List Mgmt. End of Year List Changes

Only posting the Richmond related part, as the article discusses other clubs and players.

North Melbourne, Western Bulldogs and West Coast chasing Richmond defender Tylar Young​

A trio of clubs are chasing a Richmond young gun as the Tigers face a challenge to lock down their long list of defenders. Jon Ralph has the details.

Richmond key defender Tylar Young is being chased by three rivals including North Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs as the Tigers attempt to re-sign their young emerging defenders.

Young defender Campbell Gray has re-signed with the club on a new two-year deal after thriving when he was given a trio of opportunities this season before a June knee injury.

The former mid-season draftee was given chances when Noah Balta was suspended for his summer assault and showed good closing speed to cut down attacking thrusts with his strong spoiling.

Fellow mid-season pick Jacob Blight missed a games-based trigger on his one-year contract and is yet to be offered a deal by the Tigers.
He impressed early on as a key tall who could play at either end and even pinch-hit in the ruck given his huge tank.

Midfielder Thomson Dow has also been told the club will have to wait until they have a better idea of their available list spots before he is told if he is a required player.

Former high level soccer player Young returned from an ACL reconstruction to play the last seven games in Adem Yze’s senior side and rated in the top 20 defenders in the competition in that time.

West Coast is also asking about his availability, with the Roos and Dogs both keen to strengthen their backlines given their issues this season.

Richmond drafted Luke Trainor as a key back this year and had former top 10 draft pick Josh Gibcus returning from injury this year, with Noah Balta also likely to slot back into defence in 2026.

So clubs are aware Richmond has a long list of defenders who might be vulnerable to approaches to get more opportunities elsewhere.

Richmond has already told Kamdyn McIntosh he will not be offered a new contract, while Mate Colina and Jacob Bauer have also been delisted.

Gibcus returned to play half a game in round 24 before being subbed out and at his best could be a dominant centre half back in the league.

He wasn’t thrilled to be subbed out but coach Yze made clear he was a big part of the club’s future.
“He’s such an important player for us and we wanted to give him a taste of AFL footy before the season finished. The discussion was around whether he started as the sub, or we could sub him during the game. The risk of him doing something in the second half, I wouldn’t have been able to go to sleep at night.

So we gave him a taste. He is an AFL player, he’s a massive part of our future and that was always going to be the plan (subbing him off). We didn’t tell him that and that’s why he was a bit frustrated.”

Only posting the Richmond related part, as the article discusses other clubs and players.​

North Melbourne, Western Bulldogs and West Coast chasing Richmond defender Tylar Young​

A trio of clubs are chasing a Richmond young gun as the Tigers face a challenge to lock down their long list of defenders. Jon Ralph has the details.

Richmond key defender Tylar Young is being chased by three rivals including North Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs as the Tigers attempt to re-sign their young emerging defenders.

Young defender Campbell Gray has re-signed with the club on a new two-year deal after thriving when he was given a trio of opportunities this season before a June knee injury.

The former mid-season draftee was given chances when Noah Balta was suspended for his summer assault and showed good closing speed to cut down attacking thrusts with his strong spoiling.

Fellow mid-season pick Jacob Blight missed a games-based trigger on his one-year contract and is yet to be offered a deal by the Tigers.
He impressed early on as a key tall who could play at either end and even pinch-hit in the ruck given his huge tank.

Midfielder Thomson Dow has also been told the club will have to wait until they have a better idea of their available list spots before he is told if he is a required player.

Former high level soccer player Young returned from an ACL reconstruction to play the last seven games in Adem Yze’s senior side and rated in the top 20 defenders in the competition in that time.

West Coast is also asking about his availability, with the Roos and Dogs both keen to strengthen their backlines given their issues this season.

Richmond drafted Luke Trainor as a key back this year and had former top 10 draft pick Josh Gibcus returning from injury this year, with Noah Balta also likely to slot back into defence in 2026.

So clubs are aware Richmond has a long list of defenders who might be vulnerable to approaches to get more opportunities elsewhere.

Richmond has already told Kamdyn McIntosh he will not be offered a new contract, while Mate Colina and Jacob Bauer have also been delisted.

Gibcus returned to play half a game in round 24 before being subbed out and at his best could be a dominant centre half back in the league.

He wasn’t thrilled to be subbed out but coach Yze made clear he was a big part of the club’s future.
“He’s such an important player for us and we wanted to give him a taste of AFL footy before the season finished. The discussion was around whether he started as the sub, or we could sub him during the game. The risk of him doing something in the second half, I wouldn’t have been able to go to sleep at night.

So we gave him a taste. He is an AFL player, he’s a massive part of our future and that was always going to be the plan (subbing him off). We didn’t tell him that and that’s why he was a bit frustrated.”

