doesn't take Fev long

link
"I'm just going to go out there and do what I do on the footy field, and that is kick goals, do a lot of chasing and tackling, the team things I did at Carlton."
link

34osjh0.jpg%22%20border=%220

Not sure what you mean by that bird there but are you trying to say Fev didn't do these things???

Besides his sooky games (which there were only a small handful in the past 2 seasons) this was one of his best attributes.

Really sick of all the Carlton supporters slagging of Fev's game now that he has left. He was a champion. edit IS a champion.

Not sure what you mean by that bird there but are you trying to say Fev didn't do these things???

Besides his sooky games (which there were only a small handful in the past 2 seasons) this was one of his best attributes.
They were his worst attributes as a forward.

And I think Fevola is serious.
Really sick of all the Carlton supporters slagging of Fev's game now that he has left.
Them's the facts.

And he doesn't play for Carlton.
He was a champion.
Matchwinner, superstar and a draw card.

No more a champion than all the Geelong teams who finished runner up in all those GFs.

1 out of every 10 gmes isn't bad I suppose. :rolleyes:

This is one of the reasons he was given the arse. His attitude on the field and also at training was deplorable.

Really sick of all the Carlton supporters slagging of Fev's game now that he has left. He was a champion. edit IS a champion.

People are only stating the facts R.E. I agree he is still a champion and I will always love him as a player (no homo). But he is now a Brisbane player so he is fair game to be critisised by us Blues supporters. :thumbsu:

There's no excuse for anyone doing this even once. Think about what a poor example he sets for the young players doing this stuff, or how demoralising it must be for his team mates running their arse off only to see him standing there with his hands on his hips sulking while Tayte Pears runs the ball up to the wing.

No time for people like that in the team.

I think you need to go back and look at the final Quarter of the final last year........and watch whose man it was running from full back providing extra numbers across half back that set up a lot of their run.
Fev admitted afterwards that at 3/4 time he statred thinking about the next week.

No question in the last year and a bit Fev's chasing and tackling improved, but to say it was one of his better attributes.........please :cool:........recall the Essednon game where Pears kicked two goals...........from full back............Scarlett made a living off running away from Fev.........as did Brian Lake..........the list goes on but I won't. :o Fev picked and chose when he would chase. Sometimes he was electric, others he was a spectator.

A big deal was made about the times he did chase and tackle.......usually because it was rare.......especially repeat efforts (except when he was stranded on 99 goals.....then we saw a 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th effort - which tells you a lot more about Fev than you know). For someone his speed and size he should have been better than Hamill with his defensive pressure.

That's not a re-write of history. That's the way it was IMHO.:thumbsu:

Rodney, the more negative things being said by Blues supporters about Fev are things that have been said for years, ie. doesn't always chase (although this got a lot better over the last 2 years, last year his tackling was great), he sometimes shows a poor attitude on the ground, his affect on the younger players, etc, this hasn't changed just because he went to Brisbane.

He's a champion goal kicker and great to watch and I hope he still electrifies the crowd etc, no doubt about that, but it's the other areas of his game (and off-field) that have raised questions, and that has long been a discussion on this board and amongst Blues supporters way before he went to the Bears.

By the way, a lot of Bears supporters didn't hold back on Bradshaw when he left

Can't see what the issue is. Fev will always be a Carlton champion. Think it's good that he's trying to hype his new team up, although it's pretty obvious he'd prefer not to be there - ultimately he had no choice. Still, he's got himself a very nice big contract from the Lions for his last few years.

:)

way before he went to the Bears.

By the way, a lot of Bears supporters didn't hold back on Bradshaw when he left
Typo? :D

On Bradhsaw, there are some miserable sods there rejoicing about his latest knee surgery. :thumbsd:

Most of us would have let the Fev thing go, but when he comes out providing his own "re-writen" version of history........sorry, but this tool needs to be called a tool. :thumbsu:

On Bradhsaw, there are some miserable sods there rejoicing about his latest knee surgery. :thumbsd:
There are a lot of tier one posters on the Brisbane board.
But, as I have said, IMO we are better off with Goose on the list.
If, however, you want to use the misappropriated BigFooty definition* where mercenary means "would sell his own mother into slavery if the price was right"... then that would be a little bit harsh. Braddles is no Judd.
LOL.

Fevola board.

Like it or not, very few other tall forward in the competition provided the defensive pressure that Fev did. Fact. Denying it comes across like bitter grapes.

He might have been lazy with his chasing on occasion (and by the end of it, it had become a rare occurrence) but from a purely athletic perspective, his defensive ability was brilliant. Would have liked him to do it more often but he'd turned one of his weaknesses into a strength, whatever the motive.

