EB Games\JB Hifi & Game - AFL Live demonstration dates and discussion

Re: EB Games - AFL Live demonstration dates and discussion

Not sure about special guernseys but it's quite likely that they do. The resolution of the guernseys probably isn't high enough for you to be able to see little bits of writing though.
It actually is. In the trophy room (which I am guessing a lot didn't get the chance to see) you can actually see how detailed the jumpers and players are. A lot higher res than I expected.

Oh okay. Maybe not out on the ground though? I could barely make out the new Melbourne logo on our jumper. Not a big deal though.

On the ground I'd doubt it, unless we're talking about close up views after a goal kicked.

Just in case you're wondering though, the models are definitely the same used in-game (as the trophy room shows you players too not just jumpers on their own), not some up res show off item.

Did anyone play as Norf?

LOL...None of your supporters rock up to your games....why would they rock up to play a video game? :p

Just joking...I did see someone playing as North Melbourne in the morning when I was there.

A friend and i also headed down today to test out this game, and wowee were we impressed.

There have already been some nice reviews written up here about the 1 v 1, 2 v 2 stuff, and i agree with most of it, was so fun to play with and against my friend.

Now my friend and i actually did get to play one game co-op against the AI.

Now this was the first game we played so we were quite terrible, trying to get used to the controls etc. (After a couple more games though we were so much better, and some quality passages of play were had).

We played as Essendon against Gold Coast on Professional difficulty and got handily beaten.

Professional difficulty was described to us by the devs as being the realistic difficulty, i believe there were four other difficulty settings, 2 above and 2 below this one.

The ai was simply outstanding hitting up leads, winning the majority of the marking contests and the pressure they applied when we had the ball was fierce.

My friend and i simply could not keep up, so i think the days of picking up the controller and dominating on the hardest difficulty like past afl games are long gone.

A few games later we were having so much fun, running and linking up with handballs and i took a couple of massive specky's!

All in all, it was a fantastic experience seeing the game, playing it for myself, talking to the devs and having my beliefs confirmed that this is going to be the first successful release of an afl game.

I cannot wait to play it again!!!

I posted this in the other section, but thought Id drop it here also:

Just posting to say thanks to everyone who came along to the play test today at Chadstone. Im one of the Big Ant Development team who were there to speak to all those (that I could) who played the game - Im the Scottish one ;) (although Irish was mentioned) haha it's all good. Hopefully you all had a blast and do tell your friends, work colleagues, school mates anyone you can about the game - and big it up, cos it is Truly awesome but what do I know Im Scottish right? ;) All I know is Im one of the team that did play it from 5pm til 2am non stop trying to win the NAB cup and couldnt in co-op!! It's great fun!

I know Im very proud at what we've achieved and hopefully those of you who buy the game will enjoy the game as much as I do!

Thanks again guys! Was a pleasure to meet everyone today!

p.s Hope the boss doesnt mind me posting my thanks! ;) and he is still the one to answer your questions!

Is it hard to clear the ball out of the backline or isnt there a lot of forward pressure?

Is it hard to clear the ball out of the backline or is there a lot of forward pressure?

It can be hard at times as there are lots of players around the 50. I don't think it's as intense as the real thing but I guess they wanted a bit more flow in the game.

And boomer_tm, sorry for mistaking the accent. I'm rubbish at such things. I can see myself spending lots of late nights on this game too!

Thanks for the vid's. Its looks great, Pretty sure the pre orders will jump up because of today! :thumbsu:

I wrote a blog about my impressions, here it is:

Today I went to EB games Chadstone where BigAnt studios were having a game play session for their up and coming game AFL Live. First thing first is that EB Games opened a whole 6 minutes late yes 6 whole minutes well that was by my phone anyways.
Anyway enough of their lateness when the doors opened everyone was quick to move in and be the first person to take a shot of AFL Live. There were two PS3 consoles set up, Ross the CEO of BigAnt and Andy one of the developers were each at one of the consoles giving us a quick briefing of the game and the control set up.
Once that was out the way we had between a quarter or a half of game play to get the feel of it, the reason we didn’t play full matches was because it started to get pretty busy so it was only fair everyone gets a shot.

