Draft Day Discussion Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter CHBench

Paul Cahill quick tall forward:thumbsu:

Great Pickup Cahill made the SANFL Calendar.
mf3818.jpg

Just spoke with someone at the Saints and he tells me that in any other draft year our first 3 picks would have been rated top 10 picks with Lynch a top 3 pick.

They like Stanleys mobility and think he could be a giant of a kid, 201 cms and still growing with a great set of shoulders to build around. He was described as similar to an 18 year old Spider but with more pace.

Good ruck stocks now with Mc Evoy and Stanley.

Will update you with some more info soon.

Just spoke with someone at the Saints and he tells me that in any other draft year our first 3 picks would have been rated top 10 picks with Lynch a top 3 pick.
And the spinning has begun...

Cahill is the one who called Nick Riewoldt a "Bit of a softy" in his interview. He will fit in very nicely:o
We'll see who's the softy when Roo is charging steadily around the Tan and Cahill is hunched over spewing up his Weetbix all over the camelias :D:thumbsu:

Haha, yeah I think Cahill was a little stupid to say that, and if Roo has read it, or someone tells him about it, their first meeting should be pretty interesting.

But lol, gotta fully support Cahill now!

I can understand us getting Begley now. He is not a key position back, more a running player off the half back. Well I think that will be the plan anyway.
It makes sense, especially with Dempster out for part of the season and he plays on smalls. The recruiting of Ray and Begley gives us some depth in the backline to play on smalls, meaning we can free up Goddard and Gram into our midfield. So by recruiting these guys we are still improving our midfield.

I must admit it is warming to me having Hudghton, Fisher and Maguire to play on talls, raph and Gilbo to play on mediums and Ray, Begley, Dempster to play on smalls. This releases Goddard and Gram. Good for depth. It is growing on me.

One problem is, from watching Begley, he often turns it over by foot. From watching the lions i couldnt help but cringe everytime he gets the ball, so that is what he will have to work on if he wants to be running out of defence!

Spot on Okeydoke

What the club says

By Ben Casanelia 2:22 PM Sat 29 November, 2008

Recruiting manager John Peake tells saints.com.au about the clubs six selections in the national draft

Draft summary:
"People have to remember that we took in Farren Ray and he’s part of our influx of players. Once we did that it changed our direction and what we did with pick 13 because Farren is going to give us some run and carry through the midfield and play half-back too."

Selection 13: Tom Lynch
Sandringham Dragons, Vic, Tall forward, September 15, 1990, 191cm, 84kg
“You have to remember that we had a need for a good hard leading third forward like a Ryan O’Keefe and we think we got that in Tom Lynch. We focused on Tom once we got Farren Ray into the mix and it was great to get him on board as well. A real workhorse forward who goes all day.”

Selection 47: Rhys Stanley
West Adelaide, SA, Ruckman, December 1, 1990, 200cm, 85kg
“While it’s not a need right now to have another developing ruckman, we’ve only really got one in Ben McEvoy.

"Stanley will be a good combination for Ben because he’s more of a leaper who can also go forward. In a couple of year’s time hopefully we have set the club up with two ruckman that can take over from Steven King.”

Selection 48: Nick Heyne
Gippsland Power, Vic, Medium forward, July 22, 1990, 187cm, 79kg
“Nick’s a clever forward that is a bit Steve Johnson-ish in the way he plays. Can kick the freakish goal, take the freakish mark and do the X factor which we feel we needed.”

Selection 62: Alistair Smith
Perth, WA, Midfielder, August 8, 1990, 183cm, 80kg
“Alistair has come from the country in WA and has only played Colts level and some state under-18 footy. There is some development to do but he’s got outstanding speed and outstanding endurance.

"We feel in time he can also be that midfielder that adds some zip. We’ll have to be a bit patient with him but there is some real upside.”

Selection 74: Paul Cahill
Sturt, SA, Tall forward, August 19, 1990, 192cm, 80kg
“Paul is a tall forward who can go back and he’s got excellent speed. We have got speed in other areas and Paul just adds to that and has plenty of tricks to his game.”

Selection 83: Colm Begley
Ireland/Brisbane, Midfielder, August 31, 1986, 187cm, 81kg
“He’s ready to go and can play. Maybe it will be Farren Ray and Begley across the half backline and Jason Gram and Brendon Goddard being released into the midfield. You often come into the draft with a lot of plans and Begley was part of plan A for us so it was nice to get him on board.”
http://www.saints.com.au/tabid/5315/Default.aspx?newsid=70434

Maybe this question is better directed to Brissie fans.
But what was the main reason for Begley getting delisted?

Maybe this question is better directed to Brissie fans.
But what was the main reason for Begley getting delisted?

Voss does not appear to be big on the Irish experiments. Lethal rated Begley quite highly.

