Mega Thread Draft Talk Part 1

Who do u actually barrack for? Its very annoying.
Tigs 2010 good to meet you mate, I am a frustrated Richmond supporter.. Is it very annoying? well guess what? so is the less the satisfactory draft picks we have come up with in recent years.. I reckon a vast majority of the supporters will agree with me that we need to pick quality rather than potential.. Passionate richmond supporter mate who would LOVE to see results with the draft picks we receive each year.. and an annoying one too:thumbsu:

Why does it say Adelaide as your team then? Not happy with Jack, Lids, Cotch, Rance, Ty, Dusty, Conca?

Fair call, just worry about taking these 'risks' and getting absolutely nothing out of them.. Tambling, Polo, Fiora, Cleve Hughes etc etc.. the list goes on and and on and on.. we need quality
Chris Knights apparently was a chance for the tiges?

We actually took Tambling ahead of Franklin because we didn't take the risk, lots of recruiters thought Franklin was a very risky pick and Tambling a sure thing

For the record Shifter Shehan described Tambling pre draft day as a mix between Jason Akermanis and Chris Judd...
****ing LOL!! Good old hindsight.

This is my draft period prediction provided we have kept our picks.

1st round: Kavanagh/McKenzie
2nd round: Kerridge/Waldhuter
3rd round: Verrier/Ellis-Yolmen
4th round: Morris

WOW ............... Mix between Chris Judd & Jason Akermanis !!!
Ended up being a mix between shirley temple & Snow White.

Just out of curiosity & something to do, what would the tiger supporters think of this outcome and would definately inject us straight into the 8 next year.

1st pick .......... Mitch Clark (instant ruck solution & perfect change over with Vickers also L/T Ruck solution)

2nd pick .........Thomas Swift (The kid is 21 and had his injuries & i believe the eagles will look at trading him if he is happy to come Class junior mid)

3rd pick ........ Ahmad Saad, 180cm, 75kg, 9/10/1990, Forward (small foward tearing it up in the vfl for the bullants still young enough to our L/T plans.

4th pick ........ Steven Morris 22 yo F/S for tigers tough,Fast HBF with the ability to read the play well and a very good kick that may be able to fill Delidio's role.

5th Pick ........ BRENDON FEVOLA :D
Knows how to kick a goal & with newman as captain will be very eager not to let his best mate down ......... Very low risk & extremely high reward could be played FF and demand the best backman allowing Jack to run a muck of HF whilst the likes of Astbury,Griffiths,Post develop and FORCE their way into the team rather than be gifted games certainly an upgrade on Miller

Last pick / Rookie pick ...... Kyle Hartigan, 194cm, 91kg, 7/11/1991, Defender

Rookie .................. Kieran Butcher, 180cm, 80kg, 2/3/1992, Midfielder
Rookie.................... Leif Cope, 205cm 92kg, Ruckman

With the very weak draft and the chance to stock up on kids next year would give us the opportunity to add a bit of depth and at the same time be more competative with fev,clark,morris,saad,swift just ready to go round 1.

Would certainly make getting a game alot harder for the players.

3rd pick ........ Ahmad Saad, 180cm, 75kg, 9/10/1990, Forward (small foward tearing it up in the vfl for the bullants still young enough to our L/T plans.

Will almost certainly be picked up by GWS for nothing I have heard because he has nominated for a previous draft. I could be wrong though.

Saad is exactly the Garlett type that we need... reads play very well

I've also heard he is going to GWS

Thats a shame !

But the point i was trying to make is that with such a weak draft as all the recruiters are saying if we could go this route for 1 year we would automaticaly become very competative and could continue with the kids the following year in the supposed SUPER DRAFT.

whats some of the thought as to this line of thinking ?

Thats a shame !

But the point i was trying to make is that with such a weak draft as all the recruiters are saying if we could go this route for 1 year we would automaticaly become very competative and could continue with the kids the following year in the supposed SUPER DRAFT.

whats some of the thought as to this line of thinking ?

i love the theory but not fev!

Why does it say Adelaide as your team then? Not happy with Jack, Lids, Cotch, Rance, Ty, Dusty, Conca?
Because thats where I live.. it is location, not team you barrack for..
Yes they have picked up some good ones, but they have also let a lot slip, especially first rounders. I am just saying that I would love to see the tigs hit a golden draft and land a few ripper picks! I like what they did last year with Houli & Griggy and hopefully get get a few gems again for the 2012 season to hopefully push them into finals footy, it has been a long time

Fair enough mate. Wasn't saying what u were saying was annoying yesterday just that it says your a crows supporter and keep calling the tiges "we" lol. I think since we have had FJ full-time (2006) we have done quite well. I think Edwards was good last year but went backwards this year. Riewoldt, Edwards, Connors from that draft. Cotchin, Rance from 2007. Vickery, Post (iffy IMO), Nahas from 2008. Martin, Astbury, Grimes, Dea, Griffiths from 2009 is a good draft though still a long way to go and then 2010 Conca, Batch, Helbig, Grigg, Houli. Another good draft this year (we already have a leg up with a F/S with hopefully a 4th pick) I would like our first 3 picks to go on mids though our 2nd is likely to go on Maric.

