EB Games\JB Hifi & Game - AFL Live demonstration dates and discussion

Re: EB Games - AFL Live demonstration dates and discussion

Anyone get a look at what Freo's rating was?

Not that overall team but it will be around the 3-4 I guess but I seen a few dockers player ratings. Sandilands was the highest on 95, Pav was 87 Fyfe (spelling?) was 60 and Morrobito (also spelling?) was 65.

That's all I can remember.

hawthorn (my 2nd favourite team)
:eek: Never thought I'd here that from a handbagger after 08.

There was one point where this guy made a turnover coming out of his back 50 and Rioli swooped on it and kicked a goal, looked good!

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Game looks great. Really pumped for this now, and only a month to go!

Great job Ross and all of BAS.

Anyone see what the hawks are rated? If Carlton are a 4 (which may be a little high for mine...no thanks to Ross I'm sure ;)), then surely the Hawks are at least a 4 as well? Any lower than a 3.5 and I'd be fairly disappointed.

Not that overall team but it will be around the 3-4 I guess but I seen a few dockers player ratings. Sandilands was the highest on 95, Pav was 87 Fyfe (spelling?) was 60 and Morrobito (also spelling?) was 65.

That's all I can remember.

Sounds relatively reasonable. So the new players would generally have ratings in the 60s yeah?
Looking forward to getting the big Sandi to drill a banana from the boundary

If that's possible ..... :p

Below is a summary of my experience playing the new AFL Live 2011 game at EB Chadstone. All games were played on the PS3 but the 360 version should be identical except for the PS3 supporting up to 7 players while the 360 can only do 4.

Firstly, it was very helpful having several company reps there to talk about the game and explain the controls. They all seemed very excited about the game and proud of their work. Ross in particular was great for a chat and seems like a good guy to have the Australian football video game market in the hands of.

Now, to the gameplay. Getting into a game is very easy. Every team has 3/4 jumpers and there is a large range of stadiums (no sorry, I didn't check in detail but I did play a game down in Tassie). The menu for selecting a team may take some getting used to but it’s hardly difficult. Tags can be set in there and kick in strategies. It was nice to see by default that Grimes was kicking in for Melbourne (although this did change through the match) instead of just the full back.

At the start of the game there is a review camera wiz around the stadium. There didn’t seem to be many cutscenes at the start except for the coin toss but maybe we’d just skipped them. The coin toss seemed to be all automated and you can’t choose which way you kick. Maybe you could and I just wasn’t paying attention though. Not a big deal though but I just happened to notice it.
The ruck contests are very fun. You essentially point the right analogue stick in the direction you want to tap the ball. Hold down one of the bumper buttons to turn it into a punch. Ross was telling me how guys like Sandilands will realistically dominate ruck contests and opposition ruckmen should look to just punch the ball instead of being fancy with taps against him. Ruck contests are one of the many places where coop shines. Most of my games were 2v2 with strangers and we had a blast. Having your mate control a teammate and run into space while you gracefully tap it to him is fantastic when you pull it off.

The gameplay is very smooth. The camera, shown in the poor quality video I’ve posted, lets you see a large region of the ground. Unlike previous games, it won’t be silly and snap behind a player’s back automatically after a mark or something. Ross said that the best players will likely use a behind the player cam all the time. It requires you to be good at maintaining possession because the camera rotates quickly when possession changes (as it has to) but if you’re good at it, you’ll have a better view of the field. I like the default camera though. There are lots of camera settings apparently, one being like the default except when you get near the boundary the camera zooms down to be near the player. It’s quite a cool look. When having a set shot for goal you press a button to change the camera to behind the man. This works fantastically because other games would lock you into a set shot or not let you kick one at all. I think there may be a distance from goals limit for set shots but let me say you can kick drop punt goals from 50 if your player is good enough. I kicked a ripper with Brad Green 45 near the boundary.

With set shots you have to control the arc well. By this I mean you need to choose carefully where to aim. There are no metres, which has been like Big Ant’s motto from the start. At first I thought it would be a bit too easy but if you have some wind it makes things quite hard. And no, you can’t just choose a torp and get a longer kick with the same accuracy. Torpedo kicks are very much a high risk kick. There are set shot banana options but I never actually got to try one out. When kicking for goal on the run I don’t think there’s an awful lot to do except just hold down the kick button and hope for the best. If you were in a pressure situation maybe the probability of a goal would decrease. You don’t want to hold down the button too long if you don’t have to though. I was 30 metres out on the run and tried to kick it 80 and shanked it. Maybe future games could look at a system similar to NBA 2k games where you have to time the hold of the kick button. That works in the NBA games though because they have hundreds of different shot animations and each is different so the timing is quite a challenge. NBA shots also don’t have the issue of power (you always just aim for the basket and don’t have a large range of shooting distances). I haven’t really thought it through, and the goal kicking system works well as is (no metres, yay!) but maybe a little more complexity could be added to goals on the run, at least as an option for hardcore gamers.

Wow, this thing is getting a bit long. I’ll try to be briefer.

General play is where the game really shines I reckon. Players can run and dodge and fend and handball and kick (my old English teacher would love my grammar here) and bump very fluidly. Teammates aren’t static, they will run with you to receive a handball. In congested situations you really need to use your handball and it’s great that you can still get off handballs even when being tackled (not always though and I’m assuming that depends on the strength of the player and tackler). It’s quite hard to get a kick off in congestion, especially a long one, but that’s realistic given modern footy. A great command is the “lock on” command. When you are in possession you can lock on to a teammate (using R2 I think and the right analogue stick to select). Doing something (I forget what) then causes that player to lead to towards you for a kick. While I obviously hadn’t gotten the hang of this stuff yet, and the players in the videos largely aren’t all that experienced, I can imagine some beautiful passages of play once we get some experience with the game. While the game is barebones features-wise, and Ross has given very reasonable explanations for that, the gameplay has a lot of depth. Hopefully the AI has a lot of depth too.

Speaking of the AI, all games were played as 1v1 or 2v2 so I can’t comment on the AI from my own experience. What I will say though is that the developers who have played the game for many months now still have difficulty with the hardest AI. I was told it’s very Geelong like, in that you will have a tight arm wrestle but as soon as you lose concentration, you’ll get punished. This bodes really well. Even if the AI isn’t good though, online is where it’s at. I didn’t get any new information about online modes, except that a little logo will appear under a team that has been edited when playing online. This means that you know in advance to be cautious. I like this though because if you’re playing with mates but want to do some fair adjustments to the player stats, you can still play online. There is the salary cap of course too. Representative teams (Ross mentioned Vics, All Stars and Indigenous teams) can be taken online, even though their effective salary cap would be enormous. As soon as you make any minor adjustments though they become a “custom team” and immediately blow the salary cap. I’m not sure if that just means you can’t take them online or you can’t play with them full stop until you get under the cap. Hopefully it’s the former.

On a final note, I’ll give a little snippet of one of my games.

Me and another Melbourne supporter were playing together and dominating by the final quarter (we were veterans of about three games). The ball was near our goals and Brad Green (other dude) was near the point post with an opponent coming towards him. Liam Jurrah (me) had snuck out into the goal square though and was on his own. Green then handballed it over to Jurrah but gave it a bit too much pepper and it went over Liam’s head. The ball was heading between the goal and point posts when Jurrah sprinted over and at the very last second got a boot to it and sliced it out of mid air through the goals. High fives all round! If that doesn’t get a bunch of footy fans excited then I don’t know what will.

Below is a clip from the game. It doesn't really do the game justice. I wasn't playing but the guys were having their first go at the the game. All of the depth in gameplay I've mentioned really isn't on show because we first tried the basics. You'll get a feel for the camera angle at least though.

[YOUTUBE]bkcgP4FJv8M[/YOUTUBE]

What was the Lions rating? I understand they wont be that good, would like to know if it will be possible to take them to a premiership if I was playing as them haha.

I don't know the ratings but Fevola IS on the Lion's list but isn't in the starting 22.

what is the preorder bonus??

Oh I saw something up about it but forgot to ask. Something about a photo. I think you get to choose it, maybe it's a nice print of your favourite player or something.

[youtube]bkcgP4FJv8M[/youtube]
The 'COMING MARCH' sign above that TV is going to get A LOT of people offline.:eek:

Game was great, incredibly fun. I personally didnt like the camera angle, felt too zoomed out and it was often hard to make it which team was which. Also Ross any reason why Judd was wearing #1?

Also the devs were saying the game is coming out April 21st at latest, almost certainly April 14th since there is a playtest at April 9th which rules out April 7th.

Why is there a "coming march" sign above the TV in your video melbournemartin, or anyone who knows?

Surely they can't have it wrong while they have Big Ant guys in-store doing a demo? :eek:

Edit: Beaten to it.

The 'COMING MARCH' sign above that TV is going to get A LOT of people offline.:eek:

Oh yeah.

I think that 14 is the desired date with 21 being a fall-back.

...of April.

The "Coming March" sign might have been referring to another game that had been demoed before.

Game was great, incredibly fun. I personally didnt like the camera angle, felt too zoomed out and it was often hard to make it which team was which. Also Ross any reason why Judd was wearing #1?

He was the correct number in our games (I only played on the middle Ps3, not the one in the corner)

I was at that one too and every time I saw the coin toss at the start of the game he was wearing #1, I must be going crazy. :eek:

Game looks great,
thankyou to all who answered some questions and posted some video's.

Does anyone know whether the teams are 2010 playing lists?

So blokes like Cousins will still be with the Tigers, Johnson with the Dogs etc

Cheers.

Game looks great,
thankyou to all who answered some questions and posted some video's.

Does anyone know whether the teams are 2010 playing lists?

So blokes like Cousins will still be with the Tigers, Johnson with the Dogs etc

Cheers.
They're 2011, apart from Fev being at Brisbane all lists are up to date with this year. Meaning all new draftees are in and all retirees and delistings from 2010 are not.

Jack Darling better be pushing 60-65 already ;)

Since the game has been shown now Ross, can we get a list of all teams and their rankings?

I'd just like to know if they have "special" guernseys like Hawthorn's Kokoda. Also, did Hawthorn's home have the little writing in the middle like this years will have?

Not sure about special guernseys but it's quite likely that they do. The resolution of the guernseys probably isn't high enough for you to be able to see little bits of writing though.

EB Games\JB Hifi & Game - AFL Live demonstration dates and discussion