Regarding Gibcus stupid player management by Yze

not telling him that he would be on managed minutes for the game which is standard practice even in the VFL

The shock and subsequent disappointment after being subbed out was clearly visible and then for Yze to come out and tout how much of a big part of the future of the club Gibcus, what a pedestrian effort.

The excuse he gave in the presser was he could not live with himself if Gibcus got injured in the last half of the game.

Seriously that tells this young player you have no confidence in his body with a player that was feeling no symptoms or injury awareness. You cannot coach if you are scared of shadows Yze and projecting some type of Munchausen syndrome by proxy is not great for you the club or the player in question.

Dunne you are a dunce if you extend this blokes contract for another year, he is still contracted one which Yze was happy to sign for three years so let it play out and see what transpires at the end of 2026. If Yze shows real promise then signing him up again it is no problem he ain't going anywhere.

not telling him that he would be on managed minutes for the game which is standard practice even in the VFL

The shock and subsequent disappointment after being subbed out was clearly visible and then for Yze to come out and tout how much of a big part of the future of the club Gibcus, what a pedestrian effort.

The excuse he gave in the presser was he could not live with himself if Gibcus got injured in the last half of the game.

Seriously that tells this young player you have no confidence in his body with a player that was feeling no symptoms or injury awareness. You cannot coach if you are scared of shadows Yze and projecting some type of Munchausen syndrome by proxy is not great for you the club or the player in question.

Dunne you are a dunce if you extend this blokes contract for another year, he is still contracted one which Yze was happy to sign for three years so let it play out and see what transpires at the end of 2026. If Yze shows real promise then signing him up again it is no problem he ain't going anywhere.

Couldn’t be further from the truth

You’ve got this the wrong way around.

Tell him he’s going to be subbed and he doesn’t go into the game fully prepared as he thinks it’s a token gesture. Don’t play him at all and he mentality hits a low looking at a further 6 months for his next chance.

Give him a game without reserve so he enters with the intent to do the best he can. Sub him on the basis that he is nowhere near AFL match fitness. Deal with the initial shock and disappointment but explain we want him there round 1 next year. Motivate him for the next 6 months.

You’ve got this the wrong way around.

Tell him he’s going to be subbed and he doesn’t go into the game fully prepared as he thinks it’s a token gesture. Don’t play him at all and he mentality hits a low looking at a further 6 months for his next chance.

Give him a game without reserve so he enters with the intent to do the best he can. Sub him on the basis that he is nowhere near AFL match fitness. Deal with the initial shock and disappointment but explain we want him there round 1 next year. Motivate him for the next 6 months.
Players get told they are on managed minutes all the time

The coach is a poor player manager just look at Gibcus reaction totally ignored the coach on the bench
and if he did not think that would be the reaction from a player that has done everything possible to get back on the park
then Yze does not know his players very well and certainly not one who he believes is pivotal going forward.

You have the players reaction and then you have the coach trying to cover his backside in the interview.
Just amateurish coaching.

1756726044200.png

Players get told they are on managed minutes all the time

The coach is a poor player manager just look at Gibcus reaction totally ignored the coach on the bench
and if he did not think that would be the reaction from a player that has done everything possible to get back on the park
then Yze does not know his players very well and certainly not one who he believes is pivotal going forward.

You have the players reaction and then you have the coach trying to cover his backside in the interview.
Just amateurish coaching.

View attachment 2413891
Show me on the doll where Adem hurt you...

Player disappointed after being subbed = coaching issue. Fair dinkum. Listen to any of the players speak - they rate the coach. Cherry picking this example makes your irrational hate come to the surface. Whether he ends up being any good or not is way too early to tell. Not extending his contract even by 12 months so he has to weigh up developing and exposing youth to the rigours of senior footy or just playing more experienced guys with lower ceilings is counter productive to the end goal. You won't see it though, you've made up your mind. Can't handle a rebuild...

Show me on the doll where Adem hurt you...

Player disappointed after being subbed = coaching issue. Fair dinkum. Listen to any of the players speak - they rate the coach. Cherry picking this example makes your irrational hate come to the surface. Whether he ends up being any good or not is way too early to tell. Not extending his contract even by 12 months so he has to weigh up developing and exposing youth to the rigours of senior footy or just playing more experienced guys with lower ceilings is counter productive to the end goal. You won't see it though, you've made up your mind. Can't handle a rebuild...
Hate oh that got me Fair dinkum even sounds Australian.

The woke virus

You can be critical on how one performs their duty without hating the individual.

Its a feeble mind that cannot separate the two.

The woke virus

You can be critical on how one performs their duty without hating the individual.

Has Yze made any positive decision this year or could any positive thing that has happened this year at the club be attributed at least in part to Yze?

Yes he has, he has improved our short ball game and generally our player density.

The second point not as evident as his forward half centric game that structure gets cut up by opposition coaches
far too easily leaving us looking like we are guarding dead space in zones.

He has shown the ability to change his game play style from his earlier centre corridor handball chain link style which when your team is running on top of the ground will win you 20 games in a season.

