drink/driving

• Thread starter Thread starter crownie

One of my friends is cool with driving stoned. I mean, I don't drive at all, so I wouldn't know what it's like... but surely it'd influence your driving? This mate reckons he's fine, and he barely drives any different. Still pretty ******* stupid, in my opinion.

It's a hard one - I mean, I have driven stoned probably literally hundreds of times now (mostly in Adelaide) - Never had an accident. I have had two bad major car accidents while completely sober. I know that is not to say that driving high is completely safe and it's rather circumstantial evidence, but I guess I am in the category of smoking green so often that it doesn't really make me 'high' anymore (my overuse/abuse is another issue) -

It's funny - Vealesy seems quite comfortable driving drunk, but I wouldn't do it because I think my driving skills would be too adversely affected by the alcohol; however I ride my bike drunk all the time -

I do feel comfortable driving stoned though, because I guess I feel comfortable with my driving skills in that state and still feel in control - As I mentioned, I still ride my bike stoned all the time as well -

If I compare my stoned bike riding with my drunk bike riding, I would say that I would be 'safer' with my stoned bike riding.... Sometimes I have arrived home drunk on my bike and had to think back exactly how I managed to make that journey... That doesn't happen when I am stoned...

Yes i was comfortable because i was an alcoholic and basically had to, to visit friends, or i would end up drinking alone.

Funnily enough i have not and never will ride my bike drunk. Dangerous enough when sober and not forgiving like a car.

It's a hard one - I mean, I have driven stoned probably literally hundreds of times now (mostly in Adelaide) - Never had an accident. I have had two bad major car accidents while completely sober. I know that is not to say that driving high is completely safe and it's rather circumstantial evidence, but I guess I am in the category of smoking green so often that it doesn't really make me 'high' anymore (my overuse/abuse is another issue) -

It's funny - Vealesy seems quite comfortable driving drunk, but I wouldn't do it because I think my driving skills would be too adversely affected by the alcohol; however I ride my bike drunk all the time -

I do feel comfortable driving stoned though, because I guess I feel comfortable with my driving skills in that state and still feel in control - As I mentioned, I still ride my bike stoned all the time as well -

If I compare my stoned bike riding with my drunk bike riding, I would say that I would be 'safer' with my stoned bike riding.... Sometimes I have arrived home drunk on my bike and had to think back exactly how I managed to make that journey... That doesn't happen when I am stoned...

I'm one of those people that choof completely messes with. I've driven while stoned once before. Was more concerned with watching my speed than the actual road. Never again.

But as you said I'm really used to being in a drunk state and I can drive fine while pissed and I was more cautious as a result of paranoia. Wouldn't drive absolutely sloshed obviously. All that's in the past since I got caught though. Not worth the hassle of getting your licence back.

Can't believe some of the stuff I'm reading in this thread. Everyone thinks they're a great driver until someone gets hurt.

Truly one of the most selfish and idiotic things you can do. It's one thing to endanger your own life through your own stupidity but when you're a tonne of metal hurtling along at 60 ks + it's not just you whose life you're endangering.

Have to admit being guilty of it in the past, and often too. Been caught twice but only just over the limits... .07 and .06

Don't do it anymore and am very grateful for being lucky I never hurt anyone. But after 22 years of driving without a single crash I figure my luck must run out, so don't do it. Ended up learning it was easier just to get a cab or bus.

In France tho it's quite common, and their roads suck and their driving is a shambles. I need to drink as a passenger cause I'm so shitscared!!!

Anyone else notice the "age" thing?

I don't drink drive period. Or at least since I was 18 (maybe drove drunk 10 times until I realised what the consequences could be). But I have mates, different groups of mates, in different cities who drink drive every single weekend. They're all 40 plus and go down the pub on Friday arvo, given pissfaced, and then drive home. We're only talking same suburb or two and a few kilometers but still just completely not cool.

I reckon there's a reasonable amount of young people who do it regularly through immaturity, and then shit loads of 40+ people who do it locally on a regular basis.

I'm happy to grab a cab and pick my car up the next day.