Yeah I know, I think the last few years have been a positive, we have got a good balance. The Deleido/Tambling draft was a shocker but apart from that we have at least had one draft from the last few years that has or will be a gun.
I just hope they don't draft Kavagnah because @ 17 with chronic hamstring injuries is the risk worth taking? A tallish wing-man? in a jarred polec mould would be great, mckenzie and i have seen a post Cameron Ellis-Yomen from SA. 191cm 87kg as a late round.. Does anyone rate him?

Yeah I know, I think the last few years have been a positive, we have got a good balance. The Deleido/Tambling draft was a shocker but apart from that we have at least had one draft from the last few years that has or will be a gun.
I just hope they don't draft Kavagnah because @ 17 with chronic hamstring injuries is the risk worth taking? A tallish wing-man? in a jarred polec mould would be great, mckenzie and i have seen a post Cameron Ellis-Yomen from SA. 191cm 87kg as a late round.. Does anyone rate him?

McKenzie i reckon will be the pick we make. I wouldn't mind Kavanagh. Think he has been managed through the year rather than it being a big issue. I like Ellis-Yolmen big-bodied inside mid. Clearance-machine. Verrier is the other one mentioned as a tall midfielder. Depends what picks we end up with after trade-week etc.

Yeah there has been talking about Verrier.. who is this morris that is talked about? F/S selection? what is his background

Actually mate, you might want to check your profile preferences.

That is actually the team you barrack for shown on the left of screen there (Adelaide in your case). Since you have selected Adelaide, it is displaying in red, the colour BF uses for displaying Adelaide as team name.

I think the team you support and place you live are in consecutive fields in the pref screen, so maybe you mixed them up.

Cheers.

EDIT: I see you've changed it now, all good :D

Yeah there has been talking about Verrier.. who is this morris that is talked about? F/S selection? what is his background

22yo back flanker from West Adelaide. Named in the back pocket in the SANFL team of the year. 185cm/84kg and got good speed and extremely competitive. Yes he is a F/S. Most likely a 3rd/4th rounder. Think he had a lot of hype when it first came out and was thought of as a 2nd/3rd but think he is a likely 4th pick.

Tigers need to get their hands on a tall outside midfielder, similar to grigg but with a bit more polish in his disposal.. really liked Mckenzie as he was able to finish most times.. Mitchell Grigg from SA was also a gun but probably will be gone beforehand..
I also love Toby Greene, but his body size/shape doesnt exactley suit what the tigers are looking for though.. major ball winner though, and has a bit of grunt..
I know this is drafting but Addam Maric from Melbourne looks a goner and is a quality player and finisher.. has been linked to Tiges
[/B][/B]

WOW ............... Mix between Chris Judd & Jason Akermanis !!!
Ended up being a mix between shirley temple & Snow White.

Just out of curiosity & something to do, what would the tiger supporters think of this outcome and would definately inject us straight into the 8 next year.

1st pick .......... Mitch Clark (instant ruck solution & perfect change over with Vickers also L/T Ruck solution)

2nd pick .........Thomas Swift (The kid is 21 and had his injuries & i believe the eagles will look at trading him if he is happy to come Class junior mid)

4th pick ........ Steven Morris 22 yo F/S for tigers tough,Fast HBF with the ability to read the play well and a very good kick that may be able to fill Delidio's role.

5th Pick ........ BRENDON FEVOLA :D
Knows how to kick a goal & with newman as captain will be very eager not to let his best mate down ......... Very low risk & extremely high reward could be played FF and demand the best backman allowing Jack to run a muck of HF whilst the likes of Astbury,Griffiths,Post develop and FORCE their way into the team rather than be gifted games certainly an upgrade on Miller

Last pick / Rookie pick ...... Kyle Hartigan, 194cm, 91kg, 7/11/1991, Defender

Rookie .................. Kieran Butcher, 180cm, 80kg, 2/3/1992, Midfielder
Rookie.................... Leif Cope, 205cm 92kg, Ruckman

With the very weak draft and the chance to stock up on kids next year would give us the opportunity to add a bit of depth and at the same time be more competative with fev,clark,morris,saad,swift just ready to go round 1.

Would certainly make getting a game alot harder for the players.
Im with ya id like it :thumbsu:

Going to throw a left field selection in as a rookie prospect. Ross Tangatalum. Ex-Saints rookie. Would depend on if he was willing to make the commitment living in Melbourne. Super-talent.
another one for me.. Nick Maric brother of Addam from Melbourne.. 169cm I know small but leading goal kicker of the TAC Cup an absolute freak. Would love to see someone like that get a shot on the rookie list.. just get given a shot.. what is everyone thoughts?

Is he shit like Addam? :p

Thoughts would be he is very very small. His brother isn't the typical speedy crumber type. What style is he?

Is he shit like Addam? :p

Thoughts would be he is very very small. His brother isn't the typical speedy crumber type. What style is he?

Super super clever around goals, at junior level is unstoppable.. too creative, to clever and too nippy.. he isnt super fast but he very smart when he has the football which makes him look fast

Elite disposer of the ball.. just has been robbed of oppurtunity due to his lack of height.. just a thought probably wont happen

So how athletic is this Tom Downie, could he be a Zac Clarke type basketball convert or is he just good in the ruck then useless around the ground?