Ed "Cheese" Barlow.

• Thread starter Thread starter Rassilon

Hey, here's a thought: a young colt can show enormous potential but not deliver, so connections have him gelded to "focus" him.

Does anyone think maybe Ed would, or should, be up for the snip?

Kingston Town, the best racehorse I've seen, ran last at his only start as a colt but, once gelded, became arguably Australia's greatest racehorse.

Look how the LARS surgery has helped Malch and David Rodan. Imagine how gelding could revolutionise footy.

Hey, here's a thought: a young colt can show enormous potential but not deliver, so connections have him gelded to "focus" him.

Kingston Town, the best racehorse I've seen, ran last at his only start as a colt but, once gelded, became arguably Australia's greatest racehorse.

Look how the LARS surgery has helped Malch and David Rodan. Imagine how gelding could revolutionise footy.
lol, i like your thinking, but if anything he needs to grow some balls.

I was once a fan of Cheese, but, he doesn't seem to have the ticker. Always puts in a Pre-Season, making you think that he may have a good season, but never delivers.

I hope he makes it, but, at this point in time, I don't think he will. The only thing that may save him being on the list, is his height. But, he isn't fullfilling his potential that I know he has.

Re: Ed "Cheese" Barlow..

lol I like your thinking, but may not be PC. :o :p

i dont like bagging our players , but Barlow's performance against geelong was dreadful. He surely has to be dropped back to the reserves after that performance I would have thought that Bevan would have been a better option than Barlow once it was discovered that LRT wouldnt play.

Unfortunately there is a huge gap between our reserves and seniors , maybe we need to spend the money and play our reserves in the VFL.

Rotate him in the Ruck!

I think that each time he got caught (slow) was because there was nowhere to go. The problem was the dominance of the Geelong midfield and he was the unlucky one to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. With the bad kick - to pull what he was trying off would have required a pin point fast kick but he was surrounded by contests with few real options. Would it have been better if he'd missed the mark and the ball go straight to Geelong?

The cats killed us, all over the ground. Barlow had a bad game, but name one forward who didn't? Bradshaw barely touched it, same with Rohan, even Goodes was well held. What exactly were you all expecting from the Cheese - a confidence player if ever there was one who was a late inclusion in a hostile environment on a team getting flogged?

I wouldn't be surprised if Roos gives him another go, depending on match ups and player availability, to redeem himself. He was finding his feet in the forward line late last year.

The cats killed us, all over the ground. Barlow had a bad game, but name one forward who didn't? Bradshaw barely touched it, same with Rohan, even Goodes was well held. What exactly were you all expecting from the Cheese - a confidence player if ever there was one who was a late inclusion in a hostile environment on a team getting flogged?

I wouldn't be surprised if Roos gives him another go, depending on match ups and player availability, to redeem himself. He was finding his feet in the forward line late last year.

look skystyler your point about the greatest pressure team is valid.

But compared to the other 3 Barlow had the opportunity to do something in the game, was left in the open by the cats when Bradshaw and Goodes had been blanketed. The opportunity for Barlow to stand up was there in the game and he didn't deliver.

He will get another go and I will again judge based on performance but sorry the criticism of his game against the cats is justified over the others.

Why the hell should he get another chance? He did nothing in the reserves, he was woeful against Geelong, and I can name half a dozen players in the reserves I would rather see ahead of him. Even Dylan McNeil, who is tiny but actually works his guts out and contributes something positive for 4 quarters. He's giving away 18cm and 24kg to Barlow, but I sure as hell know who I'd prefer trying to win a contested possession.

Time you found a new Street, Mr Fu ... as for Teddy and Marty (sounds like a cheesy radio breakfast pair), both have earned a fair bit of goodwill. Mattner is unlikely to be dropped but Richards is struggling; maybe he's just rusty.

The biggest issue is that desire to go hard. Marty and Ted make mistakes but they have never shirked a contest; Ed, on the other hands, makes mistakes AND is softer than fairy floss. I can't cop that in a player, certainly not a Swans player. If it was a one-off, a fluke, it can be overlooked but this is criticism of Barlow has been there since he started.

Look at the likes of Kirk or LRT; neither blessed with much skill or finesse (certainly compared with Barlow) but they wouldn't duck an express train. The Bolton boys are similarly inspirational, and there's few Sydney players I can think of who aren't hard at it, certainly under Roos.

Barlow has had chance after chance and he's still doing the same weak, dumb stuff. Again, if he was making up for that with six goals a week, it might be tolerable, but he's a liability.

Ahmmmm, where were we - how rude Fu you flog.
Kirk and Two dads, no sell required there.:heart:
Camp Mattner and Richards, solid citizens when the pill is indispute - yes.
Though Richards overall football fundamentals......... He was repeatedly rogered by the rookie in groundhog day like fashion over the entire match.

Then there is Ken, how or why was he promoted -presumably from running streets around the opposition in the 2's.:o
So is Ken's lack of results since his stunning debut simply the dark science of sqiubbery ?
I am not so sure, I think it's a lack of confidence and a overall lack of feel for the game. Take that Bennell bloke from Melbourne, he can play and probably has more talent than half the players in the entire league - yet is a certified squib.
Who knows, perhaps it's as simple as squibbery. What the feck would Fu no, after all I did put a lobster on the Tiggers to tear Freo one a couple of games back.:o

Ahmmmm, where were we - how rude Fu you flog.
Kirk and Two dads, no sell required there.:heart:
Camp Mattner and Richards, solid citizens when the pill is indispute - yes.
Though Richards overall football fundamentals......... He was repeatedly rogered by the rookie in groundhog day like fashion over the entire match.

