sbagman

Fitzroy
Was wondering what people thought of this...

I was talking to someone today about emotions, and they believe (actually I believe it to) that one does not just automatically feel when presented with an external stimulus.... one goes through a series of thoughts that become so automatic we can't even recognise they exist... and the trick to moderating emotional response is through understanding these thought processes and recognising them when they occur so they can be appropriately modified.

Does anyone actually actively do this? Or is it automatic?

Does anyone know what I'm on about?

Cheers,
R.

I thought the "man" in sbagMAN was a masculine suffix?

Moderating emmotional responses? That's like trying to moderate your smell responses. Emmotions are just tools. A sense like hearing or taste. They aren't who you are. Only girls (and males with psych problems) believe they "become" their emmotions. Thank God we cannot become what we are smelling, eh? Especially in a crowded elevator.

The "trick" (presuming you are neither a girl nor a psych - and thus have hope) is to "observe" your emmotion as it takes place. Then, put it in a large place - like a football stadium or something like that. Imagine the emmotion is a small player way down on the football field and it is shouting up trying to tell you something. Pay attention to what it tells you, but remember it is a tool, a small thing, and it is not you.

BTW: Do the same thing with your "mind." Your thoughts and thinking aren't who you are either. Put that mind "person" down there at mid-field with the emmotion "footy player." Pay attention to both. They are valuable tools. Once you have got in the good habit of "observing" your mind and your emmotions, ask yourself who the hell it is doing all this observing in the first place. That's who you are. ;)

Peace,

Originally posted by Mooster7

Moderating emmotional responses? That's like trying to moderate your smell responses. Emmotions are just tools. A sense like hearing or taste. They aren't who you are. Only girls (and males with psych problems) believe they "become" their emmotions. Thank God we cannot become what we are smelling, eh? Especially in a crowded elevator.

The "trick" (presuming you are neither a girl nor a psych - and thus have hope) is to "observe" your emmotion as it takes place. Then, put it in a large place - like a football stadium or something like that. Imagine the emmotion is a small player way down on the football field and it is shouting up trying to tell you something. Pay attention to what it tells you, but remember it is a tool, a small thing, and it is not you.

BTW: Do the same thing with your "mind." Your thoughts and thinking aren't who you are either. Put that mind "person" down there at mid-field with the emmotion "footy player." Pay attention to both. They are valuable tools. Once you have got in the good habit of "observing" your mind and your emmotions, ask yourself who the hell it is doing all this observing in the first place. That's who you are. ;)

Peace,

I don't know where you got the impression I thought one's emotions were equivalent to who they are, but thanks for you input anyway.

Originally posted by Mooster7

Peace,

I don't know where you got the impression I thought one's emotions were equivalent to who they are, but thanks for your input anyway.

Sbagman,

I didn't have that impression about you. You did mention, ".....trick to moderating emotional responses." and you tied that in with using the mind to do it. My response is not so much a trick but rather the reality of the situation.

As for "becoming the emotions" that is a genuine problem which a great many people have. I mentioned that as well, because I thought/felt it was relevant to the subject. ;) Peace,

Mooster

G'day Rob, nice to see you back, hope the thesis is going well

Anyway, re your statement and questions

I feel that you have narrowed the parameters too much, you talk about external stimuli, but is it not true that many people run through the whole gamut of emotions without undergoing any external influence

Why does a person working at their job suddenly break down crying?

Driving a car someone suddely starts laughing, from no external cause.

Maybe external influences are triggers, or maybe a film for example is a road map for emotions.

Shawshank Redemption for example, emotions by the numbers, we do not control it, they control us, until we exert deliberate and forceful desire to over-ride the emotions to continue with the day-to-day.

Or maybe I've just had TOO much scotch, and the booze is talking?
lol.;)

Anyway, see if you can make sense of what I have said

Originally posted by sbagman

I was talking to someone today about emotions, and they believe (actually I believe it to) that one does not just automatically feel when presented with an external stimulus.... one goes through a series of thoughts that become so automatic we can't even recognise they exist... and the trick to moderating emotional response is through understanding these thought processes and recognising them when they occur so they can be appropriately modified.

Does anyone actually actively do this? Or is it automatic?

Cheers,
R.
Yes I know exactly what you're on about. And I think I somewhat agree.
Your mind is your emotions. What you think about turns into a emotional response. If you can cut out the thoughts, then you can more or less cut out the emotional response all together.

If I say, broke up with my girlfriend (this is purely hyperthetical).
My immediate thought is upset and distressed. Lonely ness and depressing would also kick in. Well if you could control those thoughts, then you would not get that same emotional response.

I dont think anyone would not want emotional responses anyway. Emotions are what make us human. Without emotions we would be dull and boring people. I mean, humour is an emotion (laughter, happyness). Imagine sitting there watchin a comedy movie, and seeing no one laugh at some guy doing 'something' funny! It would just be unnatural.

Originally posted by sbagman

Do you mean the emotional response or your actions caused by that, ie, I get angry, I punch wall instead of I get angry, I take deep breaths?

I'm not sure that you can control emotions at a base level but I do believe you can talk yourself into reacting a certain way given a certain set of stimuli, for example getting pissed off when your wife cleans up and moves all your stuff to where you can't BLOODY WELL FIND IT!!!

But I'd deft anyone to say you could control say the reaction to seeing your child killed. Some things are just hardwired in.

Does anyone actually actively do this?

No :(

Or is it automatic?

Somethimes it is, sometimes it's not.

Cheers,
R.

Have we ever? ;)

Originally posted by TigerTank
I do not have feelings.

lol, try and convince the Shadow of Darkness that oh dark dweller

Emotions are crap. It's all thought processes. Stimulus, response.

Everything we do is a product of our brain. Our "heart", instincts, whatever, all come from cerebral processes.

I'm with your mate sbags - emotions are just a cop out for people who are too lazy to think why they respond in certain ways.

Originally posted by iceman

LOL!!! What an awesome site!!! :D :D

When i first went to happy and sad, i was thinking , this is crap. But when i got to anger, fear, KILL, its hilarious!!! :D

yeah.. hahah.. those are good ones..
donno why.. but with my sense of humour, i could stop laughing at 'invisibility'.. hahahaha.. just silly..

havent checked the updates lately.. is he selling t-shirts yet? haha