of getting his act together, yet Lance under the same cicumstances, except of course that Lance actually won the B&F and hasn't managed to stuff up again, still gets hardly any support, go figure.:eek:

Youre dreaming

Thats what they said this time last year when i posted this about how he would have a stellar year this year. :thumbsu:

Here here lance is a champion and directs the backline like a general, even in a wheelchair i would play Lance in the backline just for his nouse and reading of the play, if anything he is under payed for what he provides in direction and leadership to the developing players why do you think so many clubs wanted him. Given another good pre-season Lance will make All Aussie on brains alone let alone his other attributes, Fevola could learn alot about not giving up and putting everything you have got into the team. Lance if fit should be the next Captain after Kouta and mark my words he will be fit come round1 and will have a stellar year next year. A Carlton Champion

This is spot on, can't think of anyone else who has all these credentials at the club in one package. AS for one of the younger guys being captain, I would rather them just concentrate on playing great footy, no need to complicate their careers so early. I think many of them have what it takes but I just think leave until they get some more experience. (I.e. learn what it takes to start winning games)

I doubt that the interview was printed verbatim and Lappin only had seconds to respond therefore forgetting about Lance. He took the time to consider we had no options, think about giving it to a young player and backing Kouta for another year. Make no mistake about it, unless he comes out and says he was misquoted, at the very least Lappin doesn't want Lance to get the job. However Lappin is now a fringe player in my mind so if the damage is restricted to Lappin, then there is no problem.

I'm just hoping that this is only reflective of Lappin's thoughts and nobody elses.

It's not.

Spare of the moment thought from Lappin. Wouldn't be reading too much into it. he was probably annoyed that no-one is mentioning him to be our captain.

As for whether or not the boys would 'want to play for Lance' that is a loaded statement. the boys play for each other, they play for themselves and they play for the club. Lance is hardly a sinner, it's not as if they'd hate him having the job. He has brains, he has respect from his collegues and he has confidence. I'd back Lance to do it, but if not him, then I dont know who i'd like to have it. Murphy, Simpson and walker - they are still kids. Yes, Sticks did it at 22, but these guys are still not mature enough in terms of experience to take on the captaincy. I have no doubt that they have the passion and desire, and will be great leaders. However, not next year. Let them develop their game, they are still just kids. Give it a year or two, then hand it over to them. We can't give it to them on a silver plate just yet. Let them have another year or so to really prove their desire.

I really hope Lance gets it, even if just for a year or two, and then we can hand it over to one of the younger guys.

I would prefer Sir Lancelot as Captain, with Walker and maybe Fevola as vice-captains. I remember a game earlier this year, when Andrew Walker blasted Fev on the field, for not chasing down his man. It was brilliant camera work, and everyone says Walker is a quiet guy on field, but I think he just goes under the shadow of everyone else. That was a great moment, watching him scream at Fevola to chase his man :thumbsu:

Lappin is just being a sook. OF course it's going to rattle him, he's been at Carlton for a few years, played ok, wants the job, but no-one is talking him up.

Lance better get the job. He played with Ratten and Braddles, and I think he will be a great communicator and a very good leader.

When do we find out??

Spare of the moment thought from Lappin. Wouldn't be reading too much into it. he was probably annoyed that no-one is mentioning him to be our captain.

As for whether or not the boys would 'want to play for Lance' that is a loaded statement. the boys play for each other, they play for themselves and they play for the club. Lance is hardly a sinner, it's not as if they'd hate him having the job. He has brains, he has respect from his collegues and he has confidence. I'd back Lance to do it, but if not him, then I dont know who i'd like to have it. Murphy, Simpson and walker - they are still kids. Yes, Sticks did it at 22, but these guys are still not mature enough in terms of experience to take on the captaincy. I have no doubt that they have the passion and desire, and will be great leaders. However, not next year. Let them develop their game, they are still just kids. Give it a year or two, then hand it over to them. We can't give it to them on a silver plate just yet. Let them have another year or so to really prove their desire.

I really hope Lance gets it, even if just for a year or two, and then we can hand it over to one of the younger guys.

I would prefer Sir Lancelot as Captain, with Walker and maybe Fevola as vice-captains. I remember a game earlier this year, when Andrew Walker blasted Fev on the field, for not chasing down his man. It was brilliant camera work, and everyone says Walker is a quiet guy on field, but I think he just goes under the shadow of everyone else. That was a great moment, watching him scream at Fevola to chase his man :thumbsu:

Lappin is just being a sook. OF course it's going to rattle him, he's been at Carlton for a few years, played ok, wants the job, but no-one is talking him up.

Lance better get the job. He played with Ratten and Braddles, and I think he will be a great communicator and a very good leader.

When do we find out??

As far as i am concerned they should have announced it already:thumbsu:

... I remember a game earlier this year, when Andrew Walker blasted Fev on the field, for not chasing down his man. It was brilliant camera work, and everyone says Walker is a quiet guy on field, but I think he just goes under the shadow of everyone else. That was a great moment, watching him scream at Fevola to chase his man :thumbsu: ...

Yeah I remember that. Fev was just speechless. The thing I like about Murph, Walker, and Simmo, is not only are they elite talents, but they really play for the jumper, with lots of pride. With these young leaders emerging, the future is very very bright. :)

How can you say that ODN the man is 27 years old and is playing the best footy of his career and is fitter than ever, to say that Lance is not part of our future is ridiculous
No, I didn't say he wasn't part of our future, he is for the next few years. What I mean is that by the time we are ready to start winning flags again, Lance will either be gone or he will be a bit player. Murphy, Gibbs, Simpson, Kennedy, Walker ... these guys are the nucleus of our future as they are in a certain age bracket that will be around when we are ready to win again. I don't even know that Fev is our future. The point is that if there are any doubts over Lance as captain, then they need to consider the above.

Playing devil's advocate of course but I have always maintained that I call it as I see it and although I lean very much towards the positive, doesn't mean I won't raise concerns where I feel the need.

If Lance has the backing of the playing group, then appoint him. If he doesn't, tread very carefully.

I'm leaning toward making Lance our captain next year. It's not that big a deal though, as Lance has probably been doing more on-field captaining than Kouta over the past few years. Fev will always play a leadership role up forward, regardless of whether he's in the official leadership group or not. I'd be happy him being captain at some point, but the downside is the anti-Carlton press will put massive pressure on him if he ever got the job, which could impact his performances - something we need to consider. Marc Murphy is obviously being groomed as a future leader. Murph is just class. :)

ODN, why do seem to think that Lance won't have the support of the playing group?

If Lance has the backing of the playing group, then appoint him. If he doesn't, tread very carefully.

Who would not back him? Or are you just going by what Lappin has said?

ODN, why do seem to think that Lance won't have the support of the playing group?

Who would not back him? Or are you just going by what Lappin has said?
Just surprised to read Lappin's comments and wondering if anybody else shares that opinion. Lance is in the box seat for the job all things being equal BUT I hope the players are behind him. The last thing we want now is clicques or divides within the playing ranks. I know nothing about it and am not trying to start any smear campaigns, just asking a natural question that arises from Lappin's comments.

The club should be sure about where the playing group stands on this issue.