Emerald

Aug 1, 2006
WCW
I have a driving test in 2 hours. I'm already starting to shake. As I posted in the Getting To Know You thread, I Cannot Drive. Completely useless at it. If I pass first time it will be through sheer luck, I reckon.

So post your driving test history here. How many attempts did it take?

just turned 20 and just got my p plates. got my l's at 18, failed manual twice at willagee last year (****en stop signs on hills!) and then passed the third time this year at welshpool. passed my hazards test 2 weeks ago and now can cruise around. all i need now is a bloody car.

moral of the experience. always do your driving test at welshpool. arguably the easiest place in WA.

I got mine the first time, but in 1981 it was easier to get a licence back then.

I fell into the 'nobody else was doing it' trap. :thumbsdown:

Yeah, I knew I had failed. I didn't even cry (yet). I was just so unbelievably nervous.

You think that's bad? My best mate was doing he driving test when he went to change gears, instead he accidentally put his hand on the the(male) driving instructor's lap.

Now that'd make anyone nervous!:D

Take some time and get to the point where you're confident in your driving (from your OP it doesn't sound like you're at that point yet), then take the test again. Once you're confident, just forget about it being a test and pretend it's a normal lesson. You'll be fine.

Got it on the first go.

Adelaide tests are some of the easiest I believe. I also got mine first go..

Took me until 17 to get my L's, about 6 months til I started driving, and then trying to rush in all my logbook lessons and test before my licence had to be renewed..I had to renew my Learners Permit for one day :( . HAd my P's for the two years required, and didnt f*** up (well didnt get caught anyway), and am now a happy full licenced driver of over 1 year :)

Hope you do get your licence though champ, I used to think i didnt need it...ntil I got it! It makes things so much easier, and now I couldnt live without it! Driving by yourself gives you confidence I found, no one telling you what to do, you can just relax and do what you want, at your own pace. I was nervous even after I got my P's driving by myself for about 2 weeks, but you develop good habits, and road sense, and all the nerves disappear! Especially when you can have some good tunes blaring out! :thumbsu:

I got 30 out of 30 on my learners

I passed the log book test with ease

I got my hours done for the log book done about 3 months before my birthday.

I passed the HPT first go.

I am a very good driver, albeit a bit of a hoon, but i have never come close o causing anyone harm except myself.

I passed my test in one, although admittedly it was at Welshpool which is probably the easiest place in Perth. Took about 10 lessons with an instructor before I sat the test, and went out with my dad a few times too.

I've never been in an accident (I'm 23 now and have been driving since I was a few months over 17), I don't get flustered or nervous in tight situations when driving, and I haven't had a speeding ticket in 3 years, so I like to think I contribute positively to the safety of our roads :)

Took me three times to get my license, 1st time I took it too easy and failed because of it, 2nd time the examiner didn't look very interested and that annoyed me (I wasn't having a good day) so I told him what I thought of him (didn't earn any extra points unfortunently, but he deserved it:p ) and well it was 3rd time lucky!

I got mine the first time despite hitting the curb twice, failing to indicate twice and not looking when changing lanes once. I got a good instructor :thumbsu:

moral of the experience. always do your driving test at welshpool. arguably the easiest place in WA.

You're kidding right? When I was going for my license back in... 96-97ish, Welshpool was a baaaad idea! Go there at the wrong time of day and there were trucks galore around, just waiting to make it impossible to merge or get in the correct lane...

My second test - at Willagee, just after it had opened - was a walk in the park by comparison.

Got 29/30 on the written test (the question i got wrong was some rubbish about how fast i could go on a motorbike with a pillion passenger - i didn't even want a motorbike licence)

Passed my test on my first go, a month after my 17th birthday. Lost points for not checking my mirrors enough (still a problem) and taking off from a standing start in 2nd gear (successfully i might add)

Oh, and I did it at Welshpool. It was supposed to be easier than Willagee because there were less hills. The trucks were a bit of a problem though.

Driving Tests