List Mgmt. Draft thread - 2025 (remaining picks: 29, 34)

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

Live draft hand
R1: 1 (Duursma), 4 (CDT), 19 (Lindsay)
R2: 29, 34
RD: 1

Draft picks pre-draft
R1: 1, 2, 13
R2: 34, 41
RD: 1

List spots available
Main list: 2 (includes Duursma, CDT, Lindsay)
Cat A Rookie list: 1 (expecting Robertson, Macrae and Schoenberg to join as SSP signings)
Cat B Rookie list: 1

Draft order

Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)

Rookie Me Central 2025 Draft Guide

Matthew Clarke on Gettable 17/11

Cal Twomey’s Phantom Draft

Last edited by a moderator:
Piss poor response.

I also don't like keyboard warriors bagging out kids based on nothing but YouTube footage.

To be rated top 50 across the country is a massive achievement for any kid. To get there they have worked their butts off for years.

How about respecting kids who are bloody good footballers at junior level and have worked hard to get there.
*unless you're tall or have a basketball background.
Then you get on off 6 months effort

It sounds like Essendon are looking at a similar deal with Richmond as well for pick 3. It would be an interesting outcome if they got it as they could afford to call our bluff - take CDT or take Sharp and they get CDT.

Dougie Cochrane is a massive power fan him and his dad could be JHF type situation there

I'd be curious about how father sons have historically gone as flight risks when they haven't ended up at their father's club.

Not including the likes of Marc Murphy who choose not to be drafted as a father son.

Well clubs and professional list managers do.

History tells us that.

Keyboard warrior opinions are just that that. Not realistic and ignore the reality of what actually occurs.

Maybe the three year contracts for 1st rounders will turn the tide. Take the risk and if two years later if they don't extend you trade them under contract.

If other players are as good then take the one who isn't a mummies boy.

oh you are taking about selecting players. you said rating players. thats all different.

I'd be curious about how father sons have historically gone as flight risks when they haven't ended up at their father's club.

Not including the likes of Marc Murphy who choose not to be drafted as a father son.
Not sure about father sons but eberts family ties ran deep at Port Adelaide. He ask to be traded back there.
Still cuts a lot of posters here to the bone as it get brought up reasonably regularly

Three years is a long time for a recruit to fall in love with our beaches and a local girl

Luke Edwards never seemed to want to go home.

Probably not the best example to use considering his father's relationship with the Crows had soured and they never nominated to select him as a father/son

With the criteria "haven't ended up at their fathers clubs" we're a bit limited anyway.

Hmmm, can we get a list together?
It gets real murky with quite a few players having fathers who played pre AFL or just less than 100 games and even having a lot to do with an AFL club despite playing state league. I reckon players whose fathers have been heavily involved with AFL would be at least 10% of the comp.

Luke Edwards, Adelaide- Not nominated
Josh Dunkley, Sydney -Not nominated
Liam Picken, Collingwood
Shane Tuck
*Jason Horne-Francis (Step Father)
--------
There's plenty who left too:
--------
Tom Mitchell
Brett Peake
Cameron Cloke
Alec Waterman
Josh Schache
Josh P Kennedy
Gary Ablett Jr
Ben Cousins
Lachie Hunter

Firstly, im flattered you took the time to research me.

As for my wishes, I like sharp but I'm like a kid at the candy store with eagles having pick 1 and 2.
literally the day before I said i'm all in on duursma/sharp, I said this:

View attachment 2467575

I do agree that i've been defending sharp a lot these last few days, but it's actually in response to the manner of posting by a couple individuals. You see, I really dislike when people post their opinions as certainties. The bloke yesterday claimed not a single club would take sharp over smilie. And you.. well behold:

plenty of people arent that keen on sharp, I have no issue with that as they are not making these baseless statements when in reality they have NFI of the inner workings of the recruitment space.

Personally I dont think eagles will take sharp at 2 either, but i dont have a time machine to confirm this unlike you.
Call me hypocritical all you like, but I'm not making stupid statements like this.

I like sharp and would be happy to take him. But i've flipped flopped on his perceived ceiling and impact at afl level too. But i'm happy if we call Dyson's name on draft night, but reality is im fine with whoever we take. I'd prefer not robey given his limited sample size, but should we call out his name im sure ill get behind him and his upside pretty quickly.

again, it's not you not rating sharp that I've called you out on. I can understand why some may not want Dyson, he plays a role that is not typical of a top pick in modern footy. It's your attempts at stating your opinion as fact that got my attention.

