EDFL moves Part 2

our geographic position and the mercenary culture in local football (as sumed up for us with Jorgenson swanning around at Greenvale).

I think you are being extremely harsh on Jorgenson, he hasn’t played at abers since U16’s and by the time he had last played at Abers and moved to Greenvale was around 6 years.
He played a few years at Coburg and then moved to Greenvale where a lot of his mates where playing ie- Kuret, Randello, Smith( Greenvale boy played a couple of seasons for Coburg) Farag, Briggs, Darby.
He was loyal and wanted to play with his mates, not with a club that he has had no association with for a half a decade.
I have no doubt that he gets well looked after at Greenvale, but if he wanted to be a mercenary, he could have got a lot more money at other clubs. Jorgenason is one of the nicest blokes you’ll meet, prob too nice at times
You abers boys keep up your infighting it’s working well for you but leave good blokes like Jorgenson out of it.

the coach was a dead man walking, not respected by many there. unfortunately the club has lost its way over the past couple of years. 3 years ago they were a well disciplined club with a coach respected for his footy know how and a committee run with style. the emphasis on a footy club where the social events had some class and all the girlfriends and wives where encourage to participate. slowly it has gone back to a boozey boys club.
it comes as no surprise that some sort of drama was waiting to happen. the club has a tremendous supporter base and does have one of the largest followings in the league and i am sure opposition clubs love when craigieburn comes to play both over the bar and canteen. and by the way the senior and junior clubs are two seperate entities

the coach was a dead man walking, not respected by many there. unfortunately the club has lost its way over the past couple of years. 3 years ago they were a well disciplined club with a coach respected for his footy know how and a committee run with style. the emphasis on a footy club where the social events had some class and all the girlfriends and wives where encourage to participate. slowly it has gone back to a boozey boys club.
it comes as no surprise that some sort of drama was waiting to happen. the club has a tremendous supporter base and does have one of the largest followings in the league and i am sure opposition clubs love when craigieburn comes to play both over the bar and canteen. and by the way the senior and junior clubs are two seperate entities

Is it true Barry " Gabby ' Nolan has taken over as senior coach for the rest of the year?:thumbsu:

Yes it is, out of adversity does come some good, Barry Nolan coming back for the rest of the season this is like Sheedy going back to the tigers. Gabby is well respected and i have no doubt the club will move forward. The Reserves is going to be coached by Brett Wright and craigieburn stalwart who's passion can not be matched. Lets hope the club gives them all the support they need

You abers blokes really are making ppl sick. Potting other clubs about the way they run their club. The clubs you bag probably have more locals than you have. Yours are just underperforming clearly overpaid mercenaries. That Jorgo comment was the funniest comment on here for a long time

Not much Said about Doc playing his 400th for DS today,

Big effort, Great achievement,

has been one of the leagues stallwarts, and has managed to get under the skin of more than one of us !!!

and has managed to get under the skin of more than one of us !!!

LOL i just logged on to make mention of his 400th :)

I would like to congratulate Paul on his 400th a wonderful achievement for who has been and still is a wonderful player,i reckon he would be upto 600 and would be breaking Bernie Drebbings record if it wasnt for his stints at Collingwood,Port and Perth.

I have played with Paul,and the times i did it was an absolute pleasure he does some amazing things on the field and what Eagle Two said is very true Hahahaha but im sure most would respect Docs and i know he has many many friends at most of the clubs in the EDFL :)

As for the game i hope we win but im not sure,i havent been in the loop over this week and dont know the ins/outs but think we have quite a few out and i know at one stage 5 of our 6 backs were/are out and a couple of others.We have the dream run(NOT) of Keilor,G/Vale and Marby of which in the first half of the year we performed really well in all 3 matches maybe with the exception of the 1st quarter again G/Vale LOL so hopefully we can do the same and a few of the guys will be back in the next next 2-4 weeks and we can win a couple more games for the season.

THE DREBSTER

Have heard Ian Denny is gone from APW next yr had his time and done peanuts !!! good news for APW absolute tool of a bloke !! if he removed his head from his ass for 5 mins would be a much better coach :D:thumbsu:

Not much Said about Doc playing his 400th for DS today,

Big effort, Great achievement,

has been one of the leagues stallwarts, and has managed to get under the skin of more than one of us !!!

great effort by docs an absolute (doutta) star, congrats is in order and hopefully the old legs still have a few more games in them well done!!!!

Was at the Keilor v DS match....couldn't believe Doutta's tactics in the last quarter. They had the scoring end, yet went totally defensive, with virtually no-one playing in their forward line. Totally backfired, with Keilor outscoring them 4 goals to none.....what were they thinking?

Have heard Ian Denny is gone from APW next yr had his time and done peanuts !!! good news for APW absolute tool of a bloke !! if he removed his head from his ass for 5 mins would be a much better coach :D:thumbsu:

Probably the stupidest thing i have ever read on bigfooty, Ian Denny is one of the best blokes I have met through the EDFL, have no doubt he has done everything possible to improve that footy club.

Was at the Keilor v DS match....couldn't believe Doutta's tactics in the last quarter. They had the scoring end, yet went totally defensive, with virtually no-one playing in their forward line. Totally backfired, with Keilor outscoring them 4 goals to none.....what were they thinking?
Was also at the Doutta vs Keilor clash and it was every player behind the wings after the 3/4 time break , In a game which was supposed to be a celebration of an absolute EDFL legend in Docherty i thought the coach embarresed him by using these tactics , the coaches three quarter time speech was also disrespectful to a club legend and the fact that every player from both sides lined up to congratulate him off the ground , he was paid due respect from everybody at the ground except for one person who left the ground and headed into the rooms almost immediately after the final siren. Maybe it was an oversight by the coach (i hope so) but from an outsider point of view it did not look good. I know that i only stayed to watch the last quarter ( it was freezing and the game was ordinary at best with the wind) because i wanted to clap him off the ground . 400 games in anybodys language is a fair contribution to a club with many sacrifices along the way i bet. I just hope the coach actually made a presentation and congratulated Docs after the game and left the spray for the training track Tuesday night

Watched Greenvale vs Marby park yesterday,Greenvale made the most of the gale force winds in the first quarter and kicked the ball long and direct and kicked away.It must be said that the wind in the second quarter dropped alot but Marby wasted alot of football by playing like it was a still day and over using handballs and dicky little kicks.Marby also lacked accountability and were left flat footed on many occassions when there were turn overs.On the other hand greenvale play there ground very well and were prepared to play direct and run in numbers,and made the most of the wind.
Now as a nuetral spectator it must be said that the umpiring was an absolute disgrace and some of the free kicks awarded to greenvale close to goal were laughable (except for marby) and obvious frustration was taking it's toll on marby.
Greenvale were the better side for sure and played the better brand of footy hence the win but the umpiring had to be mentioned.(are they known for getting looked after at home by the umps??? curious to know)

Also number33 for greenvale was a disgrace yesterday and it is a shame that such a professional outfit like greenvale have a goose like him wearing there jumper,was that out of character for him yesterday is that the normal?

Heard a rumor at one of Mt roads notorious nightspots last night that an EDFL player jumped the fence and took on a spectator yesterday, any truth to this rumor?

yes douttas flood was not what i would have done as coach, kicking a goal or two sounds better but you say doutta had the scoring end you must be joking, did they move the goals during the week to the wings??

Granted the wind was mainly blowing across the ground...but there was some advantage to one end with 15 goals scored to 2 goals at the other end by 3/4 time....Doutta's coaching staff (not the players) gave up without a fight with their tactics.

And must say well done to Keilor as the reserves and umpires lined up and the seniors were running out and their captain called the players in(as some had run off!!) to pay respect to Docherty. And after the game as well...what local footy is all about:thumbsu:

Also Barnes calls a spade a spade and if his 3/4 qtr address was like that so be it. He also like the horses for course's selection policy,which a few blokes have not liked but that is Barnes for ya. Im sure Docherty wouldnt have taken any notice (and accepted a spray )of it as it IS a team game and they did not play well at all.

Way to good keilor but you didn't beat much, not sure if douttas would have beaten glenroy yesterday. Thanks must go to the keilor football club for the respect shown to our star Paul Docs.:thumbsu:

The finals look a mile away after the last couple of weeks but not a million miles away as thought by many pre season. Cant see us winning a game for a month or so on current form but im up for surprises boys.

Well good for u princess ive met him and hes a flog ..

Well you couldn't have met him for long as he is one of the more genuine blokes you could ever want to meet. Knows his footy and knows the coaching caper. Has been hindered this year by injuries and circumstance and has done extremely well with what he's had to work with. You, my friend, are the flog - not Denny. Were you dropped by him or something?

Was also at the Doutta vs Keilor clash and it was every player behind the wings after the 3/4 time break , In a game which was supposed to be a celebration of an absolute EDFL legend in Docherty i thought the coach embarresed him by using these tactics , the coaches three quarter time speech was also disrespectful to a club legend and the fact that every player from both sides lined up to congratulate him off the ground , he was paid due respect from everybody at the ground except for one person who left the ground and headed into the rooms almost immediately after the final siren. Maybe it was an oversight by the coach (i hope so) but from an outsider point of view it did not look good. I know that i only stayed to watch the last quarter ( it was freezing and the game was ordinary at best with the wind) because i wanted to clap him off the ground . 400 games in anybodys language is a fair contribution to a club with many sacrifices along the way i bet. I just hope the coach actually made a presentation and congratulated Docs after the game and left the spray for the training track Tuesday night

well done to docs. he certainly is a player respected throughout the comp and i cant remember him ever playing a bad game against us. in these days of players moving around chasing coin good to see some loyalty.

who didnt stay to clap him off? barnes?

Paul Docherty has demonstrated how you earn respect in football - Alot of young local footballers today should take a leaf out of his book....
  • Great footballer
  • Great Bloke
  • Doc will be able to walk into any EDFL Clubrooms for the rest of his life and find someone to have a beer with....
That's why you play footy !!!!