Dunstall was better then Lockett

dunstall was better then lockett came along? or dunstall was better THAN lockett?

how many weeks did lockett miss courtesy of the tribunal?
how crap were the teams lockett was in?
anyone playing ff in the hawthorn teams during dunstall's time should've done as well as he did.
buddy has been around for five minutes. let's rate him in five years time.
How many goals did dunstall give away to team mates?
Lockett was the most selfish Full Forward ever.
In a good side it is much harder to kick 100 as there are multiple targets to choose from whereas if you were playing in a shit side (Lockett) for most of your career and be the only target to kick to and also weigh 2 tonne than you are going to kick a truckload of goals. Dunstall was far more skillful than lockett and took way more brilliant marks. Dunstall was better.

It was an era of great full forwards, with Gary Ablett, Tony Lockett and Piggy Dunstall exemplifying the group.

Lockett was the best - from significantly less supply (when he was at the Saints) he was able to accumulate massive numbers, but this doesn't detract from just how good the other two guys were.

In a good side it is much harder to kick 100 as there are multiple targets to choose from whereas if you were playing in a shit side (Lockett) for most of your career and be the only target to kick to and also weigh 2 tonne than you are going to kick a truckload of goals. Dunstall was far more skillful than lockett and took way more brilliant marks. Dunstall was better.

lockett received crap supply, but still killed it
dunstall had silver service

lockett would have kicked 200 if he played for gfc now

The only way to compare Lockett and Dunstall was if you had each of them play on each other and there is no doubt that fatty Dunstall would have been packing massive darkies in his brown gold bogcatchers if that was the case

Lockett>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> FattybombathereisnodoubtiihavegottaamassiveshiteinmydacksPigstall

Saw an old article the other day comparing Lance Franklin to the "great" forwards of the game at 21...

at 21 years of age Dunstall had played a mere 16 games, while Locket was in the 80 game mark. Locket began his career 4 years prior to dunstall, and finished 4 years after.

Dunstall also missed a few season with shocking knee and head injuries.

so really, dunstall had 10 less seasons than Lockett, yet managed to finish only 106 goals behind Lockett.

Dunstall was the better of the two, there you go:thumbsu:
Yeh and if Lockett had of played in the Hawthorn sides that Dunstall played in he would have kicked 2000 career goals instead of the lazy 1300 he finished with

Your kidding surely.Dunstall could hardly get up off the ground and most of the marks he took were on his chest lace out from good delivery up the ground.Every time Hawthorn went forward they would always look for Dunstall and when your getting endless supply in the forward line your bound to kick plenty.Dont forget that stkilda had multiple targets in their forward line such as Loewe to compete with as well when at Stkilda.
Ask yourself how Dunstall would of gone if he were at the ordinary stkilda sides that Lockett played in for the majority of his career and you will find he wouldnt have kicked anywhere near the amount of goals he ended up with at Hawthorn

It wasn't just the way Dunstall passed the ball to his teammates, but the way he got involved in 99.9% of the game, chasing his man up the field to prevent the loose man, shepherding, tapping the loose ball on to a teammate for a goal assist, tackling, pressure, stripping the ball, forcing fumbles. All of this added up to countless goals and wins for Hawthorn. It's so often overlooked when people fall back on quoting the numbers and saying 1360 > 1254.

Plugger was awesome in full flight, but far too often he was unfit and undisciplined. For much of his career, in fact. There has never been a footballer who marked every ball that came their way. Dunstall's second efforts were better than Lockett's. He had better application and concentration. All too often, Lockett would be spoiled from marking, then give away the free kick in frustration, or biff somebody.

The simplistic argument that Lockett played for crap teams and Dunstall played for good teams ignores the truth that Lockett played for better teams over the 90's than Dunstall did. When Hawthorn started to struggle after 1993 and the quality of midfield service declined, Dunstall still kicked big bags of goals, hundreds of goals per season. It's an absolute furphy that he had better "service".

Dunstall was fitter and more agile than Lockett. He was a great, great athlete. A powerful brute with unflappable temperament and sticky, vice-like hands. He made those passes look good. All Hawthorn had to do was kick it in his general direction and he'd read the ball perfectly and make it look easy. But if it was so easy, then why has there never been another forward like Jason Dunstall? Surely every dominant premiership team would have a Dunstall clone at full forward kicking 10 goals a game.

If Plugger had come down to Hawthorn instead of St Kilda and if he'd let Allan Jeans kick his arse into shape, then he would've probably kicked 1500 goals and won 3 Brownlows, 5 flags and 2 Norm Smiths. He had the ability to be the greatest footballer that ever lived, Ablett included. It is amazing that Plugger was able to achieve all that he did, yet be so unprofessional for the majority of his career. He did well at Sydney as he got older, pulled his finger out a bit more, despite losing his leap and a yard of pace.

Lockett might have got the arse like ablett did.

If you are in better teams (hawthorn pre 1991 - sydney post 1994) then not only is there better service there are less good forwards to share with.

Ia lso think of you look at it these and other forwards kicking big season tags rarely coincide with premierships,

I reckon only Dunstall and Hudson pulled that off, but only rarely then

Lloyd did it too didnt he ?

I still remember how Plugger had to run Fletcher into the SCG fence (injuring him) in order to win THAT final.

Great kick but just a thug. If coaches could see the future and how a player would perform over his career, they would all take Dunstall over Locket or Ablett.

BUT i think flooding would trouble Dunstall, who did his best work in the wide open spaces of waverley

It was an era of great full forwards, with Gary Ablett, Tony Lockett and Piggy Dunstall exemplifying the group.

Lockett was the best - from significantly less supply (when he was at the Saints) he was able to accumulate massive numbers, but this doesn't detract from just how good the other two guys were.

What's all this less supply stuff.

I remember watching the Hawks play the Saints down at Moorabhin with a Saints mate and all day Plugger had Harvey, Winmar, Nathan Burke, etc pumping it down his throat. Every time a player had the ball in the front half of the ground they looked for Lockett. If anything, he was over-supplied. Down at Hawthorn, Dunstall had to compete with Brereton, Hall, Buckenara, Hudson, Abbott, Jarman, Curran, etc for his goals.

Both were great with different styles. Both also missed time through suspensions and injury.

Lockett was a thug and just bashed his way to kicking goals. He was the forward version on the man mountain.

Dunstall was a better leading forward and gave up numerous goals to team mates. He also did the 1%ers to help his team.

It's hard to separate them as they were both very effective and were entertaining to watch.

What's all this less supply stuff.

I remember watching the Hawks play the Saints down at Moorabhin with a Saints mate and all day Plugger had Harvey, Winmar, Nathan Burke, etc pumping it down his throat. Every time a player had the ball in the front half of the ground they looked for Lockett. If anything, he was over-supplied. Down at Hawthorn, Dunstall had to compete with Brereton, Hall, Buckenara, Hudson, Abbott, Jarman, Curran, etc for his goals.
Wow, Dunstall has just gone up massively in my book. Kicking that many goals in an 8+ man forwardline is astounding!

Dunstall was really a great player, no doubt, but Lockett was better... no doubt. I watched them both as an impartial observer over many years and people can stat it out all they like, Lockett comes up trumps.

One of the best kicks for goal I've seen and had amazing pace off the mark for a guy his size.

Posters who say he bashed his way to the record have no idea about the big guy and probably saw nothing but replays of his feats. He had a temper, that's for sure - remember him throwing his crutches at a young Eddie - and god forbid you got in his way when he was on a lead, but he wasn't the thug some are trying to make him out to be.

I think there is a lot of "selective remembering" going on here.

I especially like the argument that "Dunstall was Hawthorn's main focus when coming into attack"...this somehow lessening his contribution and also without actually saying it insinuating that Locket was not the "main focus" at St Kilda or Sydney.....

Stats are for books....averages and stats never take into consideration the reality, the nuance of a game, a season or a career.

Still...
Hudson.
Dunstall.
Lockett.

Ask yourself this.. with the rules the way they are now... the increased fitness requirements... the pushing in the back rule.. the chopping of the hands rule.. which player would you take right now if they were 24 years old.

Give me Dunstall 10000 times over Lockett. Fat Tony can't blatantly push players in the back anymore to take marks... and he can no longer elbow players in the head if they run into his space otherwise he would be suspended for 12 weeks at a time. Lockett is a ____en disgrace to the AFL as a whole and just a w***er of a bloke to go along with it. :thumbsd: