bluboy15

Draftee
This has probably been talked about already.. but if Fevola stays injury free, and we keep playing a fairly attacking brand of footy, then Fevola must be on the way to some kind of record. This year Fevola kicked 59 goals, still finishing 7th in the coleman. He also missed a few games thru injury and his suspension too. The delivery to him was pretty poor, but with the likes of Judd and Stevens delivering the footy to him, i can see him having an awesome year. Murphy will also be freed up as the number 1 tag will go to Judd. Carlton has lacked good delivery into the forward line for years but i am finally starting to see some positives...

Fevola is a top shelf goalkicker. Easily elite class. With the delivery he is set to get from Judd and Stevens, if he plays 20 games, anything less than 70-80 goals should be considered a failure. He has been whinging and crying out for decent delivery, now he will have it, its time to put up or shut up.

Correct. He owes the club a bit after this year. With the relative strength of our midfield set-up he has no excuse. We want to see him working hard defensively and showing some bloody leadership to the kids. It's TIME TO DELIVER FEV!:thumbsu:

The best sign from Fev 2007 was his 1% efforts.

Even through the worst of his crap this year, he continued to run, chase and do anything he could to pressure the opponent.

Think back 2-3 years, when he would stand there after losing the ball.

If Fev can cut the crap out of his game, which he looks to be doing (only time will tell) then he will kick at least 70 goals in 08.

We don't need Fev to kick 100

We need our CHF to kick around 50
Fish 40
Betts 20+
Houlihan 20+

Correct. He owes the club a bit after this year. With the relative strength of our midfield set-up he has no excuse. We want to see him working hard defensively and showing some bloody leadership to the kids. It's TIME TO DELIVER FEV!:thumbsu:

Too true Blue Dawn, he's had plenty (being an understatement) of chances. 2008 is the year he really needs to focus. The passes will be on the money so this could be it. Let's hope so!

Hopefully he can have a big preseason and set himself up nicely for the 2008 season. As has already been said, he's going to get some pretty good delivery into the forward line next year, so I reckon 70-80 goals is on the cards again.

This time, hopefully, guys like Fisher, Waite and Betts can have a bigger say up there as well, rather than what happened in 2006, when Fev was only real target up there.

This year im fairly confident that he wont be stuffing around and sooking again. With the midfield we have now, he has no excuse to waste his chaces and complain when things dont go his way.

keeping him was just as big of a signing on gettting judd..
for him to kick around 220 over 3 years in a bottom club is remarkable. This guys is a champ. so yer he spits the dummy every now and again but we dont want to become like adeliade do we with no sign of emotion. When something doesnt go the way he wants it to he bleeds and thats all you should ask of your players. Everytime he spits the dummy have you seen him attack the next contest, absolutely brilliant..
i hope we make a grand final in his time at carlton. he will absolutely dominate.

Fev is passionate, sure, but his passion has spilled over into petulance, tantrums and hissy-fits. He loses focus too easily, and has not yet put together a season without major blemishes.

That said, and as pointed out, he's kicked a lot of goals in an awful team. He *should* kick more than 80 this year, and *should* be fairly untouchable in the Coleman, unless JBrown plays 22 weeks.

If he can go tantrum-free for the year, he'll kick plenty, and should be a matchwinner instead of an embarrassment and a problem. We ALL hope he can put it together, because he and Waite and Fisher in front of our much-improved midfield should be genuinely intimidating the opposition.

I don't want to put a bad spin on what has been the best couple of weeks CFC has experienced in recent years, however I will say my piece and will be done with commenting on Fev.

In the past I have been an advocate to get rid of Fev, I am now hoping that with the likes of Judd and Stevens (back) our leadership will be stronger for it. Hence, our younger blokes will look up to them and not Fev who has a number of bad traits that he must get rid of.

I also believe that Ratts style of coaching will suit him as a lead up Full Forward as we will be playing a possesion game and wont bomb it in. Pagan game plan didn't suit him, especially when we would be bombing it in quickly. He is not a pack mark the good sides would know where the ball was going and pick him off, they also knew that he would start sooking because of it. It was an incentive for them if they know he drops his head they would do everything to get him to do so. As a defender for many years (even though it was in a lower comp) I would look for cracks in the opposition and try to exploit it as they do with Fev (Scarlett is the perfect example who does it to him). It is really his main deficiency get rid of it and he will improve dramatically.

I hope he does as to have a good crack at trying to make the final next year we need him firing on all cylinders.

I don't want to put a bad spin on what has been the best couple of weeks CFC has experienced in recent years, however I will say my piece and will be done with commenting on Fev.

In the past I have been an advocate to get rid of Fev, I am now hoping that with the likes of Judd and Stevens (back) our leadership will be stronger for it. Hence, our younger blokes will look up to them and not Fev who has a number of bad traits that he must get rid of.

I also believe that Ratts style of coaching will suit him as a lead up Full Forward as we will be playing a possesion game and wont bomb it in. Pagan game plan didn't suit him, especially when we would be bombing it in quickly. He is not a pack mark the good sides would know where the ball was going and pick him off, they also knew that he would start sooking because of it. It was an incentive for them if they know he drops his head they would do everything to get him to do so. As a defender for many years (even though it was in a lower comp) I would look for cracks in the opposition and try to exploit it as they do with Fev (Scarlett is the perfect example who does it to him). It is really his main deficiency get rid of it and he will improve dramatically.

I hope he does as to have a good crack at trying to make the final next year we need him firing on all cylinders.

Seemed to work fine the day we beat Essendon. What did he kick that day, 8?

Nobody is saying he's not an elite talent and a matchwinner.

But what about the days when we bombed it in and he got triple-teamed? Then he got frustrated. Then he cracked it. Then he got suspended.

You can't say a guy who has to be suspended by his own team for on-field behaviour is not a big risk and doesn't have problems.

Fev is primarily a lead-up player. He's like Dunstall x years ago. Bloody hard to stop on the lead, and a brilliant converter from a set shot. Therefore the best way to use him, which is albyg's point, is not to kick it in long on his head while he's standing still, but to hit him on the chest on the lead. He is basically unstoppable on the lead, so if we control on the ball anywhere in the front half of the ground, our plan should be to hit Fev on the CFC logo.

Have a look at the replay and often the forward line is empty bar Fev and Michael / Fletcher.

The Pagan plan of running it quick and bombing long to a contest didn't suit us as Fev is not a pack crunching CHF and Kennedy was either on the bench or in the ruck.

The only guy is sort of suited was Fish as his opponent was also watching Fev, and we know how good a pack mark Fish is

Game plan was ok that day, however most of his goals came from; lead, mark and goal. Which is what I hope will be happening next year.

What happened in the other 18 odd games we lost? I am not blaming Fev the losses but in a lot of them he would drop his head and not help the situation at all. He was the most important player on the list as people watch him within the club and outside the club we need him to be responsible for his actions. Instead of just crumbling he should have been rallying the troops.

Game plan was ok that day, however most of his goals came from; lead, mark and goal. Which is what I hope will be happening next year.

What happened in the other 18 odd games we lost? I am not blaming Fev the losses but in a lot of them he would drop his head and not help the situation at all. He was the most important player on the list as people watch him within the club and outside the club we need him to be responsible for his actions. Instead of just crumbling he should have been rallying the troops.

We are 100% on the same page, albyg.

Bottom line is I want the opposition fans to be worried about Fev, not us. And the moment I think it's 50-50.

Nobody is saying he's not an elite talent and a matchwinner.

But what about the days when we bombed it in and he got triple-teamed? Then he got frustrated. Then he cracked it. Then he got suspended.

You can't say a guy who has to be suspended by his own team for on-field behaviour is not a big risk and doesn't have problems.

Fev is primarily a lead-up player. He's like Dunstall x years ago. Bloody hard to stop on the lead, and a brilliant converter from a set shot. Therefore the best way to use him, which is albyg's point, is not to kick it in long on his head while he's standing still, but to hit him on the chest on the lead. He is basically unstoppable on the lead, so if we control on the ball anywhere in the front half of the ground, our plan should be to hit Fev on the CFC logo.

Spot on:thumbsu:

I'll back away from this love-fest then. One thing, Fevola doesn't have defensive capabilities anything like Dunstall. That bloke would have been happy to see the entire game played in his 50. Never seen a player more determined to hold the ball in to his arc. Fev shows good signs at times but needs consistency. It's all good and as you suggest the delivery will be laces out and tied with a ribbon this season.

I honestly think Judd will be great for Fev, not just for delivery, but for keeping his ego in check.

I also believe that when Fev believes that the "little things" will actually result in us winning and playing finals, he will take his game to a new level.

Can't wait.

GET BEN RUTTEN = FLAG IN 2 YEARS

I'll back away from this love-fest then. One thing, Fevola doesn't have defensive capabilities anything like Dunstall. That bloke would have been happy to see the entire game played in his 50. Never seen a player more determined to hold the ball in to his arc. Fev shows good signs at times but needs consistency. It's all good and as you suggest the delivery will be laces out and tied with a ribbon this season.

:D It go a bit like that (love fest).

You are spot on about Dunstall, Fev has all the attributes to be as good as him if not better, that's why he gets me and others frustrated. He should base his game around the way he (Dunstall) played and we will really see the champion that he could be and with it Finals. Having 2 consistent match winners (Judd and Fev) is a luxury most teams do not have.

The coleman medal might have gone into fevola’s head thinking he is the best forward. I think judd’s delivery will put him back in to elite level. :thumbsu: Hopefully he will win another coleman and kick over 1000 goals

But what about the days when we bombed it in and he got triple-teamed?

If we can play both Fish and Waite in the forward line with Fev it will make it very difficult for the opposition to double or triple team Fev.

Both Fish and Waite (from VERY limited time in the forward line) showed what potent goal kickers they can be -they will need to be very closely checked by the opposition defence or either of them could kick a bag too!

Then he got frustrated. Then he cracked it. Then he got suspended

All the improvements to our playing list should translate into a much more on-field success in 2008 which in turn should eliminate almost all of Fev's frustration.

My only problem with Fev is his poor contested marking ability... Awesome kicking - both snap and brilliant at long range, unbeatable on the lead.

Its just that (even when not being constantly double/ triple teamed) he seems to have a problem with his contested marking. Occasionally he will pull down a one handed screamer, but you rarley see him fly for a big mark or win out in contested one on one situations. (also because he winges too much he never gets paid when its his arms that get knocked and not the ball either...)

IMHO Our game plan either has to change to start creating and opening space for him to lead into, or he needs to work on his contested marking (and tool factor).

Then he WILL kick 100+ in a season

My only problem with Fev is his poor contested marking ability...

I tend to disagree.

When on song, contested marking is up there with Fev's greatest strengths (in 2006 and early in 2007).

When his form started dropping off this year there was a notable decline in his contested marks as well as his kicking and leading.