EDFL moves Part 2

Very disappointing on Saturday for Keilor supporters, interested in hearing Dean Rioli address Aberfeldie at three quarter time, to be abused by a person believed to be the Aberfeldie President. There was only about 10 supporters at the huddle and eight were from Keilor- surely the practice of listening to opposing coaches isn't becoming outlawed. If Keilor sought to see off other teams supporters wanting to see and hear Mick in action we'd need a bus load of security guards.

And who was the fool wearing No.8 for Abers? Absolute goose running around hitting the smallest opposition players on the ground. This clown met his match with his opposite No.8 and when he returned to the ground after being patched up he played reasonable footy.

yeah make them move up when majority of the players left.
when they weren't getting any decent players in
yeah , i don't think it was the edfl's smartest move

End of the day, teams cannot choose what division they want to play in, they get promoted they go up it is as easy as that

The EDFL cannot start letting sides stay down, it will ruin the league

End of the day, teams cannot choose what division they want to play in, they get promoted they go up it is as easy as that

The EDFL cannot start letting sides stay down, it will ruin the league

Exactly right. As unbalanced as it has turned out this year, what would happen if Oak Park, for some reason, decided that they loved the feeling of winning the GF and decided to apply to stay down. I am not suggesting this for a second, but you could have a situation where a club is happy to stay in B Grade and win a couple of flags in a row, and the bottom A-Grade side really needs to come down to rebuild and be competitive. I think this year is an anomoly where the OP is the strongest A-Grade club to come down for a long time, and kept the majority of their squad, and the team that has gone up was definitley not ready even though they earned the right. I am sure every B-Grade team wants to win the flag but maybe you have to plan two or three years ahead so that you are ready when the day comes. Also let's not forget how hard it is to win a flag, B-Grade or A-Grade, just ask Tulla.

Lucky for Douttas that Marbys kicking was very inaccurate,mind you the wind was howling across the ground so it was difficult.
There physical presence around stoppages is very good and with the addition of bullen they have some good hard ball nuts.Heath Ayres destroyed them on the weekend and I reckon himself and greenvales Dennis bicer are two of the biggest ball magnets in park football.
Heath Ayres and Travis Jorgenson are the 2 best players going around in A grade along with Carey is he still playing does anyone know. Heard Avondale really pushed Greenvale on Saturday and if it wasnt for a bad spell in the third they should have finished closer, did anyone see the game ?

How is that crap? You clearly don't have an understanding of what is going on behind closed doors in this circumstance. Not long ago at all, Glenroy were in a very rough spot for a number of years with their lack of resources and were struggling to keep their head above water. New administration and better financial management has helped keep the Roys afloat however the club still has to dedicate much of it's expenditure to off- field neccessities. This has mean't that through their re- building phase they haven't had the monetary excess of the bigger clubs to pay- off top quality players. Even the side they possessed last season that won the B- Grade flag was built around playing for the love of the jumper than for the big dollars. Unfortunately, the best and worst thing they did was win a premiership so soon, something that I don't think was forecast. When a side doesn't have the financial capability to recruit quality players, then it doesn't matter how well aware they that they need to recruit, they simply can't. On top of that, the club suffered a mass player exodus. You say they had enough time to retain players, well again, what can the club do? If a player wants to leave, he is going to leave, you can't hold a gun (or in Glenroy's case, a masive pay packet) to his head and make him stay. Yes, Glenroy did apply to stay in B- Grade for these reasons, but it's a credit to them that they didn't make a big song and dance about it and create a publicised scuffle with the EDFL, and just accepted the challenge.

You say they played for the love of the jumper last season, yet hardly any of them are there this year? Why is that?

I bet most of the players that left are playing at other teams for a bit of cash.

Unfortunately i dont think too many of the guys you had there last year were playing for the jumper.

But the guys who stuck around should be commended for having the guts to fight it out, even though they were always going to be up against it to be competetive.

Just a question, how many of the mercenaries from last year will be back playing B Grade footy next year?

J. Kent? Love of the jumper?
D. Campbell? Love of the jumper?

The list goes on.

You say they played for the love of the jumper last season, yet hardly any of them are there this year? Why is that?

I bet most of the players that left are playing at other teams for a bit of cash.

