EDFL moves Part 2

yes west coburg

Marby is worse than west coburg.... at least west is flat!!!

Well done to Glenroy....Even when getting flogged always played game in right spirit which is a testament to the coaching staff and players. In saying that Avondale are weak as piss. Not enough players willing to put their head over the footy when it counts.

WELL DONE ROY BOYS! you all played absolutley excellent yesterday
and to number 6 from A.H , your a dog your hit the smallest player on the team , hope you feel real big about yourself mate , your lucky you got sent off because glenroy would of crucified you!!!

Fair call legend!! will be interesting to see what the Heights boys out there think of it all

well as an avondale supporter i can tell you and i speak on behalf of a few too that we did not enjoy that performance yesterday

nothing short of a disgrace really!

full credit to glenroy they played with heart all day and taught us a great lesson...

good luck for b-grade next year, your a good club, with some quality guys there

and if we play like that from now on we'll see ya in 2011

great TEAM effort from the roys on satday, Song was sung as loud as grand final last year the boys done eveyone at the club really proud and reminded a few what local footy is all about

No. 50 for Douttas you DOG!!

What a pathetic act and absolute weakness to hit a bloke behind the play and send him to hospital with a depressed cheekbone. You should be embarrassed and ashamed!

No player should be subjected to that SHIT!!!

Not tough at all – completely weak human effort!

And to the former Bomber coaching this mob – you applauded the effort at 3 quarter time – beggars believe!

Anyway – it’s on film so you’ll cop plenty DOG!!

Disgrace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What exactly happended and to whom mate? Also, was it a good game apart from that? Heard the ressies won as well!

What a pathetic act and absolute weakness to hit a bloke behind the play and send him to hospital with a depressed cheekbone. You should be embarrassed and ashamed!

And to the former Bomber coaching this mob – you applauded the effort at 3 quarter time – beggars believe!

Disgrace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Do you guys tape every game? If you do, the coaching staff must go through plenty of kleenex? So with the win, does this mean Rioli will be signed on again? You were outstanding on the weekend and must be headed for bigger and better things in 2010? Talking finals yet for next year?

I never even mentioned yesterday's result in the post!

I personally love the Abers v Douttas rivalry and the general banter on this site over the years is always a good read but yesterday's behind the play incident was totally against the spirit of the game

Good hard tough footy is why you play but that incident doesn't tick any of those boxes Julia!

Anyway - moving on it should be a cracking finals series

Who will win the flags in both comps?

Credit to Greenvale's performance this year - they haven't had a settled team all year but still keep winning. Class act and very honest team!
Marbi are the buzz unit - quality outfit and look the likely challenger and are desperate for the ultimate A Grade success.
Keilor - injuries to key personnel at the pointy end hasn't helped but have the best coach going. The Tigers did talk to him apparently also!
Strathmore - just making up the numbers or genuine contender? I'd say the latter, they will certainly cause some headaches with their tall timber they just may lack leg speed

I never even mentioned yesterday's result in the post!

I personally love the Abers v Douttas rivalry and the general banter on this site over the years is always a good read but yesterday's behind the play incident was totally against the spirit of the game

Good hard tough footy is why you play but that incident doesn't tick any of those boxes Julia!

Anyway - moving on it should be a cracking finals series

Who will win the flags in both comps?

Credit to Greenvale's performance this year - they haven't had a settled team all year but still keep winning. Class act and very honest team!
Marbi are the buzz unit - quality outfit and look the likely challenger and are desperate for the ultimate A Grade success.
Keilor - injuries to key personnel at the pointy end hasn't helped but have the best coach going. The Tigers did talk to him apparently also!
Strathmore - just making up the numbers or genuine contender? I'd say the latter, they will certainly cause some headaches with their tall timber they just may lack leg speed

That's a pretty fair and accurate summation. As a Strathmore supporter I regard the top 3 teams as very even, with anyone of them able to win the flag.

I think the Mores are probably 3-4 goals behind the others due to lack of depth. Their bottom 5-6 players would not get a game with the other contenders. Finals are a different ball game. Strathmore however would have to play out of their tree to win the flag. They may do it in 1 game, but most unlikely 3 times.

It should be a great finals series though, with some classy teams on show.Hopefully the matches will be close.

