Universal Love Down Memory Lane

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Worst one I ever saw at PP was the Neale Daniher/Fitzpatrick time wasting game in 1981.

Jimmy Buckley pumped a spiral torp up the scoreboard end, (that I am convinced is still bouncing down the Eastern Freeway up near Springvale Road by now), and we were out to 20 odd points going into time-on. Big Fitzy takes a match saving mark in front of the Social Club, then that Perm haired dickhead Robinson paid an incorrect time wasting free, when it should have been a ball up.

Enter Neale Daniher, who had been given an utter bath by Bosustow, banished to the forward line, goal, then another...........was sitting in the old Heatley Stand and the matchwinner came straight at me. In desperation/craziness the club song came on.......but we were done.

For some silly reason we were sitting with Phil Carman and Kevin Egan, they were beside themselves..........I wanted to go home.

Worst one I ever saw at PP was the Neale Daniher/Fitzpatrick time wasting game in 1981.

Jimmy Buckley pumped a spiral torp up the scoreboard end, (that I am convinced is still bouncing down the Eastern Freeway up near Springvale Road by now), and we were out to 20 odd points going into time-on. Big Fitzy takes a match saving mark in front of the Social Club, then that Perm haired dickhead Robinson paid an incorrect time wasting free, when it should have been a ball up.

Enter Neale Daniher, who had been given an utter bath by Bosustow, banished to the forward line, goal, then another...........was sitting in the old Heatley Stand and the matchwinner came straight at me. In desperation/craziness the club song came on.......but we were done.

For some silly reason we were sitting with Phil Carman and Kevin Egan, they were beside themselves..........I wanted to go home.

Ripping story Stig!! :thumbsu:

I am still haunted by a match that was late 90's I am guessing. Was the last game of the year against the Tigers at Princes Park and all we needed to do was win to make the finals. Richmond were not going well and we were 7 odd goals up when it all started to unravel. Injuries and they starting hitting the scoreboard. We ended up losing by a slim margin and it put us out of the finals. I sat in the Pratt Stand with my head in my hands for around an hour, I could not move and was numb!

You guys and gals that got to watch the Blues at Princes Park make me very envious.

The one and only game that I have watched at Princes Park happened to be our last. I travelled across from WA with my old man and even though we lost the crowd that day was amazing. I was lucky enough to get across to the 95 GF as a 16yo and one of my greatest memories was being at Naughtons on the monday having a cheeky beer standing close to guys like sticks, kouta and my all time fav SOS.

I get across 2 or 3 times a year these days but would have loved to have grown up watching the Blues live on saturday afternoon.

My dad was called up to fight in vietnam in the late 60's and he told me stories of heading to Princes Park when he was on leave from training at pukpapunyal.

My 4yo son is now at the stage where he is getting really interested in the mighty blues and wants to watch them live and soon enough I will bring him across to watch us at the G or the dome and I am sure he will love it but will make sure I take him down Royal Parade and show him around and make sure he soaks in all of the history of our great club.

Saw Silvagni kick 8 against West Coast at Princes park in 92 just before i came to Adelaide. We lost the game.

Also saw him in a game there against Geelong where we were well down at halftime, maybe 40 odd points. They switched him forward in the second half and he kicked a snap from 50 which I reckon was on his left foot that brought the house down. We went on to win in what was an amazing comeback!

Was lucky enough to be there the day we kicked 12, or was it 14 in the first quarter against Sydney. Probably '82 I think. And also the day we kicked 8 in 10 minutes in the third quarter against Hawthorn. That was insane, I remember it quite vividly too. I've never again witnessed such a goal onslaught by any team and I think we did something similar to them in one of the finals that year at the G! That third qtr... Boy we could turn it on.
These days I'd just like to beat them... :(

I was in Oaklegh that day. Was it a Sherrin? If it was, it definitely bounced by my car heading towards Monash Uni.

Was lucky enough to be there the day we kicked 12, or was it 14 in the first quarter against Sydney. Probably '82 I think. And also the day we kicked 8 in 10 minutes in the third quarter against Hawthorn. That was insane, I remember it quite vividly too. I've never again witnessed such a goal onslaught by any team and I think we did something similar to them in one of the finals that year at the G! That third qtr... Boy we could turn it on.
These days I'd just like to beat them... :(
Those 3rd quarters against the Hawks in '82 were absolutely scintillating. I remember during the one at Princes Park Ashman kicking 3 of those 8 goals, including one where he crawled through the legs of a Hawthorn player, got to his feet & slammed through an absolute ripper. He was an absolute star Rod Ashman. One of the best small players I've seen.

Of course the other big 3rd quarter against the Hawks in '82 occurred in the QF. We kicked 11 goals in the quarter to put the game to bed. Harmes kicked 4 of those 11 goals.

Saw Silvagni kick 8 against West Coast at Princes park in 92 just before i came to Adelaide. We lost the game.

I remember that game, watched it behind the goals at the Heatly stand end. As the Eagles were walking off the ground after the game ended one of the eagles players sarcastically smiled and clapped at the Carlton fans down our end, I think it was Karl Langdon.

Those 3rd quarters against the Hawks in '82 were absolutely scintillating. I remember during the one at Princes Park Ashman kicking 3 of those 8 goals, including one where he crawled through the legs of a Hawthorn player, got to his feet & slammed through an absolute ripper.
I have just discovered to my absolute joy that this ten minutes of pure blue joy is on YouTube.

Enjoy again if you've seen it, be in awe if you haven't !

I have just discovered to my absolute joy that this ten minutes of pure blue joy is on YouTube.

Enjoy again if you've seen it, be in awe if you haven't !

Was also at this game. Brings back memories when you hear the 'whistler' going for it in the crowd!!!

When you think about it we had a history during the 80's of bringing in tall key forwards that had huge reputations that in reality did not deliver. Ross Ditchburn, Warren Ralph, Peter Sartori, Rhett Baynes (more ruck than forward) to name a few.

This isn't the blue room...back on topic! :oops:
Just don't wanna get in trouble :p
Having copped a backhander from mod-in-waiting miss goody-two-shoes MEB_ I better get back on topic :p

An earlier post was reflecting on the posters earliest recollection of watching a Blues game and it got me thinking.

VFL match of the day telecasts did not start in Canberra till the early seventies but the ABC did show an hour's worth of highlights at 6pm on Saturday night?

I do have a recollection of watching a replay of parts of Carlton v Hawthorn in 1969 when we kicked a then record 30.30 which stood as VFL record for a dozen or so years. Possibly broken by Fitzroy who kicked 35 or so goals.

Don't recall anything else from the 1969 season and dont remember watching the GF although I definitely would have watched and been very disappointed.

The early match of the day telecasts (lasted for a couple of years) only showed the last 3 quarters of the match so we would cross to the HSV 7 telecast at quarter time and see the remainder of the match. By 74/75 we would get the whole match. A contrast to today where every match is broadcast live only 3 of the six matches were televised and of course in black and white up to 1974. Collingwood and North used to be the hardest to follow in b & w.

When you think about it we had a history during the 80's of bringing in tall key forwards that had huge reputations that in reality did not deliver. Ross Ditchburn, Warren Ralph, Peter Sartori, Rhett Baynes (more ruck than forward) to name a few.

Whoa there, Ditchburn kicked a lazy 12 v the Saints at VFL Park, ended up with 60 odd goals in his first year, and played in a winning GF (Alan Martello squished his head in the first quarter).

Ripping story Stig!! :thumbsu:

I am still haunted by a match that was late 90's I am guessing. Was the last game of the year against the Tigers at Princes Park and all we needed to do was win to make the finals. Richmond were not going well and we were 7 odd goals up when it all started to unravel. Injuries and they starting hitting the scoreboard. We ended up losing by a slim margin and it put us out of the finals. I sat in the Pratt Stand with my head in my hands for around an hour, I could not move and was numb!

I was there too. It sucked sooo much!! :mad:

And Ralphy, poor Ralphy.
Is mostly remembered, sadly, for *that* kick after the siren at VFL Park against the Pies and then winning tatts years later.
I thought they were both good players but our style of footy didn't seem to suit full forwards back then, although both kicked decent amounts in their first year.

In the early 90's we had the man dubbed 'The Bush Coleman' at the club, Stephen Oliver. He was only with us a couple of years before returning to the bush where if I remember correctly he kicked around 1000 goals before retiring.

Whoa there, Ditchburn kicked a lazy 12 v the Saints at VFL Park, ended up with 60 odd goals in his first year, and played in a winning GF (Alan Martello squished his head in the first quarter).

Not saying Ditchburn was a dud just saying I don't think he produced what we expected over a decent period. Bit like the Buzz, just wished he played for longer than he did.

In the early 90's we had the man dubbed 'The Bush Coleman' at the club, Stephen Oliver. He was only with us a couple of years before returning to the bush where if I remember correctly he kicked around 1000 goals before retiring.

Yep played a ripper one day against the Eagles over there. May have been the match were the Duke smashed Bluey McKenna into next week!

I was there too. It sucked sooo much!! :mad:

I know this is a very sad story lads but there are some days if I am coming back from a meeting and I am in Melbourne that I stop off at Princes Park and just sit in the Pratt Stand and remember the good old days. I just sit and remember all the memories of that place and how good it used to be when we played footy there. It is not ever going to come back and I know that but it is good to just sit there and recall. All of those stands will get knocked down in the not too distant future so I figure it is best to spend some time there whilst they still exist....before it all just gets demolished.

Why don't you start a pressure group? Paint the Park Blue. A supporter group with the aim of returning league footy to Princes Park again. The first meeting can be next time you sit in the Pratt stand. Just let me know and I'll bring the thermos and fruit cake.

Robbo I would love to catch up for a cuppa one day in the stand. Better be quick though as I have it on pretty good authority they are looking to knock the stands down.

It was talked about a couple of years ago, but a pretty unrealistic feasibility study was put forward - so I can't see it happening. In addition - there's no money being ponied up from our end (Carlton doesn't have any) nor government so I'd suggest it's a while away. Time for numerous cuppas I'd suggest.

1991 Mid-winter at the western oval against the bulldogs was the worst i ever attended in all the games i have seen since the late 60's.

Poured with rain all day and our only goal for the day came late in the last quarter.

Remember it like it was yesterday! And my dad got a speeding fine on the way there. Not a good day :(