Universal Love Down Memory Lane

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Thread needs jumper leads.

So what are our worst memories as Carlton supporters.

- 1993 GF loss to Essendon.
- 1986 GF loss to Hawks.

For mine the 1994 final loss to Melbourne really hurt as we should have made the GF that year but the loss to Melbourne killed us.

- 1986 GF loss to Hawks.

For mine the 2000 final loss to Melbourne really hurt as we should have made the GF that year but the loss to Melbourne killed us.

We toyed with them all day but didn't put them away. Think it was Bruce or Green who killed us off.

21 points up at 3/4 time and ended up 27 scoring shots to 21. They kicked 7.1 to 2.1 in the last, Green kicked 4 goals.

I was with a bunch of Kiwi visitors who were more intent on creating the world's longest beer-cup stack than watching the match. The novelty of explaining the game to these clowns quickly wore off as I realized we were going the long way round to the GF and probably wouldn't get there.

Where do I start?

Carlton post Barassi started playing finals in 1967. In that time I may have missed two or three finals so I have plenty of disappointing losses to pick from. By a long way the most disappointing loss is the 1973 Grand Final to Richmond. The lead up to the game saw Jezza in hospital, Keogh injured but the 1973 team led by a rampant Geoff Southby could achieve despite the negatives. My recollection is that we'd taken care of Richmond in the Second Semi and at half time of the Prelim Final it looked like we would tackle Collingwood in the Grand Final. A small piece of trivia, the 16 year old Rene Kink played his first game for Collingwood that day. Collingwood wobbled badly in the second half and lost the game. The Grand Final was violent. Reminiscent of that North Melbourne game of the same year (see previous post in this thread). The cat was out if the bag prior to the game regarding the likely tactic but Carlton ignored the information. It didn't take long for the plan to come to fruition in the game. Laurie Fowler's shirtfront on Big Nick was a cowardly act. Remember Nicholls had kicked six in 1972 so there was purpose in the action. The ground shook when Big Nick hit the turf. I still can't believe he got up and took his kick. When he lined up for goal he was a little confused as to which set of goalposts to aim for :)

The Nicholls hit wasn't the killer punch (excuse the pun). It was still well contested. Balme's assault on Geoff Southby ranks alongside the Matthews hit on Bruns. Only O'Dea's hit on John Greening at Moorabbin rates lower. Greening was a special player, probably destined to be an all time great of the game and the brain damage he suffered ruined his career. Southby was a freak, 1972 B & F (first year) and would follow up with the 1973 B & F. He never reached these heights again and I think it was only years later that he let on as to the physical effects of that hit.

So the Tigers took out Nicholls and Southby before half time with illegal acts. The ponce umpiring the game just let it happen. Balme wasn't reported. Not even a free kick. I'm also sure Swan McKay ended up with a broken jaw as well.

These were the days of the 19th and 20th man as replacements so no quick fixes were available. The mongrels only won by about four goals so we were brave in defeat.

I still feel bitter about that day and remember shedding a few tears as I watched the bastards raise the Cup.

in 1976 we finished on top after winning 9 straight games leading up to the finals and thrashed the other top sides.

I remember after we thrashed Nth Melb at Arden St by 8 goals in the second last round of the season a journo in the Sunday paper said that the VFL may as well give the cup to Carlton as the blues threatened to turn the finals into a one sided fiasco. Our form was awesome. The weather was warming up, spring was coming up and things were looking good for Carlton. Our other main rival at the time Hawthorn was looking shaky and had actually lost their last 2 home and away games. The other teams making up the final 5 were the cats and dogs and they were just making up the numbers.

Unfortunately we lost the Preliminary final that season to Nth Melb by 1 point after we controlled most of the game and had several shots at goal in the last 5 minutes of the game that were either kicked out on the full, marked by Blight or scored a point.

As a kid I was devastated by this loss.

in 1976 we finished on top after winning 9 straight games leading up to the finals and thrashed the other top sides.

I remember after we thrashed Nth Melb at Arden St by 8 goals in the second last round of the season a journo in the Sunday paper said that the VFL may as well give the cup to Carlton as the blues threatened to turn the finals into a one sided fiasco. Our form was awesome. The weather was warming up, spring was coming up and things were looking good for Carlton. Our other main rival at the time Hawthorn was looking shaky and had actually lost their last 2 home and away games. The other teams making up the final 5 were the cats and dogs and they were just making up the numbers.

Unfortunately we lost the Preliminary final that season to Nth Melb by 1 point after we controlled most of the game and had several shots at goal in the last 5 minutes of the game that were either kicked out on the full, marked by Blight or scored a point.

As a kid I was devastated by this loss.
I have always felt our draw in Round 22 against Footscray killed the momentum we had built in the previous 9 games & gave the Hawks & Roos a bit of a sniff.

It was a strange season 1976. We won the first 7 games, lost the next 5 (including a loss to the wooden spooners, Collingwood), won the next 9, drew the last game & then lost both finals.

I remember listening to the PF against North on the radio & getting so frustrated in the dying minutes as the commentators called us kicking the ball forward, only for Blight to keep marking the bloody thing. That was one of the more disappointing losses in my time.

- 1986 GF loss to Hawks.

For mine the 1994 final loss to Melbourne really hurt as we should have made the GF that year but the loss to Melbourne killed us.

I reckon that one of the worst memories that I have is when Evans came out and admitted that Essendon had been cheating the salary cap from 91-95, but their premiership year of 1993 was clean and they were under the salary cap.

And then having it come out later that in 1993, they were still over the salary cap and that Evans had covered it up so that he wouldnt have to put the asterisk next to Essendon 1993* on the premiership board.

Outside of that, possibly the worst day for me is the 1973 grand final when Balme and co went ballistic and started king hitting Carlton players and some prick (not naming names but Laurie Fowler was the player who started of the ball rolling) ironed out Big Nick and essentially removed him from the game. Seeing him get poleaxed and lying on the ground out cold send chills up and down my spine.

I have always felt our draw in Round 22 against Footscray killed the momentum we had built in the previous 9 games & gave the Hawks & Roos a bit of a sniff.

It was a strange season 1976. We won the first 7 games, lost the next 5 (including a loss to the wooden spooners, Collingwood), won the next 9, drew the last game & then lost both finals.

I remember listening to the PF against North on the radio & getting so frustrated in the dying minutes as the commentators called us kicking the ball forward, only for Blight to keep marking the bloody thing. That was one of the more disappointing losses in my time.

I just had to copy this post in my reply for the highlighted bit!! :p

1980 a year of turmoil for the club and a shocking finals series. In the Qualifying final against Richmond Greg Wells was shitting himself all day as the snipers queued up. We had no answers to their physicality.

I just had to copy this post in my reply for the highlighted bit!! :p
The following season Carlton played Collingwood at Princes Park. Collingwood were red hot and had not lost a match. The Carlton Cheer Squad produced the best run through that I can remember. The banner read "CARLTON WELCOMES THIS YEAR'S REIGNING WOODEN SPOONERS". We lost the game but won the propaganda war! :D

Was one of those years Fitzy came back and played the last half of the season, while doing his Scholars course.

If we beat Footscray, the day of the draw in Round 22, Melbourne under Bob Skilton would have made the finals for the first time in 12 years.

Seem to recall that round 22 game draw was a shooting gallery for us, time and time again we missed from 20 yards in the last quarter.

The last quarter v North in the Prelim at VFL Park, when they put crazy Horse Cowton onto McConnon, Sutton, Icke went swingmen, and we were missing shots from 20, i actually hid in the bar.

Went downstairs into the rooms post game to get a couple of balloons, and frigging Leo Brooks clipped me behind the ears. :eek:

Was one of those years Fitzy came back and played the last half of the season, while doing his Scholars course.

If we beat Footscray, the day of the draw in Round 22, Melbourne under Bob Skilton would have made the finals for the first time in 12 years.

Seem to recall that round 22 game draw was a shooting gallery for us, time and time again we missed from 20 yards in the last quarter.

The last quarter v North in the Prelim at VFL Park, when they put crazy Horse Cowton onto McConnon, Sutton, Icke went swingmen, and we were missing shots from 20, i actually hid in the bar.

Went downstairs into the rooms post game to get a couple of balloons, and frigging Leo Brooks clipped me behind the ears. :eek:
Of course in later years his grandsons would have just shot you.

Then in 1977 it looked like we lost our spark as a revitalised Collingwood and Richmond surpassed us while Hawthorn and North Melbourne maintained their 1976 form. Early in the season we copped a terrible defeat against the magpies at VFL park and I switched off my transistor radio in disgust (first time I did this since I started following the footy) when the magpies were winning by 16 goals late in the 3rd quarter. We copped our worst defeat ever at that stage (102 points).