Great work by the Roys, were ready to play and play they did. In the end if you dont have the committment for each other your waisting your time. Dont bring yourself down now with stupid comments, Im sure everyone got involved in the blue. You should think about the positives and move on. About Avondale unfortunetly thats where they are at. So celebrate the win and good luck in B grade.

What exactly happended and to whom mate? Also, was it a good game apart from that? Heard the ressies won as well!

Steve McKee elbowed in face off the ball. He was in hospital yesterday having surgery to repair a fractured cheekbone/ eye socket.

Wasnt at the game but from all reports was an absolute cowards act.

Dissapointing to here barnes had wrapped the bloke up at 3qt huddle. Would think that once he looks at footage his opinion will change.

Hopefully bloke gets plenty and we get these sort of people out of the league.

Also congratulations to the Glenroy boys. Hopefully they are still hungover this weekend!

Weekend just gets better with King Hits.
This is not good for the EDFL, and I am glad by all reports that Marby Under 16's side is not playing Northern Saints in the grand final next week.

Go Marby!

From Herald Sun Article on there web page

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,25939912-661,00.html#submit-feedback

Junior footy player hit with mallet at Tullamarine, Northern Spirits

August 17, 2009 10:03am
.JUNIOR footballers cowered in fear in their dressing rooms after a player was bashed with a mallet in an all-in suburban brawl yesterday.

The 17-year-old player suffered a broken jaw at the start of a a mass brawl after a suburban football match in Greenvale yesterday afternoon.

The fight started after a preliminary final between Tullamarine and Northern Saints under 16s teams about 4pm.

The teams, that both play in the division 3 of the Essendon District Football League, clashed after the siren when Tullamarine won by eight points.

Tullamarine had come from behind to win the match.

Witnesses claim angry Northern Saints spectators spilled out onto the field with at least one armed with a weapon believed to be a rubber mallet.

Other players and supporters from the Northern Saints and Tullamarine clubs were also injured in the melee as the large crowd erupted in fury and scores of people ran onto the Greenvale reserve.

Shocked witnesses say they watched in horror as the 17-year-old Tullamarine player youth was king-hit from behind after the siren in the under-16s match.

As the player slumped unconscious on the turf with a suspected broken jaw, Sunday afternoon mayhem erupted around him.

The Tullamarine club has blamed a Northern Saints player for triggering the brawl, the Northern Saints say they don’t know who the culprit was.

Several police cars raced to the Greenvale Recreation Reserve in a bid to restore order, as paramedics treated the boy for a broken jaw.

Other players reported being bruised and battered as the rolling brawl continued.

Advanced life support paramedic Matt Camm said he arrived to a chaotic scene and it was hard to initially work out how many people were injured.

“There were lots of people everywhere, scattered over a large area,” he said.

He said the team were taken to the 17-year-old assault victim, and were told he had been unconscious.

The youth had suffered possible fractures to his upper body.

“A neck brace was fitted given there was potential for him to have suffered a spinal injury in the assault,” Mr Camm said.

The youth is now recovering in the Northern Hospital.

Steve McKee elbowed in face off the ball.

I was at the game but like a few it seems missed the incident,but yeah from what ive been told it was no good and something that the player from us is going to have to deal with as the ramifications may not be that good for him.

Anyway moving on from that it was a sh1thouse game and no im not saying that because we lost and i recognise it was difficult conditions but both teams skills were ordinary,would have been great if there was no wind and we had a bit of a shootout as it wasnt a bad day apart from the 100km breeze.Full forward from Abers played really well and was good to watch but apart from him other good players from both teams only showed a bit every now and then.

Our second half of the year has been disapointing but as a whole im very happy with the signs down at the club both on and of the field,still a way to go but yeah some pleasing signs :)

Now onto the finals well like most i would have put the top 3 well ahead of the mores but i think that the mores are closing the gap and maybe be half a chance to atleast make a granny but yeah looks like it will be a ripper of a finals series,hopefully the weather is good and we see some really good games,see ya'll there ;)

THE DREBSTER

This is not good for the EDFL, and I am glad by all reports that Marby Under 16's side is not playing Northern Saints in the grand final next week.

Go Marby!

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,25939912-661,00.html#submit-feedback

.JUNIOR footballers cowered in fear in their dressing rooms after a player was bashed with a mallet in an all-in suburban brawl yesterday.

