Egan update

Would be very ironic if he made it back for the 2008 granny. all the best for the big fella, not really fussed when he gets back, so long as he gets back at some stage.

From today's addy

Egan on the mend

Michael Auciello

12Jun08

GEELONG defender Matthew Egan has returned from Sydney, where he has had surgery which the club is hoping will solve his persistent foot problems.

Captain Tom Harley said yesterday the 24-year-old had returned with a lot of confidence that the foot was finally on the mend.

"He's going really well. He came back from Sydney on Monday and he was great. He said he's got no pain in his foot, he's seen the X-rays and the scans and he said it looks so much better than what it did when he went in," Harley said.

"He's had a screw taken out, he's had a bone graft. I don't really know (the exact details).

"He's really buoyed and optimistic about his future. He had the operation and stayed in Sydney for about eight or nine days and now it's basically just let it heal.

"He won't be doing any sort of training, whether it's cardio work or anything, I don't think for a couple of months, he's just going to really take it pretty slow.

"He'll be around the footy club, he doesn't want to inundate himself with footy. I don't reckon he'll go to all the games, but he'll be involved as much as he wants to.

"I think people have to respect that too, from a supporters' point of view, if you see him at the footy, say g'day but you have to respect his space, I think."

Harley praised Egan for his determination through his whole recovery, saying he was "a remarkable guy and an inspiring teammate".

Great news, but as for him making it back for the finals, nothing but pipe dreams. Without having had any proper training for close enough to a year Egan's fitness base will not be anywhere near that required to play AFL football. We can only hope his recovery goes well enough to allow him a full preseason. He's still young, and started relatively late, so he's the type of player who could well be around for another 10 years. No sense in rushing things.

One of the crappy things about it being a bone in his foot is that he'll need a lot of regular medical checks meaning he can't go to far from home. I think it would be great for him if he could take six months off and just go and do a few normal young person travel type things to get right away from footy and the club for bit. Was it Wojak who did that?

That injury must be the worst in football; unreliable treatment, can take an eternity to fix, constantly in danger of redoing it in the mean time and ruins your mobility so you go out of your brain with boredom.

Having said that, if can get back he won't be wasting a moment of his career and he'll feel like he could do anything.

I was lucky enough to meet Egan's father tonight who is on a golfing trip (also met him last year on the same trip). He said it will definately be around another 12 months till he's playing again. Whilst this comes as no surprise, it's just nice to hear it from a reliable source.

Rest up Matty!

hope he is doing well i cant wait for him to return fully fit :thumbsu::thumbsu::D:D:rolleyes::rolleyes: