List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

What range will Pepper Powell go ?
I reckon the kid can seriously play .
Reminds me of Harley Bennell without the issues .
IMO they're absolutely NOTHING alike.

Bennell is a jet with silky skills. Powell-Pepper is a brute who can sure get the ball but kicks like a wood chopper.

Division 1 of the NAB AFL U18 Championships kicks off for Vic Metro on Monday following a first-round bye, with the team seeking to claim its first national title since 2012.

One of its brightest prospects, Daniel Venables, comes into Vic Metro’s U18 Championships campaign feeling much healthier than he has at times over the last year.

The Western Jets mid-forward is finally logging consistent game time after a 2015 season cut short by a broken leg and then hip surgery. The 17-year-old is using the chance to show the football world how dangerous he can be, booting six goals in two games for Western as a midfielder and also impacting the scoreboard playing school football for Penleigh and Essendon Grammar (PEGS).

Venables was playing for Vic Metro as an over-ager at the AFL U16 Championships last July when he broke his leg in the last minute and a half of the team’s first game of the carnival.

“It was pretty devastating,” Venables said. “It was hard to get my head around it at the start, but I had some good people around me. I guess I just came to the realisation there’s a lot worse that could’ve happened in life.

“That ended my season right then, and I had hip surgery (for a previous condition) straight after I got out of the cast. I was out for about six and a half months and by January I was back in full training.

“I got myself a running coach and I was doing running sessions while everyone was on a break through Christmas to build up the strength in my hip. I think I’m a bit quicker now because of it.

“As I was out for so long, I feel I’m refreshed now. I’m feeling good enough to hopefully peak for the U18 Championships.”

Venables thinks Vic Metro coach David Flood will use him more in the forward line during the U18 Championships, where the hard-nosed but skilful ball user can impact the scoreboard.

He hopes to emulate fellow Keilor junior, Vic Metro representative and 2014 Western Jets graduate Jayden Laverde (now at Essendon) in terms of his on-field versatility.

“I love watching Jayden play,” Venables said. “I first played in the TAC Cup when I was 16 so I played a couple of games with him (in 2014), and he went to PEGS as well.

“He’s a little bit taller than me (Laverde is 190cm, Venables 186cm), but we play in the forward line and we can both go into the midfield as well and use our speed.

“I don’t really feel like I have a main position yet, so I’m happy to swap around and I like playing both positions. I’m a hybrid, so I can be flexible.”

Venables’ flexibility extends not just across the football field, but across sports too – he was a star junior cricketer who represented Victoria at U15 level.

Like many multi-talented youngsters, Venables eventually had to make a decision about which sport to pursue. But with Australian Football Hall of Fame member Johnny Lewis as his great-grandfather and 1960s North Melbourne player Fred Robinson as his grandfather, he said the decision to choose football was “kind of natural”.

Venables will now be hoping his performances at the U18 Championships demonstrate he made a wise decision.

http://www.foxsportspulse.com/assoc...20-0-0-0&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=44361354
If we can't get Brodie, I hope we get him or McClugagge.

Now that some players are stepping up do you think Simpkin might be forgotten about and get pushed down?

Bennell is a jet with silky skills. Powell-Pepper is a brute who can sure get the ball but kicks like a wood chopper.

i'd hold off on that last statement until you see him. kicking is pretty decent now. its not zac fisher levels of good but its not bad

Bennell is no slouch for contested footy.
Powell Pepper has good goal sense , fantastic pace , good awareness. Loves to take a tackler on and bust packs . Disposal can be an issue, so guess it becomes a want Vs need .

"Vic Country may be 0-2 in the Under 18 championships currently, but Matt Balmer believes they may hold two of the first Victorian prospects come November’s draft.

At this stage in my mind it’s a coin toss. Heads or tails? Will Brodie or Hugh McCluggage? It’s the question that recruiting staff right across Australia may have to decide. Both have begun the season in remarkable ways, with Brodie dominating against two VFL opponents for the AFL Academy whilst McCluggage has been a consistent performer at TAC Cup level."

The rest of the article is up on AFL Draft Central...

