List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

gringo since you're the new draft expert mate, i found some footage of a spud we should look at as a mature ager.

#12 in the sash slotting the GF sealer 2005

What are your thoughts mate? Clean pick up off the ground but hungry AF. Late 3rd?

I'm not an expert mate, just taking an interest, I like what I've seen from Ainsworth and I watched a bit of Rotham after seeing take a hanger, I know about 10 players in the draft from bits of footage. I leave it to your good judgement dude. If you like some old school guy you go for it champ. I think you can get Trout's number from the Saints website.

Only thing that might save us is he's 179cm and 75kg. Hopefully a few key position players, 'tall' mids and Tim English get taken before our pick..

Where can I find an updated mock draft that is from a reputable person?!
Twomeys latest one (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-08-04/callum-twomeys-phantom-form-guide-august-update)
Next week will be an update.

Ainsworth is also 179cm.
Although it would be great to have McGrath I think we would be very happy to get some size in a Taranto or Scrimshaw.
Same feeling about Lachie Weller.

What's his forward pressure like?
Could he slot in as our full time small forward?
Seems like a spot we keep rotating through the likes of Lonie, Minchington, Gresham, Wright.

Weller Bruce Billings
Membrey McCartin Ainsworth

I don't think we will go for him and i think he'll go before we get a pick. As you say Im not sure he's needed just like his game.

Willem Drew was the dominant midfielder played in the
Ballarat Rebels vs Eastern Ranges game on Saturday and in a midfield that had Hugh McCluggage, Dylan Clarke, Jarrod Berry, Jordan Galluci, Josh Begley, Callum Brown etc in there at various times.
He's been playing excellent footy every week and has been named in the Rebel's bests 12 of his 13 games, with his inside/outside capabilities and neat skills and at 188cms being
very capable overhead, I wonder if he will last to our 3rd round?

Its about time we had another aggressive ranga and he is it!

Ballarat Rebels vs Eastern Ranges game on Saturday and in a midfield that had Hugh McCluggage, Dylan Clarke, Jarrod Berry, Jordan Galluci, Josh Begley, Callum Brown etc in there at various times.
He's been playing excellent footy every week and has been named in the Rebel's bests 12 of his 13 games, with his inside/outside capabilities and neat skills and at 188cms being

What's the knock on him if he's playing that well at the Rebels?

Think his handball to kick ratio isnt great...?
Has continued to improve as the year has gone on. Early in the year he had games with a disposal efficiency in the 50% range, however since May he has consistently been in the 70 to 85% range. Playing as a contested, inside-mid, he wins most of his own ball, so is generally under pressure with his disposal, that considered his disposal efficiency is very good. When he doesn’t have the ball he applies loads of pressure on the opposition also reflected in him averaging 7-tackles per game, with a season high 14. Has the potential to be a real contested ball contributor to any AFL club.

Thanks Willem

As a ranga myself I wholeheartedly support your suggestion!!! ;)

OK with the news that it is very very likely that Jack Steele will come to the club in the trade period, does that impact the type of player we get? Do we look at a player like Rotham or Scrimshaw now instead of a Taranto - another tall midfielder? Thoughts?

Clear we need afew midfielders so no I don't think it changes anything draft wise.
Steele and Taranto would work

Clear we need afew midfielders so no I don't think it changes anything draft wise.
Steele and Taranto would work

I reckon it also depends on who else we pick up in trading.....currently many threads in play and it will be interesting if and more importantly how they can come to fruition....might be a young player traded out as you have to give to get!

I have a bit of a left field choice and completely against what I've been calling for so far (mids) but Josh Rotham from WA is a swingman who is ideally suited to being a Dempster style back. He's 192 cm so not a true KP but can play as one Like Shinner. He's apparently very quick, athletic and exciting. Think he should be around our pick and would be a nice off set to someone like Carlisle. Much prefer him to going after Marchbank.
I have thought the same , and have been wondering if they do that test that sees how tall a player will be. A mini Patrick Cripps style growth spurt would be handy.

What's everyone's thoughts on trading out armitage? I know he's one of our top players but I reckon if we could get another top 12 pick for him it would be almost worth it? He's nearly 30 and I think dunstan will be just as good as him if not better playing the same role. Imagine we could trade picks 10 and 13 for pick 3 and get a r
eal star quality player, think that's what we lack 1 genuine superstar

What's everyone's thoughts on trading out armitage? I know he's one of our top players but I reckon if we could get another top 12 pick for him it would be almost worth it? He's nearly 30 and I think dunstan will be just as good as him if not better playing the same role. Imagine we could trade picks 10 and 13 for pick 3 and get a r

No for me, he's a popular teammate and clubman, the loss of those types tears the fabric of the club. He loves the Saints and is like list glue, he will help retain players.

Don't think he's form from last year is forever gone.
Showed he is a very good player at his best, in a place we are light.

See the list management idea but don't think he will score us that much

Don't think he's form from last year is forever gone.
Showed he is a very good player at his best, in a place we are light.

See the list management idea but don't think he will score us that much
I just think we have enough players to cover what he does and could use his value to get someone we need? Don't know how we are going to find enough value to score some big names

I guess it depends what we trade for Steele, but if so, i'd prefer we get Scrimshaw if we could.

Assuming we keep 10 and get Steele with our 2017 2nd then we can't lose in terms of whether we pick up Taranto or Scrimshaw or even another highly rated youngster, (would love McGrath but doubt he slips to 10). The interesting dilemma is whether we get two mids or a taller defender. I like the aerobic capacity of Scrimshaw with some suggesting that he could play in the midfield/wing.

I like that we use our 2nd in 2017 as maybe by then we trade back into the second round. The alternative I suppose is to get another 1st round pick this year from GWS plus Steele for our 2017 1st but isn't 2017 meant to be a super awesome draft compared to the last 2 or 3 (including this one)? I'd rather keep our 1st next year and use our 2nd if need be...

Steele and Taranto are very similar player so yould think by getting Steele Taranto would be made redundant.
Look at Scrimshaw but I think he'll be taken at top 6-7
Also don't think his kicking is as good stated. Had a good technique but can shank occasionally

Dunstan has his chances at that role and is not as good.....Yet.

What's his forward pressure like?
Could he slot in as our full time small forward?
Seems like a spot we keep rotating through the likes of Lonie, Minchington, Gresham, Wright.

Weller Bruce Billings
Membrey McCartin Ainsworth
Ainsworth would be a fantastic addition for a club who are looking for a "specialist small forward", the type who could kick 40+ goals consistently, as opposed to the 20 or 30 goal types.

He is the type who you could leave one-out inside 50 like we did at times with Milne, due to how well he marks on the lead (he is exceptional on the lead- charges "through the ball" ie, he doesn't slow down when the ball gets to him on the lead and the ball just sticks like glue in his hands overhead at full stretch, as he hits it at full tilt) and he also has an excellent leap, so he's a threat in the air around packs as well and of course he can get the crumbs at ground level. He is very strongly built (very similar build and size to Minch) and his tackles would stick, as opposed to say Lonie's at the mo.

We wouldn't get him for these reasons specifically, as midfield is more of a priority, but if he happened to slide to our pick and he was considered clearly best avail at our pick, I'd be thrilled if we picked him. Especially since I liked how he played when moved into the guts in one of the champs games I saw him play this year (I also saw him in a couple of last year's champs games).

I consider him to have elite football ability, which would explain why he's in the top 5 mix. He can seriously play.