Piss Poor

Why is he getting a game week in week out.
What has he done over the last 12 weeks to even deserve a spot in finals.

Has got to be dropped this week because he was again invisible against Collingwood.

Kerr, Rosa coming him and he should be first to go- Is a weak link and has been for most of the year.:confused:

Tried hard but was out of his depth. Delivery into forward line didn't help though.

When you look at our team and even our tight games its easy to see where the improvements can be made.

These tbh are the players who are borderline due to skills, development or decision making going forward.

Ebert
Mcginnity (mind you i'm becoming a big fan of his as his hardness is just first rate and makes up for most of his deficiencies)
Nicoski
A Selwood

Now ebo is only 21 and is definitely a better player now than he was at the start of the year and definitely a better player than a year before hand as well. I think he's going to quite the maligned player for the next 2-3 years before becoming our version of lingy.

Mcginnity has poor skills but like glass is now playing within himself and all things being positive i think he can eventually develop to a similar level to clint jones from the saints. Really see a lot of similarities between them. (in saying that i see a lot of similarities between mcginnity and dempster and thats not such an endorsement)

Nicoski has had a good year but he's just not a class forward and while i recognise that not every player can be a superstar with our marking forward structure its even more important for us than most teams to have quality crumbing options going forward.

A Selwood is probably 12-18 months away from being overtaken permanently within the team. He isn't as fast as he once was, his tagging isnt quite as good and with introduction of the press and zones its hurting his gamestyle as his decision making isn't great either.

As far as next week goes the only i want ebo in the team is if cox doesn't come up and then the forwards would cycle through more with kennedy playing CHF, darling playing as the deep forward, ebert to take darlings role and lynch to play ruck and around the ground utility.

Harsh on McGinnity and Nicoski. McGinnity should have played the whole game and Nicoski had a stunning season - delivery into the forward line yesterday was extremely poor.

Lynch is our only forward who can hold his head up high.

Poor disposal is bad footy. Waters is a turnover merchant, Ebert is bad, Mackenzie is a great one-on-one defender but I shudder whenever he has the ball. I can clearly remember Waters and Mackenzie kicking it straight to Collingwood players for easy goals.

Whether these players are weeded out of the team or learn to play to their strengths will determine to a large extent how far this team can go. We've improved massively from last year. Shuey is a gun (assuming he learns from yesterday), Scott Selwood is a first class tagger (again, despite yesterday, and hopefully he learns from Collingwood's lessons), Masten is finding form, Darling and Gaff are best 22 in their first season. Kennedy is an A Grade key forward.

Good times.

Premierships are often decided by the performance of the team's bottom 6 players. I reckon that's where guys with poor disposal skills find themselves. Like Ebert. At least Mackenzie can usually shut down his direct opponent. All he needs to do is stop handing the opposition a couple of goals a game with poor disposal :o

Should look to adding a genuine half forward flanker to our list in the off-season. Then we won't have to worry about him anymore. No room in the midfield, no room in the backline (obviously) and no more room in the forward line. He wasn't the only one who struggled though.

People sure do forget his good games pretty quickly.

Good Games?????? maybe 1 or 2?

are u serious.

has this guy ever racked up a good 30 possessions in a game and kicked 2+ goals???

That is a good game. I cant recall him ever doing that. If he ever has it was probably against a bottom of the table team but i doubt that still.

He's good game is a OK game. Drop him already!

I wouldn't be picking out just Ebert for poor ball use yesterday. A lot of the younger players wouldn't have experience finals intensity like that. The biggest culprit was Beau Waters. Love his courage and ability to impact the contest but his ball use is generally average. Perhaps the biggest disappointment for mine was watching Shannon Hurn pull out of contest after contest. Such a waste of a bruising physique.

The problem with following a team is people tend to rate a player on the strength of their good performances or their bad performances, never the average standard they set week in week out.

We should forget about the quick and vast improvement of Masten, Scooter and a few others and assume that this isn't possible with Ebert. Therefore we should not bother giving him finals experience.

There's no room for role players with upside at West Coast IMO. Either you're getting 20 touches a game from HF or you're in the WAFL.

:rolleyes:

are u serious.

has this guy ever racked up a good 30 possessions in a game and kicked 2+ goals???

That is a good game. I cant recall him ever doing that. If he ever has it was probably against a bottom of the table team but i doubt that still.

Welcome aboard mate.

16 posts and 8 of them are about Ebert being crap, dropped or traded.

Oh was Ebert playing yesterday? You mean the guy who constantly kept going up at the back of packs trying to take unrealistic hangers? Only time i saw him all game.

Pointless thread though man. How many 'Ebert Roast' threads have we done?

No matter what we say or how bad he has just played, Worsefold has him back in the team 9 times out of 10.

Hey, at least him not getting the ball means him not kicking it out of bounds doesn't it?

are u serious.

I will use a recent game as an example. Round 20 v Richmond, 21 disposals, 8 marks and 4 goals playing as a half forward. Also 5 goals contributed to and 4 tackles.

I will say again, people sure do forget his good games quickly.

That's because I have a strong view on this & want the EAgles to field there best 22.

We all have strong views :rolleyes: the match committee obviously disagree with you:)
He is a limited player not fast, kicking skills are not great but what he brings to the TEAM as that is what it is not a group of individuals, gets him a game most weeks.
He plays hard, tough footy good overhead, tackles hard and runs his ass off.
Saying all that he is probably on the edge of being dropped, ive got ginny in front of him:o

We all have strong views :rolleyes: the match committee obviously disagree with you:)
He is a limited player not fast, kicking skills are not great but what he brings to the TEAM as that is what it is not a group of individuals, gets him a game most weeks.
He plays hard, tough footy good overhead, tackles hard and runs his ass off.
Saying all that he is probably on the edge of being dropped, ive got ginny in front of him:o

Yep, what underrated and Butler say is more accurate than this roasting rubbish. Incidentally, watch his work off the ball and into defence, you might see why he's there as well. :):thumbsu:

You mean the guy who constantly kept going up at the back of packs trying to take unrealistic hangers?

Sounds like you're describing Kennedy's game yesterday, when he wasn't dropping chest marks. When JK does it, it's called creating a contest. When Ebert does it, it leads to calls for him to be dropped. Hmmm.

As one of the few Ebert fans on here (so it seems), I thought he was serviceable yesterday. His tackling pressure over the last few months has been terrific (with another 5 yesterday) and often overlooked, not to mention he often chips in with handy goals.

He's an easy player to label as a 'crab' due to his questionable pace and kicking skills, but I really feel those detractors do not acknowledge his positive aspects (overhead marking etc) and just blast him anyway.

Something to think about.