Drinking

Wondering what other people’s habits and experiences are. I’m nearly 30 and have been a pretty solid social drinker since my mid teens (not so much then obviously, just at parties etc). I’ve always enjoyed it and really looked forward to having a drink with my mates – at parties, the pub, the footy, just catching up, whatever... I imagine like most blokes, most social stuff with mates involves drinking.

Anyway lately (prob nearly a year or so now) I’m just not really enjoying it. I still go along and have a few (or more), but it inevitably leads me to feel like absolute shit – both as a hangover, but also now on the day/night itself (a few hours after I start, so still going if it’s a big session). I feel really full and nauseous, I get a headache (which can range from pretty mild to absolutely ****ing head splitting), and also I can’t sleep properly. It’s weird, when I’d been drinking, I used to absolutely crash like a ****ing log. Yeah I’d awake with a hangover, but I would have slept like a dead man. Now, if I’ve been drinking, I just can‘t sleep. I wake up every hour or so with a shocking headache and a dryness in my throat that all the water in the world can’t quench. This just makes the hangover worse as I’ve had no proper sleep.

It’s just turning me off... I used to love the taste of beer, now not really. The whole drinking thing just doesn’t appeal to me anymore. I still really enjoy hanging out with my mates, but obviously that nearly always involves drinking.

Having the odd beer/wine or two is alright (after work or with dinner etc), but any volume, it just turns to shit.

Just wondering if anyone else been a regular drinker and had this? Am I turning into a stiff? Or am I just getting old? Most older people I talk to speak of worse hangovers, but none of the other stuff. How old are you? How much do you drink, how often?

I've drastically reduced the amount of drinking and I feel so much better, healthier, and lighter (heavier in the wallet though) for it. One of my mates has given up drinking for an entire year and he's loving it. He's not a social drinker at all though. I couldn't do that, I really enjoy a drink or two after work or at the footy.

Went out over the weekend and only had three beers, which included two midstrengths at the footy. Still had a good time, but was able to have a good sleep and still up at a reasonable time on Sunday morning.

When you're paying upwards of $5 for a pot of beer in Melbourne you just have to question whether its actually worth it.

A fortnight ago I caught up with some mates from Sydney and went to the footy with them and then out for a bit on Sunday night. They'd been going all Saturday, through Sunday and then went and had some longnecks in the park on Monday. They looked like death warmed up and didn't seem to be enjoying life at all. I have no idea why people torture their bodies like that.

Mate thats crazy everything you described is exactly the same as me.

I've been wild for years, but really suddenly in the last 6-9 months I've really started to lose interest. Like you said hangovers are unbearable and even a few beers can leave me with an annoying headache and bloated feeling.

Another thing I've noticed is I get pissed really quickly these days. A few years ago I could drink obscene amounts, now, I get pissed really quick and black out.

It's all got really messy so I've toned it down a lot. I might have the odd beer after work or a couple of pints with a mate over lunch but nothing like I used to be able to do and still function.

I stopped drinking altogether when I turned 22. Dont miss it one bit, havent had a drop in nearly 2 years now.

Admittedly, im a day person, so I dont wind up in many social drinking situations nowadays. When I want to meet a friend, I usually organise to meet for coffee or something instead, another social lubricant that works for me. In the odd situation when I am out in the evening with others that are drinking, I dont really have a problem with it, and dont mind being designated driver (although my rule is that im in bed by 11pm)

The only time I even think about alcohol is when I go to a restaurant. Habit in the past would be to have some red wine with dinner, but now it's just water. Only time it even enters my mind really.

It does help if your social situation isnt terribly alcohol-orientated. I had fun times too, but I've learned I can follow things through, and my life is perfectly fine without the need for alcohol, and my more nightlife friends are cool with that.

Drank like crazy (nearly every weekend) between 17-23. I'm 25 now and I may have a beer every 6 weeks or so, maybe when I'm watching the footy at home, really over getting smashed all the time and wasting hundreds of $$$.

I'm first year uni so in my prime drinking age - all started around schoolies last year - pretty much have a massive binge with my mates every saturday night, either at a club or a mates house. 10+ drinks at least

I actually enjoy a social drink (ie couple of beers at the footy) rather than going to clubs, but I guess it's unavoidable at my age

Since cricket season finished in late March/early April I've probably been drunk 6-7 times (aside from a Bali trip where I got pasted 5 nights in a row). Last cricket season I probably did that every 3 weeks. Assuming that will be less in the coming season though as there were 18ths just about every weekend last year.

I rarely drink unless I'm getting drunk. It's not that I don't like the taste of beer, quite the opposite actually, it's just that 1) I don't reckon it goes well with dinner, 2) I'm on my P's so I can't have a couple and drive, and 3) I never drink at home, either makes me want to go out or makes me feel like a poor ****(if I'm alone/with family only).

Yerp. I don't go out as much as most other people in my situation, but I'd say I 'binge' once every ten days. I dunno how many that entails, probably five or six pints or a six pack (lightweight). I probably did that once a month in year 11/12, but didn't everyone?

Not going to slow down anytime soon, but I reckon I'll give it up when I hit 30. Everyone in my family, including a perennial pub owner, gave up beer around that age... two day spew-sessions from a 'kinda big' night out is the disease they all got. Do not want.

Getting breath tested every day at work for 2 weeks now means I only drink alcohol on my week off. I feel fantastic after staying off the booze and I honestly don't even feel like drinking during this time.

I can't drink like I used to, that's for sure. I black out or pass out fairly regularly now on a big night- this never used to happen between 16-23 years of age (I'm 25 now). I also get reactions to spirits! Any brown or white spirit will sometimes make me break out with patchy bright red splotches on my face and chest. This is also increasing in frequency (this never used to happen, no matter what I drunk). Pretty embarrassing if you're out socialising in a public place!

I think It's my body telling me It's had enough. Still, I do love a drink and a big night out- I'll always be a binge drinker and have learnt to take the good with the bad. Alcohol is a great social lubricant, I may drink to excess on occasion but this is the choice I make.

I had a couple at a mates BD party a few weeks ago. I keep it very occasional and limit myself to two or three in a night. I just don't enjoy it that much. It's kind of weird too because as an 18 year old I could throw down 9-10 (I'm a real light-weight so that's heaps for me) but now at 22 I struggle on 4-5.

Drink pretty regularly with dinner, always when out and maybe half the time at home. Often will open a bottle and drink it over a few nights, either because I need it for cooking or I have somebody over. After a long day/week at work I will occasionally have a drink to unwind. Usually scotch or a G&T depending how I feel. Tend to try and limit it a bit though.

I very seldom drink to get pissed these days. I think I have done so maybe 3 times in the last 12 months. As a result I drink a hell of a lot less beer, since that's what I tend to drink when I go out. The upshot is I enjoy it a hell of a lot more. If I'm going out with mates, or catching up with the boys after Saturday sport, I really look forward to having a couple of schooners.

Never had more than a few drinks in one night, only felt the effects of it once and have never been outright drunk. My wallet appreciates it and it's better for my health - I don't know how girls drink those sugary drinks every week, plus hangover food and still maintain decent figures.

the last few times i have drank, i drank 3/4 bottle of vodka, whole heap of tequila, beer and then gone out and had whatever the going shot is that night. i'm 19 and sure as hell know all this will catch up too me but i'm young so obviously care factor isnt really there.

I don't drink a whole lot of beer these days. Maybe one at the footy now and then.

However I love Bundaberg Bares(rum and diet coke). I usually drink a six pack of those a week.

Have more drunk weekends than sober ones. I'd say out of the 52 weeks I'd get drunk 40-45 of them Can't say I really enjoy doing it as often as that but it's just how it pans out. No one in my circle of friends is not a drinker, and I do enjoy it so it's hard to sneak in alcohol free weekends. I'd like to cut down eventually but don't have the motivation to put in that effort just yet. I'm not that happy in my job either so I also like to let my hair down a bit as a reward so to speak for making it through the week. Things will change sooner or later but not at the moment. Im in a confortable situation at work - as much as I don't like it - so i'd say when I take the leap and challenge myself career wise (or come across what I'm looking for on Seek.com!) is when the booze will slow down.

Have cut down on the beer though. Haven't had one for a few months now, stick to cider, wine & spirits.

i have probably two binge nights a month.
my hangovers have actually improved as i've gotten better at knowing how to get a really good buzz without getting to the point of completely writing myself off.

I'm first year uni after a gap year last year. Drank everything that moved during my gap year, and as a result had less money & felt really unhealthy.

Drinking less and less every week. I occasionally have one with dinner or on a hot day, and sometimes a couple at the footy. Don't really go clubbing or anything like that, but when I do I suppose a six-pack of beer or a few ciders is good enough.

I've probably had about 3 or 4 beers in the last year. And i don't really miss it at all to be honest.

I used to go through phases. I'd drink all the time, then stop for a while with only have the occasional blinder. But the last time, i was going through 3 700ml bottles of JD a week and i was struggling to stop it from going further. I'll admit, 2 of the bottles were over Fri-Sun when i was going hard on the Xbox. Haha. I would end up buying a 6 pack to 'tide me over' on the Monday and on the Tuesday on the way home from work i'd realise i'd only have 1 or 2 bottles of the pre-mixers left and i'd buy a 700ml to keep me going until the Friday.

Ended up going through a "mid-life crisis" because of it. Was getting sick of work, being on xbox all the time, shit at home, so i chucked in the drink, sold everything and went backpacking and now live in the UK. lol. :thumbsu:

I started around 16-17 drinking mostly beer, now I'm 24 I've moved over to burboun. Beer gives me instant headaches and a terrible feeling overall. Cant get drunk on it, still get hungover on it. I'm hoping it turns around during summer because I enjoy beer in summer.

I'm drinking less and less now. I find drinking less entertaining as I get older. Dont have the wild nights I used to when younger so I wonder what the point is. I def still want to and do drink because it can enhance the night, but benders etc are a thing of the past I think

Except on holidays. I spent 2 weeks in Thailand earlier in the year and drank basically non stop every day and had an awesome time, never had a spew or was really hung over. Couldnt do that here though for some reason

I'm getting shitfaced less often because I just don't pull up well from it at all anymore. Some hangovers in recent years i've still been recovering from the next weekend.

But I probably drink more regularly now than ever before.

Main things for me if I do decided to get on it is to make sure i'm drinking plenty of water during the course of the night, never drink too much without a decent sleep and a feed behind me, and I try not to go to bed while i'm still reasonably hammered.