Just listened to road to the draft. Just a couple of things Twomey mentioned: likens Brodie to David Mundy. Reckons Ainsworth is a top 3 pick. SPS 5-10 pick. Venables got a mention for being a powerful type fwd-mid that should transition into afl quickly. Mcluggage needs to add weight & will take longer. Sharenberg pure mid with good hands in close.

Just listened to road to the draft. Just a couple of things he mentioned: likens Brodie to David Mundy. Reckons Ainsworth is a top 3 pick. SPS 5-10 pick. Venables got a mention for being a powerful type fwd-mid that should transition into afl quickly. Mcluggage needs to add weight & will take longer. Sharenberg pure mid with good hands in close.
Anything on Jy Simpkin mate?

I'm hoping we get a bargain there.

Turns 29 next year, will fit in with Norfs age demographic
What's funny is that if they recruit him, even though he'll be 29, the average age of their list will probably decrease...

Just listened to road to the draft. Just a couple of things Twomey mentioned: likens Brodie to David Mundy. Reckons Ainsworth is a top 3 pick. SPS 5-10 pick. Venables got a mention for being a powerful type fwd-mid that should transition into afl quickly. Mcluggage needs to add weight & will take longer. Sharenberg pure mid with good hands in close.

Doubt Ainsworth is top 3 a lot have gone past him.

Personally think Essendon will take Brodie, sat near Dildo on Monday ,gut feeling they pick him.
Think at this stage it will be Sharenberg great kick hits targets and will be a monster mid.
All depends on what pick we have.

With our pick looking likely to be between 4-9 I would love for us to take a risk on a player with a high reward
Someone like Scrimshaw, McGrath, Taranto, venebles and my boy Phololke got a bit of Jack Zieball/Luke Parker about him

Doubt Ainsworth is top 3 a lot have gone past him.

Personally think Essendon will take Brodie, sat near Dildo on Monday ,gut feeling they pick him.
Think at this stage it will be Sharenberg great kick hits targets and will be a monster mid.
All depends on what pick we have.

Brett Anderson as recently as yesterday said Ainsworth goes top 5 & laughed off someone saying he has dropped out of the top 10. At this stage, top 3 sounds like a real possibility. Cal & Brett both on the same page re Ainsworth here fwiw.

Does Ainsworth even play midfield? If not, he'd have to be something pretty exceptional in the forward pocket to go top 3! Would be awesome if it did happen though, means the chances of a proper and high quality "mid" getting through to our pick increases.

Imagine if SPS does go 5-10 as someone suggested he might and we were to land him? He has the exceptional sort of skills that we're after. He might not get it 30 times, but is the type who would only need to get it 20 to do real damage.

Does Ainsworth even play midfield? If not, he'd have to be something pretty exceptional in the forward pocket to go top 3! Would be awesome if it did happen though, means the chances of a proper and high quality "mid" getting through to our pick increases.

Imagine if SPS does go 5-10 as someone suggested he might and we were to land him? He has the exceptional sort of skills that we're after. He might not get it 30 times, but is the type who would only need to get it 20 to do real damage.

From my understanding Ainsworth played predominantly fwd as an underager & is expected to do mainly the same at national champ level & work on his midfield game at TAC level. Getting suspended for two separate incidents in the one game has halted the start to his year.

SPS going 5-10 was mentioned by Cal Twomey on the latest road to the draft on the afl site.

Turns 29 next year, will fit in with Norfs age demographic
Yeah but it gives them another battle ready player whilst their window is open. Even if for 2 years. The beauty is that it won't cost them picks so they can still draft for the future.

Ben Ainsworth is a fascinating one don't really like him at 179cm playing almost half forward.
SPS ofcourse has doubts how he will go against men

I think it's worth doing some kind of deal with GWS to upgrade our pick to Collingwoods. Having a look at the draw I think it's almost a definite that pick will be pick 5, where as I think we will end up with about pick 8.

It gives us some kind of chance of getting either Brodie or McLuggage if GC have to use their first on an academy pick and Freo go for SPS.

If not we still get Scharenburg.