If being pragmatic about the draft makes me a fence sitter, so be it.

yeah righto, the ol' "ill take the high road, but before i do let me have the last word and take a few jabs before i leave" chestnut. How gracious of you. Let's hope for the sake of everyone you're a man of your word ;)
Haha ‘for the sake of everyone’ maybe you should have taken that high road and saved us all from your reply, but I suspected you would want to have the last word. And wow quite some effort.

But actually pretty well explained to be fair. Maybe we have read the room differently, but all I was seeing for several pages was praise for Sharp and not a single mention of Robey. The two highest rated mids in the open pool but very different players. I thought it was worth crowbarring his name into the discussion (to minimal effect) as there’s a genuine chance we take him but posters continued to have the blinkers on for Sharp, despite the rankings tea leaves having him sit lower than our top picks. I was perplexed as to why Robey wasn’t getting a mention.

Your flakey position, or ‘flip flopping’ as you say, is actually good in a way as it means you’re not blindly attached to one player, like some are to Sharp. It also highlights that the ‘weak’ element to this draft is that, as well as poor depth, there’s more uncertainty on the top draftees than usual. None of them seems a lock to be a future star and arguments can be made for/against them all.

Is Duursma closer to Cale Morton or Bont?
Is Sharp closer to Hobbs or Rowell?
Is Robey a flash in the pan?
WTF is CDT?

Very intriguing how it all plays out. Especially now with some smoke and mirrors around picks swaps with Ess/Rich for CDT. Perhaps not a bad time to be on the fence.

The question on the desire for Drug Rats to get the CDT pick 2 is who wants to move out of the first 6 slots and what is available in the teens to attract a drop back.

How badly do we want CDT?
If high, then 5+15 probably does not go close to cutting it.
If open to discuss, then 5+15 is a fair offer. Not exciting, just eking out value. It does not mean we take it on its own. We are on record saying we want to move up from 13, not add another pick in that range. If we were able to sell it for a F1, I am more open. If we take the deal on its own and do nothing else, it says we did not rate CDT or feared the go home factor.

Tigers have mentioned they would be open for a split. From what is reported, Tigers are tossing up 2 of Robey, Grlj, X Taylor, Sharp and Cumming at 3+4. Why would they do 4 for 13+15+41? Tigers get assurance of Robey at 3, then 2 of Grlj, Dovaston, Oscar Taylor, Farrow, Lindsay, Greeves, Marsh, Phillipou or NH-H 13 and 15. Plus they get a pick for Kellaway points. That would get them a record number of R1 picks in 2 years for a non expansion club (something like 9 or 10).

I always try to look at it from both sides

In 2
Out 5 21 27
Makes sense if the Drug Rats have a boner for CDT. They walk away with 2 (CDT) plus who they wanted at 6 and their NGA pairing.

Tigers
In 13 15 41
Out 4
Tigers get their primary target at 3 (supposedly Robey) and 2 very good at 13+15 plus Kellaway points. They have need for an attacking HBF, a dangerous forward and another mid and 2 at 13+15 will be there.

Eagles
In 4 5
Out 2 13 41
While we miss on CDT, definitely get 2 of Robey, Sharp, Cumming to our engine room. Still hold 34 for use on a slider, matching a bid or trading for a F2 on the night. (On draft night, once the 4 Qld and Blues bids matched, 53 and 58 will be more seriously in the points)
As others have said it would be unlikely the Tigers go for this but I like the idea of including their picks.

I would much rather deal with them exclusively than the Bombers. They could well be just as keen on CDT. As Puma said a few pages back, moving pick 2 down to 5 or 6 risks our next best targets being gone too.

Moving 2 down to 3 means we give up CDT but have our choice of the rest. Or would we settle for pick 4 and risk them taking our next target?

Ideally I wouldn’t give the Tigers a leg up after their draft haul last year and getting the better of us in recent trades. But I’d be even less keen to help the Bombers.

The question is what would need to be included for a one pick slide from 2 to 3?

If the next on our board is Robey then the trade would essentially be CDT for Robey + ?

Extra teens picks aren’t that appealing in this draft and with our available list spots, unless they are used to move up into the top 10 or land an F1.

Any future picks from the Tigers or Bombers would be welcome as they should both be down the bottom.