He's still very much a work in progress, but plenty there to work with.

I was talking to this collingwood recruiter and he said we were the winners of the draft and that any other draft and the guys we got would have all been top10 picks.

How awesome is that all of our picks are basically top 10 picks.... even colm begley the guy told me, how good is that

Yeah, they're always likely to put a positive spin on things though aren't they?

But I'm in no mood to be pessemistic right now. :p

Looking forward to how Lynch and Heyne go in particular, hope some of them get a few games next year. After 2007 where we had next to no debuts, 2008 was good. But I'd like to see us debut the likes of Steven, Miles, give Macca more game time and of course, a few games from our new draftees.

y y no carrol guys y he would have been of value y do we stuff players around ie cousins and carroll cut frm his contract to train with us and bang we stuf them around.

I'll state the obvious downside - if we got fabulous players because of the draft, EVERYBODY got fabulous players because of the draft. Still, very happy with that.

And CHBench, you are an absolute dead set legend for all your hard work putting this stuff on. Have you considered looking for a career in Footy/STK when you're old enough? Seriously, mate, call up the Saints and use your threads as proof of your ability - you're a Beveridge in the making.

... And if anybody makes a stupid comment about Bench's gender and her appropriateness for a footy job, the door's THAT way...!

How good is this ? Looks like a great day after a ... well ... interesting week.

Very happy !

A hard worker, a basketballer, an unexpected midfield surprise, a quick midfielder, a tall man and an unexpected Irish surprise... a bit of everything, I guess.

I wonder what they have in mind with Lynch, given we have not drafted Carroll or any other backman. May be tested as a new S Fisher in the backline / midfield ?

Cahill could be interesting - too early, of course, to comment on his character, but he may well regret his comments about Riewoldt and his calendar photo shoot...

I'll state the obvious downside - if we got fabulous players because of the draft, EVERYBODY got fabulous players because of the draft. Still, very happy with that.

And CHBench, you are an absolute dead set legend for all your hard work putting this stuff on. Have you considered looking for a career in Footy/STK when you're old enough? Seriously, mate, call up the Saints and use your threads as proof of your ability - you're a Beveridge in the making.

... And if anybody makes a stupid comment about Bench's gender and her appropriateness for a footy job, the door's THAT way...!

B-b-b-But she's a chi-

*promptly exits through door*

Very happy with our picks today - thank the lord (or recruiting manager) we didn't trade away all our picks. Trading for Farran Ray was OK with me - hopefully our mids will toughen him up a bit as he can run all day. Colm Begley not too bad either, if he can develop and Dempster comes back when can get Gram in the midfield more - a bit of dash and forward running would be good in there all the time! Too often Dal Santo goes back to find easy footy for a player of his flair/ability.

Getting Stanley as a ruckman is good as we could be screwed in a couple of years. Some tall running forwards in Lynch and Cahill will hopefully give us more than one key option in the future, and midfielders Heyne and Smith looks like they'll give us some pace and much needed goals from midfield. Overall happy with the picks - but other posters are right - it was a good draft. We'll have to be very shrewd in the next few years. Hopefully the Saints will look at Tassie - we have some very good youngsters available in next year or two.

ATT: Ross Lyon - more debutants in 2009. It was great to see some youngsters this year - let's take a good look at our list again! There are always players who seem more at home at the top level so give them a go. Look at Hawthorn - they had the courage to bring in young blokes (i.e Renouf) even in finals - I'd love to see us unearth 1 or 2.

Overall - a good draft. What's the story with Carroll? Do we have any pre-season picks or did we just stuff him around? Might have been handy although questions over pace and smarts - he's no Sam Fisher.

Good post bigred. :thumbsu:

I'm not sure you're right about Farren Ray though because there doesn't seem to be any question mark over his toughness. It's his kicking that's the problem but like you say we can really do with his run. Have a look at the mark he took against Richmond.

[YOUTUBE]CvUxEYCGMcY[/YOUTUBE]

Thanks to the opposition supporters who have given us the info on Stanley and Begley as well.

Really chuffed that you guys grabbed Cahill I think you have a gem here. All he needs is a bit of time in the gym and he will be another tall, athletic, dominating forward for you. And the 'Riewaldt is a bit of a softy' thing is a bit tongue in cheek I wouldn't read too heavily into it.

y y no carrol guys y he would have been of value y do we stuff players around ie cousins and carroll cut frm his contract to train with us and bang we stuf them around.

Do you live with your head in the sand ? :confused:

Look at how many rejects were training at other Clubs and only 3 of them were picked up in the draft.

Have a go at Brisbane who didn't draft Nick Davis !

Do you honestly think we only get these guys to train with us to stuff them around ? If you do, geeeeeeez. :cool: