Favourite sporting moment

• Thread starter Thread starter Lukey D

One of my favorits as well. And it was at a time when everyone was in love with 50 over cricet. Also Bill commentating made it special.

But my all time favourite was the 1979 British Grand Prix from Silverstone Barry Sheen and Kenny Robberts. Even now it sends shivers down my spine.

And for footy, naturally the `95 Second Semi. Was at the game and teared up big time when we belted out the song.

Watched kenny over the stretch and his duels with randy mammola and freddie spencer were legendary...dont want to rain on the current parade, but these 3 were kamikazes...

"Favourite" for me also includes tragedies that are memorable to look back on, from my 3 favourite sports other than footy:

Golf:
- Was allowed to go late to school in 1987 watching Greg Norman, Seve Ballesteros and Larry Mize go into a playoff at Augusta in the Masters. On the second playoff hole, The Shark looked to have it in the bag, until Larry Mize holed his chip to sink The Shark. Although somewhat devestated, I looked at the old man and said "we'll be talking about this for a long time hey dad?", to which he responded "you've got no idea mate".

- Also at the Masters, some moments are just made for tv...

His final round was a joke.

Tennis:
- Was at the Sampras v Courier match when Pete got a touch emotional at the Aussie Open. Nevermind the tears, this match was an absolute belter.
- Ivanisevic v Rafter in the 2001 Wimbledon final was one of the last dual grass-courter battles. Two of my favourite players out there, I was going to be happy with whatever result eventuated, but another cracking game.
- Federer vs Roddick at the 2007 Aussie Open. These two have had some pretty good duals, this wasn't one of them. Instead, it was a match played as good as anyone can play the game. Federer was basically flawless.
- Any time Anke Huber or Barbara Schett took the court when I watched a girls match.

Horse Racing:
- Yeah, Makybe Diva's 3rd. Was set up for her to win it, but she was awesome.
- Bonecrusher taking out the 1986 Cox Plate with a war over Our Waverly Star. Was a war from the 600m. Basically the race that got me into the punt.
- The 1992 Cox Plate. Just a field full of guns.

- Any time Anke Huber or Barbara Schett took the court when I watched a girls match.

.[/quote]

I do a bit of work at the aussie open and barbara comes down every year doing commentary - she still has it.

In fact i think i might post in the forgotten babes thread.

I do a biot of work at the aussie open and barbara comes down every yar doing commentary - she still has it.

In fact i think i might post in the forgotten babes thread.[/quote]

I understand that there are alot of candidates for the forgotten babes, but back in the days, had to stop and watch any time Sue Barker walked by. Her arse was poetry in motion. ;)

Watched kenny over the stretch and his duels with randy mammola and freddie spencer were legendary...dont want to rain on the current parade, but these 3 were kamikazes...

Couldnt agree more. As good as Doohan and Stoner were, the quality of riders in the mid 70s to late 80s was the best ever seen.
And localy the Gardner v Andrew "AJ" Johnson duels were legendary. If he didnt blow his hand up in his late teens he would have been our greatest ever bike rider.

in no particular order..

. Boxing Day test vs The Windies 75 ~ crazy fast bowling. BYO Eskies full of beer
. Windy Hill Brawl 74
. Grand Finals 1972 - 1974 (thought it was never gunna end)

. Quiksilver Pro surfing on the Gold Coast.
. Chicago Bulls on TV in the late 80s

1995 2nd semi.
When Chris Naish snapped over his shoulder to put us in front and that win is my best Richmond moment.
I worked full time at the MCG for 3 years so I've been lucky to see some very good sport.

Oh mate, this is the exact 'moment' I was going to put down. This moment and the Daffy goal on the run in the same quarter. I don't think I have ever felt euphoria like it.

Actually maybe r22 1997 at Princes Park with 1 tiger mate and 5 scum supporters - Unleash the Giesch haha

Other than footy, the Bevan 4, Warnie hat trick, Aloisi, Cahill, Kewells 2nd goal against Iran, Duncan Armstrong and Cathy Freeman (need Bruce's commentary on while watching)

There is so many sporting moments that I will never forget,

Tim Cahill’s game against Japan at the World Cup was epic! I was at my mates watching the game and I left when we were 1-0 down with about 10min to go. I put on the radio for the 30min drive home. Let’s just say I almost ran off the road listening to it.

Makybe Diva’s hat trick. I don’t think I will ever see this happen again.

Australia’s game against Uruguay to get into the 2006 World cup. That penalty shootout was AMAZING!

And as for my thought’s on Richmond’s greatest moment (that I have seen)
The whole 95’ finals series, I was at all the games, even tho we got smashed by Geelong in the prelim, the Tiger army never let up the whole game.

