draft Kade Carey

geelong
this boy looks a real talent,

second game of VFL football, had 25 possessions, took 9 contested marks and kicked a goal, playing at CHF.

Now that he has made the decision to give AFL a go, had previously not been interested in committing himself.

I would be trying to do everything to get this boy down to the Club next season onto the senior list. We are looking to win flags in the next year or so and he could be a valuable asset, not to mention a top player if he puts in the work over the pre-season.

i would imagine their will be other club's interested in drafting him, i would say use a third round draft pick on him in the national draft to secure him, otherwise their is a big chance another club may snatch him up.

what are you views on this?

24 years old and is known as a bloke who has attitude problems.

Wouldn't touch him in the national draft. If he is there with our last pick in the Rookie draft he might be worth a shot.

would have to see him play in the skin, but he certainly has the pedigree to get good enough. He could be what we need, should Tomahawk not progress as expected. Anyway, if he is worthy I'm sure Wellsy and the recruiting staff will snag him, after all they will know the most about him as he's training and playing in our backyard.

Wouldn't touch him in the national draft. If he is there with our last pick in the Rookie draft he might be worth a shot.

looks a bloke with a great deal of talent thought, if he can get his attitude right and fixed on playing football serious at a high level competition and commit himself, i would think he is worth picking up in a heart beat, anything that could contribute to us winning a flag in the next year or so.

That is true. That is why a rookie spot would suit him. If he falls over o well, if he gets up then it is a bonus.

Looks a lively player and has a good physical presence.

The other question we need to ask is if he will block the development of Lonergan, Simpson, McKenna, and Hawkins. All four will be the future for us.

In particular Scotty Simpson who is a gem.

can we rookie him or is he too old? is their any way we can secure him on the list without having to draft him?

Im pretty sure he can be a mature aged rookie?

EDIT: I think the max is 23, although i swear it has changed?

That is true. That is why a rookie spot would suit him. If he falls over o well, if he gets up then it is a bonus.

Looks a lively player and has a good physical presence.

The other question we need to ask is if he will block the development of Lonergan, Simpson, McKenna, and Hawkins. All four will be the future for us.

In particular Scotty Simpson who is a gem.

do you think that he would survive to a rookie pick thought?

i reckon their is a chance another AFL club will draft him with a late pick in the national.

do you think that he would survive to a rookie pick thought?

i reckon their is a chance another AFL club will draft him with a late pick in the national.

I'm not sure how highly he is thought of tbh. If we were to miss him then it doesn't really matter.

I think we have enough developing depth coming through to cover us when Moons goes anyway.

With the position we are in ATM, we have heaps of time to get some younger blokes in that have time to develop. Brining in a 25 year old wouldnt be the best for the teams development.

I'm not sure how highly he is thought of tbh. If we were to miss him then it doesn't really matter.

I think we have enough developing depth coming through to cover us when Moons goes anyway.

With the position we are in ATM, we have heaps of time to get some younger blokes in that have time to develop. Brining in a 25 year old wouldnt be the best for the teams development.

very true, i am just thinking that to possibly win a third premiership, if we go on to win this years flag i am making that assumption on, we need to have a change or so made to our side, a player or two needs to take a step up in the senior side, or inject a new talent into the squad, it is very rare that the exact same starting line up with no changes goes back to back, i think it is required that small step ups and inclusions be made, does not have to be anything major, just small adjustments,

If Carey can be a solid contributor next year and say kick 30-40 goals in the AFL, it would make the world of difference and could be the difference between a flag or not, But i could also see Tom Hawkins stepping up next year and doing exactly that.

Im pretty sure he can be a mature aged rookie?

EDIT: I think the max is 23, although i swear it has changed?

Special consideration is given to cancer survivors for mature age rookie listing.

I'd probably only consider him if Nathan Ablett walks, even then I wouldn't want to be using a high pick on him.

It is the short-term V long term argument.

Geelong seems to be coping pretty well at the moment and as such should, IMO, look to develop the kids as part of the succession planning. There are some beauties in the draft this year that Geelong (and the other top 4 sides) are likely to be able land and since I doubt Geelong will prune the list too deep I not too sure I'd be looking mature age this year.

hopefully he was only like that because he never thought of trying to play afl, so maybe the thought of it will pull him in line.

No. We don't need a 25yo with attitude problems.

In fact, its avoiding exactly this sort of thinking that is the difference between us and a rabble like Freo.

Injury permitting Mooney and Lonergan will both still be there next year, and even if one goes down Gamble and Dog are both smaller but leading types who are perfectly capable of filling that "second/third tall" role. On top of that Ottens is a very good temporary marking forward, you'd expect Hawkins to push even harder for a spot, and if Scotty Simpson continues his impressive development he could even push for a game or two next year. Pleeeenty of immediate coverage.

I saw Carey in the Pies game and with his size and presence I'm not surprised he is dominating suburban footy. He even looks a reasonable prospect at VFL level IF he can get fit. But thats a long, long way from AFL footy and I didn't see anything in him that suggested he could step straight into our senior team as you seem to be suggesting.

Also, there seems to be more than a touch of the Matty Spencers about him - I suspect he might suffer a similar fate if we did draft him ...

I'm fairly sure that they have changed the mature age rookie rule again to anyone who has never played an AFL game. Originally, it was anyone who had never been listed by an AFL club.

So I'm 99.999% sure he can be rookied.

I love the presence that he brings. Seems to demand the footy which is exactly what you'd expect from your KP forward. Although I think there is some serious question marks on his second efforts. Very difficult thing to change in a 24 year old no matter how high level the coaching is.

Who says he has attitude problems? Yes he may have in the past but so did Steve Johnson and Cam Mooney. People can change. He is playing some good footy so maybe his attitude has changed. We are a strong anough club to weed out those not here for the cause. If Stephen Wells an co saw fit to draft him thats good enough for me.

He reminds me of Todd Grima, and I think his future will go the same path. Good VFL player but maybe not up to AFL.

Speaking of which, I see Todd kicked 7 goals in a SANFL game a few weeks ago.

And his sister is in the green and gold in Beijing.

I think he might be a chance to be picked up, wellsy has a nack for picking up over age players if u look at it hes been more successful then not. we picked up thurly (showed a bit but never delivered), egan (AA CHB thats good enough for m), stokes (in the team and ripping it at the moment) ad more recently harry taylor (we gave up rance for this guy thats how highly we rated him, and i looks like wellsy did a good thing coz without him i wouldnt think we would cover for egans absence) anyone else i missed?
i still think he might be picked up in a mumford kind of way i.e. contingent on u getting fit well rookie u. i think simpson will be another year, hawkins is future FF not CHF and loners and moon's will not hold thier spots after a year or 2, soa strong pack marking CHF might be what we need if nab's and simpson dont come through for us...im for drafting him
btw i think his attitude prob might be curbed our leadership group are fair dinkum and are seriouse about success-no i's in team

did anyone see him play on Sunday?

from what i hear he has done from no preparation work, just a local footballer, he seems to have a great deal of natural ability, like i said previously, what i am really concerned about at the present is anything that can help us win a flag or two more in the next year or so, i think that should be the main priority, then development second, and if Carey is good enough to be a solid contributor next year for us, then i think it is worth every bit drafting him.