Fartlek run?

20 mins of fartlek is a pretty long time to do it for. but a good way to do it would be to depending on your fitness jog 30secs sprint for 10 secs something like that is always good and you just do it for 20 mins. for footy you should probobly do more sprint work and try and replicate a game situation depending on your position. like a mid would maybe sprint for 10/15 secs then a ball up where the jog slowly for 10 secs.
if you have an oval near you what i do is pick out points around an oval (about 5 or 6) and alternate sprints between them so i might spirnt 1/4 of the way round then jog to the next point then sprint from their. it works pretty well.
it might sound a bit complicaated but it isn't

Yeah, the dude above is pretty spot on. Another way to do it is to rest for the equivalent of each effort:

90 secs effort; 90 secs jog.
30 secs effort; 30 secs jog.
60 secs effort; 60 secs jog. etc.

So you could just mix up the length of your efforts for as long as you want, in your case 20 mins.

Thanks heaps guys!

Yeah the program I'm doing said 20 minutes, so what I did was go up to my local footy oval where I did the following...

Slow jog about 200m, quicker paced jog 200m, sprint 50m

Did that for 3 laps, was absolutely nackered and wouldn't have made 20 mins at the current pace, so I walked 200m, then picked up where I left off and did another 2/3 laps.

Hopefully when I get a bit fitter I'll be able to go a bit harder.

Also looking for a good fartlek run, as im trying to mix up my pre-season training a bit and involving different sorts of running.

If we could get a few more opinions on what is good for 20 minutes it'd be much appreciated

Also looking for a good fartlek run, as im trying to mix up my pre-season training a bit and involving different sorts of running.

If we could get a few more opinions on what is good for 20 minutes it'd be much appreciated

Yep would love some more info.

I'm doing that Essendon pre-season training program and it just said 20-30 mins, but it looked like it was continuous, there is no way i can jog/sprint for 20 minutes straight.

That's why I had a couple of breaks of walking 200m before running again, I don't think I've panted so hard before :o

I have done a little bit of Fartlek running on a local athletics track. My two variations have been 200m at a 400m pace then a 200m very slow jog. Do that 5 times then walk a whole lap, then repeat.

My other one is a 100m sprint, 70m slow jog and 30m walk. Repeat this 20 times.

Both of these equal 4km and take 20-25min.

There is the Steve Monaghetti fartlek session that takes 20min duration

2 x 90sec, 4 x 60sec, 4 x 30sec, 4 x 15sec with same recovery following each effort. I've tried it both with a fast recovery (you don't drop your rate as much) and with a slow recovery (where you slow to a jog/trot). You'll find you cover the same distance with either recovery. You may find early in the piece that you have a jog recovery as you get used to it.

Can recommend them for early off-season sessions to build the fitness base. Can break up the monotony of long jogging....and you can do it around a football oval. I had heard somewhere that this was where Gary Ablett Jnr improved his fitness base prior to 2007.

A Fartlek run we did at footy within the first two weeks of our pre-season was around a square (about same size as a centre square) where we jogged at 50% for 40secs then ran at 3/4 pace for 20secs. we did this for a total time of 20mins.

A good system would be to use 20mins, warm up for 6 or so minutes at about 50%, 8 minutes of intense workout using a system where you work at 100% for 20 seconds and then 50% for 10 seconds, then a 6 minute warm down at 50%.

Good for aerobic capacity, even better to stay in good physical shape.

Also try some interval training using all different types of intensities. Quite good for aerobic fitness, but once again a real fat burners.

Use a method of 1-10, 1 being very low intensity and 10 being 100% of you max heart rate and work through the intensities for about 20 minutes.

You could use 10 second intervals if you want or 1 minute intervals going 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 or you could mix it up another way. It's up to you.

I still reckon the best bet for fitness is a lot of continuous running, plenty of volume, but fartlek and interval training are hugely beneficial as they basically make you body more efficient in burning callories.

Let's just say if you used the fartlek system 3 times a week you would be in ripping shape and your body would be hugely efficient.

I was told bout a training drill by my p.e teacher. he used to play in the vfl and was made to do 100 100's, which is 100 100 metre sprints where you sprint 100m then walk back over and over again, which I think is basically an extended version of fartlek training. He made it to about 80ish.

Woh! Sounds tough... hoping to get into running next year, might give this a crack in 18 months:thumbsu:

the mona fartlek is the way to go, very specific to footy in the way that it provides differing lengths of time sprinting just like whether u sprint from one and of the ground to the other or to a pack 10-20m away :thumbsu: