EB Games\JB Hifi & Game - AFL Live demonstration dates and discussion

Re: EB Games - AFL Live demonstration dates and discussion

Played the game and was lucky enough to be apart of the first ever 2 v 2 co op game :)

Game works very well. The basic buttons are easy enough but there is a lot more in depth features that once mastered will make the game so much better.

Highlights for me were the ruck contest, how effective bumping players is, and the best one is that you can lock onto a target up the field while running with the ball or from a free kick and kick it to them (wont always be a perfect kick which is realistic).

Kicking off the ground is really cool too.

I watched around 5 games and played twice and not once did i see a speckie which is a great thing too. Really have to work for possessions and marks.

Spoiling is a great feature, being able to control where your hitting it too is sensational. Unless you are on the point line and punch it back into the goal square to the opposition :eek:

In terms of the difficuility levels, there are 5 levels. I was talking to one of the Devs and he was saying that two of them played on friday night from 5pm till 2am trying to win the NAB cup (with all sorts of teams on the 3rd difficulity level) and couldnt get over the line.

The camera angle was great, you could see where you should be running etc.

If anyone else gets the chance to go and play, go and do it.

Massive thanks to the Big Ant team for setting all of this up.

Could someone please explain how to take set shots step by step.

- What was the camera angle like?

- How does the goal kicking mechanic work exactly? (ie. What needs to be pushed and what comes up on the screen in terms of aiming? etc)

Played the game and was lucky enough to be apart of the first ever 2 v 2 co op game :)

Game works very well. The basic buttons are easy enough but there is a lot more in depth features that once mastered will make the game so much better.

Highlights for me were the ruck contest, how effective bumping players is, and the best one is that you can lock onto a target up the field while running with the ball or from a free kick and kick it to them (wont always be a perfect kick which is realistic).

Kicking off the ground is really cool too.

I watched around 5 games and played twice and not once did i see a speckie which is a great thing too. Really have to work for possessions and marks.

Spoiling is a great feature, being able to control where your hitting it too is sensational. Unless you are on the point line and punch it back into the goal square to the opposition :eek:

In terms of the difficuility levels, there are 5 levels. I was talking to one of the Devs and he was saying that two of them played on friday night from 5pm till 2am trying to win the NAB cup (with all sorts of teams on the 3rd difficulity level) and couldnt get over the line.

The camera angle was great, you could see where you should be running etc.

If anyone else gets the chance to go and play, go and do it.

Massive thanks to the Big Ant team for setting all of this up.

I actually took two speccies on one match with Lonergan and Welsh. Didn't mean it though haha. Andy was impressed. Didn't take any more after that which was good.

What are the Bulldogs like? Player ratings?

Okay so i've asked this once but if anyone does look, how is geelong's rating, given the fact they were in 3 of the last 4 GF's and was 1 match off being in last years?
I 'THINK' I saw you guys as 4 and a half. Could be wrong, it might of been 5.

Only others i noticed were Essendon (3 and a half) Carlton (4) Collingwood (5) and Gold Coast (2 and a half)

Should of payed more attention to the ratings...:eek:
Yep, Geelong were 4 and a half. I am pretty sure Collingwood were too. The only 5 star sides that I remember were the specialty sides.

It's also good to see people can now see what the BigFooty guys saw and know that there wasn't any blind bias going into it.;)

Could someone please explain how to take set shots step by step.

- What was the camera angle like?

- How does the goal kicking mechanic work exactly? (ie. What needs to be pushed and what comes up on the screen in terms of aiming? etc)

Camera angle is from behind the player looking at the goals.

There's two major factors when kicking for goal. The players natural curve of the ball, and wind. When you mark the ball within scoring range, you have the option of looking for another team mate, or pressing square to enter the goal kicking camera (which worked great, because a couple of times when i was in range, i didnt want to kick for goal, so i could quickly pass to a team mate closer to goal)

Once in the goal kicking camera, a power gauge appears where you have to hit it just right, if you power it too much the kick will be a shank. So in essence, with a right footer from about 40 out, I had to aim in towards the point post for it to curl back.

We were using a PS3 so if you take a mark within set shot range you have to push square which takes it to a camera angle from behind the player. You need to take wind into account and the natural swing a ball will have (left to right curve).

Once happy with the position, hold square to take the kick. or R2 + Square for a torp.

If you decide to use the Torp you need to aim way more to the right (if right footed) as it swings in heaps.

With player ratings its similar to FIFA. If you play someone out of position the rating drops which is pretty good.

P.s Sandilands is so hard to beat in the ruck..

Got a couple of questions,

What is the weather like?

What are the stand and the groungs like?

And what are the crowds likes?

and last one, can you here the player talking(EG saying mine when they go for the mark?

Far better quality vid than I was expecting and it's good that everyone else in Aus can finally see the game.:thumbsu:

Good to see the Tiges get a look in too.:D
thank god geelong have a decent rating.. lol i was worried i wouldnt get to play with them at their best, seens as there was no games during the geelong era lol.

and last one, can you here the player talking(EG saying mine when they go for the mark?

Volume was turned right down so I couldn't really hear anything.

We didn't adjust any weather settings, should of, I totally forgot.

The stadiums are superb, really felt like i was in the MCG. I played at the G', Etihad, AAMI and Gold Coast

great to see fine details have been looked after.

things such as the camera men and trainers sitting on chairs around boundary of the ground

looks a ripper of a game

I spent the last 2-3 hours playing the game and having some nice chats with the developers, Ross in particular and the Irish guy (sorry dude, I forgot your name). I'm current writing a longish impression review and uploading a YouTube video but I'll be happy to answer any questions you guys might have. They'll have to be gameplay based because I didn't spend much time looking through menus or player ratings.

Looks really good fellas.

when the ball was near the boundary line and the player picks it up do you have the choice of a handball, or do they just run it over the line?

Are the grounds different sizes?

Thanks for the vids, they were much better quality than I expected. Just from those the game looks really good.

But I'm guessing to get full appreciation you need to have played:(
Actually this was probably the only thing I was dissapointed with. I played at the SCG and it seemed the same size as the MCG :(

The game is fantastic. Got there at 9.50am this morning so I was one of the first to have a go at the game. Ross and his son were there along with another guy who was one of the developers I believe? Ross was great to talk to and very friendly. The game is excellent. Everyone who has had doubts about this game let me say you can put your mind to rest.

The game is very polished and captures AFL very well. The game relies on skill and is nothing like previous AFL games. Graphics are great and gameplay is very smooth.

If you have any questions ask away, I didn't get to see any player ratings but I did get to see team ratings. I can't remember if they were out of 5 or 4. But Richmond was 3/5 and Carlton was 4/5.

Also, I do have one complaint about this game...

I think Ross has put something in the game where you can't even get close to Judd to tackle him...:p

Also, I do have one complaint about this game...

I think Ross has put something in the game where you can't even get close to Judd to tackle him...:p
What was the Lions rating? I understand they wont be that good, would like to know if it will be possible to take them to a premiership if I was playing as them haha.

EB Games\JB Hifi & Game - AFL Live demonstration dates and discussion