Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Josh Caddy - outside chance

• Other - please name

the idea of getting one of Polec or Heppell excites me but all this **** talk of us landing reece Conca at #6 makes me want to vomit

Spot on although if we do take him i wish him all the best and just hope like hell that FJ has done his homework and we have unearthed an outstanding talent

I understand the out cry if Conca was taken at #6 but i gotta say fella's, Reece Conca is a top player!
Sublime kick on both feet, great courage, will grow into a good size body, good overhead mark and a Brilliant reader of the play!

He is honestly the best comparison to Ryan Griffen in this years draft!
He is the "safest" bet midfielder in the draft and will be a 200 gamer for whoever selects him!

Pick #6 is probably a little high i agree but he may turn out to be in hindsight a top 5 pick from this draft in 5 years time when we see who flops from the first round!

I don't mind Conca but I wouldn't be looking at him above a raft of other options that would be available at our first pick. Too small for one, doesn't really bring anything special to the table either. He's like a lesser Gaff. He's a very smooth mover and quite dynamic but there's no way he's better than Polec, Heppell, or Gaff - or even your next tier of players in Atley and Co.

Heppell would be my preference, with Polec just behind, then Gaff. All three would bring something big to the table.

I don't mind Conca but I wouldn't be looking at him above a raft of other options that would be available at our first pick. Too small for one, doesn't really bring anything special to the table either. He's like a lesser Gaff. He's a very smooth mover and quite dynamic but there's no way he's better than Polec, Heppell, or Gaff - or even your next tier of players in Atley and Co.

Heppell would be my preference, with Polec just behind, then Gaff. All three would bring something big to the table.

According to the AFL site http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/101736/default.aspx

Conca is 185cm and 79kg. As far as I am concerned that is a good size. Same as Cotch pretty much minus 6kg which he will easily put on in the system.

Not sure why he is percieved as a second rounder. He looks like a ripping talent to me. I think if he had gone to draft camp and run a 14 plus beep and a sub 2.93 20m he would be talked about a lot more. Looks smart, quick and skillful and Emma Q reckons that he is a sure bet. I want Heppell or Lynch followed by Polec but if they read out Conca's name I'll be confident he will play a lot of quality footy for us.

Conca is very similar to Bastinac in my opinion, No stand out qualites just a solid player (Actually Basti has elite endurance). Not want you want from pick 6 I think. You'd be better off picking a player with Higher upside in Harper, Pitt or Horlin-Smith. Conca may be a sure bet but we want the best player not a vanilla run of the mill player.

Judging by the reaction to the Conca rumour, it would seems that Tigs inside word seems to be on the money as it was suggested that the supporters would be pretty shocked by the selection.

on that logic i would back jon every day of the week,jon would of got the ball & been half way back by the time caddy got to the 50mtr mark.

Very quick runner jon was
its not who got there first , its who comes back with it and caddy would brake jon in two when he tackels him.

According to the AFL site http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/101736/default.aspx

Conca is 185cm and 79kg. As far as I am concerned that is a good size. Same as Cotch pretty much minus 6kg which he will easily put on in the system.

Not sure why he is percieved as a second rounder. He looks like a ripping talent to me. I think if he had gone to draft camp and run a 14 plus beep and a sub 2.93 20m he would be talked about a lot more. Looks smart, quick and skillful and Emma Q reckons that he is a sure bet. I want Heppell or Lynch followed by Polec but if they read out Conca's name I'll be confident he will play a lot of quality footy for us.

Those numbers are wrong. There's no way he's 185 cm. He wouldn't be any more than a few cm over 180, if at all. He is a small player - though even if he was 185cm I still wouldn't really want him at our pick.

The heights and weights on the AFL site are from the combine so they are correct.

There isn't much difference between Conca and Caddy 186cm/82kg yet a number of posters seem to be keen on him if Polec/Heppel are gone. Also Conca is taller & heavier than Gaff and plenty seem to be happy with him if he slides.

Heppell's groin injury is reportedly the reason why Brissie may pass on him - quite possibly the reason why you guys could do the same. You could argue its more of a risk taking a guy with bad groins at a young age than a healthy player.

Have seen Conca in action on a couple of occasions for Perth in the WAFL this year.

The kid can play no doubt about it but I can understand why the fanfare has been low and the hesitation is now high about selecting him at 6.

He hasn't done anything flashy but in my opinion he is a natural footballer with a smart head and an efficient disposal.

It is a bit left-field but we have a bloke in Francis Jackson who does the rounds all year and lets just have a look at last season - the bloke delivered!