I've drink driven probably quite a few times but I've only ever driven once when drunk. And by 'driven' I mean driven the car from parked off the side of the road to parked a little bit more off the road in the same spot. Wouldn't have moved more then 5m from the starting point at any stage.

Seen worse driving during the day than from most late night drunks.

Its the shit unpredictable drivers that are the real danger. The drunkeness is just a cop out in most cases.

And when being drunk causes you to react late to one of those unpredictable drivers?

Well thats where predictive skills come into play.

If im drink driving Id always leave a buffer and hang at the back of a pack of cars with plenty of room to react. Then I watch them like a hawk and expect them to swerve. Its like a game. I call it, "If I get home safe, I win."

Some people go out and try and be heros with dutch courage and then do dumb shit in their cars, their ambition outweighs their skill and maturity.

When you get a bit older you might see how many people actually do it and eventually give it up due to guilt as opposed to actual problems arising from the behaviour.

But of course they wont teach that in school or show it on the TV.

Vealsey you're being too honest for your own good. I'm of a similar mindset and have driven so blind I had to cover one eye just to see the road. I'm lucky nothing happened and I don't do it anymore either, all luck used etc..

BUT, it is so freakin awesome to have a beer or 3 while driving on scenic country roads on a beautiful day. Tweed Valley/Byron regions especially.

I've drive quite a few times when i've been around the legal limit. Perhaps could have been slightly over. But twice i've driven when i've been absolutely blind. Never again. Like others have said, you risk lives including your own. Your job etc....

Once was on the way back from a concert in Sydney and i live all the way in Penrith. 50km of having to cover 1 eye to try and see the lines properly and even had to pull over at the side of the highway to have a chuck. The other was the same deal, covering 1 eye to see the lines on the road, was only 10 minutes up the road but this was on New Years eve/night. Coming home at 3-4am and there is one part of the way home which has a 2-laned sweeping left hand turn which the coppers are notorious for sitting on at long weekends/holidays. Lucky none were there. That was the last time and a good 6 or 7 years ago.

Hate drinking and driving. Never drink more than 3 if I'm ever driving home and always follow the SD per hour rule. Still hate it, far too little control over something that could cost me my license and have massive flow on effects for my job and future employment.

At the drink driving course they recommended that you wait an hour for every standard drink you have.

Say the average beer is 1.5 standard drinks and you have 10 of them. That would be 15 hours you should wait after your last drink before you get in the car. That's pretty much the rule of thumb to be safe if you have an interlock.

Of course this isn't always going to an accurate measurement for everybody because there are too many variables like body weight and the speed you drank the drinks etc.
Having done this course quite recently myself I agree that this is the rule of thumb you ought to trust, as they wouldn't be intentionally teaching you lies. It assumes that you've eaten well and aren't tired or on drugs (legal or otherwise), and that women should double the hours for every standard drink compared to men (due to body fat, body size, period cycles, etc.)

I know when I have a couple under the belt that I'm consciously a much more attentive driver compared to when I haven't had a drink.

And my general rule is 1.5 standards in the first hour an 1 per hour thereafter.

The actual guidelines given by TAC in Victoria is two standards in the first hour, one every other hour. Seems a bit roundabout though, considering half the people who do that would probably still be over depending on size, fatigue, food etc...

I'd be curious to see what proportion of people will admit to have driven while legally drunk, the actual figure would be shockingly high.

I think the rule of 1 per hour is a safe bet, though I haven't had to drive home from the pub in years.

At the drink driving course they recommended that you wait an hour for every standard drink you have.

Say the average beer is 1.5 standard drinks and you have 10 of them. That would be 15 hours you should wait after your last drink before you get in the car. That's pretty much the rule of thumb to be safe if you have an interlock.

Of course this isn't always going to an accurate measurement for everybody because there are too many variables like body weight and the speed you drank the drinks etc.

i always thought it was from the time you started drinking as the liver would start breaking down the alcohol while you were drinking.

Drove drunk twice and have never done it since. Just don't see the point. Just get a taxi or get the old boy to pick me up.