Draft whispers, rumours & scuttlebut

Glass-mcasker will be picked up by freo with their first pick. Bet your House on it.

He has a Lego head haircut. Very bold look, can take a mark at the full height which is especially impressive considering he has such a good leap on him.

Reads the play well, use of the ball could do with some work but in a structured side he could lock out a player and use the ball within his ability a bit.

Not so different, no. Having said that, Melbourne has all of its key posts in place with a proven body of young players and is aiming for finals next year. Carlton doesn't have a single proven operator at the joint, and one great young player in Cripps who needs plenty of help. Carlton's trying to move away from a culture of arrogance to address its issues, Melbourne is trying to become more confident and fluent in its structures.
Every team is aiming for finals next year..

Reckon Carlton will snap him up for sure if he gets to 8.
IMO Melbourne would be better off taking Parish than Curnow.
We're taking Parish at 3 imo. Will probably be able to take Curnow at 7 if we want.

Curnow will slide now IMO. Remember Jack Darling? Clubs won't want this publicity and it's happened too close to the draft for it to blow over in time.

According to a recent article or two both St Kilda and Hawthorn said privately that they wouldn't have traded for Carlisle had they been aware of the Snapchat video and he has a lot more runs on the board than Curnow.

The question for me is just how far he slides.
Snorting Coke and posting it on the Internet as a 23yo professional athlete that has had 5 years of media training is different to an 18yo with no training getting locked up for drink driving. Perspective please.

And Jack Darling was a complete f$&k up as a kid. He'd had multiple "incidents" including one where he ended up in hospital for a couple of days after being king hit in a nightclub, he dropped because there where concerns he may struggle to recover. But... What Darling does prove is that kids are kids, and when in the right environment can sort themselves out.

Curnow was stupid, but he's not dropping to 20 because of this.

Snorting Coke and posting it on the Internet as a 23yo professional athlete that has had 5 years of media training is different to an 18yo with no training getting locked up for drink driving. Perspective please.

And Jack Darling was a complete f$&k up as a kid. He'd had multiple "incidents" including one where he ended up in hospital for a couple of days after being king hit in a nightclub, he dropped because there where concerns he may struggle to recover. But... What Darling does prove is that kids are kids, and when in the right environment can sort themselves out.

Curnow was stupid, but he's not dropping to 20 because of this.

If Curnow had blown over the limit I would agree with that but refusing to do the test is a lot more serious. I actually think he should have been banned from this year's draft and asked to come back in a year.

Why? Plenty of players facing much more serious crimes convictions have been free to be drafted.

I'm not sure refusing a breath test is illegal, I'm pretty sure you can request a blood test instead of the bag.

Why? Plenty of players facing much more serious crimes convictions have been free to be drafted.

I'm not sure refusing a breath test is illegal, I'm pretty sure you can request a blood test instead of the bag.

It's pretty serious, I believe in QLD if you do it there is a $4,000 fine or 6 months jail. I think it also begs the question if there was anything else he was trying to hide.

He has in a way brought the game or at least draft into disrepute in that he has in the most negative way taken the focus and positive attention away from a major AFL event.

All youngsters do stupid things it is part of life but the timing of this could not be worse. In the AFL Flog Hall of Fame it is certainly worthy of a nomination.

As we speak the AFL have been mute about it and not sanctioned him at all.

It's pretty serious, I believe in QLD if you do it there is a $4,000 fine or 6 months jail. I think it also begs the question if there was anything else he was trying to hide.

He has in a way brought the game or at least draft into disrepute in that he has in the most negative way taken the focus and positive attention away from a major AFL event.

All youngsters do stupid things it is part of life but the timing of this could not be worse. In the AFL Flog Hall of Fame it is certainly worthy of a nomination.

Does anyone know if the AFL have some sort of jurisdiction over as-yet-undrafted/uncontracted players?

He's not an AFL player, at the moment, he's a private citizen. Under what logic would they be able to sanction him?

Does the AFL have umbrella jurisdiction over any lower competitions that practice AFL football?

I believe yes, because AFL bans run down the chain too

Ah yeah nah...

Slight over reaction me thinks.

I'm not defending him cause he may end up at Melbourne, I'm just saying it's no doubt stupid but hardly earth shattering. No body got hurt...

But he has nominated for the AFL draft has he not?

He's also benefited from AFL funded objectives such as the combine.

If they wanted to sanction him by not allowing him into the draft this year I believe that would be their prerogative. I don't believe they could fine him however.

Brad Hill ran from police after we drafted him. He didn't get found on anything was just an idiot. Just think back to how stupid you were when you were 18-19. Kid made a mistake, give him a break and drop this 'bringing the game into disrepute' quote that gets slung everytime something happens so that it can be punishable by the AFL.

Really? Do you drive? Try it out and see what happens. Automatic 2 years for a first offence.