My favorite sporting moment was the 2003/04 NBA Finals. I've been a passionate Pistons fan for the last 25 years and it was the year i moved to Auburn Hills, Michigan. This Finals series was supposed to be one of the most lopsided finals of all time with Detroit made up of cast-offs from other teams and the Lakers had what quite possibly could be the best starting 5 of all-time featuring Shaq, Karl Malone, Kobe Bryant and Gary Payton with Horace Grant, Rick Fox, Derek Fisher, Bryon Russell and Devean George off the bench.

I remember before a game had been played Kobe Bryant and Magic Johnson had already called it a 4-0 sweep by the Lakers, actually everyone with a microphone was calling it. I was lucky enough to go to all 5 games of that finals series and when we finally won it at the Palace it was the closest I've ever come to crying because of sporting event. Infact i would say only 2 things in my life to date have ever come close to that feeling and that was getting married and the birth of my first child.

I'm hoping a Richmond Flag gets me back there again soon.

Ill keep rfc out of it coz i reckon thats a pretty fluid thing and changes as time goes on. As a staunch patriot, i really looked forward to the sydney 2000 olympics. I took a week off to catch as much as i could on tv. When cathy freeman broke clear to win the 400 i had a lump in my throat like a tennis ball and then the anthem went off with the flag flying high and cathy on the dais i was just a blubbering mess...a proud sporting moment ill never forget....oh and on a personal front, making a 100 was huge, breaking 90 in golf first time was special and winning u18 club tennis champs back in '84 was just devine

Top 3 would be

Jack Reiwoldts 10 goals
Micheal Clarke's 300
Joel Bowdens goal to win the game against Brisbane a few years ago

Very close would also be Warners huge debut in the 20/20 against South Africa when he hit 89 off 43!

I remember watching this, I was at a pub in Port Melbourne and they had this on at the back bar, no joke, around the point he was on 20 everyone had left the main area and was just crowded around the screen watching him demolish the South African attack, it was great.

Stuff all the big time stuff I was playing local cricket and as a very low order batsman I did manage to score 28 off 8 balls once.

"Favourite" for me also includes tragedies that are memorable to look back on, from my 3 favourite sports other than footy:

Golf:
- Was allowed to go late to school in 1987 watching Greg Norman, Seve Ballesteros and Larry Mize go into a playoff at Augusta in the Masters. On the second playoff hole, The Shark looked to have it in the bag, until Larry Mize holed his chip to sink The Shark. Although somewhat devestated, I looked at the old man and said "we'll be talking about this for a long time hey dad?", to which he responded "you've got no idea mate".

- Also at the Masters, some moments are just made for tv...

His final round was a joke.

Tennis:
- Was at the Sampras v Courier match when Pete got a touch emotional at the Aussie Open. Nevermind the tears, this match was an absolute belter.
- Ivanisevic v Rafter in the 2001 Wimbledon final was one of the last dual grass-courter battles. Two of my favourite players out there, I was going to be happy with whatever result eventuated, but another cracking game.
- Federer vs Roddick at the 2007 Aussie Open. These two have had some pretty good duals, this wasn't one of them. Instead, it was a match played as good as anyone can play the game. Federer was basically flawless.

Horse Racing:
- Bonecrusher taking out the 1986 Cox Plate with a war over Our Waverly Star. Was a war from the 600m. Basically the race that got me into the punt.

Good stuff Harv, only Tiger can celebrate with such exuberance it almost jumps out of the screen, you could put a highlight reel together with him alone.

On tennis, Peej will recall the game, The Poo Vs Sampras mid nineties aussie open, was it the quarters or 4 th round, one of the most memorable tennis matches ive seen, the poo salutes in 5 sets. He was great to watch on song

For me, Tennis and UFC are my favourite sports behind footy.

My all time favourite tennis player is Fernando Gonzalez.
For those who remember the 2007 Aus Open when he had that huuuuuge run to the final. He beat Nadal 6-2 6-4 6-2 and hit something like 50 winners to only 7 unforced errors for the match. Was insane.

But my best memory of him was the 2009 Aus Open when he had a twilight 3rd round match against Richard Gasquet, and after saving match points in the 3rd set, he went on to win 12-10 in the fifth set and because it was on Magaret Court, the atmosphere was ridiculous.

Regarding UFC, I love George St Pierre and his win a couple weeks ago against Carlos Condit, after coming back from a year out with an ACL tear, was absolutely amazing.

Horse Racing:
- The 1992 Cox Plate. Just a field full of guns.[/quote]
Great selection Harv, saw the footage again during the spring carnival and it still sends shivers up my spine.
!992 Cox Plate, mighty Super Impose, what a run down the outside, great horse.

Horse Racing:
Great selection Harv, saw the footage again during the spring carnival and it still sends shivers up my spine.
!992 Cox Plate, mighty Super Impose, what a run down the outside, great horse.[/quote]
My old man still talks about Bonecrusher.. That is a race to watch!