Dyson vs Betts

Was watching the vision of Betts mark and goal that tied the scores and it does not look good for Dyson.

When the ball was kicked Dyson was in front of Betts but looked behind to see the other pack running towards the ball. He then pulled out of the contest and that's when Betts came storming in and took the mark.

The smallest and weakest guy on the park just taught Dyson a lesson in courage.

Such a beautiful kick.. but there are so many questions.

Anyone else see it?

saw it.. oh well these things happen with young players. He can only learn form it and hopfully the next contest he gos at he will have the guts and determination of Monfries. That goes for all the youngsters on our team.

Very hard to match up on a livewire like that little bastard. Lovett proved that at the other end. You can niggle them, annoy them, distract them, corner them, sooner or later they will escape and burn you.that prick betts has done it before, i wouldn`t be sacking Dyson over that, all part of his education.

Players like Betts and Lovett for that matter will always get away for a short period..in this case, it proved costly. Farmer makes his living on slipping his opponents for 5 mins every game.

I have some real queries regarding Dyson. Courage, workrate and endurance top the list. If he wasnt such a beautiful kick I reckon he might be in a bit of trouble at years end.

foj1 said:
I have some real queries regarding Dyson. Courage, workrate and endurance top the list. If he wasnt such a beautiful kick I reckon he might be in a bit of trouble at years end.

I'm not sure he's totally out of the woods

Bomberz_pacers07 said:
saw it.. oh well these things happen with young players. He can only learn form it and hopfully the next contest he gos at he will have the guts and determination of Monfries. That goes for all the youngsters on our team.

Monfries guts and determination quite possibly lost us the game. He stole the ball out of Lucas' hands and then missed the goal. Not blaming the kid... Just an observation...

foj1 said:
if sheeds decides to go after akermanis then anybody underperforming and whos name isnt reynolds may be in danger of being axed to free up a bit of room in the salary cap. just a thought

kelvin_sheedy said:
Was watching the vision of Betts mark and goal that tied the scores and it does not look good for Dyson.

When the ball was kicked Dyson was in front of Betts but looked behind to see the other pack running towards the ball. He then pulled out of the contest and that's when Betts came storming in and took the mark.

The smallest and weakest guy on the park just taught Dyson a lesson in courage.

Such a beautiful kick.. but there are so many questions.

Anyone else see it?

He pulled out of the contest because he thought the ball was going to fevola and solly. It had bugger all to do with courage and more to do with lack of experience playing in defence. Dyson lost him at the previous stoppage and was a good 5 or 6 metres off betts when the ball came in, even if he had done the right thing and comitted himself to the contest he still wouldnt have gotten there.

Dyson needs to add a few more kilo's to his frame and gain some confidence in his own footy. If you want him to play like Mark Harvey then you'll be disappointed because he isnt that type of player but he isnt a Shane Harvey typoe squib either.

He had a shocker on saturday but the previous week he was very good, some people have short memories.

marcuz said:
He pulled out of the contest because he thought the ball was going to fevola and solly. It had bugger all to do with courage and more to do with lack of experience playing in defence. Dyson lost him at the previous stoppage and was a good 5 or 6 metres off betts when the ball came in, even if he had done the right thing and comitted himself to the contest he still wouldnt have gotten there.

Dyson needs to add a few more kilo's to his frame and gain some confidence in his own footy. If you want him to play like Mark Harvey then you'll be disappointed because he isnt that type of player but he isnt a Shane Harvey typoe squib either.

He had a shocker on saturday but the previous week he was very good, some people have short memories.
But Marcuz, as much as you love him, you have to admit he is treading water. One good game in how many. Yes last week was a good sign, but this week was more reflective of his season so far. Someone mentioned it before - courage, commitment and stamina - all three are lacking.

I want him to work a he is a great kick for goal, and we need more of them. But his spot on the list surely is in contention now.

Needs a big few weeks to make sure he is there next season. With the club going the way it is, no one should have a secure spot, everyone should have to earn their spot for next year (all, please don't take this out of context).

It seems that when he doesn't have the ball he looks all at see. Thats why I think he has so many below average games.

One good game in 4 isn't good enough.

Not sure if he will be safe. Will probably be shopped around as trade bait.

I tend to think Dyson is a victim of the position he's tailored to play in. We have heaps of young guns in the middle trying to make their mark, so he's competing against the speed of Lovett, Campo, Winders n NLM, up foward...he's competing against Reynolds, Lovett again, Monfries (Hird and Rioli when they return) and theres not enough of him to have him body wise to utilise down back...so if he were possibly being traded, I think it would be due to the surplus numbers we have in the same positions. If he were taller, there wouldnt be a question on his future in my mind. Only need to look at Shane Birss at the Doggies...very capable, just cant break into their side...more damning with the amount of long term injuries they're carrying

Pevers-Legend said:
But Marcuz, as much as you love him, you have to admit he is treading water. One good game in how many. Yes last week was a good sign, but this week was more reflective of his season so far. Someone mentioned it before - courage, commitment and stamina - all three are lacking.

I want him to work a he is a great kick for goal, and we need more of them. But his spot on the list surely is in contention now.

Needs a big few weeks to make sure he is there next season. With the club going the way it is, no one should have a secure spot, everyone should have to earn their spot for next year (all, please don't take this out of context).

Hard to disagree with that although i do take exception to him lacking courage, stamina and committment. he had a shocker last game nothing more, all players have them. He has a big motor and puts in, he is a reciever and if the team doesnt get him theball he'll struggle. He needs to win more of his own footy and with a stronger body that area will improve.

He needs to become more selfish, become the midfields version of scotty lucas. Run 20 metres and thump the thing long. His team mates need to use him more also, if he's open get him the footy.

I havent noticed Dyson having a big motor. Has anyone got any stats on 3km times, beep test etc? He is a down hill skier in my opinion and doesnt work hard defensively. Third year on the list and cant win his own ball. I reckon we need to drop about 6-7 off our list at years end and he would be borderline. Is that being realistic?

foj1 said:
I havent noticed Dyson having a big motor. Has anyone got any stats on 3km times, beep test etc? He is a down hill skier in my opinion and doesnt work hard defensively. Third year on the list and cant win his own ball. I reckon we need to drop about 6-7 off our list at years end and he would be borderline. Is that being realistic?

Did well at the draft camp in regards to his beep test. Has had op so im not sure how thats effected his running prowress but as a rule is a good runner.

Brent stanton doesnt even know what his opponant looks like. if we are going to drop blokes becuase they arent accountable then 70% of the league's players will be out of a job.

2003 draft camp results:
Shuttle Run (beep test)
Farren Ray (Peel Thunder) – Level 15 Shuttle 3
Andrew Walker (Bendigo Pioneers) – 14.11
Ricky Dyson (Northern Knights) – 14.7
Tom Logan (Waratahs-Darwin) – 14.6
Daniel McConnell (Eastern Ranges) – 14.6
Luke Peel (Sandringham Dragons) – 14.5
Luke Buckland (Geelong Falcons) – 14.4
Leigh Ryswyk (Southport) – 14.4
Brock McLean (Calder Cannons) – 14.4
Brent Stanton (Northern Knights) – 14.2
Bill Morrison (Tassie Mariners) – 14.2
Adam Bentick (Calder Cannons) – 14.1
Ryan Murphy (Gippsland Power) – 13.13

foj1 said:

Dont agree with this part , he may be up and down with form and a borderline case to be retained but he doesnt lack courage and has shown numerous times with Bendigo he can put his body on the line when needed.

I think there are other players that were more questionable than Dyson. How about Kepler Bradley. Has anyone noticed how bad his verticle leap is?? I don't know if it's because he has bulked up too much in the upper body but the guy can't get off the ground to spoil. If you look at Walkers mark and goal in the first quarter Kep had front position and 6 inches in height and still got out streched. Thought that was very soft.

Paddy Ryder has to seriously work on his marking I also think he lacks a lot of confidence in this area.

Paddy has some serious Pace for a man his size. When he chased one of the carlton players out of the backline (forget who) he easily cought up with him and if he had the confidence and determination he wulda nailed him with a gut crunching tackle, but confidence is the only thing standing in his way. Close to no 18 yr old Key possy players have made a huge impact in there first 2 seasons. correct me if im wrong.

M29 said:
That's what, Bett's second decent game in how many years?...

Betts is averaging about a goal a game. For a 20 year old thats not too bad. Its not like carlton have been in stellar form during his short time at the club.

marcuz said:
Did well at the draft camp in regards to his beep test. Has had op so im not sure how thats effected his running prowress but as a rule is a good runner.

Brent stanton doesnt even know what his opponant looks like. if we are going to drop blokes becuase they arent accountable then 70% of the league's players will be out of a job.

2003 draft camp results:
Shuttle Run (beep test)
Farren Ray (Peel Thunder) – Level 15 Shuttle 3
Andrew Walker (Bendigo Pioneers) – 14.11
Ricky Dyson (Northern Knights) – 14.7
Tom Logan (Waratahs-Darwin) – 14.6
Daniel McConnell (Eastern Ranges) – 14.6
Luke Peel (Sandringham Dragons) – 14.5
Luke Buckland (Geelong Falcons) – 14.4
Leigh Ryswyk (Southport) – 14.4
Brock McLean (Calder Cannons) – 14.4
Brent Stanton (Northern Knights) – 14.2
Bill Morrison (Tassie Mariners) – 14.2
Adam Bentick (Calder Cannons) – 14.1
Ryan Murphy (Gippsland Power) – 13.13
Thanks for that. It makes an interesting read. Do you think Dyson will keep his spot on the list?