The 17-year-old player suffered a broken jaw at the start of a a mass brawl after a suburban football match in Greenvale yesterday afternoon.

The fight started after a preliminary final between Tullamarine and Northern Saints under 16s teams about 4pm.

The teams, that both play in the division 3 of the Essendon District Football League, clashed after the siren when Tullamarine won by eight points.

Witnesses claim angry Northern Saints spectators spilled out onto the field with at least one armed with a weapon believed to be a rubber mallet.

Other players and supporters from the Northern Saints and Tullamarine clubs were also injured in the melee as the large crowd erupted in fury and scores of people ran onto the Greenvale reserve.

Shocked witnesses say they watched in horror as the 17-year-old Tullamarine player youth was king-hit from behind after the siren in the under-16s match.

As the player slumped unconscious on the turf with a suspected broken jaw, Sunday afternoon mayhem erupted around him.

The Tullamarine club has blamed a Northern Saints player for triggering the brawl, the Northern Saints say they don’t know who the culprit was.

Several police cars raced to the Greenvale Recreation Reserve in a bid to restore order, as paramedics treated the boy for a broken jaw.

Other players reported being bruised and battered as the rolling brawl continued.

Advanced life support paramedic Matt Camm said he arrived to a chaotic scene and it was hard to initially work out how many people were injured.

He said the team were taken to the 17-year-old assault victim, and were told he had been unconscious.

“A neck brace was fitted given there was potential for him to have suffered a spinal injury in the assault,” Mr Camm said.

Was he an ethnic, the guy that hit the kid? Because it's funny how incidents like this occur amongst fans of clubs with heavy ethnic demographics. Coincidence?

Disgrace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Typical Doutta Stars! ! !

Just goes to show you that Barnes is a joke of a coach and as long as he is their they will go nowhere ,have another beer Barnsey you DUD!

He was quick to have a go and lag in Brodie Holland during the year but it all changes when one of his players king hits as reported.
Grow up you a senior coach and supposed to lead by example you dud.
As for no 50 hope he goes for plenty, what a hero and big man he is!

well as an avondale supporter i can tell you and i speak on behalf of a few too that we did not enjoy that performance yesterday

nothing short of a disgrace really!

full credit to glenroy they played with heart all day and taught us a great lesson...

good luck for b-grade next year, your a good club, with some quality guys there

and if we play like that from now on we'll see ya in 2011
Sounds like a miracle has occurred Glenroy must really rate themselves and be happy with 1 win for the year. Interesting how Avondale will react against Marby in the last game to see if they have any character at all. This will truly show where the clubs at. Got some quality people there but also some people that need to be moved on. You cant beat Douttas by 8 goals and then get beat the next week and not even put in. They are a Club that will always get these results along with Abers until they recruit top players not B graders. The same old story pay peanuts get monkeys.

Typical Doutta Stars! ! !

Just goes to show you that Barnes is a joke of a coach and as long as he is their they will go nowhere ,have another beer Barnsey you DUD!

He was quick to have a go and lag in Brodie Holland during the year but it all changes when one of his players king hits as reported.
Grow up you a senior coach and supposed to lead by example you dud.
As for no 50 hope he goes for plenty, what a hero and big man he is!

So are you saying the one week your coach got for king hitting a bloke was enough??

Go Marby!

the footage of the incident is on the 3aw website

Great work by the Roys, were ready to play and play they did. In the end if you dont have the committment for each other your waisting your time. Dont bring yourself down now with stupid comments, Im sure everyone got involved in the blue. You should think about the positives and move on. About Avondale unfortunetly thats where they are at. So celebrate the win and good luck in B grade.
that whole fight started because number six hit one of our guys and than everyone got involved. so if that guy hadn't of hit someone from glenroy , that fight wouldn't of happened

So are you saying the one week your coach got for king hitting a bloke was enough??

This has nothing to do with that, by the way he actually got 2 weeks and then another 2 weeks off because Barnes took it further (lagger).
What this is about a coach applauding his player who has just kinghit an opposition player, get it!.

This has nothing to do with that, by the way he actually got 2 weeks and then another 2 weeks off because Barnes took it further (lagger).
What this is about a coach applauding his player who has just kinghit an opposition player, get it!.

without knowing what happened on the weekend i cant comment but i did see the brodie holland king hit and it was very much a cowards act so this must of been a bad hit to be compared