And I've no doubt it came about from him realising that the defensive aspect of his game will get him as much plaudits as kicking goals but I couldn't care less what the motive was, so long as he performed.

Tackle count of the talls:
Tippett - 60 (numbers he'd have gotten doing the ruckwork)
Franklin - 48 (spent a lot of time higher up the ground to try and get into the game)
Fevola - 47 (predominantly played out of full forward)
Roughead - 40
Riewoldt - 37
Tredrea 33
Kosi - 24
Brown - 21
Bradshaw - 19

Those numbers speak for themselves.

Why is it sour grapes if you disagree?

Stats belong on the KissStephanie board.

The only time Fevola really chased like his life depended on it was to get to one hundred goals.

It was comical watching him busting his gut for the first time with his second and third efforts.

The key words there are second and third efforts.

We have all too frequently seen him looking like he doesn't gives a shit before exploding.

Franklin, Riewoldt, Brown, Richardson, etc, kill Fevola for endurance and repeat sprints.

Hamill was better at locking the ball in than Fevola.

I really can't be bothered arguing about this but all it'd take is a search back at the threads prior to the Brownlow incident to see exactly what we thought about him as a Blue.

Barely a week went by without Ratten singling Fev out for his defensive pressure. Those players might have better endurance but endurance means little when you don't have the speed to run down an opponent.

this link from the main board....

he seems to forget that not that long ago....he WAS one of the "arrogant Victorians" that he mentions

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,26677842-10389,00.html

hope you have a good time up in QLD & also hope it works out for you...

I really wouldn't let something this inconsequential get you down.

Fev plays for Brisbane now and as a headline drawing player it is his job to spruik the club. Nothing plays better up here on the frontier than a bit of "those bastards down south don't rate us". It is more scripted than an episode of The Footy Show.

He's just doing his job.

Front page of the Courier today was our Fev. Earning his keep. :thumbsu:

j80k0w.jpg

Anyone who think Fev's forward 50 defensive work wasn't as asset just simply never watches football. Around 50 tackles, at great speed and many goals coming from Fev-created turnovers. One or two times dropping the tackles, retrieving the ball and kicking the goal himself.

His biggest asset is kicking goals but his defensive skills weren't far behind. Given only one player in our history has kicked 100 he's up there with some of our greatest forwards ever too. Harder in this day and age for a FF to kick 100.

I really wouldn't let something this inconsequential get you down.

Fev plays for Brisbane now and as a headline drawing player it is his job to spruik the club. Nothing plays better up here on the frontier than a bit of "those bastards down south don't rate us". It is more scripted than an episode of The Footy Show.

He's just doing his job.

Front page of the Courier today was our Fev. Earning his keep. :thumbsu:

j80k0w.jpg

Earning his keep? It says he's fare rorting...lol!!!

Like it or not, very few other tall forward in the competition provided the defensive pressure that Fev did. Fact. Denying it comes across like bitter grapes.

He might have been lazy with his chasing on occasion (and by the end of it, it had become a rare occurrence) but from a purely athletic perspective, his defensive ability was brilliant. Would have liked him to do it more often but he'd turned one of his weaknesses into a strength, whatever the motive.

And I've no doubt it came about from him realising that the defensive aspect of his game will get him as much plaudits as kicking goals but I couldn't care less what the motive was, so long as he performed.

Tackle count of the talls:
Tippett - 60 (numbers he'd have gotten doing the ruckwork)
Franklin - 48 (spent a lot of time higher up the ground to try and get into the game)
Fevola - 47 (predominantly played out of full forward)
Roughead - 40
Riewoldt - 37
Tredrea 33
Kosi - 24
Brown - 21
Bradshaw - 19

Those numbers speak for themselves.

Fact Afl Prospectus 2010 (page 10) Fevola 5th most tackles inside 50 thats for the whole comp including the small forwards. His defensive pressure for a power forward was second to none.

FFS. Let me start by saying I love Fev and always will. (no homo) But how many times did he get caught sooking to the umpires for a free kick while the ball got taken from under his nose and rebounded out of our forward line.

How many times did he just stop chasing after getting a pass that was not on his chest and just put his hands on his hips and sook.

How many times did he scream at our player's if they didn't kick it to him and (god forbid) looked for someone else.

As Sin said earlier, do this even once and it's too much, imagine how our draftees and rookies would feel if he did this to them.

I used to cringe when he had one of sooky La La attacks. Just look at Riewoldt for a prime example of how a forward should play once the ball hits the ground.

Fev did this once in a while, he should of done it every game.