Toast Esava

He's a significantly better kick than Walker. Esava's style is text book perfect.
The guy just needs some time to put it all together. He's a massive unit and they always take years to build on their tank.
No it's not it's flawed from hand to foot is not great and needs to keep leg straight

Esava becoming one of the most divisive players on our list; personally I find it bizarre, a sub-50 game KF who despite managing to have more impact last night than all of Dangerfield, Duncan and Hawkins is still somehow targeted by large sections of our supporter base after the game.

His disposal has come in for criticism; happy to acknowledge it needs refining but the fact is that he managed to get two kicks through the big sticks when he had to last night. Doesn't matter how they go through, he converted.

Not the first time he has stood up and clunked contested marks against Richmond, either.

I want him signed up long-term asap.

Esava becoming one of the most divisive players on our list; personally I find it bizarre, a sub-50 game KF who despite managing to have more impact last night than all of Dangerfield, Duncan and Hawkins is still somehow targeted by large sections of our supporter base after the game.

His disposal has come in for criticism; happy to acknowledge it needs refining but the fact is that he managed to get two kicks through the big sticks when he had to last night. Doesn't matter how they go through, he converted.

Not the first time he has stood up and clunked contested marks against Richmond, either.

I want him signed up long-term asap.

I have not read a heap of stuff post game..not even your usually insight sharp blade ... Im not sure why anyone would have the hammer out for Sav? He is what is ... I have had this discussion with many over the years... Whether is was Billy Brownless or David Mensch. .. is it their fault we have no one better?

Sav sort of splits an observation coaching point for me ... if you are a coach.. do you encourage players to improve their weaknesses... or to continually polish what they are good at ... I have heard wise coaches advance both ideas.

The little things he does in play sort of indicate ..not enough natural game play IQ. He took the mark ..and didn't naturally know to get back quick and move it on. What he does well is what his natural talent allows hims to do. What he does poorly is built around football skill and and in game overview, that sort of understanding that some players seem to have.

Id say he has a certain amount of time to build up the footy talent.If you compare him to Hawkins... he has high marking and leaping etc.. but we know..at some stage that will desert him.. so can he add the in game stuff while he still has the natural talent..if he can he could ripe a game apart...in the mean time I think Geelong need to keep adding other options to their list.

He didn't run under the ball once last night so his marking was exceptional.

But he's got to work on his goal kicking, a lot!

Need to play him as the 2nd forward and not as the No.1 ruck who drifts forward.

Last nights Sav is a good player who contributes a lot to his team and their chances of success.
The previous 3 months Sav is the complete opposite.
If he can continue last nights form, as in the strong marking, creating options down the line and rucking well, then he's an awesome second tall to Hawkins.
I also think that opens up another avenue to our gameplan, where if we find ourselves having to be a bit bomby (like last night) then you actually have someone who will compete in the air against multiple opponents. Hawkins doesn't/can't, but Sav DOES, so if he starts to create some ok form, defenders will show him some respect and his team mates will start looking to him more. It's only good things.

I have not read a heap of stuff post game..not even your usually insight sharp blade ... Im not sure why anyone would have the hammer out for Sav? He is what is ... I have had this discussion with many over the years... Whether is was Billy Brownless or David Mensch. .. is it their fault we have no one better?

Sav sort of splits an observation coaching point for me ... if you are a coach.. do you encourage players to improve their weaknesses... or to continually polish what they are good at ... I have heard wise coaches advance both ideas.

The little things he does in play sort of indicate ..not enough natural game play IQ. He took the mark ..and didn't naturally know to get back quick and move it on. What he does well is what his natural talent allows hims to do. What he does poorly is built around football skill and and in game overview, that sort of understanding that some players seem to have.

Id say he has a certain amount of time to build up the footy talent.If you compare him to Hawkins... he has high marking and leaping etc.. but we know..at some stage that will desert him.. so can he add the in game stuff while he still has the natural talent..if he can he could ripe a game apart...in the mean time I think Geelong need to keep adding other options to their list.

Bolded is definitely on both Esava and the coaching staff; the gap between his best and worst games must steadily become narrower - and as you've implied Turbo, he needs to get smarter by learning to contribute when the marks aren't sticking.

I thought he was pretty good in this regard last night though; was sharp below his knees more than once from the centre clearances.

With just 39 senior games to his name I think he has shown a ton of upside to date and his contested marking is a huge asset to build around -

Esava is, unfortunately, still choking when he has the ball under pressure. Set shots, inside handballs, passing by foot...

He cost us against the Eagles with those three horrible turnovers which led to goals.

We are better without him atm.

We should spare some resources and get someone to take him through his kicking for goal technique. He has all the tools but his kicking isn't up to scratch.

Bolded is definitely on both Esava and the coaching staff; the gap between his best and worst games must steadily become narrower - and as you've implied Turbo, he needs to get smarter by learning to contribute when the marks aren't sticking.

I thought he was pretty good in this regard last night though; was sharp below his knees more than once from the centre clearances.

With just 39 senior games to his name I think he has shown a ton of upside to date and his contested marking is a huge asset to build around -

I agree. Those who would like to delist him need to get some perspective

39 games and how old is he ? 22 or something? A baby, in the terms of a ruck or 2nd ruck/forward. A super agile, athletic, tackling, contested marking unit who can give good ruck chop out and impact are really rare - huge potential. He is a must keep. Opposition clubs would be queuing up to get him.

He does need intensive kicking coaching, as much to build confidence as well as technique, but far from the worst. Can execute passes (and there were heaps of others last night fluffing passes and he wasn’t) and easily kick 50 metre goals and has done so. I’d be worrying more about Meir’s action and how this is pretty easy to shut down.

I agree. Those who would like to delist him need to get some perspective

39 games and how old is he ? 22 or something? A baby, in the terms of a ruck or 2nd ruck/forward. A super agile, athletic, tackling, contested marking unit who can give good ruck chop out and impact are really rare - huge potential. He is a must keep. Opposition clubs would be queuing up to get him.

He does need intensive kicking coaching, as much to build confidence as well as technique, but far from the worst. Can execute passes (and there were heaps of others last night fluffing passes and we wasn’t) and easily kick 50 metre goals and has done so. I’d be worrying more about Meir’s action and how this is pretty easy to shut down.
Miers has kicked something like 13.2 this year. Bloody good in front of goal. If only sav could kick like that he would be a star.

But yeah his field kicking action can cause him problems.

Miers has kicked something like 13.2 this year. Bloody good in front of goal. If only sav could kick like that he would be a star.

On a different topic, be nice if Miers stayed closer to goal rather than ****ing it up off HB, but that's on the coach.

Meirs’ set shots (except wide right pocket, for obvious reasons) and snaps are excellent - no argument. He is a huge talent. But his technique means that a good defender simply needs to cover him on his right side. Tigers did this really well and forced turn overs a number of times. In big finals, with quality opposition defenders this is going to be a major weakness for Gryan.

I like Esava. I reckon he makes it.
He's very talented and for all this crap about his kicking, he's kicked 27 goals from his 39 matches while playing as a backup ruckman.
If he has not improved by the time he has reached 60-70 games, we got a problem but at just 40 games in, get real!

Will his kicking ever be good enough to be kpf? Was always a long shot.

Strangely enough, from what we saw last night (when those in his camp will say he kicked 2.0), you'd have to say it's not looking likely. It's hard to think of two goals that were less convincing in their execution, considering the kicks were from very gettable positions. Looks like he doesn't even want to take the shots anymore, such is his own lack of confidence in his capabilities. And the 'poster' at the very end was a further reminder of how far off he is from having anything like a reliable routine or method. Needs incredibly intensive work on the mechanics and the mindset if he is ever going to make it as a KPF. And there is clearly no time for that in 2020 as we head into finals after one more match.

With a bit more endurance would be make a great 1st ruck post-Stanley. Odds much much shorter.

We spoke in the car on the way home about this prospect. I have huge hopes for him as an emerging ruck at Geelong. Build the tank, athleticism in spades, imposes himself physically on the game, makes the dodgy kicking for goal far less of an issue when he becomes a link player (often through effective handball to moving players, hopefully) and thus doesn't have to be the one who pricks the balloon of positive ball movement with a straightforward miss from 25 out.

I'd still be really pleased for him to make it either way. But I think the ruck route is looking far more likely, which means I think he doesn't play in the seniors again in 2020 unless he's required for that role. The thought of that kicking action when goals are at a premium in finals is just too awful to contemplate. Doesn't just keep the opposition's spirits up when you can't convert from simple opportunities; it also absolutely crushes your own team's self-belief like an empty Coke can under an obese elephant.

He's a significantly better kick than Walker. Esava's style is text book perfect.
The guy just needs some time to put it all together. He's a massive unit and they always take years to build on their tank.
Interesting fact Hawkins and Josh Walkers goal kicking average is the same 64% Esava 50%.

Last nights Sav is a good player who contributes a lot to his team and their chances of success.
The previous 3 months Sav is the complete opposite.
If he can continue last nights form, as in the strong marking, creating options down the line and rucking well, then he's an awesome second tall to Hawkins.
I also think that opens up another avenue to our gameplan, where if we find ourselves having to be a bit bomby (like last night) then you actually have someone who will compete in the air against multiple opponents. Hawkins doesn't/can't, but Sav DOES, so if he starts to create some ok form, defenders will show him some respect and his team mates will start looking to him more. It's only good things.
When you say 3 months you mean 5 games. 3 of those games were horrible wet weather games and the other two he played primarily as a ruck.

with blicavs rucking ok sav should not go near the ruck again. Permanent foward.

When you say 3 months you mean 5 games. 3 of those games were horrible wet weather games and the other two he played primarily as a ruck.

with blicavs rucking ok sav should not go near the ruck again. Permanent foward.

What excuse do you wish to make for Ratugolea's poor return in our round 13 match against Adelaide?

He was selected to play as a second tall forward & relieve Stanley in the ruck, but his return that afternoon was 9 disposals, 2 marks, 1 behind & 4 hitouts playing primarily forward

The game was at 1:05pm, 18c and clear blue skies, Stanley was playing as the #1 ruck and ultimately they shifted Blicavs into the ruck due to the limited impact Ratugolea was having

I gave credit to Ratugolea for his bright start as he had like 4/5 disposals in the first 5/10 minutes. He was then virtually invisible until the last quarter, other than when he was in our goal square and easily pushed aside by an Adelaide opponent

Stanley playing as our #1 ruck chipped in with 2 goals, while Blicavs also kicked his first goal of the season

The reality is that Ratugolea has had plenty of opportunities this year to impact games and more often than not he's come up short, and there doesn't seem to be any clear progression from last year

Not giving up on him long term, but not sold on him being the answer this year

Will his kicking ever be good enough to be kpf? Was always a long shot.

With a bit more endurance would be make a great 1st ruck post-Stanley. Odds much much shorter
completely disagree. He is an ordinary ruck. but has the potential to be one of the best marking fowards in the game. when on his contested grabbing is unreal. 7 marks last night all overhead and all 1 grabs. his ability to run and jump and take marks overhead complements a push and shove chest marker like hawkins very well.

his kicking isnt really a major problem. most young key fowards are ordinary kicks for goal. Hawkins was terrible at times. Same with mooney. kicking for goal is one thing fowards usually improve with time.