Despite not really showing form to be a premiership threat we managed to keep a place in the top 5 in every round until we met Footscray in round 22 at the Western Oval. We lost to the dogs after playing a poor 3rd quarter and we dropped out of the top 5 for the first time that season and missed the finals! I remember Jesaulenko's forlorn look on his face at the final siren when he had possession of the ball in the forward line. On the same afternoon South Melb, realising we were in big trouble at 3/4 time at Footscray, staged a big comeback in the last quarter and beat eventual premiers Nth Melb at Arden St. South Melb ended up making the finals by half a game. The previous round I went to the G to watch the blues play the tigers and our 3 point loss in that game proved to be very costly.

Then in 1977 it looked like we lost our spark as a revitalised Collingwood and Richmond surpassed us while Hawthorn and North Melbourne maintained their 1976 form. Early in the season we copped a terrible defeat against the magpies at VFL park and I switched off my transistor radio in disgust (first time I did this since I started following the footy) when the magpies were winning by 16 goals late in the 3rd quarter. We copped our worst defeat ever at that stage (102 points).

Despite not really showing form to be a premiership threat we managed to keep a place in the top 5 in every round until we met Footscray in round 22 at the Western Oval. We lost to the dogs after playing a poor 3rd quarter and we dropped out of the top 5 for the first time that season and missed the finals! I remember Jesaulenko's forlorn look on his face at the final siren when he had possession of the ball in the forward line. On the same afternoon South Melb, realising we were in big trouble at 3/4 time at Footscray, staged a big comeback in the last quarter and beat eventual premiers Nth Melb at Arden St. South Melb ended up making the finals by half a game. The previous round I went to the G to watch the blues play the tigers and our 3 point loss in that game proved to be very costly.
1977 was a strange year for us. We were thereabouts but never really looked like threatening.

That loss against Richmond in Round 21 was so costly & it was a game we should never have lost. Having to beat Footscray at Footscray was always going to be tough, so we had to beat Richmond.

I always felt that North Melbourne let South Melbourne win that last game as they didn't want to play us in the finals, given we had beaten them during the season.

1977 was a strange year for us.....

I always felt that North Melbourne let South Melbourne win that last game as they didn't want to play us in the finals, given we had beaten them during the season.........

Optimistic beyond words.

Pies only lost 3 games that year, and Hawthorn, with porky Pete Hudson were yards above every side that year.

Huddo got a hundred, Matthews kicked 90 odd, and bomber Hendrie got 50, probably the only time 3 guys from one team all kicked 50 in a year. Saw Huddo get his ton in the first final, he took an overhead mark, maybe the first he ever took.

Pretty sure it was the year they kicked 25.41 :eek::eek: v the Saints at Princes Park.

Saw Hudsons last kick ever at VFL Park in the Prelim, (when North fired up and a bloke called Xavier Tanner made his name), 30 yards out and didn't make the distance

Optimistic beyond words.

Huddo got a hundred, Matthews kicked 90 odd, and bomber Hendrie got 50, probably the only time 3 guys from one team all kicked 50 in a year. Saw Huddo get his ton in the first final, he took an overhead mark, maybe the first he ever took.

Pretty sure it was the year they kicked 25.41 :eek::eek: v the Saints at Princes Park.

The paper reported, with photos, that Hawthorn supporters went to the Hawks training base at Glenferrie Oval after that game and chopped off the behind posts in protest !

I remember in the early 90's going to a sports and games exhibition (I think it was at the showgrounds) and I was sitting there at the display for the store that my mate worked for painting figurines for one of the games I played, concentrating on the work when I heard someone saying "jesus, he's tall" and looked up just as Bradley, Madden and a few of the other blues players of the day came walking through the door into the area where we were.

Being a bit shy back then, I didnt go near the guys... if I had been a bit more out there, I would have gotten a bunch of guys signatures that day :)

I remember in the early 90's going to a sports and games exhibition (I think it was at the showgrounds) and I was sitting there at the display for the store that my mate worked for painting figurines for one of the games I played, concentrating on the work when I heard someone saying "jesus, he's tall" and looked up just as Bradley, Madden and a few of the other blues players of the day came walking through the door into the area where we were.

Being a bit shy back then, I didnt go near the guys... if I had been a bit more out there, I would have gotten a bunch of guys signatures that day :)

What the ****????? :eek:

Dram, please explain!