One year to go let us see what he can produce.

The woke virus

The example you used showed the hate...

Plenty of other examples would have been more relevant than that one.

Refusal to tag dominant players, lack of rotations of other guys through the midfield, ball movement etc would be general examples to use... but he didn't tell the player he was going to sub him even though that was the plan is a feeble example indeed. This happens week in week out across multiple clubs. The plans don't always work because player x gets injured or player Y is having a better game, or less TOG etc etc That's the example you chose ;)

C'mon, let it all out. It's ok. You don't like him. Maybe you preferred Mini, who knows. 1 extra year or even two won't kill us. The mission is to get 40-50 games into our kids as quickly and responsibly as possible so they are primed for a climb up the ladder. Don't need a Clarkson to be coach to do that (oops, bad example ;))...

Will the rebuild coach survive all the way to finals and flags - doubtful in my opinion but he's the guy for the next 1-2 at least. Get a senior coaching director by all means, get some new assistants as well. We just can't deviate from getting games into youth and coaching for your job usually doesn't promote that in first coaches contracts.

dunno why gibcus was so shocked, if we're honest he was in like to get subbed anyway based on his output.
Exactly! 👍
Cry me a river.
Always some player - seemingly a few at our club - crying about being subbed or taken off.
It’s been happening
since footy was first played.
FFS he got gifted the game anyway.

The example you used showed the hate...

Plenty of other examples would have been more relevant than that one.

Refusal to tag dominant players, lack of rotations of other guys through the midfield, ball movement etc would be general examples to use... but he didn't tell the player he was going to sub him even though that was the plan is a feeble example indeed. This happens week in week out across multiple clubs. The plans don't always work because player x gets injured or player Y is having a better game, or less TOG etc etc That's the example you chose ;)

C'mon, let it all out. It's ok. You don't like him. Maybe you preferred Mini, who knows. 1 extra year or even two won't kill us. The mission is to get 40-50 games into our kids as quickly and responsibly as possible so they are primed for a climb up the ladder. Don't need a Clarkson to be coach to do that (oops, bad example ;))...

Will the rebuild coach survive all the way to finals and flags - doubtful in my opinion but he's the guy for the next 1-2 at least. Get a senior coaching director by all means, get some new assistants as well. We just can't deviate from getting games into youth and coaching for your job usually doesn't promote that in first coaches contracts.
Ok so you know I hate him

congratulations you have show god like ability to read someones heart

but others might look at emotive language and go hmmm has not said anything hateful about Adem

pretty critical of his coaching though.

I hope he does survive because it means the football club has not wasted a tonne of resources.

Gibcus was a sook and showed a lack of dicipline. Anyone with a functioning noggin would know they were likely to be a sub coming of an injury.

Not a good look hence for Gibcus the club and the coach that is why you get the media sniffing around for player discontentment little hit pieces.

But he was always on managed minutes and not told. He is a competitive beast it should have been spelt out like it is to nearly every other player that is on managed minutes.

And the bad optics does not happen, like a well run club would do.

Same as Kmac's retirement I said its bad that this was leaked out a well run club does not do that to a two time premiership player he should get the respect to make the announcement and I got all this negative feedback which is fine it is a public forum for people to express their views. Did not change my view.

But what was the first thing out of KMac's mouth, he was disappointed he could not tell his close friends personally and to the team.

Not a good look hence for Gibcus the club and the coach that is why you get the media sniffing around for player discontentment little hit pieces.

But he was always on managed minutes and not told. He is a competitive beast it should have been spelt out like it is to nearly every other player that is on managed minutes.

And the bad optics does not happen, like a well run club would do.

Same as Kmac's retirement I said its bad that this was leaked out a well run club does not do that to a two time premiership player he should get the respect to make the announcement and I got all this negative feedback which is fine it is a public forum for people to express their views. Did not change my view.

But what was the first thing out of KMac's mouth, he was disappointed he could not tell his close friends personally and to the team.

Yes on Kmac but I don't think it's a good method to tell someone they will be subbed off before the game.

Yes he has, he has improved our short ball game and generally our player density.

The second point not as evident as his forward half centric game that structure gets cut up by opposition coaches
far too easily leaving us looking like we are guarding dead space in zones.

He has shown the ability to change his game play style from his earlier centre corridor handball chain link style which when your team is running on top of the ground will win you 20 games in a season.

One year to go let us see what he can produce.

3 years, you mean!

North Melbourne, Western Bulldogs and West Coast are all reportedly chasing Richmond defender Tylar Young, according to Jon Ralph.
With Vlastuin, Broad and Short in their 30s and Balta looking more and more like a utility this year I think there will be plenty of opportunity for Young, Gray and Gibcus moving forward

I don't think Young is an UFA??

The woke virus

Lindsay Lohan Lol GIF by MOODMAN

List Mgmt. End of Year List Changes