Just further to the 2,13 for 5,6 discussion. We’ve covered Sharp in depth but Sam Cumming is being absolutely slept on and in my view demonstrates why the above deal would be in our favour.

There’s no guarantee these two are available, but it does seem Richmond are more heavily linked to Robey, X Taylor and Grlj and we will know which kids Richmond are taking.

Cumming has power, athleticism, versatility, aggression, inside and outside game, is good overhead and hits the scoreboard. If not for his shoulder injury I think he’d be spoken about as a top 3 pick.

Cumming’s SANFL league game highlights before he got injured:

I would go as far as to offer 34 and 53 as part of the deal if that clinched it, or trade 13,34,53 to Carlton for 9 then the swap is 2,9 for 5,6. 2,13 for 5,6 is an excellent deal for us if the Bombers are blowing their load about CDT.

Leave with Duursma, Sharp, Cumming then 41 comes into the mid 30s to grab Curtin or match Williams. 58 ends up in the 40s to match Banfield.

I do not think WCE need to try get up to 9 to satisfy Ess. Though it would be great to get Sharp and Cumming.

Ess is the club wanting to move up. Even if WCE do not take CDT, Twomey and the like have stated CDT does not get past the Tigers.

The rumored CDT interest is not a coincidence. Ess have Visentini who is a 20-year-old rookie who played 2 games and Nick Bryan coming off an ACL in their rucks.

WCE gives 2 and 13 = 3561
Ess gives 5 and 6 = 3454

Points wise it is pretty close, as a method of evaluating value. Noting that points is not either club's primary motivator at that stage of the draft.

They still get their ruck in CDT as well as first round pick prior to bids for their two NGA prospects.

Twomey did state Ess are looking to take 5 picks in the draft. If that is true and they want to keep 6 it makes our interest in there F1 reasonable.

WCE gives 2 and 13
Ess gives 5 and F1

Do Rosa, O'Brien, Scott believe in their ruck depth? If no and CDT is the answer, what are they willing to give to get the deal done.

Ball is in Ess court to make it happen.

I don’t think he’s a bad player by any means. Hes definitely unique. Strong POD is his frame combined with his speed and power. I haven’t watched all that much of him to be fair, I saw a bit of his champs stuff where he ran a wing here and there. Has he had exposed form as a forward? At 195 with a non-AFL standard tank you’d hope he could at least rest forward.

I do think you’re overrating his kicking especially, but my thing is if we’re drafting these kinds of big bodies it’s great if they can do a bit of damage on the outside which Greeves and Onley both do well, but having a poor two-way game immediately puts a line through them for me. We don’t need any more coasters or skiers that only want to go one way. Sharp, or to a lower tier of the draft a kid like Dalton (not this type of player but for the sake of my point regarding tackling) are real dogs. They ****ing want to lay a big tackle. That’s what we need more of.

I see someone taking a flier on Onley in the 30-40 range. Just way too raw to come in and play year 1. Would probably dominate the wafl but that’s not exactly a tall order
I mean, if you'd led with the above opinion I would have minimal objections.
The only thing I'd say is that your perspective of Onley's defensive efforts which, while true, I think nearly all U18 players are pretty deficient in defensive work, almost to a man. That's not really indicative of their future defensive abilities, moreso what the competitions and systems dictate for them to be to stand out and be drafted (i.e. primarily offensive mids).

I mean, if you'd led with the above opinion I would have minimal objections.
The only thing I'd say is that your perspective of Onley's defensive efforts which, while true, I think nearly all U18 players are pretty deficient in defensive work, almost to a man. That's not really indicative of their future defensive abilities, moreso what the competitions and systems dictate for them to be to stand out and be drafted (i.e. primarily offensive mids).
Fair play mate. I just think it says a lot about character on-field if they show that in their game at the u18 level.

It tends to be a bit of a sliding scale.
30 disposals with 0 pressure looks good, but is way less valuable than 25 with & 5 tackles for example.

Saying that- Sam Berry has probably been the best defensive mid to go over the last few years & has so far had a meh career at Adelaide.

It sounds like Essendon are looking at a similar deal with Richmond as well for pick 3. It would be an interesting outcome if they got it as they could afford to call our bluff - take CDT or take Sharp and they get CDT.

Pick 4 maybe.

Why would the Tigers risk pick 3 and who they prefer.

And even then another club could trade for 2 and snaffle CDT. Such as Melbourne.