Unfortunately i dont think too many of the guys you had there last year were playing for the jumper.

But the guys who stuck around should be commended for having the guts to fight it out, even though they were always going to be up against it to be competetive.

Just a question, how many of the mercenaries from last year will be back playing B Grade footy next year?

The list goes on.

I did intend for that to be used as more of a general metaphor than in the absolute literal sense. Basically Glenroy weren't bandying around big money for players, so the blokes were there because there was a good group of guys who made it an enjoyable club to be around. I admit it came out wrong on my part.

As for the guys returning, I hope Glenroy turns them away quick smart, wouldn't be surprised if a large portion of the guys who have toughed it this year would be out the door if the club let those blokes back.

The list goes on.

I think most of you are on the wrong track!
It was not the EDFL that forced Glenroy into A Grade
They were given the opportunity to remain in B grade but their President and Vice president openly stated that they earned the right to be promoted (and rightly so) and would go down that path. The EDFL offered Oak Park the A grade spot ,which they accepted, if Glenroy would prefer to stay in B grade. Common sense did not prevail and we ended up with a non competitive A grade club and a one sided B grade competition. In my opinion the EDFL should have done what would have been best for all and left Glenroy in B grade and let Oak Park stay in A grade. Once again the EDFL Board avoided making the hard call and have now paid the PRICE!

Very disappointing on Saturday for Keilor supporters, interested in hearing Dean Rioli address Aberfeldie at three quarter time, to be abused by a person believed to be the Aberfeldie President. There was only about 10 supporters at the huddle and eight were from Keilor- surely the practice of listening to opposing coaches isn't becoming outlawed. If Keilor sought to see off other teams supporters wanting to see and hear Mick in action we'd need a bus load of security guards.

What happended here? Can someone post the scores up too (every week if possible). Was it just an unprovoked thing or what? Hard to keep up overseas...well better go work on my tan, dont wanna come back looking as paisty as paddy larkins.

They were given the opportunity to remain in B grade but their President and Vice president openly stated that they earned the right to be promoted (and rightly so) and would go down that path. The EDFL offered Oak Park the A grade spot ,which they accepted, if Glenroy would prefer to stay in B grade. Common sense did not prevail and we ended up with a non competitive A grade club and a one sided B grade competition. In my opinion the EDFL should have done what would have been best for all and left Glenroy in B grade and let Oak Park stay in A grade. Once again the EDFL Board avoided making the hard call and have now paid the PRICE!

I'd like to know who your sources are for this.

Heath Ayres and Travis Jorgenson are the 2 best players going around in A grade along with Carey is he still playing does anyone know. Heard Avondale really pushed Greenvale on Saturday and if it wasnt for a bad spell in the third they should have finished closer, did anyone see the game ?

Heath Ayres is by far the best player in the competition. Some of the things he does on the footy field is unbelievable.

Kade would be up there but is just to injury prone. Hopefully he gets himself right as he plays a very important role is how far doutta stars goes next year. If Kade does not play next year they could be in a lot of trouble as he provides just as much structure off the field as he does on.

What happended here? Can someone post the scores up too (every week if possible). Was it just an unprovoked thing or what? Hard to keep up overseas...well better go work on my tan, dont wanna come back looking as paisty as paddy larkins.

At three quarter time and with Keilor leading by 120pts a number of Keilor supporters went over to listen to Dean Rioli. There was very few Aberfeldie supporters at the huddle and one of the Keilor people was identifiable in that he was wearing a KFC T shirt. he was confronted by a person wearing an Aberfeldie scarf (I was told later this was the Aberfeldie President) and told to F**k off to his own team. The president was accompanied by one of the Aberfeldie runners or waterboys (I'm not sure which but he was wearing a flouro vest) who repeated the abuse. The Keilor person responded with a probably inappropriate reply, but remained at the huddle. The confrontation continued as both parties left the ground at the end of the three quarter time break. I understand that that the Aberfeldie President would have been bitterly disappointed with their position at the time but I don't think there would be a match played where some of the opposition supporters go to listen to opposition coaches at the breaks. It's all part of local footy, but if senior club officials are going to react in this manner it's only a matter of time before we get front page headlines.
If a club is worrying about "spying" just get a few officals to hold a rope barrier around the playing group to distance spectators.

Heath Ayres is by far the best player in the competition. Some of the things he does on the footy field is unbelievable.

Kade would be up there but is just to injury prone. Hopefully he gets himself right as he plays a very important role is how far doutta stars goes next year. If Kade does not play next year they could be in a lot of trouble as he provides just as much structure off the field as he does on.

Agree Heath Ayres is a gun but i would take Jorgenson hands down. Key position player so much more valuable. the things he does on a footy field are remarkable. if kade is at his best consistently i would take him next then heath ayres.

i dont understand how the edfl have now paid the price.
the only thing that has happened is what happens every year, the bottom A grade club goes down, and the B grade premiers go up.
if they had of over ruled and made the 2 teams stay in their respective grades, then all that would of happened would be another B grade team would of won this year, gone to A grade and get there arses handed to them like we have at glenroy this year, and the a grade team that gets relegated would go back to B grade and smash everyone like oak park is this year.

No team in B grade(minus Oak park) can be competitive at A grade standard, and it dont look like changing anytime soon.

All that seems to be happening here is B grade teams complaining because there is a team in there division that stops them from having a chance of winning a premiership.

Maybe these teams should stop whining and spend more time trying to work out a way to beat oak park and go to A grade the old fashion way and win a premiership.

At three quarter time and with Keilor leading by 120pts a number of Keilor supporters went over to listen to Dean Rioli. There was very few Aberfeldie supporters at the huddle and one of the Keilor people was identifiable in that he was wearing a KFC T shirt. he was confronted by a person wearing an Aberfeldie scarf (I was told later this was the Aberfeldie President) and told to F**k off to his own team. The president was accompanied by one of the Aberfeldie runners or waterboys (I'm not sure which but he was wearing a flouro vest) who repeated the abuse. The Keilor person responded with a probably inappropriate reply, but remained at the huddle. The confrontation continued as both parties left the ground at the end of the three quarter time break. I understand that that the Aberfeldie President would have been bitterly disappointed with their position at the time but I don't think there would be a match played where some of the opposition supporters go to listen to opposition coaches at the breaks. It's all part of local footy, but if senior club officials are going to react in this manner it's only a matter of time before we get front page headlines.
If a club is worrying about "spying" just get a few officals to hold a rope barrier around the playing group to distance spectators.

If this occured how you describe it then it is not a great result, however before you continue to cast dispersions on people, can you make sure you know who you are talking about.

I assume by President you mean the President of the football club, being John Larkins, a man from whom such a reaction would appear to be extremely out of character.

So please either go and confirm who it was that did this or stop guessing at who the person was.

If this occured how you describe it then it is not a great result, however before you continue to cast dispersions on people, can you make sure you know who you are talking about.

I assume by President you mean the President of the football club, being John Larkins, a man from whom such a reaction would appear to be extremely out of character.

So please either go and confirm who it was that did this or stop guessing at who the person was.

I'm not guessing- I was reliably informed....he was a tall bloke, white hair about 60 years old- had an Aberfeldie scarf around his neck.....

Has any one from A grade ever seen a B grade game all this crap that it would be the most even comp ever if glenroy were allowed to stay in b grade cragieburn got beat by 200 points avondale and abers are a disgrace for the money they spend would be on par with top 4 in b grade and the glenroy kept the same side as last year would not of finished on bottom this yr in A grade and minus a couple of players 90 percent of last years team loved the club and could of played else where for a lot more but when teams from country offer blokes 900 hundred a game we cannot compete and just for the record glenroy wouldn of paid anywhere near tulla, taylors ,airport west and a couple of others did last yr

For the money Avondale or Abers spend how would you know ? Yes seen B grade and if Avondale / Abers played anyone in B grade besides Oak Park they would flog them. I mean how much money do you think they spend ? I know for a fact they would spend half the money Keilor, Marby and Greenvale spend. I saw Glenroy in the Grand Final last year and they would struggle again with that side.

For the money Avondale or Abers spend how would you know ? Yes seen B grade and if Avondale / Abers played anyone in B grade besides Oak Park they would flog them. I mean how much money do you think they spend ? I know for a fact they would spend half the money Keilor, Mabry and Greenvale spend. I saw Glenroy in the Grand Final last year and they would struggle again with that side.

A fella from Abers told me on Saturday that they had 90k to spend this year. (The fella has the same surname as that that big white company that runs along the freeway opposite westfield) If that helps with your debate.

Agree Heath Ayres is a gun but i would take Jorgenson hands down. Key position player so much more valuable. the things he does on a footy field are remarkable. if kade is at his best consistently i would take him next then heath ayres.

I agree Travis Jorgonson is the most talented player hands down.
Mikka James is also pretty freakish and exciting and so is Kade when he's up and running but in my opinion the best impact player in the league has got to be Dennis Bicer. I've seen him win games almost single handedly on many occasions over the years..

Who are the best impact players in the comp?

For the money Avondale or Abers spend how would you know ? Yes seen B grade and if Avondale / Abers played anyone in B grade besides Oak Park they would flog them. I mean how much money do you think they spend ? I know for a fact they would spend half the money Keilor, Marby and Greenvale spend. I saw Glenroy in the Grand Final last year and they would struggle again with that side.
you are kidding yourself even if we didn beat abers or avondale with our side last year we would of been within 5 goals and we prb spent under 30 grand so go spend another 60 on rubbish and still finish in bottom 3 just because you think A Grade sides are invicible the bottom sides are not as good as everyone leads on

with all the talk about glenroys uncompetitiveness in a grade this year also in the nfl thomastown have performed the same in a grade and the teams that are always in the lower end of the b grade ladder such as nthn saints moonee valley east keilor in the edfl and west heidelberg reservoir panton hill in the nfl i suggest that the edfl wrfl and the edfl merge to form a super comp of the northern and western suburbs. some of the pros would be that every team will be competitive thus attracting more supporters and sponsors and the cons would be more travel for players and the fact that the leagues would never let it happen and that some clubs would be against it. anyways i thought i would put my take on how it could be structured and before anybody bites my head off because i may have under or over estimated their club this is just a guess

DIVISION 1: Greenvale marby park northcote park keilor heidelberg nth heidelberg spotswood port colts bundoora

DIVISION 2: lalor strathmore albion west coburg douttas sunshine aberfeldie hoppers crossing craigieburn montmerency

DIVISION 3: Oak park west preston greensborough glenorden parkside avondale heights diamond creek macloed tullamrine eltham airport west

DIVISION 4: hadfield keilor park lower plenty fitzroy stars whittlesea nth footscray albanvale epping sunshine heights thomastown west footscray

DIVISION 5: braybrook roxburgh park sydenham jacana westmeadows laverton yarraville hurstbridge deer park watsonia mernda pakside(nfl)

DIVISION 6: reservoir west heidelberg nthn saints east keilor wyndamvale coburg districts south morang nth sunshine panton hill moonee valley

like i said just a rough guess as to what division sides should be in but would ensure all clubs would be competitive thus attracting players would be easier. and also maybe some of the clubs in the ammos might be intererested in joining such as nth and west brunswick werribee amateurs banyule ivanhoe old ess grammar fitzroy fc etc.

sick of my club getting a belting every week.....this way we would be playing agaist sides just like ours.

I am close personal friends with a very high up committee member at Glenroy who has told me contrary to Eagle One's claims.

You can't be too close Hero or you would know the truth. I repeat... Glenroy were given the opportunity to remain in B grade as the EDFL knew they were struggling with seniors as well as under 18's. The Glenroy President and another high ranking official met the EDFL board and insisted they remain in A grade. FACT..... Although it has never happened, the EDFL board has the power to over ride the promotion and relegation system if they see fit... another FACT..Also Oak Park offered to stay in A grade also a FACT...Glenroy has done a fair job in getting reserves and seniors to come up week after week despite the scoreboard , but it is the under 18 A grade comp. that is suffering especially when two clubs cannot field a side.

Eagle one is 100% correct. The glenroy president and another committeeman told the edfl that they would CATEGORICALLY go up to A grade. It was a noble decision but a mistake. The decision by the board and coach not to recruit heavily has hurt them. Players left and and it has become an unfortunate situation for everyone. We flogged them this year but their players have to be commended.