Essendon's Depth

Total Package said:
So your No 1 side is commencing their pre-season only 3 weeks before the start of the season? when most have been at it since December. Yup... Essendon are in for a long season.

Resting from match competition. They are training, with the exception of Hille and Mark Johnson everyone is under full training. Including intra-club match practice.

These boys are fit, no worries there.

parrot said:
Not bad, but you've done better. Next excuse.... :)

That wasn't an excuse for anything.

Who are these old players in the Essendon midfield?

How do you think Carlton will go without Fevola, Stevens, Campo, Kouta, Whitnall, Thorton, Scotland, Houlihan, Lappin, Sporn, Teague, Waite and French?

Longy413 said:
Resting from match competition. They are training, with the exception of Hille and Mark Johnson everyone is under full training. Including intra-club match practice.

These boys are fit, no worries there.
Yes.. exactly... they have no match fitness. You can run around the block as many times as you want its not the same as getting out there playing.

Some people here are so ignorant of the FACT the 15 of our first 18 didnt play today, and thats not an excuse its a fact!

Total Package said:
So your No 1 side is commencing their pre-season only 3 weeks before the start of the season? when most have been at it since December. Yup... Essendon are in for a long season.

Remind us all how many games you have coached before or what involvement you've had with preparing an AFL team for a 6 month season.

It can't be doing the young blokes confidence a lot of good getting beltings every week before the season proper ..i don't know what sheedys strategy is but the other coaches seem to be playing enough of their senior players to help the young blokes adapt to AFL footy ..plus give their fans something to hang their hats on for the season proper

I think after 25 years worth of coaching at senior level, Sheed's would know what he's doing. He's been through this same situation heaps of times in his career, also he's got great assistant coaches in Gary O' Donnell and Mark Harvey so let it go already. Worry about your own team's success. As far as the young guys confidence goes, they should be happy their getting game time at all. The more they play the better they'll get and the more confident they'll get. Let's not forget it takes a bit of time for team to gel together, it doesn't happen over night.

Who was the guy that said Stanton was no good?

Scored 4 goals and had 20 plus possessions today against much more expirienced players!

Total Package said:
:rolleyes: You don't think its a tad strange that you have not played your 18 best players in a decent match since last September?

I thinks Sheeds knows what the best 18 can do and wants to see what the rest can do but the opposition played nearly full strength team. I have no doubt now that the youngsters've had 2 weeks Sheeds will bring in the big guns. Since the game is in Cararra next week he might not play the full team again but most of them!

don4eva said:
I think after 25 years worth of coaching at senior level, Sheed's would know what he's doing. He's been through this same situation heaps of times in his career, also he's got great assistant coaches in Gary O' Donnell and Mark Harvey so let it go already. Worry about your own team's success. As far as the young guys confidence goes, they should be happy their getting game time at all. The more they play the better they'll get and the more confident they'll get. Let's not forget it takes a bit of time for team to gel together, it doesn't happen over night.
funny i thought players had to actually play together to gel together :rolleyes:

don4eva said:
........... also he's got great assistant coaches in Gary O' Donnell and Mark Harvey so let it go already. .........

HAHAHAH there you go... we now know the problem. Gary O'Donnell. This is the guy that got told by the Brisbane Lions that he doesnt cut it as an assistant coach and they can offer him a administrative role.... Signing of the year by Essendon :D

Is it still February?

Theres still a month to the season actually starting and then 22 rounds after that unless i'm mistaken.

I can't believe i'm even replying to the this rubbish. Don't you people get tired of being wrong all of the time?

Jaymin said:
Is it still February?

Theres still a month to the season actually starting and then 22 rounds after that unless i'm mistaken.

I can't believe i'm even replying to the this rubbish. Don't you people get tired of being wrong all of the time?

We play the eagles in the WC semi, following week is the WC Grand Final and the week after that is the last practice match involving all clubs so there are 3 more practice matches to go. I assume Sheedy will have the full squad for the last 2 if not all 3 remaining games perhaps. I think even the old timers need to get on and play a quarter or two, at least.

Young kids with no real leadership or experience is a game you will not get much out of other than humiliation. The kids would get more out of the game if it was half good senior players and half young kids.

Total Package said:
HAHAHAH there you go... we now know the problem. Gary O'Donnell. This is the guy that got told by the Brisbane Lions that he doesnt cut it as an assistant coach and they can offer him a administrative role.... Signing of the year by Essendon :D

It took them five years and four grand finals to decide he wasn't up to it?
You're kidding yourself.

All those finals losses have gone to your head.

Total Package said:
:rolleyes: You don't think its a tad strange that you have not played your 18 best players in a decent match since last September?

Not really
The footy season starts in late March if I'm not mistaken.

Total Package said:
Yes.. exactly... they have no match fitness. You can run around the block as many times as you want its not the same as getting out there playing.

I understand you don't have a great understanding of professional sport but these guys are professional athletes. These players will training under match conditions. Skills work, running and contest work will be simulated to match conditions. Kevin Sheedy has been in the game for nearly 40 years, 24 years as coach. He knows how to handle his players.

As for your comment about 18 players not having a game. Several of the 18 played against Carlton. The majority of others played against Sydney and in the Intra-Club match.
Only Lloyd, Mark Johnson, Hille and Zantuck haven't played a competitive match.

Essendon's Depth