Now to the interesting part:

Ruck contests: Ruck contests were all about timing, once the ball was bounced you needed to press R2 when the ball hit the top apex so your player would be running in as the ball was falling down you then use the right toggle to direct it to where you want it to go.

Goal Kicking: When you mark the ball within goal kicking distance you can press square then that takes you behind the player, when kicking at goal you need to take into consideration the wind and if your player is right or left footed. If I was using a right footed player with no wind I’d have to aim just to the right of the right behind post to have a chance of it going in. If I was tucked up on the boundary I could kick a banana goal by pressing R2 and square, the same goes if I was out side 50 and wanted to try a torp I would press R2 and square.

Goal kicking on the run: If you’re inside 50 running towards goal you could press square it would give the player the best possible chance to kick the goal, you can also kick bananas and torps this way.

General play: Around the ground it was very much free flowing, you can hand pass it while you’re early into the tackle but holding onto it to long will result in either holding the ball or a ball up. The holding the ball rule was not random you could see it was given the free if you had a genuine chance at releasing the ball and didn’t.

When tackling you need to press and hold triangle, if you were to be sprinting and decided to tackle a player you have more chance of giving away push in the back or too high free so it’s a good idea to release the sprint button before performing the tackle.

You could lock onto a player using L2 so then when you take your kick it will go in the direction of the player you have locked onto, this works well spotting up players.

If you were worried you were going to be tackled as soon as you picked up the ball you were able to kick the ball along the ground to either try out run your opponent or bring another player into the play.

While running with the ball players around you will drift off to receive a hand pass with the simple press of circle (it’s an instant pass no button lag) and even running near the boundary you could hand ball it over your head to save running it out.

I think that’s covered most of the important things about the game play, if I’ve missed something let me know and I’ll try my best to answer it.

So with the game play covered I was able to see a few other aspects of the game, with the Guernseys you have the choice of Home, Away, Clash and the Heritage.

In the single matches you choose your team which controller to control either team then you get to the last screen before you start, in that selection you can edit your starting team and the general game options which include ground, weather, difficulty, time, ball colour, camera angle, auto switch players and a few more.

Another feature I saw was the trophy room, in the trophy room you can see the Premiership Cup, Nab Cup and Custom Cup providing you win them of course otherwise you will see where they’re supposed to be. You can also see honour boards, Brownlow and Coleman medalist.

I seen a very brief preview of the game plan options and it looked like you were able to set up different game plan options by having your players aggressive or have a defensive mind set also it showed where players would be moving to in each game plan.

Overall playing this game was really enjoyable and I can see so many hours going into it, everything just felt right the controls had a good depth to them the graphics were great and it flowed very well and it is by far better than every AFL game out to date.

On a finishing note it may be very wise to pre order the game to make sure you don’t miss out on it as they’re only releasing a small amount to begin with, it is due out mid April.

http://mmgn.com/Blogs/AFL-Live-impressions-F

Just posting to say thanks to everyone who came along to the play test today at Chadstone. Im one of the Big Ant Development team who were there to speak to all those (that I could) who played the game - Im the Scottish one ;) (although Irish was mentioned) haha it's all good. Hopefully you all had a blast and do tell your friends, work colleagues, school mates anyone you can about the game - and big it up, cos it is Truly awesome but what do I know Im Scottish right? ;) All I know is Im one of the team that did play it from 5pm til 2am non stop trying to win the NAB cup and couldnt in co-op!! It's great fun!

I know Im very proud at what we've achieved and hopefully those of you who buy the game will enjoy the game as much as I do!

p.s Hope the boss doesnt mind me posting my thanks! ;) and he is still the one to answer your questions!

Congratulations on the game it was really fun. And thanks again for the chats (I was the guy who played as St Kilda with you against Collingwood in the last game of today). The menus look really nice by the way :) All the best with upcoming reviews and sales. You guys deserve it.

Thanks for the vids guys and all the info. I appreciate it down here in SA :).

To the guys who had a go of the game today, can you say a bit about the marking system and what you thought of it?

Thanks mate, appreciate the effort you guys have gone to for fans like us. :thumbsu:

To the guys who had a go of the game today, can you say a bit about the marking system and what you thought of it?
Marking system is simple, you have the choice to either mark it spoil it. They are based on player attributes.

It's 10000x better then the old system of AFL games where every mark you'd have to time the jump right, which looked stupid and slowed the game down as every play would stop, and then jump.

Please tell me someone worked out how to 'DONT ARGUE' and barged their way through for a goal...

The marking was good. I like how body position actually comes into play with this game. If you get your player in the right position, you will hold your ground and work players under the ball (provided they have good marking attributes)

I saw a couple of fend offs, pretty sure that comes down to using the triangle button when being tackled i think. This one also comes down to attributes, not every player can do it.

The one rule i was surprised to see was when i got bumped more than 5 metres off the ball, i got the free kick. Was pretty happy with that!

This will be a great game to play with mates, there will be a lot of exciting moments.

The pre game set up where you can change players around looks to be a good set up. shows you the player ratings and these change if you move them out of their prefered position.

Team tactics give you the option to decide how each line will play. e.g attacking midfield, balanced or defensive. some options for forwards and backs which is pretty neat.

We didnt spend too long in that section as we just wanted to play but it looked like there were heaps of other options we could of tinkered with.

To clarify something on one of the reviews written, holding R2 during the ruck contest is to punch the ball which is a bit more irratic but is great to use when against Sandilands (pretty much the only way to beat him)

Normal ruck contests just use the right stick.

Congratulations on the game it was really fun. And thanks again for the chats (I was the guy who played as St Kilda with you against Collingwood in the last game of today). The menus look really nice by the way :) All the best with upcoming reviews and sales. You guys deserve it.

Ahh, yeah, sorry I was the weakest link! :rolleyes: (Im being serious)

Glad you enjoyed it!

Marking system is simple, you have the choice to either mark it spoil it. They are based on player attributes.

It's 10000x better then the old system of AFL games where every mark you'd have to time the jump right, which looked stupid and slowed the game down as every play would stop, and then jump.

Even though you said it was simple what I noticed today was that it wasn't just triangle and you've got the mark, a lot of good positioning was needed as well.

Btw Milne is still a goal sneak in the game, today someone marked it about 15 out and ran around the player on the mark to score a goal.

Ohh and lets not mention the Hawks guy who played on a few metres out directly in front and got tackled and the ball rolled over for a behind.

1 Question.

To anyone who played the game today, what options do you have while the game is playing.

Eg, when you press start during the gameplay can you change the difficulty?:confused::footy::footy:

And a quick message to the wee man I played co-op with..Antony his name was. He was there with his dad. He's a member on here, anyway...

It was me and him playing with Carlton, against 2 guys playing as Collingwood. We were getting pumped at half time 52-21 or something like that, anyway large gallery were behind (or Id like to think there were ;) we come back, it's 60-57 with 1min 27secs on the clock (not "real time" so about 30 secs) I take a Mark right in front of goal in taking my time for the set shot, (it's surely in the bag...developer cant miss surely) I runs the clock down tactically, and shoots with 46secs left.......and hits the post!! Scores 60-58 with seconds to go. Disaster...Collingwood kick out, we Mark it and turnover posession, who has the set shot again to win the match.....no, not the confident kid who woulda smased it home for victory, but once again fell into the hands of the developer.....Full Time siren sounds....I have this kick to win the game!! ....EPIC FAIL only just reached the goal square. lol

So to Antony, I truly suck!! haha sorry dude,..I was gutted! Hope you can sleep tonight cos I wont! :D

From what i saw you could have the interchanges as manual but the Dev team explained that it can be difficult to keep track of the amount of interchanges made as they are capped in the game i believe (correct me if im wrong).

I doubt you could change the difficulity during the game, you usually cant do that in most games.

Other than that no one really paused the game as everyone was too excited to be playing it :D

EB Games\JB Hifi & Game - AFL Live demonstration dates and discussion