Lingsface

geelong
Looks like were going to get picks 12-14 at best so what are we looking for in terms of youth??

Here are some names I have put together.
FAST MIDFIELDER WING TYPES
(could be our chance to snare some quality aboriginal boy)
Travis Varcoe-very quick 179cm AIS scolarship, didnt play 18s carnival so may slip down to our area, rated very highly by Kevin Sheahan.
Jarryd Oakley Nicholls-Quick, agile good size player personally i rate him very highly, not rated as a top 20 pick yet by most but i dont think it will be too much of a gamble to take him...plays wing at 188cm still quite skinny but is not scared of physicality as he has played wafl league games this year.

Tall Key Position
Mitch Clarke- May slip down to us after a dissapointing under 18s carnival, but was rated as a top pick earlier in the year, shared the 16s national award with brett deledio.
Matt Spangher I like the look of this guy looks like a complete package and with tom harleys ongoing injuries could be a great time to develop a chb with guidance from harley and scarlett.

Slower types/Natural Footballers
(Although i think we have enough of these Ling Bartel we could find a gem)
Nathan Jones- Dominated 18s carnival looks very very good in close and has good foot disposals and is a could be a identical twin of paul chapman that has been kept down 4-5 years.
Sam Lonergan- Kicked 3 goals in the vfl last week for tasmania, is said to be a very good in an under player....but if he can kick goals as well must have some class about him as well, already experienced vfl level so can handle the physical pressure.

I reckon we need some midfield speed. So base your first ppick on that, so Varcoe looks good. As for Oakely Nicholls players with 2 surnames are never any good.

haha thats the way all recruiting managers should work....Would be an interesting thread if there ever has been a good player with two last names.

I doubt Varcoe will be there at our pick. Teams that miss on the top 6-8 picks will look at him as a bargin.Love to have him but i doubt it

JON, not sure of him probably not the usually type of a Koori kid.

Clarke ,like wize to Varcoe I think he will be gone as well.Didnt have great champs but similar in this reguard to the kid the Hawks took with 5 last year

Spanger, Liked the look of him. I was looking for the tall defender types like Lucy but he may be an option.

Jone's, has been compared to Chappy so Id say he may slip to 30's+

Longergan , blank

Phat , I havent seen Higgins play, maybe you can fill us in but he has good raps on him.Nice foots skill Ive heard but what about pace,footy smarts etc.Is bottom aged so would be higher next year in a normal draft but next does look like a super draft.A lot of kid may push up so its hard to judge.

I'd like to get McKinnley. A medium forward along the lines of Russell Robertson.Steve Johnsons proved how important it is to have footy smarts in your side. Ryan Jackson and Dale Thomas also took my eye but who knows where they will or if they will drafted at all. A couple of Kids like Hansen & Jetta looked good but are too young this year.
Its the type of year where the Recruiting guys earn their money, maybe there will be more standouts after the draft camp

Turbocat said:
I doubt Varcoe will be there at our pick. Teams that miss on the top 6-8 picks will look at him as a bargin.Love to have him but i doubt it

JON, not sure of him probably not the usually type of a Koori kid.

Clarke ,like wize to Varcoe I think he will be gone as well.Didnt have great champs but similar in this reguard to the kid the Hawks took with 5 last year

Spanger, Liked the look of him. I was looking for the tall defender types like Lucy but he may be an option.

Jone's, has been compared to Chappy so Id say he may slip to 30's+

Longergan , blank

Phat , I havent seen Higgins play, maybe you can fill us in but he has good raps on him.Nice foots skill Ive heard but what about pace,footy smarts etc.Is bottom aged so would be higher next year in a normal draft but next does look like a super draft.A lot of kid may push up so its hard to judge.

I'd like to get McKinnley. A medium forward along the lines of Russell Robertson.Steve Johnsons proved how important it is to have footy smarts in your side. Ryan Jackson and Dale Thomas also took my eye but who knows where they will or if they will drafted at all. A couple of Kids like Hansen & Jetta looked good but are too young this year.
Its the type of year where the Recruiting guys earn their money, maybe there will be more standouts after the draft camp

First of all if Varcoe doesnt make it past top 10 will swallow or pfeiffer?? because i see the top 10 being pretty certain minus a few...

We dont need anymore medium sized forwards/small forwards we have chapman ablett johnson mackie etc. I dont think its a bad year to have a pick around 15 this year as there is alot of eveness so people could slip through depending on the type of players that clubs want.

Mitch Clarke has gone down in value alot since championships and could slip to as low as 15 I reckon, Swallow Ibbotson Bull Ryder and Kennedy are all picked ahead of him just at his club.

Also wats richard douglas like????

Thomas Redden
Shaun Higgins
Austin Lucy
Beau Bowler
Marcus Drum
Tod Grima!!!!

ablettjnr said:
Got any top 10 picks in that bag of yours?
Depends on trades eh

Lingsface said:
First of all if Varcoe doesnt make it past top 10 will swallow or pfeiffer?? because i see the top 10 being pretty certain minus a few...
We dont need anymore medium sized forwards/small forwards we have chapman ablett johnson mackie etc. I dont think its a bad year to have a pick around 15 this year as there is alot of eveness so people could slip through depending on the type of players that clubs want.
Mitch Clarke has gone down in value alot since championships and could slip to as low as 15 I reckon, Swallow Ibbotson Bull Ryder and Kennedy are all picked ahead of him just at his club.

Also wats richard douglas like????

Who knows, with draft camp etc still to go then after 8-10, opinion kicks in.Varcoe position will be more established after DC
I disagree that we have a lot McKinneys type but hey its opinon.Tell me we couldnot find a spot for Russell Robertson in our side
I basically agree and lets face it our list is pretty good and we just want to keep adding to its quality. Any kid in that area should be handy
Like I said, Lance Franklin had an ordinary champs as well.He like Clark had been touted as a #1.I think it would be unlikely to drop out of the top10 but anything can happen
Cant help with Douglas.

Cheers mate agree with you on everything there, but did franklin have other WA talls making all australian last year and taking him over.....eg: Ryder Kennedy.

Also if this guy is like russel robertson i will trade just about anyone in our side for him!!!

You do know more about the vic boys than me so ill take your word and start wishing for mckinley.