Podcast Essendon Board Podcast

• Thread starter Thread starter boncer34

I could be involved periodically for sure.
Nah your under the thumb and can't.

I listened to the last podcast and me and Warrior both said it so must be true.

what does that really involve? cutting out the boring bits and swear words?
Nah we can swear and I'm never boring campaigner.

Essentially just putting together everyone's recordings so it doesn't sound rubbish.

i listened to them last year...

Was poking around a bit and apparently some audio software called audacity has a Skype plug-in that might work to record everyone at once. If each participant is recording their own stuff and then mashing it together I reckon it'll be too much of a job.

Would be cool if someone with skillz could make an intro or something.

I'd recommend using Teamspeak - the host/editor sets the input recording device to record windows desktop (run a few velocity tests prior) then record it in Audacity.

Would be happy to participate in one also as some random diplomatic flog (unless the convo involves Carltank or Hawthorne)

Was poking around a bit and apparently some audio software called audacity has a Skype plug-in that might work to record everyone at once. If each participant is recording their own stuff and then mashing it together I reckon it'll be too much of a job.

Would be cool if someone with skillz could make an intro or something.
Yeah from memory MWNN tried that but it was rubbish.

The problem is Lore that if you record on one computer you're only as good as how you come through to that computer if that makes sense.

And 9/10 it was shit.

Yeah from memory MWNN tried that but it was rubbish.

The problem is Lore that if you record on one computer you're only as good as how you come through to that computer if that makes sense.

And 9/10 it was shit.
Hm, yep. Maybe teamspeak or some other options are worth trying. There has to be something that's better than 3 hours of editing per week.

What do other boards use? Why not find the best quality podcast from an oppo board and find out how they do it?

Sterge has got a ripping new podcast going on the Richmond board, which you can listen to a bit of if you go to here: https://itunes.apple.com/au/podcast/bigfooty-tigercast-afl-podcast/id1254828405?mt=2

I believe Michaels hosts and records it, and might have some insight if we ask nicely. Please, Michaels?

told you we're going global Sterge :p

It is honestly a load of fun hosting the podcast.

I have had no podcast experience, no radio experience or anything like that, but when Sterge posted the initial thread asking if anyone was keen to host / edit the show I put my hand up as I'm passionate about the club and love to talk all things Richmond. and I don't mind public speaking.

we had a lot of similar answers to what I have read on this thread, most are willing to come on as guests but not host. but I definitely encourage anything who is thinking about doing it, to just do it. same goes for just being a guest on the show.

the beauty of these podcasts is none of us have ever met, but we all have the same main interest (Richmond, or in your case, Essendon), so the conversation is always smooth.

there has literally been zero times where there has been awkward silence or anything like that.

In terms of how it all works:

We just use skype voice calls
recording program: I use 2 which I run at the same time in case one shits itself (which has happened, but sterge had me covered thankfully!)
mp3skype recorder and almolto. if anyone wishes to know more about these let me know and I will tell you what I can.

all you and the guests need is skype and a headset with microphone for better sound quality. simple as that.

I don't actually do the editing, we are very lucky that we have Wacko23Jacko does the editing for us (he made a intro as well), so he might be able to share some info on that. but I believe a lot of people use audacity for editing.

To make sure the show runs smooth, I start a PM with both of the guests a week out from their show and send them an agenda with the topics we will discuss so they can do their own research which prevents any dead spots really.

then I just add my own notes about our previous game, my own thoughts on the topics to discuss, and thoughts on the preview for the next game etc.

often the discussion topics will change depending on what happens during the weekend. e.g the MRP results that happened yesterday were not originally in my agenda, so we swapped out something else.

below is a copy of an agenda I have used

Big Footy Tigercast – Season 1, Episode 6

Host:
Michaels

Guests: Wacko23Jacko, Che88

**INTRODUCE MYSELF**

Intro:

Welcome and introduce Wacko23Jacko(big footy member since 2016), and Che88 (big footy member since 2011)

**introduce them 1 by 1**

- Ask WackoJacko and Che88 how they became a Richmond supporter

Autopsy player of the year vote update after round 18 (GWS)

Note: after all votes for each game have been lodged, a 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 is awarded based on who had the most votes for that game.

1st:

2nd:

3rd:

4th:

5th:

Segment 1 – Roast and Toast:

• Each guest is assigned to do either the Roast or the Toast for anything in the previous week in football, discuss each topic a little bit.

WackoJacko – Roast

Che88 - Toast
Segment 2 – Review of previous weeks match: - Game against GWS

• Quick break down on where the game was won / lost including any relevant stats, get guests thoughts on the game.

• Reference some posts made in the autopsy thread

Topics to discuss:

1. International Rules Series (Australia vs Ireland)

-Guests thoughts on the concept of the series

-Players selected now must be an All Australian or strongly in AA contention

-Based on the above, which Richmond players would be in contention?

2. Levi Casbolt

-It has been rumoured we are right into him with a possible offer of $500k, guests thoughts on getting him across for next season?

-Does it help us fill a need?

-How would that make us look from a structure / lineup point of view?

3. VFL Update

-Provide scores, goal kickers, best for the VFL game
    -try keep an eye on results of the game so we can discuss who had good games and might be putting their hand up to come into the side etc

Segment 4 – Preview of this weeks game: - Gold Coast

Important game notes:

Key match ups:

Possible changes for us?

• Each guest to provide a prediction
Remind listeners of game info:

-Thank guests for their time and wrap up the show.

End show:

it is really enjoyable, honestly. and the sky is the limit too, I have approached several past Richmond players and they have come on for interviews with me as well which has been fantastic. I have another 3 or 4 already lined up to happen in the coming months.

we recorded tonights episode with an opposition poster as the other guest which was a first for us, and that went really well!

happy to answer any questions anyone has, but just give it a go! feel free to have a listen to some of ours (link in my sig) to get an idea on how the agenda I posted translates into a show.

Am a borderline luddite, however am happy to lend my "special" comments again if need be.
xo

You're gonna regret that. :p

But sweet.
just a heads up, if I'm editing, I'm not talking. Turns out I can't stand listening to my recorded voice - I never listened to the podcasts I was in.

and if you succeed in badgering DapperJong into it, I'm happy to cede to someone who knows what they're doing

There's no escaping this. I'll edit it.

Expect it to rate well, but don't come crying when there's a mamamia article about how boncer treated the other guests unfairly and that it was rigged.