Then there is Ken, how or why was he promoted -presumably from running streets around the opposition in the 2's.:o
So is Ken's lack of results since his stunning debut simply the dark science of sqiubbery ?
I am not so sure, I think it's a lack of confidence and a overall lack of feel for the game. Take that Bennell bloke from Melbourne, he can play and probably has more talent than half the players in the entire league - yet is a certified squib.
Who knows, perhaps it's as simple as squibbery. What the feck would Fu no, after all I did put a lobster on the Tiggers to tear Freo one a couple of games back.:o

I probably need a refresher in basic squibbery, but I think I know what you mean.
I suspect Josh Hill at the Dogs has done a course in it, too, which might be handy for our lads to know come Saturday.

I probably need a refresher in basic squibbery, but I think I know what you mean.
I suspect Josh Hill at the Dogs has done a course in it, too, which might be handy for our lads to know come Saturday.

I do believe that Slytherin house have a squibbery class, perhaps a refresher course can be had there.
One particular student, Malfanfoy excels at the finer arts of this practice.:o

Why the hell should he get another chance? He did nothing in the reserves, he was woeful against Geelong, and I can name half a dozen players in the reserves I would rather see ahead of him. Even Dylan McNeil, who is tiny but actually works his guts out and contributes something positive for 4 quarters. He's giving away 18cm and 24kg to Barlow, but I sure as hell know who I'd prefer trying to win a contested possession.
I haven't bothered reading the entire thread, but I can imagine there's a bit of "oh no, he needs another chance, he runs great time trials, big engine, OMG he's a spunk..." etc etc, whilst on the other hand, there's "geezuz the guy is as useless as an ashtray on a motorbike...my nanna tackles harder than him...he is a soft and useless player, etc..."

I am, and have always been in the latter camp. After last week it's the Gold Coast or back to the butter factory for poor young, soft, gormless, Ed. You can run all the f*****g time trials you like down there son...

I haven't bothered reading the entire thread, but I can imagine there's a bit of "oh no, he needs another chance, he runs great time trials, big engine, OMG he's a spunk..." etc etc, whilst on the other hand, there's "geezuz the guy is as useless as an ashtray on a motorbike...my nanna tackles harder than him...he is a soft and useless player, etc..."

I am, and have always been in the latter camp. After last week it's the Gold Coast or back to the butter factory for poor young, soft, gormless, Ed. You can run all the f*****g time trials you like down there son...

He's right, y'know ...

I'm all for constructive criticism of players but downright abuse and denigration of your own disgusts me. You call yourself supporters. You only need to say that you think he should be dropped because of such and such reasons. The rest is rubbish.

Some of it's a little over the top.

I can understand why people might get a little angry though. Having skill deficiencies are one thing, not having a dip when your team mates are is another.

As I said earlier... I've almost completely given up hope on him but I think last week just needs to be written off completely. Give him another chance somewhere during the season if his form in the reserves warrants it. We've put too much time into him to completely give up now.

the problem is, i don't think many people see barlow as "one of our own" i feel bad for the guy...but he's pretty much been rejected by the fans...

we're more than happy to give people a go, give em time to develop...but when they've shown very little...there's little we can do as fans...

btw, i'm sure some players check this site out...i just hope this hasn't filtered back to ed....cause this would be soul crushing...

Come on mate, this is a footy chat forum, not the UN General Assembly. Passionate fans let off steam here, it's part of the rough and tumble world of professional sport. Barlow knows he played a shocking game last week, so it's highly unlikely he's going to come to BF to have his worst fears confirmed.

btw, i'm sure some players check this site out...i just hope this hasn't filtered back to ed....cause this would be soul crushing...
I actually seriously hope he does read this site, and it gives him a much needed kick up the backside. We are actually paying this guy 6 figures a year to stay on our list and run 3km time trials. If you employed someone in your business for 5 years, and he kept telling you he was going to be a star, but he did absolutely nothing for 5 years and cost you hundreds of thousands of dollars, you're seriously telling me that you'd be concerned about "crushing his soul" with the news that all your clients think he is a joke?

He needs a severe dose of TTFU, and has needed that for years. Continuing to give opportunities to someone who clearly does not deserve them is a kick in the face of the supporters, not to mention the rest of the list who would walk through fire to win a spot.

This is not my reaction based on 1 game against Geelong. I have always rated footballers over athletes, and I rate demonstrated ability, guts, determination and effort over some abstract concept of "potential" any day of the week. A lot of you seem to be making a common poker mistake - we've already invested a lot of time and money into Barlow, so you want to keep giving him more and more chances to get a return on that investment. You need to know when to walk away and cut your losses.

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result. Continuing to pick Barlow is insanity.

I actually seriously hope he does read this site, and it gives him a much needed kick up the backside. We are actually paying this guy 6 figures a year to stay on our list and run 3km time trials. If you employed someone in your business for 5 years, and he kept telling you he was going to be a star, but he did absolutely nothing for 5 years and cost you hundreds of thousands of dollars, you're seriously telling me that you'd be concerned about "crushing his soul" with the news that all your clients think he is a joke?

He needs a severe dose of TTFU, and has needed that for years. Continuing to give opportunities to someone who clearly does not deserve them is a kick in the face of the supporters, not to mention the rest of the list who would walk through fire to win a spot.

This is not my reaction based on 1 game against Geelong. I have always rated footballers over athletes, and I rate demonstrated ability, guts, determination and effort over some abstract concept of "potential" any day of the week. A lot of you seem to be making a common poker mistake - we've already invested a lot of time and money into Barlow, so you want to keep giving him more and more chances to get a return on that investment. You need to know when to walk away and cut your losses.

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result. Continuing to pick Barlow is insanity.

I agree about the poker thing but FFS... The Geelong game should just be written off and forgotten about. Give him another chance IF: His form in the reserves warrants it and we're not denying someone who will add more value to the team.