From what little live play I have seen I walked away thinking yep he is AFL standard and could play 150 games.

150 games of good service is a solid return I think.

I understand the out cry if Conca was taken at #6 but i gotta say fella's, Reece Conca is a top player!
Sublime kick on both feet, great courage, will grow into a good size body, good overhead mark and a Brilliant reader of the play!

He is honestly the best comparison to Ryan Griffen in this years draft!
He is the "safest" bet midfielder in the draft and will be a 200 gamer for whoever selects him!

Pick #6 is probably a little high i agree but he may turn out to be in hindsight a top 5 pick from this draft in 5 years time when we see who flops from the first round!

how can you reconcile this with saying he's overpriced at #6? just sayin'...

Checked out his highlights on the afl site and looks good ,but this good be out of the blue bigtime as no one has him in the top 10 which doesnt mean he isnt a gun people!!!!!!!!!!!!.If Polec goes before us and Heppells groin is no good well then go for Lynch or Caddy for me.I like Atley but kicking is not great.

Sheahan's opinion:

Reece Conca
Position: Medium Midfielder / Defender
Height: 185cm
Weight: 79kg
DOB: 12/08/92
Club: Perth / Trinity College / Victoria Park JFC
Commanding and versatile, Conca has exceptional smarts and great delivery with the football. He is the kind of on-field general who looks for others to look to him - coming across as a precociously mature professional.
Suiting up for WA in the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships, he averaged 18 disposals per game at an efficiency rating of 79 per cent. He has played back, midfield and forward. A versatility propelled by the fact he is happy to play wherever his team needs him.
In making the transition from Colts to senior footy during the year, Conca’s cool head and intangibles adapted seamlessly, and he notched up a couple of stock boosting best on grounds. He has solid skills and applies them with aplomb.
Conca also played for WA as a 15 year-old and represented his state at every level. While splitting his football between Trinity College, club and representative sides, he has played some outstanding football through the past couple of years.
What type of player are you?
A confident player who works hard on and off the football field. A real team-oriented and leadership figure who enjoys all aspects of football and strives for success.
Which AFL player do you feel you resemble and why?
Ryan Griffen - because of his ability to run and carry along with the fact he can play multiple positions effectively. He’s an honest and fair player who seems a real leader at his club.
What parts of your game would you like to improve?
My goal kicking, tackling, and physicality around contests.

Read a bit on him over the past 2 days and one word keeps appearing : Leader!

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/a/-/wafl/7312948/genes-are-kind-to-top-junior-prospect-conca/

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/101736/default.aspx

http://wafl.pro-stats.com.au/colts/web/player_profile?pid=96277

23. REECE CONCA
(Perth, 18, 185cm, 79kg)
Add him to the list of solid, safe midfield bets. Goes after the ball when it's his turn, uses it well and can play in all parts of the ground. Keeps running, and plays with some burst. Perhaps doesn't have the polish of some of the other onballers, but is neat and a safe mark. Impressive attitude helps push him up the order.

Where will he be picked?
High. He's been talked about as a chance for Richmond at No. 6, and will possibly head to the Gold Coast at No. 9, No. 10, No. 11 or No. 13.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/the-golden-boys-20101113-17s03.html

Been trying to work out which RFC player Conca moves like and then it clicked : Dusty. I would take him even if he was Dusty's understudy.

Looks like Tigs2010 was right with his inside info, we were looking at an interstate midfielder that would shock and judging by the reactions on here already it would appear that will be just the case if Conca gets named.

Hope you've got those videos ready Stig, you're going to need them.

BTW for those interested the AFLs Phantom Draft gets released around midday, should be a good read and will be interesting to see just who we get.

Read a bit on him over the past 2 days and one word keeps appearing : Leader!

The same with Tape. I wonder if this particular attribute is being looked at by the club as something all players must have or something they feel the current playing group is lacking somewhat?

Or is it just with the evenness of the draft that the mental attributes are becoming more and more important?

I'm starting to believe, with everyone telling me how even the draft, from about 4-30, is, that there will be a fair few bolters and sliders compared to the 'consenus' opinon that make up the mock drafts. Certainly is a lot more interesting than previous years.

So he's hard at it, fairly quick, something of a leader and versatile

So was Luke Brennan I guess, but if we go with him then so be it. Couple of BOG's at senior level means he's no spud against men. Character and professionalism also seem big ticks

Is a comparison to Cunnington appropriate?

Or, Brock McLean? Heppell better not go at 7 and be a star. Whatever, a safe bet and bloody good player would suffice I reckon. No superstar, but seems a fine kid. Just have to back the best resourced recruiting team in our history.